Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Room Mate Alicia 3 stars

Prado, 2, Madrid City Centre, 28014 Madrid, Spain

#37 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 835 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Amazingly awesome place at a good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved everything!

    I LOVE this hotel-- the staff was great, the room was beautiful, the bed was comfy, the shower was great, the view was beautiful, the room was quiet for sleep, and the price was fair. I love this place and can't wait to return!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    8.8
    Perfect location next to a nice plaza and quick walk to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly could have been a bit cheaper but good value overall

    Perfect location next to a nice plaza and quick walk to metro. good breakfast and rain shower

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was perfect. Room was cery clean and comfortable. We had a huge terrace which was very useful to sit and relax at nights with music coming from the square. Breakfast was aldo very good with lots of choices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    Made Madrid a very very enjoyable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Exterior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff made every effort to help us. Even lent us an umbrella. Excellent neighborhood ... food and 24 hour pharmacy nearby. Breakfast was good, elaborate & convenient. Great hotel but book early - rooms go quickly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Close to bars, shopping, and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location only a 10 minute walk to nearest train station. The hotel is just steps away from bars, restaurants, and shopping. Staff was friendly they let us check in right when we got there which was nice, because we were exhausted from the flight. The room was clean and it was a good size. Overall good for the price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Great location. Would stay again as very close to restaurants, bars, sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exterior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed seemed very small. Would have preferred a more private bathroom as shower was located in the main bedroom due to space

    Good breakfast choice, great croissants and coffee too

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.6
    Comfy bed, nice size room, friendly staff, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall nothing, if I had to pick something, the bathroom was a little small and the door didn’t close all the way.

    Comfy bed, nice size room, friendly staff, great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.8
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit small overall. Also, I sort of messed up my reservation (my fault, not yours) but, it sucked that I ended up paying $100+ for a night I never used. The least the property could have done was give me free breakfast. But, oh well.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.9
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there's no separate bathroom toilet is separated only by sliding door from the living space you can hear what your partner is doing in the toilet perfectly

    great location nice staff breakfast is okay, but nothing extra

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    8.3
    Great located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The heater/cooler on my room was not really working. We tried to talk to reception about this, but was told, that in the winter/spring it only heated, and in the summer it only cooled. Central heater. That made the nights very hot and uncomfortable.

    Comfy bed, really nice staff (very helpful), great location of the hotel, ideally situated.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Madrid a great city with lots to see
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room that we were given initially had a foul odour that seemed to be emanating from bathroom. We were offered another, slightly better located room @ €15 extra per night and accepted same. Unsatisfactory that the first room was not up to standard.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    6.3
    Disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was traveling alone and the rooms that they give to the single people are like small holes, no views, no oxygen, the windows were looking at the empty walls. Very clausetrophobic. Nothing looked like what i saw in the pictures before i went there.

    The venue of the hotel was wonderful. Walking distance to most of the must-see spots.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Welcoming staff - highly recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The pillows were too big. Also the rooms have large windows and sliding doors, but for our room, they were not so well maintained and one of the windows wouldn't close properly and so our room got cold without the heating.

    We had the Junior Suite, which overlooks the plaza. It was spacious, bright and clean. There is a great choice at breakfast with pastries, cereal and hams. Staff are very helpful and polite.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel but breakfast not so great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was in an adjoining restaurant and the lighting was dim. Also the tables were not cleared regularly and cleaned to make room for newcomers. I had to clear a table myself before starting breakfast.

    The rather quirky modern room. Great shower. Lovely design and art features throughout.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    10
    An amazing stay in the heart of Madrid!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    The hotel was in a perfect location! Very close to all the sites and plenty of tapas and wine bars close by. The room was modern and clean and quite spacious. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had an amazing stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel, good locAtion, lovely staff but food is not good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not good and the ‘hot food’ was cold. Hot water for the tea was only partially warm and the bread was hard. Breakfast was not good at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice stay in an excellent location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel needs a little renovation. The room I stayed in was perfect for one person but with not enough space for luggage if we were two. Also, I would appreciate new and more colourful curtains in the room

    Centrally located in Plaza Anna with lot of restaurants in the vicinity. Also a short walk to Puerta del Sol, Plaza Mayor and the shopping area. I have been upgraded to a superior room offering nice view on the square, which was certainly a plus. The hotel offers free wifi thoughout the city and a nice breakfast. Nice, helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    8.8
    Awesome hotel for couples full of smart details to make your stay unforgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    toilet door did not fully close, which made it a little to public as it did not provide full privacy.

    Staff was super helpful and we got upgraded to a really nice room without asking for it, which was a great surprise. Room was outstanding, and we enjoyed the proximity to a vibrant area without suffering from the noise from the street, noise insulation is really good in street facing rooms. I would for sure repeat the experience!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Great location and value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Door on the bathroom doesn’t close 100% but that is being picky!

    Easy to pay the final bill and held on to our luggage as we went around on the last day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Hope to return soon!
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As the room was in the first floor unfortunately the sliding door in the reception was really noisy and gave us the impression the underground was just under the bed. Once this is solved the hotel will get 10 points :) The room doors could be also soundproof or at least isolate a bit better the noise from the corridor. The hotel is not responsible for the inconsiderate guests but at least it would help to ignore them...

    Excellent hotel in every aspect. Staff is great, competent and friendly. Especial mention to the lady in charge of the breakfast. Breakfast is very good and -for the price (about 10 €)- a fantastic value. The location is superb and the rooms are very comfortable. We booked the same room we had two years ago and it has been since then renovated and was even better than before. The soundproof windows are really good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.8
    There are better options in the (beutiful) Barrio de la Letras.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was much too small, and I mean, claustrophobic and challenging to use; I suppose it must the same in prison--not acceptable. The breakfast was poor and the boiled ham on offer had gone bad.

    We has stayed here before. Unbeatable location, but...

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    6.3
    High price low quelity
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are very small and the elevator too old and slow, we had to go down 3 times from the 5th flor becouse the door was not opening

    Location is really good and style also very good

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    9.2
    Very helpful, friendly staff and great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillow too soft and no English TV channel.

    Very helpful, friendly staff and great location. I would recommend this hotel, There seem to be channels I'm French and German but no English which would have been a bonus but great hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    10
    I will bring my granddaughter back in two years time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    All the food was delicious, it was therefore difficult to persuade my grandson to eat anywhere else. The location is the best if you want to see and get to know Madrid. The staff were very helpful and good fun.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked a double bed but had contacted the property weeks in advance to change to twin beds but unfortunately this did not happen - i know it can not be guaranteed but i gave so much notice was hoping it could be accommodated

    Excellent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    9.6
    Still a great place to stay on 4th visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast room (Miss Sushi ?!) toaster and coffee machine were so slow :-(

    Cracking location on the corner of a lovely square (Santa Ana) in busy Madrid. Very modern design which we loved but not for the traditional Spanish (dark wood). No flunkies getting in the way. Ultra clean and comfortable. Quiet (yes yes, in Madrid). Terrace in the duplex; good for people watching in Santa Ana.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    8.8
    Great location with all you could want in an economical hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing that I didn't like, appreciate or enjoy. I felt they provided us with a great well priced experience in Madrid.

    We stayed in a standard room, but it was really nicely appointed. Plenty of room, comfortable bed, good storage, nice bathroom, quiet. Our room faced into the inner courtyard so we didn't have any problems with noise from the street. This hotel is wonderfully located for wandering around Madrid. We didn't realise at the time of booking how good it was! The breakfast was great, although it takes a little while to work out what is on offer and where it all is, as they do the breakfast in their sushi restaurant. But plenty of options to choose from. Staff were all very professional and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    7.9
    Good location.Small rooms and uncomfortable bathrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite small and bathroom is sort of in the middle of everything. Not isolated enough and pretty uncomfortable.

    Good location. Friendly staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    9.2
    An exceptional city centre base
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked the Junior Suite (303) on the third floor with corner window overlooking Plaza Santa Ana. The double glazing was completely effective giving us a calm quiet ambience, the suite was immaculately clean and extremely comfortable. Situated in the heart of the old centre and we were surrounded a plethora of Restaurants, Bars and Theatres, for what isn’t within immediate walking distance, then Puerta de Sol is only a few minutes walk away and the terrain is easy and flat. There you can pick up the Metro, an assortment of buses, to the Madrid tour bus. The Staff were pleasant, and extremely helpful and full of useful advice. I am afraid that with such a choice of eateries close by we didn’t try the Hotel breakfast therefor unable to comment, ditto the attached Sushi restaurant. We spent a wonderful 4 days exploring Madrid from an exceptional base with no fault to find.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    10
    Rooms were really cool, the decoration was not traditional.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Isolation wasn't that great. I could easily hear people talking in the corridor or the room next door. Also having a shower in other rooms gave loud noise to mine.

    Rooms were really cool, the decoration was not traditional. The bed was comfortable. Staff was friendly and spoke really good English.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    Will definitely recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exterior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful shower but located near the center of room with frosted glass. The sink mirror too far for makeup purposes. The staff provided a small magnifying mirror and problem solved.

    Very well located hotel at Las Letras neighborhood. Near museums and lots of restaurants. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    7.5
    Loved it. Will book again / larger room this time 😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room i booked was super tiny. It had all the essentials which was a pleasant surprise.

    Location and staff who were helpful with happy personalities. Hotel was located within walking dostance from most major landmarks, which is a huge plus. The free pocket wifi helped me navigate the area easily. Loved the breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    10
    Room Mate Alicia ☆☆☆☆☆
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is very central, the staff at the hotel were very helpful always smiling, the rooms are modern, spacious & clean would def recommend this hotel & would stay there again ☆☆☆☆☆

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Excellent location! Good service!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like that they don't automatically give you breakfast for 2 people when you booked a double room. Initially i've booked for a single room and few days before checking in, i called the property and request to upgrade to a double room. Of course they charged me extra for the upgrade but didn't give breakfast for the extra person. I don't know but in other hotels, regardless if you booked alone or with someone, when you have a double room, there should be breakfast for 2.

    Because I'm a returning guest, I like the fact that the guy from the front desk remember me even though i only stayed for one night the first time. They're very accommodating and let me store some of my luggage before the day of my booking because i need to travel for 2 weeks. The room is very modern and comfortable and they have an english movie channel which is not available in some of the hotels i've stayed in Spain. The location is very central and there's a lot of choices of restaurants from fast food to fine dining restaurants. I also like that the property is very near the Metro station and Puerta Del Sol.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    9.6
    An excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel was lovely. Out room, which also had a fabulous sunny terrace, was bright and very clean. The bed was really comfortable. It was great to have coffee making facilities in the room. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The location was perfect with lots of bars and restaurants very close by and was within easy walking distance to many of the city's main attractions.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel, great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Exterior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bedroom was beautiful, and felt really spacious although it wasn't huge. It had everything I needed and everything was spotless. The air conditioning was virtually silent, so no issue keeping it on at night. The staff were very friendly. The location is great - very central, on the corner of the Plaza Santa Ana, in a district full of interesting small streets with good places to eat and drink, a short walk from the museums. Close to the metro, and with a constant stream of taxis past the door. The hotel doesn't have a lounge/bar area, but with everything on your doorstep it doesn't need it.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.2
    I liked the location and stuff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy

    I liked the location and stuff. They tried to help with anything. Standard rooms in this hotel are small, but if you plan to stay short time, it will be ok. For longer time, I would reserve a miny sut. At time it's very noisy becous it's on the square with lots of restaurant's. Breakfast was good and stuff was very helpful and try to accommodate your diet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    10
    A perfect hotel for a visit to Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had no complaints.

    Front desk staff were very capable in English, very pleasant, very helpful,and very competent. The breakfast was excellent The location was excellent. I walked to the Prado and to the palace. I greatly appreciated that there was no smoking in the rooms and on the premises. And I would certainly hope that I would never get a room that had had dogs or other pets in it due to fleas and pet dander to which I am allergic. My room was also very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    7.9
    Cosmopolitan hotel in the heart of the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea/ coffee making facilities in the room.

    Staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast had a good range of food. Portable WiFi was an added bonus. Location was central for all attractions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    9.6
    had a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    hearing coke bottles being loaded on to a wagon for the first three hours every morning and replenning every bar in the square. the toaster which took at least twenty minutes and was not in your eye line. also the coffee machine had a mind of its own, did not have one decent cup of coffee.

    location, cleanliness, staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    9.2
    Pleasant, convenient, very good furnishings and linens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They should let people know that the last 3 rooms (by number) on each floor only have windows opening to an air vent.

    Linen of best quality. Sound insulation the best. Some rooms are horrible without a real window. Close to my club Casino del Madrid.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    10
    Perfect for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    What a pleasure it was to stay at Alicia! The room and bed was comfortable, the room quiet and the interior design was pleasing. The location could not have been better as we were able to walk everywhere.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    10
    Chic and stylish hotel in a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exterior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We loved everything about this hotel. The location is excellent, overlooking a lively Madrid plaza. Restaurants and tapas bars are just across the street. Big shopping streets just a few minutes walk away. Hotel is very stylish and beautifully clean and tidy - well equipped room - great value for money. Hotel staff are friendly and helpful. Happy to recommend 100%.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    8.3
    very well located hotel
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    rooms facing inner airspace on first floor and probably next few floors above have an unpleasant "view" and opening the window doesn't provide fresh air. (also on the first floor it would be insecure as other rooms open onto space)

    comfortable rooms, pleasant staff and great location with access to good local restaurants close by

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    6.7
    Good location ,not a comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was suffocating in the room as there was no air movement. Room size is quite small.Round table is too big for the space restricting movement.

    This is a clean modern hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    9.2
    Absolutely fabulous location & staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Executive Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We were upgraded to the duplex apartment which was fabulous! Huge terrace & pool overlooking Santa Ana square - you can enjoy the ambiance of the square even on the terrace. Very well equipped, huge comfy bed, Pablo on reception was so helpful with local knowledge and suggested great restaurants, bars & galleries. Would definitely stay here on our return to Madrid - centrally located for everything - we walked everywhere with very little effort! Fabulous, don't hesitate in booking!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Likable hotel in the city center
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Curious design of the restaurant.

    Excellent location near the Prado, the rest of the city center is accessible on foot. Sympathetic staff. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    9.6
    Ideal location for a visit to Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very comfortable and very quiet, despite the hotel being so central. Great position overlooking a little square with lots of life and lots of bars and restaurants! Staff were absolutely lovely.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    10
    Excellent Hotel in Wonderful Location
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    wi-fi was down for awhile

    Breakfast was great. Staff was great. Location was wonderful also. Madrid is the hidden jewel of European cities and this hotel makes the city easy to enjoy.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    10
    A great hotel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Outside rooms are quite noisy during the night due to the busy Plaza below. The integral bathroom would not suit everyone as there is no privacy to have a shower or after the shower.

    The location is perfect for visiting the Prado, Retiro Park and for great local bars and restaurants. 5 minutes walk from Sol and a little further to Plaza Mayor.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    9.6
    Magic in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit short and the heating unable to be adjusted in room.

    Proximity to major tourist spots and transport. A huge number and variety of restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel, great position!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was a bit small. Photos weren't clear that it was not separate to the bedroom.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Salv on reception was exceptional! He went out of his way to help with anything we asked, nothing was too much trouble. Hope Room Mate Alicia appreciate what an asset he is! Hotel is in an ideal spot for exploring Madrid, everything is handy, lots of restaurants all around the area. Within walking distance of everything.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.9
    Small and nice, great location hotel in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    there was a bad scent coming from the toilets, like there is no ventilation system or something like that. it didn't ruin our experience but it had a small afect

    Breakfast was very satisfying, it is very basic but with good quality of ingredients and presentation. the stuff is very nice and the location is perfect. The room is big enough for 2 people, the bathroom is great and water is perfect

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Bad smell from the toilet sometimes. The management has to follow-up this problem closely. - The unique window faces the small inner courtyard so there is not enough light in the room, air cannot circulate sufficiently and the room is too hot. We had to leave the window opened the whole night with the air-conditioner on.

    We were not lucky enough to have a room overlooking Plaza Santa Anna but we avoided the street noise. Overall we had a great stay in this hotel for many reasons: - the staff was really kind and helpful - the hotel is well located: a short walk from all main sites and metro stations (Sol and Anton Martin). About one hour from the airport. - the complete breakfast buffet included - the cleanliness of the room - the internet speed: wifi worked perfectly .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    10
    Excellent base camp for Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I honestly can't think of anything negative to say of the hotel or staff!

    Excellent location in the centre of the historic part of Madrid. Very friendly and helpful staff that gave us the best room available on our arrival.Super comfortable beds which really helped seeing as we averaged about 15 Kilometres a day walking around the city.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    9.6
    Soacious, comfortable room in a great location convenient to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Exterior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What was not to like?

    Soacious, comfortable room in a great location convenient to major tourist attractions. Decent breakfast buffet with lots of choices.awesome value for central Madrid.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.8
    Very good location to see all the attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Exterior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    in the heart of the tourist area so it is lacking a local feel. the hotel is well maintained but could use a face lift.

    Very good location to see all the attractions. most is in walking distance. close to many good restaurants. staff was great. we were upgraded to a better room.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    8.3
    The receptionist's friendliness and helpfulness left a particularly positiv impression.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cold cuts and cheeses could have been of better quality.

    The staff took a lot of effort to decorate for Halloween! With a very nice personal touch, trying to make a difference.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Terrific place, terrific staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom is not really a separate room, so you're undressing and drying off in the room. OK for a couple.

    Everything was perfect! The location was amazing - you could walk to everything in a few minutes. The place was immaculate, comfortable, nice size room, quiet, and the staff were terrific. Very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was really great. Eggs were fresh and good, lots of good quality cheeses, pastries, fresh fruits, etc. Would highly recommend this place.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    8.8
    Generally great hotel and location
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The maid service is barely acceptable. One day, it was 4PM and our room had not been cleaned. We had to insist that it be cleaned that day or it would have been ignored. Toilettries and towels/wash cloths were not replaced on a regular basis. Other days, maid service is quite late. We stayed 6 nights in the hotel, so should have received top notch treatment. This was a return stay for me. The electric system of blinds and blackout curtains covering the wall of windows is old and needs replacing. It works inconsistently.

    The location was superb. The room, a Junior Suite, was spacious and wonderfully arranged with a terrific view of the plaza. The bed and pillows were extremely comfortable. The front staff was always helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    10
    Your Room Mate Alicia is in just the right place for easy touring and eating in the historic area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel sign is not prominent, making one taxi driver unwilling to stop. Sushi restaurant next door has amajor sign, obscuring hotel sign. If you book hotel room with breakfast, it is in that restaurant.

    Very modern styling in a hotel with rooms completely easy to live in--useful built-ins, good lights, safe in closet, rainshower (no tub), Hotel staff ready to help in any way and gave excellent recommendations for eating in the area. Taxis came by every few minutes--easy to nab a ride. Coffee pot/teakettle for making your own coffee and tea anytime.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and as much as you could eat. Room was a good size, clean and comfortable. Position perfect, right in the centre and walking distance from art galleries, park, shopping, metro etc. Staff at hotel could not be more helpful and friendly. We were interested in this place as it had a good review in the Guardian newspaper and we can see why. Would definitely stay here again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    8.3
    I stay here every time I go to Madrid because is very well...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed one night only and there was not hot water. It was awful to start the day with a very cold shower not being told in advance and or compensated in any manner

    I stay here every time I go to Madrid because is very well located, plenty of places nearby to eat and lovely staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    9.6
    Great location to see all the sights
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great location right on santa ana square, loads of bars and restaurants close by. In easy walking distance to the three major museums, plaza mayor and la latina etc. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful and rooms were of a high quality.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Duplex Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives about this place!

    The duplex terrace was very clean, spacious, and worth the price. The terrace was private, had a splash pool/seating areas and was very spacious. The air conditioning was excellent--had to turn it off a couple times to warm up! The breakfast was good and conveniently located in the restaurant next door to Alicia. The staff was very accommodating and friendly! This hotel is perfect for visiting Madrid!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    9.2
    Great stay if you book the higher end rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My original room was a standard and pretty depressing. Not sure if it was just the room i was given but if you stay at Alicia probably better to book an exterior or room with a terrace.

    Well i am very very grateful for being upgraded to a nice room with a terrace which was very comfortable, with lots of great touches from the magazines to the toiletries. Also the staff were really helpful and pleasant. Also this location is excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    7.9
    Great location strong wifi small fridge
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fridge is too small and filled with expensive bar items . We need to move them so we can use the space for our stuff..

    Right by Santa Ana Plaza, 5-10 minute walk to Sol Plaza and Prado museum . Lots of restaurants around .. Easy access to shopping area or subway station Wifi is very strong .

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    9.2
    Perfect location in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I thought there was a swimming pool but it is exclusive to one of the bedrooms. My fault for not reading the options better.

    We loved the pop art around the hotel and in our room, the bed was big and comfortable, the mirror was a nice surprise! Breakfast was varied with plenty of choice and I particularly liked the relaxed breakfast times. All the staff were very friendly. The location is excellent for the Prado and the Thyssen, as well as being a short walk to Sol and the Gran Via. There is a nice square right in front of the hotel with plenty of choices for eating and drinking.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    10
    Superb hotel and location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Booked as a surprise trip for my fiance's 30th. I asked if they could decorate the room, which they filled with balloons, so was a lovely surprise for him. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and very comfortable. Hotel situated in a great location, waking distance to most attractions! Highly recommend and hope to return one day!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.2
    I have stayed at this boutique multiple times and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room card machine was not working which meant slight inconveniences for all concerned - this is a one-off and probably more frustrating for the front desk team than us given they had to come up and open doors.

    I have stayed at this boutique multiple times and consistently had a great experience. Nice rooms, great location and high levels of service no matter what time of the year. Keep up the good work team - will be back soon :)

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    9.2
    Amazing location couldn't have asked for more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower door didn't shut completely- and no bath if that's what you like.

    Amazing location couldn't have asked for more. Well worth the superior experience upgrade of €10pn. Would definitely recommend and return!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2016

    8.8
    1. Poor lighting in shower and no place to hook towel when...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Poor lighting in shower and no place to hook towel when having a shower (the towel rail was in the toilet!) 2. No place to attach a laundry line 3. No bathroom door for privacy

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    10
    Can't wait to return!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fantastic location - walking distance to art museums and great bars and restaurants. Fabulous staff - so helpful and friendly. Very comfortable, modern hotel. Hoping to return - great base in fantastic city.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    10
    A week's pro filming session in Madrid
    • Solo traveller
    • Exterior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing

    This is a beautiful designer hotel and provides very comfortable accommodation in a central location, Plaza Santa Anna, which is within 10 minutes' walk to Plaza Major. An added advantage is that the excellent Restaurant Caldero specialising in the cuisine from Murcia Southern Spain is just next door. All the facilities worked perfectly and the staff was most helpful. However, while they all spoke excellent English, while in Spain, one would get better service and welcome if one tried to speak Spanish. The trip will be all the more in depth.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Thanks to Katy for keeping our room spotless :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Thanks to Katy for keeping our room spotless :)

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Room Mate Alicia traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: