Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Alixares 4 stars

Paseo de la Sabica, 40, Granada City Centre, 18009 Granada, Spain

#85 of 119 hotels in Granada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5387 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    10
    A hotel that felt like home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We chose the hotel because it is nearest to the Alhambra entrance and it proved an inspired choice. The staff could not have been more helpful. They took charge of our luggage and parked our car for us, organised taxis and even scratched their heads over requests as strange as where to buy an oud. (We managed to get one.) I have not a word but gratitude and thanks for the Alixares and its staff, I will stay there again when next in Granada and recommend it to everyone.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.8
    Excellent value and location, just don't eat there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a shocking experience, a crowded buffet with flying elbows, ordinary food and little tables in rows. Once and never again.

    Good clean room, comfortable bed, clean new en suite. Perfect location for alhambra; excellent bus service into town, serviced parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    5.4
    Cramped bed and small mean rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    SMALL double bed made for uncomfortable sleep . Ask for twin ! No frills check in with no smile or extra information , what's wrong with " Hi nice to meet you !" No tea/ coffee in room but hot water available at bar which was slammed down in front of me . Room had thinnest towels imaginable maybe held together by seams ? And hollow doors so you could hear every slam and bang on the floor .

    Great location opposite the Allahbra entrance . Huge swimming pool was the high light for me on a hot day . Average breakfast , pastries a bit limp . Foyer and lounge areas huge and comfortable as was pool area .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    8.3
    I loved Granada and visiting the Al Alambra for which this hotel provided excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    noise coming into the room; I specifically asked for quiet when I arrived but it seems that machine room for air conditioning went on over drive and noise when a bus load arrived in the middle of the week; also there was some form of bad joke by placing me in a room on the 4th floor near the lifts and open air dinner area that had loud music uintil 1am....; but after complaining I was transferred promptly to a inner room much quieter

    as a solo traveler I really enjoyed the chance to talk have a chit chat with staff at reception

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.1
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awful smell in our room overnight. Got worse as the night went on. Drainage smell. Could not wait to check out. Ruined our stay which we had looked forward to for a long time. Room 213

    Great location. Nice hotel and pool.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Where to Stay for Granada Flamenco Dancers
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Having the septic pumped out and stinking up the front porch area of the hotel for hours, on a hot, humid day, but it had to be done!

    The rooftop restaurant at sunset was the highlight of the hotel for me. I wept, it was so beautiful. The neighborhood was Al Hambra so it was well-lit, well signed and safe. We added a trip to see the flamenco dancers that was interesting, if not a tad commercial.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.6
    Gorgeous views, excellent location, attentive staff & lovely rooms make this a wonderful hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is within walking distance of the Alhambra but surrounded by parks, so it was quiet with beautiful views. The room had a terrace and a lovely bath. There were sockets on either side of the bed so we each could plug in our mobiles. The help was FANTASTIC! All of them worked very hard to make sure that their guests were comfortable. They gave good advice for getting into the old town of Granada. Their 4th floor restaurant had wonderful food as well as views. It was windy there, but the waiter brought a shawl for us.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    7.1
    Great location for Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is far from city centre. We had the buffet breakfast which was not great. Bad coffee and tasteless food.

    We chose this hotel as it was a few minutes walk to the Alhambra. It is far from city centre and Albaizin. The buses C32, C31 into town are frequent and easy to use. We parked in the car park opposite the hotel which is expensive, over 37 euros for two days. There was a swimming pool but we didn't use it. Room was adequate with a fridge.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    8.8
    Really lovely staf would definitely recommend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Typically in Spain there was no tea/coffee in the room and unless you paid for breakfast @€10 each the no tea/coffee available until 8am 😩

    The staff were great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    9.2
    Good location for Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Singles beds pushed together but still made as singles do not make it a double. Slide shower would not stay up the slide.

    Great location for Alhambra as it's straight across the road. Several good restaurants very close but also an easy 15 min walk all down hill to the main city areas and easy taxi back. Lovely big sunny pool which was great at the end of a day. Friendly efficient service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay 36 euro to park 2 nights but it was very close and that price is not too bad for Spain.

    Beautiful pool. Wonderful breakfast buffet. It was an amazing spread. Definitely book the room with it included. Right across the street from the Alhambra so you can do an early tour before the heat. Great room. 10 minute walk down to the plaza/ tapas bars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Perfect Hotel in lovely surrounding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The Hotel was superb, couldn't find any faults, the position to the Alhambra & easy access to Granada walking or by Mini Bus was a plus, enjoyed the Swimming pool and Breakfast.Will definitely return.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    6.7
    Pool was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Single beds pushed together that aren't fixed - not ideal. Room service wasn't great - the first time we tried they hung up on us and we had to go down to order and wait for the food.

    Pool was great. Comfortable pillows.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    10
    An excellent choice,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The position of the hotel for visiting the city of Granada was excellent. The staff were all efficient and very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had a meal on the roof top terrace, really good food with a spectacular view, and this all came with safe and secure parking

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.1
    Modern hotel close to Alhambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is excellent for visiting Alhambra but there is nothing else much to do in the immediate vicinity. The nearby restaurants closed by 6pm (Sunday and Monday) so you either have to eat in the hotel (bar food was quite poor); terrace restaurant did not open until 8pm; evening buffet is €16 or trek down the hill to the city. The hill is very steep!! There is a bus service which is efficient (€1.40 per journey). It is a pity the terrace restaurant is only open in the evenings as it has the best view. The pool is small, busy and when you are poolside it does not have the wonderful view of the mountains that we saw online. We would appreciate a kettle in the room.

    The breakfast was excellent - loads of choice (hot and cold). Staff were excellent at clearing dirty crockery away and at re-filling the buffet. Room was clean and comfortable but not very big for three people. Decor of the hotel is themed around Alhambra

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    6.7
    Near the Alhambra - great location for that!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked a double bed room and they gave us twin beds... not very good for couples. Also the terrace was not open so the main views of the mountains were not great from the corridor of the hotel.

    Near the Alhambra - great location for that! And not far from city centre

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable staff in excellent location for Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issues, but cleaning staff have to clean under beds, ours had a fair bit of dust, long overdue for a clean. Also we had a ceiling leak in the bathroom which had been ongoing due to existing water stain marks, would have excepted this to be rectified prior to allowing customers to stay in this room.

    Great location close to Alhambra entrance and walk down hill to the old town. Nice pool and comfortable room, able to get a snack & drink in foyer.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice location, enjoyed the swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything.

    Great location - nice, quiet and tucked away with beautiful views. The staff were very pleasant, always at the desk and did their best to accommodate. The swimming pool was a very nice feature since it was above 30 degrees most days, but it did get a bit full towards the end of the day. The restaurant was very nice too, but a bit pricey.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    8.3
    We enjoyed our Stay :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a problem with AC in the first night but the next day we moved to another room.

    Very good location for those who want to visit Alhambra. Very nice swimming pool. Good variety at breakfast. Overall very confortable rooms. Good value for money!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    7.5
    Good value for money,suitable for short stay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's good value for money,but it's not easy to get to the city centre,being on top of hill in al hambra so each time we had to climb the hill up and down the hill,it takes around 20 mins walk to the centre. Without the hill it's close to the centre but with climbing the hill and steep road makes it longer,can be a challenge for the people with mobility or medical issues. Also the swimming pool is adequate size,but not much views as was advertised,can't see mountains around but its roof top open pool with trees around and no bar around,only soft drinks machine outside the entrance of the pool.

    The hotel is clean,adequate swimming pool, good amenities and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Would visit this hotel again but definitely not eat there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food was a big disappointment . We only had an evening meal on the first night and did not eat there again. For a 4* hotel it should have been a better quality

    The hotel and staff were excellent. It was ideally sited to visit the Alhambra and had good links with the centre of Granada

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous location wonderful room and amazing terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just being picky but the coffee at breakfast wasn’t the best!

    The location was brilliant a 4 min walk downhill to Al Hambra. The rooms with a terrace are well worth the extra cost. We loved sitting on the terrace watching the sunset with a bottle of wine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.9
    Perfect for Alhambra and Granada.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the rooms was set too high and, because we didn’t check it, we were too cold at night. It would be better left on a low setting by the staff. Just a small thing and we could have done it ourselves, if we had known.

    Location is perfect for Alhambra and for Granada city (15 minute walk through beautifully shaded woodland) Rooftop restaurant is lovely and, although it calls itself a barbecue, it is far more!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Good hotel for Granada visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Information about limited car park space at the hotel could have been better (there is the public Alhambra car park very nearby that you can use)

    Great location to visit Alhambra and walk to city centre

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Only brief, but as I have a house in Alhama de Granada, intend to return again for a longer stay for
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was spacious and ergonomically designed to make movement from bed to bathroom eve easy. BUT so dull. Why were there NO paintings on the walls. As a designer I could go into Granada and select some beautiful artwork featuring aspects of the Alhambra impressionistic or otherwise. But you SHOULD as a hotel of your quality have a couple in each room.

    The interior decor, lovely mix of Moroccan/arabe style with modern and old pieces. Nice bar.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    7.9
    Decent hotel in a good location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms looked a bit dated and the cleaning staff did a rush job cleaning our room. Overall, staff were polite but seemed bored.

    Location - very close to the main entrance of the Alhambra! Pretty good value for money for a triple room.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    9.6
    overall excellent, thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor issue but the showerhead in the room’s bathroom is the most unconfortable showerhead ever! Small concentrated water stream but very strong so it sprinkles all over the bathroom... The most idiotic showerhead I have ever seen...

    Very nice breakfast, nice staff overall great budget hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    We had a wonderful time so near to this super place the ALHAMBRA and the General life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room could be some bigger..but it was o.k.

    We were in Granada exspecially because we want to see the Alhambra etc. (GREAT!), and this Hotel is very close, so we could walk 5 minutes - very near. All the busses stop there (1,40€). Bus to Airport (1,40 + 3,00€) Stop at Cathetral. The hotel-pool was very welcome after a long and HOT day (August 2018). In the Hotel there are nice places to sit and rest and you can get always something to eat and drink, we loved the breakfast. Our standard room was small, but if you pay some more (25,-€) you will get a some bigger room. My daughter and I would like to come back, we had a very good stay there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    6.3
    Generally OK, if you are visiting Alhambra Only. Not suitable for the rest of Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    More space in a dedicated car park. Limited parking for drop off of bags outside hotel. The hotel is in need of modernisation, seems a little dated in places. Beds are not as comfy and Cleanliness of rooms and corridors is a concern as we had to report of a cockroach in the corridor which found its way into the room. The hotel is only good for Alhambra, and there is hardly anything going on in the vicinity in terms of restaurants or places to visit. You have no option but to use public transport, taxi or your own car to get to the city centre which is a good 10-15 drive away with some road restrictions - Beware! You will struggle with walking back and forth to Al Bayzin as you are at the top of the hill, near Alhambra entrance.

    The location is excellent for the Alhambra only. The hotel has a pool and serves a good breakfast in a good size hall. The rooms are cozy, but the layout is a bit weird. The hotel has an arrangement with the Alhambra palace parking to charge and park on a daily basis with unlimited access.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.5
    Overall, reasonable stay with friendly atmosphere.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We booked two rooms for two adults and two children, so that we have one extra bathroom and we have some natural light and view from room windows as all two bedroom's are located at upper levels of the building. Upon arrival, although we had booking confirmation in our hand, we were offered one single four bed room on ground floor, with NO natural light and any sort of view from window. Room was small for four people and was forcefully compressed into a four bed room. Another drawback was that there was NO tea or coffee facilities in the room.

    Location, Location, Location, stone throw away from Alhambra main entrance . Nice pool area. Breakfast was okay.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    9.2
    It was right next to the Alhambra, which was great, as we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be better if there was a bar at the pool. To borrow towels, you had to go 3floors down to Reception, which was always busy and leave a deposit of ten euros per towel. Drinks at the pool were only available from a vending machine. Upon departure, we were not offered any help in loading our bags into the boot and it was busy with traffic outside the hotel - my 14 year old daughter and I were travelling alone and would just have been a polite gesture . All in all, ‘though, it was a great place to stay.

    It was right next to the Alhambra, which was great, as we were able to go straight in and then return straight to the hotel when we were hot and tired. There was a pool and sun beds, which were free to use. I am a coeliac and a wide range of gluten free food was available, including warm, soft rolls at breakfast. The staff were very polite and professional.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps each booking could be warned that they need to book some weeks in advance to visit the Nazrid palaces inside the Alhambra. This was our greatest disappointment.

    The personnel, swimming pool facilities and rooftop restaurant were all very good. The geographical location just beside the Alhambra and 10minutes walk from the town was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    5.0
    Perfect location to visit Alhambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far from the city center, at check in was given the room with terrible smell and mold growing on the walls, asked to switch to another room and was told someone will clean the room. You can't clean mold off the walls, you need to change sheetrock or unbleached. Finally was given another room. Hotel is advertising private parking on promises, instead they make you park at Alhambra parking lot

    Perfect location to visit Alhambra. Hotel is right across the street from the entrance, very nice restaurant nearby

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.5
    The Alixares
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You couldn’t sit on the four floor for a coffee/drink/lunch in the day-time or a drink at night. It’s the best view but was limited to a bbq from 8:30pm at night. The bar food was not great. There was no bar by the pool to have a drink or lunch. There were cockroaches in the toilets by the breakfast area.

    The location was great with beautiful views. The room was clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. The breakfasts were adequate and varied.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was very clean and the location was perfect - on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff were not overly friendly, but were mostly fine. More needs to be done about people leaving towels on sun beds all day and not turning up, as sun beds were hard to get after lunch (but not impossible if you can be patient).

    The hotel was very clean and the location was perfect - on the door step of the Alhambra and walk-in distance into two (even though it was quite an uphill walk back). The pool was a great place to relax on days when we didn’t fancy heading into town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Loved Granada and this hotel was perfect for us. Would definitely stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Need more sun loungers by the pool Earlier opening of the barbeque restaurant in the evening and the pool in the morning

    Superb location Excellent breakfast Comfortable rooms

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.8
    Great rooms cleanliness, breakfast and lunch,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overly salty food in BBQ restaurant, waiter suggested it was a regional speciality :-) Been in the region 2wks and not experienced anything close Only parking is 20 euro per day in Alhambra carpark opposite On a grubby street (broken vending machine/ florescent tubes) not the hotels fault

    Great rooms cleanliness, breakfast and lunch,

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.5
    Great location for Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance to hotel was smoking point for many people! Reception area strong smell of smoke! No map of town or directions into town from staff but there is an information centre 5 mins down the hill who were great!

    The main purpose of our visit to Granada was to visit the Alhambra Palace. Hotel is perfectly located less than 5 minutes walk to entrance. Walk into town for bars and restaurants is much longer (20 minutes) and down a very steep hill! Taxi back every night! Free tapas in most bars in Granada

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great

    Lovely hotel up hill walk from the town. There are buses but we did not use. Staff friendly and great choice at breakfast. Hotel very clean. Granada is a lovely place and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location and good amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower head was broken which made showering a little awkward. Would be great to have options for food and drink service at the pool.

    Great location and good amenities.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    10
    Great comfortable hotel with helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They should have a bell boy or someone to help with the luggage. But this seems to be common with many hotels in Spain.

    Location was right in front of the ticket office to the Al Hambra. Staff were always helpful. The first room I was given was overlooked by the pool which I was not comfortable with. Within a few minutes staff had arranged a different room for us. Brilliant! Breakfast is really good and the evening dinner. The restaurant staff are very helpful and considerate.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    10
    Excellent all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Excellent breakfast, bar and food costs, professional staff, location for Alhambra Palace and the city centre, public transport connections.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Good facilities but bad staffs
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The female staff of reception is indifference. Not as warm-hearted as other Spanish hotels. There is nowhere to see the whole Alhambra in the hotel, which doesn’t match the describe online. The buses changed the number and routines, so we can’t take bus number 4 to hotel directly. And the bus station is on the middle of the mountain, so we have to climb a slope with heavy luggages, which is very inconvenient.

    There is a bathtub in the room. Near to the Alhambra.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.4
    Hotel is not worth 4 *
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really noisy in the middle of the night: arriving groups and rooms with poor noise insulation. Women at reception were not friendly, not helpful. Very expensive parking. Pool was crowdy (not enough chairs).

    Good location, near Alhambra. Nice breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel ideal location very helpful staff . Breakfast buffet excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing not to like.

    he Hotel is perfectly placed for the the Alambra Palace and gardens the walk into town is very pleasent not sure you would want to walk up as its quiet a step climb. Maybe ok in the cooler weather. Easy to use public transport and they run every few minuets. The pool at the hotel is very well run great for the afternoon after site seeing in the morning. We intend to return there in the cooler weather.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    8.3
    The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Alhambre and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We felt the beds were too small.

    The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Alhambre and about 15/20 mins walk from the town. It is much bigger than we had expected and very busy, presumably due to its proximity to Alhambre. The city of Granada was lovely to see from up the hill and then in the city itself. Our room had a balcony which had nice views and the room itself was quite spacious, and the bathroom was also. Everything was clean. The swimming pool was good if you could get a seat or sun lounger.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Desk staff a little slow and after standing queuing for 20 mins with a bad hip - to check out, a Spanish customer whose husband had been sitting on the sofa not queuing pushed in and was served in front of me !!

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location for the Alhambra. Close to central Granada for exploring on foot although we tended to get a taxi back up the hill ( around 6 euros for a family of 5). Swimming pool was great to have to hand especially in August heat with 3 children, it allowed a good mix of sightseeing in the slightly cooler mornings and relaxing in the afternoon. We were really pleased with everything.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    Granada visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool can be pretty crowded at busy times due to size but Hey Ho!

    Excellent location, very good hotel at a reasonable price. Would go back to this hotel on any future return to Granada.👍

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay to visit Alhambra and the city of Granada.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was perfectly suited for visiting Alhambra, only a few minutes walk down the hill. Adjacent to the hotel was a path leading up a hill behind the hotel giving a magnificent view across Granda, worth the walk up the hill in the heat. Breakfast was buffet style and there was a wide range of food to choose from. The hotel had a rooftop restaurant serving barbecues, this was a lovely place to eat. The food was very good, the staff attentive with out being too intrusive and the views were stunning. The swimming pool was clean with loungers beside the pool. We enjoyed being able to take a walk, which is shady and mainly pedestrian,from the hotel into Granada.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    8.8
    A great base for Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smoking out the front of the hotel was unpleasant and there was a need for a handful more sunbeds

    Breakfast was great. Pool was really good for our girls to swim/dive. Really good location for the Alhambra and town. Staff happy to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.6
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are a bit plain, not very cosy. Hairdryer was almost useless. Cafe service was slow but food and drink there was very good value.

    Great location. Proximity to Alhambra. Easy to get to by car without having to drive in the city centre. Bus stop very close and only €1.40 to get into town. Taxi only €6 from city centre. Swimming pool was great and a welcome way to cool down in the afternoons. Rooftop barbecue restaurant was excellent and well worth a visit.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.7
    Well located hotel, but not four star quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poor breakfast choice, cheaper food on offer when compared to other hotels that we have stayed in and the hotel too small for the volume of guests. Not given personal touch by reception staff, too busy to concentrate on checking us in, answering the phone and talking to other guests, just plain rude! Hotel parking full, 18euro per 24hour across the road.

    The hotel is very well located, easy walk down hill into the city.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Location is perfect, and they deliver a nice experience as well!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    If you want to visit The Alhambra, you won't find a hotel with a better location than this. Fortunately as well, it's a fine property; we had no problems, it was quiet and everything was great. We also enjoyed the nice breakfast buffet for 10 euros; better than we'd hoped.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    Really clean hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was really only good for the Alhambra. As a young person, I would recommend staying closer to the city.

    Really clean hotel. Space was really comfortable. Pool was fabulous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice hotel, great location next to the Alhambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room could do with a mini bar. More comfortable pillows but these are minor points really.

    Nice hotel, great location next to the Alhambra. Would have been nicer if the pool schedule would allow for guest to swim early in the morning conscious of the high temperatures over the summer. Staff is also very helpful and accomodating

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    6.7
    If you want a hotel set in some great natural backdrop this...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kids bathroom had mould on ceiling We ordered double bed but just got two singles next to each other The rooftop offers amazing views we went up one night before restaurant opened and wouldn’t let us in would have been great to take photo - No other options for eating and drinking unless you go into town centre Parking is across the road Dinner either tasted bad or expensive

    If you want a hotel set in some great natural backdrop this ones good Buffet breakfast value for money at 10 Euro

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    10
    Reccomended place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool open at 11 a.m. only and closing at 8 p.m. so there is no chance to use it after long day walking.

    Excellent location (5-10 min to Alhambra enterence) clean, very good service- valet parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    8.8
    Great value for money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small

    We returned to hotel Alixares for the second time during our trip. It’s great value for money, the pool is nice, the breakfast is excellent and big, staff is friendly and helpful, location is great just in front of the Alahambra and near Albaicín.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    Stayed already twice at this hotel visiting Alhambra and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed already twice at this hotel visiting Alhambra and Granada. I will definitely choose it again next time! Very good breakfast with virtually anything you could wish for. Comfortable, soundproofed room, extremely caring staff. Parking at Alhambra parking for hotel guest is available at a hotel price (same as if you are parked in the hotel parking, but it is small so both times we have parked across the street at Alhambra lot).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.4
    Breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is rediculous how few parking spaces there are when checking in. U can only park on the alhambra parkings. There were no umbrellas, beds or even 1 simple chair available at the pool. The hotel is way too big for the pool, My pregnant wife had to sit on the ground. The guy at the reception is arrogant and pretends that he does not understand you .. while he speaks perfect english.

    Breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for visiting Alhambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe staff didn’t seem to have any urgency and appeared to lack organisational skills.

    Perfect for visiting Alhambra. Great value for money. Breakfast was extensive and the best I’ve had in Spain. Room was great. Nice big terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff was very accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Prices for dinner seemed really high so we didn’t have the chance to eat in the outdoor dining area.

    The staff was very accommodating. The pool was really nice. The breakfast was delicious and it was a great location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    8.8
    Friendly staff, beautiful views, clean and tidy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it is great being right next to the Alhambra, if you are planning a longer stay and want to see more of the city, it does involve regular trips up and down a pretty mean hill. There are regular, cheap taxis, so it is not too much of a problem if you don't fancy the walk, but a city centre hotel might be wiser if you want to enjoy some of Granada's fantastic nightlife.

    Friendly staff, beautiful views, clean and tidy.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.8
    Next to alhambra up big hill!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool needs a clean (very dirty) and poor quality loo paper! Terrace bbq was beautiful location but small portions considering the cost. Location is right next to alhambra (which is good for that) but up a very big hill! However we found that it was only 5 euros by taxi.

    Comfy beds, reception staff friendly, good variety and quality of breakfast. Beautiful bbq terrace.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful location next to the Alhambra, a leisurely 15 minute walk to the center of town!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking is not included.

    Great location directly next to the Alhambra. In a beautiful and quiet neighborhood surrounded by gardens. 15 minutes walking distance to the center of town. Clean and spacious rooms. Amazing pool area and great rooftop bar. We will definitely visit this hotel again!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, excellent value and ideal for a visit to the Alhambra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was spotless, the beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning very efficient - a must in the searing summer heat. There was a good choice of quality foods at breakfast and the roof top restaurant was reasonably priced at night. The pool was a great area for chilling out after sightseeing with plenty sunbeds and chairs. The hotel was in an excellent location - just a 5 minute walk to the Alhambra and the bus stop. The buses were every few minutes and it only cost 97 cents to go into Granada with a travel card.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    8.3
    Good stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on the bottom of the pool made it look dirty.

    Hotel alixaris is in a great place close to the Alhambra and a short walk down hill to the old town. Just remember it is uphill on the way back. Swimming pool a good size. Fairly good selection for breakfast. Nice attentive staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    8.3
    Very good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell of sewer in the bathroom

    Very good value for money! The pool is very nice, the breakfast is excellent with very big buffet. Beautiful location next to the Alahambra and the forest.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Good Location for the Alhambra, but parking is difficult
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air-conditioning emitted a very bad odour. We think it was some sort of stale air freashener, but it was not pleasant. The also advertise parking, which is a bit of a porky. There are about 10 places on-site, which fill up fast. Otherwise, you have to park in the Alhambra parking lots.

    If you are in Granada for the Alhambra, then this is an ideal location as the entrance is but 100 meters away. However, it is a long way from the centre of town. The walk down, though, through the path between the public areas of the Alhambra, is gorgeous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    9.2
    Super staff, great terrace restaurant, next to Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds we're small, especially with a 10 month old baby to share it with. Would have been nice to have more bed options (double & single perhaps?). The hotel would also benefit from new, nicer bathroom towels,, as we couldn't distinguish bath towels from the floor towels.

    Very helpful staff, our hire car broke down upon arrival but they helped me move it and re-start it. Wonderful location next to the Alhambra entrance (if you want something close to Granada centre this isn't the right hotel for you). Great roof terrace restaurant (opens at 21.30) and large, clean rooms. I also left a shirt hanging in the wardrobe and they kindly posted it to me.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.1
    If you are visiting The Alhambra, a great location as it is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought the restaurant/bar service was exceptional. I thought the reception desk workers were rather aloof. I stood in front of them for about a minute or two waiting for them to make eye contact or just acknowledge that I was there. Also, we got paid for one room service meal of pasta and water and our friends who were with us also got charged for the pasta and water which they did not order. So while only 14 euros it was still unprofessional.

    If you are visiting The Alhambra, a great location as it is directly across the street. The city is about a 15 minute walk!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel with very easy access to the Alhambra
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing happy with hotel

    The hotel was excellent value for money. Clean, friendly staff and very close to the Alhambra. It was a 15 min walk to the centre of the town, downhill going and uphill coming back. The walk wasn't a problem, in fact it was good exercise! We had breakfast at the hotel one day, there was plenty of choice, with no wait for a table. We had a drink at the bar, again good value and good service. The pool area was very nice as it was extremely hot. Would recommend this hotel as a no fuss, no frills place to stay with very close access to Alhambra.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Bad service and no value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Arriving after a long drive from Malaga with my son I had to park temporarely in front of the hotel leaving my son inside the car and rush to the reception to ask for a permanent parking oppertunity and our room. I was beeing meet with rude and arrongant staff who didn't care. When I finally got to somebody I was beeing lectured that: 'just park on the other side in the museeum in a public payed parking' - this would mean that I had to carry our luggade a long way - and only after arguing that I had booked the hotel because it had parking I was attened to. Nobody cared that my son was in the car alone and it was very hot. I was then very upset about I was charged close to 20 euro to park one night in the hotel as it was not in the papers I had recivede but the staff lectured me for halv an hour about this was the rules and regulation and gave me a copy in spanish. Needles to say I don't speak spanish. Also I was upset that we arrive halv an hour before the time for check but they refused to give us a room, even if I as a genious member had requested early check in. The staff told me she was nice to have somebody to help me with the luggage from my car to the reception and only because I was upset about the price of parking and not having my room. On top of that I was told that I cannot get a ticket to the Alhambra museum but should go and try, which was the reason why we came to Granada and the only reason to stay in this hotel. Leaving our luggage in the hotel we went to the museum. After returning we were given our room. When we enter the room it is the wrong room! I am standing with my son and our luggage in somebody elses room with their privat stuff and had been given a given a keycard to the wrong room! Leaving my son here I had to go back to reception and ask for our room and finally was given another. Nobody appoligized for it or attended to us.

    I didn't like anything in this hotel besides the location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.2
    Absolutely wonderful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were lovely and extremely polite and helpful. But the best bit got me was the fabulous peace and tranquility of the huge patio overlooking the hills which meant that after a hard day sighted if I could come and sit on the patio late into the night watching the sun go down and hearing the call to prayer from a distance. It was also perfectly located for The Alhambra which was an incredible experience. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Alixares traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: