Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ilunion Almirante 4 stars

Via Laietana, 42, Ciutat Vella, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

#479 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2294 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.9

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The building has not been properly maintained. When we were there, the elevators stopped working at times, the bathrooms were also old, the breakfast was average. Overall service was average. And the price was quite high for this.

    It’s location! That’s about the only thing I would rave about. The front desk staff was good not great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed was made of 2 single beds pushed together.

    Room came with a balcony, it had every thing we needed and was in a great location. Quite expensive as not luxury just a good standard hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too dark with windows that did not really function as windows as they faced walls only an inch away outside. Would have liked to know the real pictures then I would have spent more money for a better room

    The location was fantastic and the staff were super friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was more like a 2-3 stars hotel, it was not a 4 stars hotel at all, judging by endowments and by the way it looked like. The bathroom had a rust-bathtub, the care products (shampoo and shower gel) were of low quallity. The breakfast was very poor and undiversified, and the staff always followed the clients at every step and looked contemptuously at everyone. The food was never enough and you had to ask them to supply the platters with food. It did not deserved the money, a bad experience overall. I would not come back to this hotel and when I visit again Barcelona I will definitely look for another accomodation.

    The hotel is located near the center of the city, practically at 5-7 minutes away. The reception staff was very kind, except a man who resembled Mr Bean and who seemed bored with life and was not in the mood for anything. They were very prompt when, at 4 am, I complained about my floor neighbours who were screaming and making noise, the man who was at the reception at that time, a kind aged man, came two times at their door and eventually told them he would call the police if they continued with the noise any more. Thanks to him, we were able to get rest during that night.  

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This should not be 4 star rated. Beds were poor shower was poor Tv worked sometimes and non existent channels there was no bar or restaurant I could go on but basically I was very disappointed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    our room was right at the front of the hotel so the road noise was constant all night long. the windows didn't prevent much noise from getting in at night. and out toilets refilling system wasn't 100% but over all very minor complaints

    Hotel based in the centre of the city, everything was a short distance from the hotel. the staff were every helpful and everything was clean and cleaned regularly. we were very happy with our stay in this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double beds were extremely small changed to a twin room & was much better although the room & bathroom were a bit shabby really in need of a re-vamp & good clean

    great location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was smaller than expected, door opened right onto the bed. Walls were very thin and could hear the neighbours whose bathroom was adjacent to the bedroom as well as anything happening in the corridor. Room and bathroom were not lit well as the only windows opened onto a shaft. Bathroom required maintenance, there were cracked tiles, loose fittings and odours coming from the drains at times.

    Location was great and staff mostly friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was weird toilet position because you had very small place for your legs, so it was a little uncomfortable and we pay for standard double bed room which led us to have view on balconys of bacelona people. Actually the last one was fun :)

    The hotel is very nice and have a great location. You can easly find taxi cups and metro station. The hotel staff was very nice and helpfull whit direction to monuments which make it more easier fr us to see more and not get lost.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no air in the room cannot open the window because first of all it was blurred and it looks to appartments very close

    the location is great staff is nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy hotel. Doors slam shut at all hours so should perhaps have slow closers fitted to prevent slamming. Hot breakfast was very unappealing. Surface cleaning only, under the sink and around bathroom fixtures was very dirty. No English tv channel to watch when kept awake by the noise.

    Excellent location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a little small for us. The bed was practically wall to wall, so it was difficult getting to the other side. We don’t mind this too much as we are out exploring the town on vacation and not spending a lot of time in the room other than to sleep.

    The location of it is great! Within walking distance from a lot of museums in the Gothic district and just a little jaunt to Las Ramblas. There was a cool balcony in our room that we were able to step out on at night and watch the street. The people at the front desk and cleaning crew were very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Centrally located in the cityOnline it shows your rooms with balconies and a little bit larger room room was the size very very small was very upset that it didn’t have a balcony!!!!!

    Centrally located in the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The air conditioner in the room didn't work at all and the staff said that there's nothing they could do. Also, the room smelled a little weird, almost like cigarette smoke.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Awoken in the night by excessive noise from next room. It was clear that the room was hired for sex. I get the impression that this is not an isolated incident at this hotel. Complained to reception, but not dealt with effectively at the time. We moved rooms the next day. Staff apologetic, but seemed resigned to this kind of incident, I believe.

    Excellent location, friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities were very poor in the hotel. We also had a stuffy, over heated room which apparently had air conditioning that didn't work! We were told by staff to keep open our balcony door if we got warm. This was manageable during the day but not at night time when you are trying to sleep and the sound of traffic is booming into the room. We also requested a double bed in our room prior to our stay, instead there was two single beds pushed together..

    The location of the property was excellent, and probably the only positive thing about the "four star" hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room and in particular the bathroom are desperately in need of refurbishment. Room was very hot and the fan vents didn't make any difference. We left the window open to keep the room cool however it means you can hear the loud noises from the road (it echos between the buildings) - not great if you are a light sleeper.

    The best part: Location! Located in the vicinity of of a Metro station. Many shops, restaurants and bars nearby and a short walk/central to all of the top sightseeing spots. Staff were very very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to check-in early and were given the choice of an external room (see below). Room was very clean. Overall reasonable for the money. We had a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are old , walls are dirty , lighting are bad ! ! After I arrived the room the cap and snoop are dirty ! And after that I found a huge bug in the bathroom, the water heater was dirty inside .

    The service was good , everyone is with nice attitude and very helpful ! especially the reception ladies they are so nice and sweet !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old and it needs a lot of renovation. The bed cover under the sheets had blood stains on it. Disgusting!!! I didn't feel the room was clean enough.

    The location is perfect and the staff is nice!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    nothing

    The shower head was faulty in room 212, Apart from that minor thing, the rest of our stay was really enjoyable. The staff were very nice and very friendly. We are looking forward to returning next year for the same business trip.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Bad sound Insulation

    Large and confortable room. I didn't hear so much noise from outside. On the contrary noises from inside were strong but not enough to disturb me so much.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing all was great

    We got straight on a bus from the airport no need for a taxi 5.90 euro's each one way .The location was perfect for us and Husband was happy as Guinness bar Two doors up. The room was brilliant we had all we needed in it Kettle, fridge, free Safe and toiletries . The linen and towels were clean and the cleaners came in every day and done a great job it was always spotless when we got back . The receptionist gave us directions and a map and the information center two roads up was full of booklets. Supermarkets are on the same street .The room could do with better lighting as a tad dark but we soon got use to it . The hotel is very good value for money and we will defiantly be staying again

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would rate this hotel as a three star with excellent staff. It only gets a 4 star because it provides more services such as a gym, etc

    Room Ok, staff at reception very helpful and friendly, domestic staff very friendly

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The people who stayed on our floor were extremely loud. They screamed, shouted, played loud music and banged about well into the night, and from very early morning. I understand this wasn't the hotels fault, but it was the only bad thing about our stay. The night before our flight I only managed a couple of hours sleep due to the noise.

    The view outside our window was lovely. It was very clean, staff were extremely friendly. Overall a very good stay and we would definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were a little tired for a 4 star, few floor tiles cracked and towel rails etc in the bathroom sort of not quite screwed into the wall anymore, but wasn't too much of a problem. Oh also no bar! Which it says it has on the website.

    Nice property right next to the gothic quarter, perfect location to walk to Las Ramblas, the Cathedral, the Gothic Quarter and the Beach, and a short tube ride away from La Sagrada Familia. Rooms clean and comfortable, staff friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was small and just Continental and also our room had a smell to it due to the layout of the bed next to the bathroom.

    The location was fantastic and the staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was extremely noisy and we could not sleep. Called reception during the night at 3am and again at 3.30 am to see if we we could get moved……. no answer from reception. The room we stayed in was very dirty and we have sent the photo's to the hotel. The only thing the hotel had going for it was its location.

    Its location and nothing else.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    fruit and salad of breakfast were dried, but it was not so bad because I paid the off-season price.

    facilities are very good. very good location close to everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room needed slightly better lighting ! Bathroom was freezing no vetalation there and shower glass wasn’t stable ! Couldn of easily been broken if I want carefully ! Room 111

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are extremely thin. The noise from cleaning staff carts woke me every morning. Our room wasn’t on the street-side, so it wasn’t a huge issue. The rooms are quite small, but worth the price I paid during off-season. The coffee in the lobby costs 1 euro but should be free. Breakfast is not worth the price, as there are many options nearby. The AC was turned off in the rooms and we weren’t warned, so when we turned on what we thought would be a cooling fan, it made the room extremely hot. No regular fans available, so we were hot even though it was cold outside and we had the small window open.

    The location of this hotel is definitely its best asset. Walking distance to many places. Delicious fantastic restaurants nearby. Close to tour bus stop and cathedral. Free toiletries included extra things like shaving kit. 4 free bottles of water in the fridge was a nice touch.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked 2 double rooms but the hotel gave us 2 twin rooms distinctly differents in terms of quality and benefits. One of the rooms was spotless, with a huge round tub. the other was lacking in maintenance, with things to be arranged and a small tub without the tap to fill it. We booked two equal rooms, so we should have been given the second room with the same quality. We complained and on the second night they changed the damaged room for a double. Although there was clearly a big difference, as if one were a superior room and another a standart room. The breakfast was low in quality and on our last breakfast we asked for croissants and scrambled eggs and were told it was coming but it never came. Overall people were not very dedicated to their work.

    Location. The housekeeping team is very friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room itself needs a little work, there were loose floor tiles in both the bedroom area, bathroom and hallway. These were so loose you could lift them up which was annoying. The bathroom ceiling also had greasy/dirty marks on it probably from installation but for a 4 star hotel you wouldn’t expect it. You could also hear next doors conversations perfectly through the bathroom.

    The reception staff were excellent, always ready to help us and made checking in and out really easy. They also knew the area really well and gave advice on where to visit. The breakfast was ok for €10 each per day. we went just twice during our stay and had cold meats, fruit and cakes. There were no hot options.The location is the best part of this hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was small, stayed at a similar style hotel nearby last year which had a room twice the size for same cost.

    Reasonable location, decor was pleasant. Painless check in and check out.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I Liked nothing because of how unwelcoming the Catalonian people are and Barcelona is so much over rated.

    The hotel location and cleanliness is perfect but the staff is very lame and not polite. They are very much not happy and they treat u like you are the receptionist and they are the clients. Compared to the Spanish people from the south, the Catalan are very bad when it come to being nice and not only at the hotel, ever the restaurants and the cafes and everywhere they are very unwelcoming people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was facing the back and the view wasn’t good, which made the room dark as we could see pipes ect. Ask them for a room facing the front

    I wasn’t sure about this place after seeing the reviews but Honestly the place was good value for the price it was and the area was very convenient to me... I enjoyed my stay here

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I really didnt enjoy the breakfast. Eggs were hard and cold. I asked everyday whether I could have freshly boiled egg (so that it could be at least warm) I got no as an answer. Scrambled eggs were also cold and only available on the first day. Whenever eggs, biscuits or anything was over, they were never replaced. So first arrive first serve (basically).

    Loved the location, reception 24 hours, room and bathroom size were very nice. Bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't order a taxi to the airport through the hotel. Ripped off by taxi driver to airport who charged €33 & extras of €12. Same journey cost €25 from airport to hotel at beginning of trip. Not really the hotels fault but a nasty end to a lovely stay. Would have got the bus but obviously thought the cost of €25 Would have been the same.

    Location was great. Within walking distance of almost everything. Staff were all so helpful & pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was extremely small, could not fit two pieces of luggage in the room had to jump over them going from the door to the bed. The bathroom was also tiny with an old sink and not well maintained, door needed to be fixed, wouldn't close, etc. we could not turn off the heat had to sleep with the window open. the room was next to the main street so the noise at night was terrible. asked for change of rooms the second day and the hotel reception refused. very disappointing stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This hotel was a very good choice among other offers in the same price segment in Barcelona. The beds and the bath are very comfortable. Nice choice for breakfast. Interesting view from the top floors on the rooftops around. The location is great - many interesting places around, metro station is in a few minutes walk, the hotel is situated in a big street, so it's quite safe to come back in the darkness (unlike narrow dark side streets in the old town).

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The best thing about this hotel when staying there, is that they provide you with everything I need as shampoo and even toothbrush and toothpaste, so I have to bring very little toiletries myself! Bonus for flying with only hand luggage!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very basic and air conditioning for cold air was switched off so had to keep windows open and the view was of peoples apartments who could see right in our room.

    Really good location, very clean and staff are lovely and nice Range of toiletries provided

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location in Madrid, and a good value for money. On a main street, but no noise issues. Double sink in bathroom. We were able to check in early.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was a bit uncomfortable, and the room was small. Given the excellent location, small rooms are to be expected.

    The location was excellent. Very close to the Gothic Quarter and many great must see areas of Barcelona. We never needed to use our car since everything was within walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The did not have an ice machine

    Great location, arrived to barcelona via plane and left via train. To get to the train station was literally a 12 min taxi ride.the room had a mini fridge that was stocked with complimentary waters-I really liked that

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small so space to move in ... my hair dryer was not working and no one could get me a new one You can hear the noise from the corridor and specially the staff when they are talking it’s just too loud

    The location was great for me and too much shops and restaurants just by walking distance from the hotel was great !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.It was a very pleasant stay.

    Big room with everything that a 4 star hotel should have.Situated on a very central spot in the city.The staff was very helpful with everything we asked them.Great Value for Money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room clean is not so good. I think th real stars of this hotel should be 2,5 stars, not 4

    Position, it’s middle of center. Short distance to famous attractions

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the doorhandles were hanging lose, there were lose tiles on the bathroom floor and it was a bit difficult to open or close the balcony door. But those are obviously not major issues.

    Located in the gothic quarter, a very convenient area, nearby plaça Catalunya (shopping district). The property itself was very simple for a 4* hotel but considering the price we paid, it was a good deal. The bed laid comfortable and we had a nice balcony with street view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived quite early (before check-in time) at the hotel, but (unexpectedly) we could get entrance to our room though. Unfortunately, this room was far away from what you would and could expect from a 4 stars accomodation. After expressing our dissapointment to the staff, the receptionist did his utmost to offer us a bigger, nicer, well decorated and much more comfortable room, which we really appreciated. This is what customer service is about!! We had a nice stay thanks to this solution and the friendly staff!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    small details could make the difference..if maintenance take care better their job..all hotel appearence and rooms could be much nicer..

    good location in the centre..manager and cleaning ladies very kind..

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and extremely friendly staff - Got a super cheap room with a HUGE round bathtub - fantastic room facilities, too bad I didn't have so much time to spend in the hotel :-) Bath room equipped with everything from toothbrush to comb - great service!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not very comfortable, and the pillows were flat. The shower flooded the bathroom every time we used it. Some of the furniture is worn, but it's not a luxury hotel so we weren't bothered by that.

    The location is excellent, located just around the corner from Barcelona Cathedral. You can walk to many of Barcelona's best neighborhoods and attractions from the hotel, and there is a metro stop nearby. The room was very clean, if a little dated. Overall, a very good value for the price.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very little: one of the bathroom sinks was clogged but fixed immediately after reporting to reception. A couple of extra electricity outlets could have been helpful.

    We have been several times in Barcelona, this hotel was by far the best we've ever booked. Great location, well connected (taxi stop a few meters away), spotless clean, great breakfast, all furniture and equipment is new, functional and comfortable, the staff is very polite and efficient. We'll certainly be back and recommend it to friends!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From check-in to check-out I didn't like this place. Arrived and was made to wait 1hr before I was given a smelly room with an unswept floor. Even though I booked in advance and arrived on time I was made to wait 1 hour. The excuse of the receptionist was that, they get 1000 of guests so my room was not ready. Are you kidding!! The Armani Hotel, The Ritz Carlton etc receive 1000 of guests and yet you don't wait. The room was smelly and tiny with an unswept floor which I noticed since I always remove my shoes upon entering a room. Apart from the bathroom looking like they just completed it in a hurry there was no ventilation system in it and this made the place damp and smelly. This place is more like an upgraded hostel and should not be called a 4 star hotel.

    The only good thing about this place, which in my opinion is not that relevant, is the location. Even though you will find better options with better services around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floor in the room was awful, dirty cracked tiles, that felt horrible under the feet.

    Location was fab. Staff really friendly. Super easy to get to, and a great shower

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lightning in the room was too dark. It wasn’t great. You can’t see preoperly and the window was too small so there was no air coming in and out of the room

    U

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No free coffee in the room, coffee in a vending machine on the ground floor. I had an issue with the bathroom and reported to reception but they never did anything about it. House keeping is noisy while cleaning the rooms.

    The room had an amazing balcony and specious.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was an awful bed bug infestation at this hotel. I stayed for one night and had to be moved. It was a sleepless and miserable night that left me with around 50 giant bed bug welts on my body. I brought one of the bed bugs to management (when you have a bed bug infestation, you can rarely see the bedbugs so this spoke to the gravity of the situation), they did not know what it was and shrugged it off. They offered no help for me to sanitize my things and prevent taking the infestation with me and when I inquired how they were going to get rid of the infestation they told me that the maids had inspected the room and "didn't see anything." Reading the reviews, I see mentions of silverfish bugs (which bed bugs can be mistaken for) and people waking up with rashes so I feel like this hotel has had this problem for awhile but is unable to properly address it. TO THE HOTEL MANAGEMENT: Bed bugs are not something to be taken lightly. They are hell for people who are allergic and spread easily. You have a duty to your customers and others in the hospitality industry to keep clean rooms and prevent their spread. Please educate your staff on what to look for and come up with game plan to address infestations. What I experienced at your hotel was unacceptable by any means, especially for a 4 star hotel.

    I liked that they had a (albeit small) fitness center. Unfortunately I couldn't use it because I was too busy dealing with their bed bug infestation.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated decor, bathrooms need updating.

    Great location. Yes the rooms are dated and can be quite small but staff very helpful. Our first night we arrived at the hotel at midnight so kind of went straight to bed. Double room seemed pokey and tiny window on courtyard. Next morning we realised room was so dark that it felt a bit depressing when we knew it was sunny outside. We asked for a room with natural light and they moved us no problem to a bright bigger room facing the front. Much better. For the price it is difficult to get better in this location, we paid £80 per night. All other hotels nearby at least £125 per night so in the end you get what you pay for. If you want real 4 star accommodation stay somewhere else and pay the price that goes with it.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to be renovated, changed room because it was very small and in bad cond. Staff act immediately, new room was ok.

    Very good located, friendly personal, rooms ok but should be renovated soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thought the hotel needs a tidy up for a four star hotel. Sinks had cracks in them, shower over tub, water all over the floor. Not as clean as should be for a four star hotel overall.

    The staff was very helpful and in a good location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was old and dark. Really could do with a renovation. I would not class this as a four star hotel more of a three star.

    The location is great and the wifi worked really well in the room. The bottles of water provided daily was a nice touch. I found the bed to be very comfortable. There are lots of great restaurants in the area too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    At the moment we have moved in , i have noticed that the room was a bit old and needs some renovation. However, it was very clean (room was cleaned every day !). Also at the moment we have moved in, we noticed that they have been renovating many rooms -so I guess it was just a matter of time:) It smelled of the paint in the corridor however it did not disturb us in the room at all.

    We planned the trip for my birthday - the hotel administration was extremely nice and gave us the best available room with included mini-bar and the view from the balcony was towards beautiful Barcelona- Sagrada Famiglia, Tower Agbar and the sea :) Moreover, the personal was very careful with our request and were very friendly and helpful . We did not require breakfast since in the Gothic Quartel you can go everywhere for a nice cup of coffee and fresh pastry like churos or poras :) I will defiantly recommend this hotel since both the location and the service were excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the hotel is not 4 star the Furniture is old the floor is dusty its look like 1 or 2 star hotel not as described in booking.com the property should change the picutres to reflect the as real

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facility was not up to the expected standard as there was a broken floor tile and very dark lighting with one broken light that was not fixed after complaint

    Convininent location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The second day of my stay workers painted the wall loudly in the morning so that I couldn’t rest properly

    Great position in Via Laietana close to main area of interest in town for leisure culture work and nightlife . Very nice view from the terrace

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy and very old building. Can not sleep well. Old facility! Very terrible room. Terrible smell. Wet air in the room. It's not 4stars hotel. And mostly motels are even better than this one.

    Nothing I like from this hotel. Terrible experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we got the room we immediately felt it wasn't clean. The toilet has some leftovers which was disgusting and the floor in the room felt dirty we couldn't walk barefoot. We stayed there for three nights and even though they cleaned every day it didn't feel clean. Overpriced I guess because of the season and the very central location. But the staff was super nice and helpful so that's a plus but I won't go back or recommend.

    Staff was nice and quick to change our room once I find a leek in the bathroom.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location just 3min walk from the cathedral, you are in the middle of everything. Shopping center just 5 min walk. Perfect stay for two nights 👍🏻

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were very dated. These days you expect to have mattress protectors on beds. There were light bulbs that didn't work. The bathroom was in need of updating. On advertising the hotel it doesn't inform you that they supply towels therefore as we are not particularly frequent fliers we took our own and had to pay for luggage.

    Clean sheets and towels daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    THe beds. If you’re charged over €140, you expect comfortable beds. It wasn’t the case. The space is very limited.

    The location, unles you’re there on a festival day and the entrance to the hotel is absolutely blocked.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is falling apart. The fixtures in the bathroom are coming off the walls, the balcony doors didn't close properly and was very noisy. Walls so thin you could hear people talking in the next room. Only a few irons in the whole hotel, took 3 days (out of a 4 day stay) to get one.

    The location is the best thing about this hotel. Staff are also friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No real complaints, just compliments from me (*but you better believe I would let you guys know if I had any real issues worth mentioning).

    (1) Excellent location as it's within walking distance to the sight seeing spots (*i.e., Gaudi's Casa Batllo or Gaudi's La Pedrera/Casa Mila), various main shopping districts (*Las Ramblas or the traditional stores on Passeig de Gracia), Las Ramblas and public transportation. (2) Instead of paying for a taxi to the hotel from the airport you should just take the airport shuttle bus to the city center for 4 Euros (*it only takes ~ 30 - 40 minutes). (3) I would definitely stay there again or in the general area as it's in a really great location but not in the heart of the action (*e.g., Las Ramblas) so you don't have to deal with excessive noise throughout the day & night or too much foot traffic all of the time around the hotel. (4) They let you have 4 free bottles of water on the day of your arrival which is a very nice complimentary gesture. (5) Staff was great and did a good job!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the room was not that clean. almost everything was broken. the toilets, the bathroom door, the room door. i think this hotel deserve 2 stars. not even one more.

    only the location. which was good, not excellent.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price of breakfast was €14 really expensive considering local charge a lot cheaper!

    Really friendly and helpful staff. Perfect room and facilities available. Amazing location!

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ilunion Almirante traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: