Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Sterling 3 stars

San Bernardo, 29-31, Madrid City Centre, 28015 Madrid, Spain

#242 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1760 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    8.8
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in the first floor. But, after the elevator to get the room there are some steps. It was a little difficult for us ( Seniors) with the suitcases.

    The location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    3.8
    will no recommend ever!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast was disgusting stale croissants hard honey horrible coffee and juice ... had to ask for different room first room smelt like it was soiled ...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.2
    Great Place for a fair price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An English TV news channel should be made compulsory for all 3-star hotels in a major tourist city such as Madrid - it was the only thing I missed.

    Excellent location, good reliable WiFi, sound-proof windows, plus a fine breakfast and a fair price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel in a very good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a basic. Was messed around a bit by the hotel overcharging me. Took too long to sort out, but they did eventually.

    In a great location. Perfectly fine for the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.5
    Calm and friendly but depressing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was very depressing. For over 100 euros a night I would have expected a window or a balcony. There was a tiny window behind the television that looked out onto a yellow building 1 metre away. I couldn't tell if it was day or evening or what the weather was and found it very difficult to work without daylight. The room was also tiny.

    The coffee was nice and front desk was friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    6.7
    The hotel was very well situated and close to everything you...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A coffee facility in the room would be nice.

    The hotel was very well situated and close to everything you want to see if you are in Madrid for 1 night. The booking out time of 12 is very convenient

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    9.6
    Good hotel for reasonable price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast - very basic and not tasty in comparison to other hotels we visited during our trip.

    Near to historical centre and Grand Via street. Metro is 10 meters from the door - Prada and Thyssen are 15 minutes far.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    4.6
    I will never come back...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are not climatized, broken towels, the hotel gave me a triple room with 3 beds when I’ve booked a double room with one big bed. Expensive for what they offer.

    Location is the best thing of this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    6.7
    Great location in city center. OK if you need just to sleep and take shower. Friendly staff.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked twin room and then when we arrive at the late evening we realised that we have 4 bed rooms without to much free space to leave our luggage. All 4 beds were "portable". Breakfast was ok, but not to rich.

    Hotel position in the Madrid city center is great advantage. Close, on walking distance, to Palacio Real, Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor, Gran via, Plaza Espana.... If you come to/go from hotel by metro (to the airport), it is better to use metro station Plaza Espana, because there you will have elevator which doesn't exist on San Bernardo station. Supermarket on the other side of the street.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Go here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was on the smaller side but this is expected in a major city

    Great location just off the Gran Via, exactly where you want to be if you’ve never been to Madrid The hotel helped us print out tickets for the athletico Madrid match and were always friendly and welcoming Very clean Great price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    8.3
    A really enjoyable stay. Will come again with pleasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    To have tаe/coffee facilities in the room. It costs nothing but gives extra comfort.

    We were quite satisfied with our stay in this hotel. Practically, all our expectations became through: excellent location and WiFi, clean room, supportive staff and breakfast. In a word, very good value for money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for a city trip
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was not very good The parking situation is difficult. You have to park on the street or in a garage (28€ for one night) The bed was very hard

    Near the center of madrid Pets allowed Nice view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    5.8
    Penthouse room with big balcony and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No clean bed sheets, already used: hairs and perfume smell on the sheets. No changing despite complaint. Breakfast not to recommend.

    Penthouse room with big balcony and good location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    7.1
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are very small, and a bit depressing. Requested another room with street view. The balcony door was broken and couldn't go outside.

    Nice location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    The hotel was a little tired, but its great location made up...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was a little tired, but its great location made up for this. We were able to access the metro easily, as well as good local restaurants in a village like setting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Very good location, many popular sightseeing places could be...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was quite poor comparing with the other hotels - no warm dish (egs etc.), no vegetables, yogurts.

    Very good location, many popular sightseeing places could be reached by walking. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    9.2
    Worth the location and nice staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No double bed (2 single bed combined). Had a hard time finding a place to park on the street nearby, but that comes with location I think. Nearest parking is 31€ for 24h.

    Good location in the city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    7.5
    Very nice location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small bedroom with a window leading to an inside staircase, which is not so nice. The bed was not very comfortable.

    Very nice location! Great staff. Beautiful hotel, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.9
    Short trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were arriving late that night and trying to extend the check out time but the guy who work at the reception he said no and started to speaking Spanish which we couldn't understand. Would be nicer if he could speak more English to the foregin guest.

    Good location and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    We loved our Madrid trip, we had the best time and loved the city & people!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I would've appreciated a kettle and some coffee in our room so we didn't have to go out to get our first coffee (we didn't opt for the breakfast at the hotel). Can't really think of anything else we didn't like about the place?

    The hotel was in a great location just off the Grand Via which is virtually the centre of Madrid. We walked everywhere to see all the sights and did lots of shopping too. The hotel itself is nice enough. It's clean and airy. Our room was basic but comfortable enough. It was quiet, we couldn't hear the road and there were plugs everywhere which we loved because I've been to a hotel in Rome before that had no plugs except in the bathroom (obvs they had plugs for the bedlamps but we couldn't reach them and the bed was super heavy to move). All in all, I'd recommend Sterling if you're looking for a budget friendly central hotel. The staff were super helpful and lovely too. We enjoyed ourselves so much, we're looking to go back to Madrid next year and stay in a fancy 5* hotel in the expensive part of town because it looked amazing there too!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.9
    Not Spectacular But Worth The Money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a good size and the bathroom, upgraded. However, the room itself was very dated. Dark and basically all wood panneling. I almost forgot I was in Madrid when I first walked in.

    The property is in a really good location. Safe and well lit.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    9.2
    Good location great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was good experience ' The staff was very nice and helpful Even I came earlier than check in and they prepare it for me So thank you so much for it :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    Short city break for husbands birthday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like!

    Small but perfectly adequate and comfy room, lovely breakfast, ideally placed for the Gran Via and the centre, excellent public travel including the Metro, helpful and friendly hotel staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    2.5
    Disappointing and offending
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff and manager were the rudest people I have ever talked to. Completely ruined my stay in Madrid! We stayed in over 25 hotels on our Europe travels and this staff was the worst we have encountered. I needed help with my reservation and if they were at least "humans" to not say kind they could have helped me. All I heard was no no no! Horrible experience after 2,5 months traveling around Europe. Get better guys! You are where you are because people like us choose to book nights with hotels we think are nice. Don't disappoint your customers. Without us all you go back to the start.

    Nothing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    8.3
    Very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was definitely not enough space for 3 beds in the room, but apart of that it's clean and nice. Location is great, right in the center of Madrid! Staff is friendly, no concerns for sure!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.1
    Great holiday all in all
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a triple and twin room in October but got a twin with an extra bed crammed in and a double! We did ask for a change but thy did not get back to us! Not a lot of space in either room!

    Staff were polite and very helpful

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    6.3
    Excellent Location - Smelly Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sewage smell in room would intermittently invade the space. The room had a dark and dingy vibe.

    The location was great, very convenient to get to and also had small grocery stores around to pick ups after and snacks.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    4.6
    don't go there!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - it's dirty, no slippers, no teakettle, no welcome basket; - those aren't pillows; - there is mold in the bathroom; - staff doesn't speak english - tiny room. we barely had space to move around. Horrible!

    location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    6.3
    Adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast awful white sliced bread no brown no eggs fruit salad orange and apple.........pastries covered in sugar

    Beds and shower fine very clean room

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    Great location and value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was a slight 'smell' in parts of the hotel, but our room was fine.

    An excellent location. Walking distance to lots of historic buildings and parks. Great restaurants all around. The room had a balcony where you could look out over the rooftops. Near to main bus routes and underground stations. Breakfast was available and very adequate. My husband and I enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    10
    The best Hotel I've ever stayed in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing it was perfect

    Loved everything the room was huge the front desk were nice just off the Gran Via perfect for early flight only cost €30. Have to be the quietest Hotel in Madrid.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    4.2
    I would warn everyone not to go to the Hotel Sterling in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was terrible - and they would not accept cancelling it. It was in the basement and made a very depressing start to the day. 3 of our 4 rooms had no view and hardly any natural light and were very small. We really wanted to cancel the whole thing and get out but they refused.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    10
    Great hotel worth to stay , center location makes it better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rate for this hotel is overpriced

    Rooms were quite big and great heating system facilities and staff was quite friendly and best thing is in center , everything is near by

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is situated in the center of the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is very very small.You can spend there just one night not more. The breakfast is very poor but for one night stay it is ok.

    The hotel is situated in the center of the city. The price is good. So it is a good place to stay for one night.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    i thought that the breakfast was poor with not much variety,

    The location was excellent and on checking in i was given the choice of a quiet room which i accepted. The room was in the corner of the hotel and was quiet at all times.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    5.8
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The noise. At five in the afternoon someone knocked insistently on the door. It was a man that wanted to fix the cardboard of the room, something he should do when there were no guests. About ten minutes later a loud noise came from the hallway, it was the cleaner passing the vacuum cleaner. At night we heared the guests that were in the next room as if we had them in ours. We also were initially given a tiny room with a very small window that overlooked the fire stairs. Finally, the pillows were too thin. We have not had a good experience.

    The reception staff was good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    9.2
    Excellent family trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an odour from the toilets in the reception area

    Hotel was very clean and comfortable and room was quiet considering was overlooking the street.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    3.8
    A tired, budget hotel which if I was a student, I may have found to be great.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was grubby, out dated and stuffy. I had requested a double but I got a room with three single beds. (I couldn't be bothered to complain as I presumed the rest of the hotel was going to be the same and at least I was able to get out of the room on to the balcony). Room 503 The breakfast was inedible. The cheapest ham, chees and pastries which all tasted peculiar /stale! I tried a number of different items at breakfast but none of them got more than one bite! Really disappointing.

    The staff were helpful. There was an unexpected balcony.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    5.4
    Don't stay there
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to change rooms twice. Rooms facing San Bernardo St. Are very noisy. Second room reeked of cigarette smoke. Staff didn't help moving my luggage nor apologized for the inconvenience in any way. Third room was half the size as original room (price stayed the Dr and the A/C couldn't be turned on and off from within the room, but only by the front desk. Two out of three nights the receptionist didn't even bother lifting his head from the screen and tell me goodnight when I got back. Bonus : slowest elevators in the Northern hemisphere

    Location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    7.9
    Great location close to the Gran Via
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con was a bit intrusive when switching on, esp in early hours. No view from the window as room faced an internal space but the upside of that is that it was quiet.

    Helpful reception staff. Good restaurant deal with a local venue. Great location - very convenient for lots of places to visit.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    8.3
    Happy to have chosen here
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Random smell of cigarette smoke. The doors to the rooms - they bang loudly as there appears to be nothing to stop them closing slowly or softly. As always, I would like to see tea/coffee facilities in rooms.

    The room was more than spacious for one person. The width of the bed was ample. I appreciated the mini fridge and not only the size of the bath tub but the fact there was a plug. Also, it was great to be able to control the heating.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    You can't go wrong with this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Flamenco/restaurant/theater leaflets.

    Very big balcony, clean comfortable room. Right next to big theaters and big attractions. In between 3 big subway station.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast without eggs but nice hotel anyway..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was terrible. No eggs at the breakfast, first time in my life!!

    The room was nice and comfortable, could be some bigger. Location is good as well

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.9
    Staff, comfort of bed and location are terrific!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be aware that interior room while quiet has no windows to the outdoors ...so was great at night no street noise at al!! Just that in morning and afternoon was a little dark

    Staff, comfort of bed and location are terrific!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    7.5
    Loved Madrid. Lots to do and see, i.e. Museums,park, palaces, shopping
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was too bouncy and soft. If the balcony doors were left open at night the noise from the street was too loud.

    Location of the hotel was good. Alberto at reception was very helpful,happy and obliging.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    6.3
    Great location, at the shopping area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We've been staying at the 3rd floor(the middle floor) though we asked for highest one. I could not sleep well at night due to the noise. There is no Isolation at all.

    Great location, at the shopping area. about 2 minutes walking to . primark. Staff is nice

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    6.3
    Not happy with the way how hotel charges
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When i booked the room, it said i would pay it on the front desk. But it auto charged from my credit card on the day before i checked in the hotel. The even worse is that the charged amount is completely different with the price when i booked. Not sure how the hotel set the exchange rate from NZD to EURO Dollar which didn't show in my credit card clearly.

    I stayed there for two separate days. The first day was good and the room charge and services were all as same as i booked.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2016

    5.8
    Reasonable hotel but poor quality breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality breakfast. No varieties, same boring repetition of breakfast of croissants and ham. No hot food. Rationing of fruit juice and hams. In short, no value for money breakfast compared with similar nearby hotel previously used. Highly disappointed with breakfast provision.

    Politeness of staff. Quick response to demands and adequately resourced bedroom.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    8.8
    Descent hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dark room with no view from the window. Shower has a hidden switch to be activated. Breakfast should concentrate a bit more in quality and not in quantity

    Very clean, polite staff, wifi that works.Big rooms.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2016

    7.1
    Good hotel but poor breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Really poor breakfast and a strange behavior from the staff. They poured the waist from the breakfastguests directly on the tables and that didn't look nice at all. He also didn't change the cutlery he thought was not used! We saw him save cutlery to the next guest, that we had used! Disgusting!

    Room was really good and the location also.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    6.7
    Good location, average value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was somewhat limited. Single person room was small with a fire escape view from window - try to get the penthouse with terrace from 6th floor!

    Good location, everything went smoothly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.1
    Average....sorry but it was!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was average. Coffee was terrible. Room 106 has zero view which is great if you've just been released from a maximum security prison...unfortunately i hadn't and would have liked to be able to see some daylight!

    Location was great and the staff were friendly.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Good location and good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room configuration was a little odd; the sheets on one bed had not been changed, although they were quickly and cheerfully changed on request.

    Location is excellent; the breakfast was fine for a continental breakfast - it exceeded our expectations based on other reviews we had read here..

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    3.3
    I booked the sterling hotel in Madrid for three nights stay...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked the sterling hotel in Madrid for three nights stay for two. On my arrival I was shocked at the room size it was a box room and no space for any luggage, I booked for two persons and the room was very small for even one person let alone two. This caused me a lot of stress I had to spend the second day looking for another room for my stay. I wanted to enjoy trip but instead had to look for a hotel. I luckily found one which I booked through you 'Booking' for the two remaining nights in Madrid. I booked sterling after looking at your photos which are astonishingly deceiving. I took photos of my own to show the small room I was given for two person! The bed was very small and we were given one long pillow spanning the entire width to share between us! We didn't even have our own pillows!! I checked out on the second day to check in to the new hotel and was still charged for that day even though I only stayed for one night. The view from the room was into the staircase of a building see picture and the window didn't even open. Overall I was not happy at all with the service by the staff who did not even try to understand the problems we were having. The bed was not comfortable at all, the dimensions width and length were incredible small! I would not recommend this hotel at all.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    8.3
    Young family travelers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast choices can be improved. A change of cereals and choice of eggs would be great.

    Perfect for families, lovely staff, great central location, spacious rooms, good atmosphere.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    9.6
    Great price VS Quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We're staying 3 nights in Madrid, and we couldn't have picked a better promotion in hotel sterling. It has a great location, good staff always helpfull, the rooms are great and very clean with air conditioner and TV. In general is a very charming hotel

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    8.8
    Great Hotel with Central Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast option was a bit limited but it is good according to what we pay.

    It is a nice hotel located in near to Gran Via which is the main street of Madrid. You can fin a lot of restaurants and literally walk to the major attraction of the Madrid.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was very simple and didn't have a lot of fruits.

    Great location. Close to everything and the shops at Gran Via. Walking distance to the subway station and to restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    6.3
    Location good staff helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room - Romantic Offer
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double room very small asked for a quiet room got that nothing like photo and one side of bed against wall. Saying that it was comfy. Hotel old but clean

    Location good staff helpful

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    8.3
    City Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were made and towels hung up but little more done, e.g sticky rings from a bottle were still on the bathroom basin shelf for several days.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. The location is really handy for places to visit, restaurants, shopping and travel options around the city.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2016

    8.3
    Good hotel, in a good,location, with good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear the neighbors toilet flush and shower while laying in bed.

    Room was clean and comfortable. Good location directly off the Gran Via. Easy walking discuss to many of Madrid's attractions.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    Staff very helpfull
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff and breakfast was very good

    Staff very helpfull

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    9.2
    Reliably good value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV channels

    Great location to start exploring Madrid. Good value for money. My third visit at this place.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Excallent location, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excallent location, clean

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.3
    Not worth the price taken. Not like a hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are too small . AC was also not working properly . Too small room at the price.

    Only location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.8
    Good value for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English TV

    Great position in central Madrid, good breakfast and WiFi, and a fair price.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.3
    An affordable hotel in a prime lication
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable bed

    Excellent location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    An affordable hotel in a prime location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room window overlooked a utility space

    Affordable hotel in a great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, Quiet hotel, very well located
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing special

    Very clean, Quiet hotel, very well located

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    The location is perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really small that 2 suitcases could be opened with difficulty and also it was a bit dark

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.3
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast, and uncomfortable bed, too hard mattress

    Good location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in Madrid city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Top location! Polite staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are not too many things for breakfast and the place for dinner it’s not that pretty but fine.

    Great location Quietness Attention was good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    8.8
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast

    Fair rooms for the price

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Sterling traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: