Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of La Almunia del Valle 3 stars

Camino de la Umbrí­a, s/n, 18193 Monachil, Spain

#1 of 25 hotels in Monachil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 472 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.8

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.5

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 75

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2018

    10
    World class service, unbelievable staff, food and views! As close to heaven on earth you can find!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thank you to the incredibly caring owners and staff. The owners Patricia and Mariel were so wonderful. They made you feel so special. The staff Dde, Diana were so helpful, anything you needed they would help you. The restaurant staff were awesome and Fernando was one of the nicest person to serve you. The housekeepers, breakfast preparers and entire staff was as friendly as anywhere in the world that I have stayed. If every owner and staff were like these people it would be a perfect world!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2018

    10
    Relaxing place to stay outside Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    On one of the ten times we drove up/down the road we met multiple large cars (e.g. Range Rovers) that required us to back up to find a wide spot that allowed the other drivers to get by. Meeting smaller cars was usually not a problem.

    The location 30 minutes outside of Granada was a relaxing place to return to after a day of tourism in Granada. The staff, rooms, grounds, and public areas were all fantastic. We ate dinner at the restaurant twice - the food was fresh, good, and bore no resemblance to tapas which we were sick of at that point in the vacation. There is a bar which serves beer, wine, and cocktails - we had many of their large gintonics. There were great views of the mountains from the dining patio and some of the rooms. Also, there is a very popular trail at the base of the access road.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2018

    10
    Everything was amazing, from the warm welcome, beautiful room, stunning views & delicious breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything

    Owners and staff were all so friendly, bedroom and bathroom were beautifully decorated, views from terrace, delicious breakfast on the outdoor dining terreace and the lovely cats and dog.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    10
    Book with confidence - this is a seriously good boutique hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Location, the team, the room, garden, perfect breakfasts, epic dinners, and most of all, the unparalleled attention to detail, every little detail! Patricia and Manuel have created a place that provides a rare, precious experience for their guests.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2018

    9.6
    Probably the best holiday we have ever had!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights

    If we have any complaints they are centered around the fact that, because we are in our eighties, movement around the grounds was difficult because of the natural layout of the hotel. That said, the staff were always on hand to help us negotiate steps and walkways.

    The staff and owners were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble and their care and attention to our minor problems was above the normal call of duty. They were really concerned with our well-being.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    10
    Excellent, fabulous place to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ideally the hotel pool would be heated in October

    Everything...! The ambience of the design of the hotel in it's mountain setting is fabulous, the staff are helpful, professional and very friendly. The evening dinner meals are exquisite. Perfect in our view...!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.6
    3* hotel with 5* service and quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If we have to say something, road to acces in bad condition.

    You feel at home because the whole staff makes sure you do. Excellent breakfast. Nice garden with a great view on the sierra nevada..... etc

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel with amazing personal service, spectacular views, tranquil, couldn't recommend more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wonderful, calm and tranquil, spectacular views, fabulous service and hospitality, amazing breakfast, space to lounge calmly by the pool ... what more do you need?

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    9.2
    A very enjoyable stay with spectacular views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roads were very narrow on the way there but that can't be helped and was only a small issue when we were driving there late at night.

    This is a beautiful hotel right in the middle of the Sierra Nevada mountains so the views were spectacular. The staff were super friendly and so helpful and made sure that they got to chat to guests each morning and evening at dinner. Patricia the owner is so lovely and Dolo and all the staff made our stay so enjoyable. The five course meals every evening made from local produce was a great experience. The pool was very nice with a quirky honesty bar I've not come across before but an excellent idea. It's a close drive to Grenada to see all the sights and 30 minutes drive to Alhambra.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Hope to be back soon
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is our fourth time here. It's a real treat can't fault it. Great evening meal with good service, beautiful pool area with views second to none. Made to feel very welcome by host and staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Perfectly located in the sierra nevada, very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfectly located in the sierra nevada, very close to Granada. Stunning Views from the terrace and Pool and excellent food served for breakfast and Dinner! The hosts made it an unforgettable stay, too. Very much recommended!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel in wonderful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would maybe have liked an alternative to the set 5 course meal which was served each evening. Although the food was very good it would have been nice to have also had the option of a few a la carte choices and the possibility of choosing a lighter (and cheaper) meal some evenings.

    Beautiful setting with gorgeous views from the pool area. Food was outstanding especially the range and quality of the breakfast options. All staff were very friendly and very efficient.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great views, food and people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is so very peaceful with great views. An ideal place to relax. All of the staff go the extra mile, are polite and very welcoming. They clearly go for a family feel to the hotel and take a genuine interest in their guests. The food was also great with a wide variety to choose from at breakfast time. The dinners were also great with good, local food cooked to perfection.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    9.2
    Very relaxing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Make sure to tell the hotel your dietary wishes in advance!

    The location is so so beautiful, you have to drive up a narrow mountain path, but it is so worth it. You immediately feel relaxed, very kind staff. The owner also came and chat with us and was very kind. The rooms are big and beautiful with very beautiful views. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    We were well rested and refreshed after a busy wedding on the costa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    La Almunia del Valle is indeed a hidden treasure. The hotel is one of the best we have ever stayed in. The attention to detail by the owners is spectacular. They and their staff never stopped working to make this a memorable and wonderful stay. Thank you so much

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    8.8
    La Almunia Del Valle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a little held to ransom by the set menu dinner option at €38.50 per person with minimal or no flexibility on choice of main. The hotel is about 1.5km up a very steep road so walking into the village isn't really an option. You will need to drive to get to alternative places to eat.

    The size and standard of the room was excellent. It included a hammam style shower and was decorated very tastefully. The balcony felt private and had stunning views across the valley. The pool and gardens were also really lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    10
    A romantic stay ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive up to the hotel was a little daunting but we appreciate that you don't get stunning views and a great mountain stay without it!

    Everything - the owners and staff were very attentive and helpful. The property and grounds were beautifully manicured and well kept. The dinner was fantastic and the atmosphere romantic. It was a real treat!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Well worth a night or two stay to unwind and be spoilt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road leading to the hotel is very steep and a single track not for the faint hearted.

    Fantastic hotel, the staff could not do enough to help and the restaurant was amazing. Views spectacular.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2018

    9.2
    Relaxing end to the holidays, gorgeoud views, great breakfast, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though dinner was nice, we feel it was slightly overpriced. But we’ve experienced this is sometimes the case if a hotel’s location is a bit more secluded knowing guests don’t always feel like driving somewhere for dinner. In our case even more since we weten’t travelling by car.

    Views from the main terrace and the pool area. Great breakfast. Wonderful staff! Useful info, good tips on nearby hikes.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Exquisite in every way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I loved the fabulously warm welcome from charming Dolo and Fermin (the dog) at reception and the lovely charismatic owner Patricia. We felt genuinely reunited with good friends. Our beautifully designed rooms were exceptional, with every facility. The pool area is truly gorgeous surrounded by luxurious gardens, luscious lawns and olive trees, and a variety of colourful and fragrant trees and bushes. The views from everywhere, when staying at this exquisite cortijo are spectacular. Our supper on the stunning roof terrace restaurant was mouth watering with several delicious courses. Simply perfect!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    amazing hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent hotel, great location and food and amazing staff. Really enjoyed our stay at Almunia del valle, it is a hotel with a beautiful view where you can relax while having great food and service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    10
    Views are amazing, room was beautiful, bathroom was just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Road to access the property and parking is a slightly challenging

    Views are amazing, room was beautiful, bathroom was just superb! Staff are incredibly helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    10
    Peaceful hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Peaceful hotel with a very friendly staff and a beautiful view of the mountains. Five course dinner is served only for hotel guests in an intimate setting. When is it's warm you can sit outside in the patio and enjoy the setting.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    10
    Dream Retreat with no shortcomings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    A really nice retreat from the noisy city of Seville just 20 min from centre. The view is magnificent, the staff very nice and forthcoming. You live like in a comfortable home. The discussions with fellow travellers before dinner were really nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic hotel in a peaceful location with amazing views
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We wished there was a lighter option in the evening

    Our room (11) was beautifully decorated and appointed. The breakfasts were wonderful and the care and attention of the staff to their guests was exemplary

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    Breakfast on the patio watching the sun come up over the mountains - perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This hotel is perfect, the location and views are amazing. The food is fabulous. The owners, Patricia and Manuel, and all the staff could not be more welcoming. We stayed here 11 years ago and have wanted to come back ever since - this visit was just as good, if not better. We will be back again soon!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    10
    The perfect get away, amazing place and brilliant staff, loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This is exactly what i was looking for; somewhere peaceful, beautiful and this place is so full of it. , This property is really only 8 km away from Granada and yet it is a world apart which is heaven after a busy day sightseeing. Patricia and all her staff couldn't be more helpful, happy to chat, give ideas. The food is absolutely amazing , breakfast is so delicious, full of delicacies. Loved it.x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    10
    A stunning place to spend 2 or 3 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A stunning place to spend 2 or 3 days. Only a short drive from Granada and 30 minutes to the ski resort of Sierra Nevada, so for us it was perfect. The friendly welcome and service throughout our stay was great. The setting and the property itself are fantastic for a romantic few days. Our room, with a terrace facing the gardens was extremely comfortable and very nicely decorated. The living room was also a lovely place to sit and relax with an open fire and lots of interesting books to browse. At breakfast there was such a wide variety of choices which changed each day. We opted to eat in the evenings too and although a little more expensive than local restaurants it was worth it - the food was delicious and with 5 courses more than enough food! Drinks were not expensive and the wines we drank were very good. We felt very at home and would defintitely return.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Perfect countryside accomodation to visit Granada and Sierra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect countryside accomodation to visit Granada and Sierra Nevada. Excellent breakfast and dinner. Very friendly owners and staff. Excellent service.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    10
    The accommodation was spotless, tastefully decorated, and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was spotless, tastefully decorated, and the surroundings were just beautiful. We had the dinner which was very good indeed and freshly prepared. Patricia our host was absolutely wonderful as were her husband and staff. Car is needed. We would go again in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Rural retreat outside Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Patricia and her staff couldn't be more helpful. Make sure you follow the directions to the hotel otherwise you may get lost. The rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast selection is excellent and dinner was delicious. The location is a perfect contrast to the hustle and bustle of Granada yet it's only a 15 min drive away.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent food. Be sure to make reservations for the 5 course dinner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms can be noisy. One can hear the neighbour's TV. Luckily they turned it off before our bedtime. The hotel is in the shadow most of the day, whereas we would have liked some sun in late november. The owners left all of the real work to the wonderful staff. Owners were nowhere to be found during dinner. Female owner briefly showed us breakfast in her jogging outfit, then left us in the excellent hands of the staff and went jogging.

    Both breakfast and dinner are excellent. We recommend eating the 5 course dinner offered by the hotel. There is hardly an alternative in town and the hotel chef is very good.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    10
    A fantasy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Welcoming, helpful, friendly, professional staff. Appreciated personal approach from owners. Breakfast is particularly impressive and varied daily in choice and variety. Loved the fresh, local produce used for each meal and cooked to a high standard.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    This Is the second time we have been to this hotel, and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    This Is the second time we have been to this hotel, and we weren’t disappointed, it was as fabulous the second time as it was the first. It is a little gem in the Sierra Nevada I would recommend it too anyone. Stunning views, lovely staff, the personnel touch, comfy beds, wonderful food...need I say more

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    10
    Perfect in hospitality and food!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Driving there is a small adventure. Small steep road.

    We very enjoyed the 3 nights in this hotel and felt very welcome. We had a room in the old main building and it was very tasteful furnished. The breakfast was amazing, there were things like quinoa salad, empanada or homemade cakes…. probably the best during our 4 weeks trip in Spain. Also the dinner was incredible tasty. The owner are very well informed about the options what to do around and where to go. We did a very nice walk to gorge in the neighborhood.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.2
    Great location, breathtaking views of the valley!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much to mention, maybe that the wifi signal wasn't perfect everywhere.

    Great location, breathtaking views of the valley! Very romantic to have breakfast or dinner at the terrace while watching the mountains. Patricia and her people are very welcoming and nice. Nicely decorated.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    9.6
    This property was beautifully maintained and everyone at the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This property was beautifully maintained and everyone at the hotel were so friendly. The room was beautifully decorated and comfortable. Breakfast was the best in our 2 week trip in southern spain. I would love to come back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    6.3
    We enjoyed our stay but it wasn't really what we wanted. we won't go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have a walking disability and I didn't realise when I booked that there would be so many steps to climb! Our bedroom was at the lowest level of the property on the hillside and the dining room was at the top - I had to negotiate 70 rather uneven and unlevel steps for breakfast and dinner every day!! ALSO the hotel was very hard to find. We spent an hour driving around the village in circles. I asked locals for directions and phoned the hotel twice. AND the evening meal was a set menu, no choice. It was very expensive

    The garden and the pool area were very pleasant to relax in. The dining area on the patio was lovely, overlooking the mountainside. The staff were very helpful and friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    9.2
    Fabulous, wanted to stay longer but were on a tight schedule. Peace, serenity comfort great food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was a bit farther than I expected from Granada but then you had the peace and serenity of the countryside at the end of the narrow road.

    Breakfast was very good and the restaurant at night was excellent. The rooms very tastefully decorated and very comfortable, with fabulous views over the valley. Great pool with the same view Highly recommended although be aware of a narrow dirt road leading to the hotel but it is worth it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    10
    Complete value for money - this was the best part of my Spain trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suites with the view of the mountains is totally worth every penny! Also I highly recommend the hike of the nearby trail. But get very clear instructions from the staff so that you don’t get lost as it’s very easy to take the wrong path. What was supposed to take us 3 hours, took us 5. And take water and a snack! But definitely do the hike! The 5 course dinner was also worth it - lovely atmosphere, very tasty food, a beautiful view - you won’t regret it.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    Really special place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked to be able to order coffee/snack during the day. Pool jolly cold.

    Fabulous views. Great breakfast and evening meal. Owner comes round in morning asking about your plans and giving advice which is so helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    A great hotel in a very beautiful area. Weekends busy and Sunday is the local farmers shoot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is outstanding. However on Sunday morning there was a lot of gunfire as the local farmers seemed to be shooting on their land. As this is part of the National Park we were a little surprised.

    Food and service were amazing. Maria at the front desk and Fernando, the head waiter were amongst the best staff I have ever encountered and I worked for Alan Whicker! Our Room 12 was excellent although a little too close to the restaurant terrace. Views were amazing and local walks outstanding.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    Amazing!!! Absolutely exceeded our expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    The rooms were very well appointed, very bright, amazing showers & comfortable beds. The staff we extremely friendly & helpful & the food top notch!! Overall an amazing stay at a very special place.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    10
    We chose Almunia del Valle based on reviews and for its proximity to the Alhambra.Not disappointed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the food was outstanding, they could perhaps offer a cheaper dinner option.

    Veronica at reception was beyond helpful! All the staff appeared to really enjoy their jobs. The atmosphere at the resort was laid back, yet elegant. The breakfast selection was great.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.2
    Lovely hotel and friendly professional staff, but wouldn't stay because of poor dinner
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner - see above

    Lovely hotel in every way - except dinner! Dinner is served on a lovely terrace overlooking the mountains, but the food is quite poor (5 courses for €35 sounds okay, but not if bread is a course, and dessert is a dollop of flavoured whipped cream). This wouldn't normally matter, but it's a 1.5k walk down a VERY steep hill (c.10% gradient) to other restaurants.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel. I hope we'll return one day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Be prepared for a trip up the tiny mountain road.

    A beautiful oasis of a hotel. If you're looking for peace and tranquility, you couldn't do better. The owners and staff are so welcoming and friendly - they have the personal touch spot on. The views are gorgeous from the room, the swimming pool, the terraced eating area - everywhere! Dinner was a delicious 5 course set menu which is well worth having.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    10
    Fantastic place to restore your soul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe a warm breakfast option (omelette?) Maybe an alternative option to the set menu for children but that is being nit picking as it was still great

    The beds were fantastic The staff were brilliant and the most helpful we have ever known! The rooms were great The views were amazing The relaxing peace and quiet yet only a 15 euro /15 minute taxi ride from Granada

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    A fantastic place for body and soul
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Modern, clean and comfortable rooms, balcony with great view, extremely welcoming staff, old nicely restored main building, very nice garden and pool area with an "honesty bar" (drinks, sandwichens, vegtables and fruit), restaurant with amazing view, fantastic dinner and breakfast, very nice staff and owner, beutiful surrondings with walking trails nearby, over all very well kept buildings and garden

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not take amex. Nothing really.

    Everything. Very well kept area, great rooms, excellent common areas, great food and breakfast. One of the best hotel experiences we have had.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    10
    Perfect getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the beautiful setting up in the Sierra Nevada mountains with stunning views. Breakfast and dinner were outstanding. Owner and staff delightful, warm and friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    8.3
    Stunning location for a tranquil stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner in the evening is limited and not great value for money at 35 euro for five courses - one of which is a slice of toast and olive oil and two more small starter size portions. Dishes are hit and miss and cater towards a less adventurous palate, we found the waiter to be a little dismissive during service and feedback was not really taken on board. Fish was bland and lacked seasoning, we didn't even get a wedge of lemon. However the homemade ravioli was delicious and they have a nice wine list. The location kind of makes up for the average dinner but its definitely expensive for what you get and how locally its sourced. We recommend having a big lunch at one the restaurants in Monachil instead. Coffee at breakfast is disappointing in comparison to those you get elsewhere in Granada. They could clean the pool of bugs mid afternoon to make it more pleasant.

    Spacious, modern rooms with wonderful views of the surrounding countryside. Very tranquil property with a beautiful terrace for breakfast and a great selection of food from cereals to homemade cakes and savoury tarts. Plenty of sunbeds to laze on in the afternoon by the pool, the pool is refreshing and the honesty bar of snacks and drinks is really handy.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    A PERFECT STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing

    This was the second time I stayed at La Almunia. I just love the area, convenient for Granada, Sierra Nevada and lovely walks in the area. Staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms beautifully decorated, lovely garden and pool.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    9.2
    Well worth a visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find. We didn't realise that the old town is about 2km from the new town. Road to hotel very steep and narrow. About 20 mins at least,walk to the town, all downhill. Evening meal expensive , euros 70 per person. We therefore ate in town at a lovely restaurant La Cantina De Diego. Much cheaper and lovely food.

    Stayed in Superior room, only one available, and it was lovely. Own terrace with lovely views. Hotel very quiet, with views of Sierra Nevada.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    9.6
    Amazing getaway from it all
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owners and staff are super friendly and engaged but didn't enjoy being asked every breakfast how we liked our room, especially in front of all other guests at breakfast. Scary drive up to the hotel!

    Views were amazing! Great hike nearby. Literally everything was amazing, could have stayed forever :) pool with honesty bar, massage and great views and shade under olive oil trees. Lobby area is great to take a break from the sun and read.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Lovely hotel outside Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It's a tiny one lane road up the long hill to the hotel - that's the only drawback. Have dinner at the hotel rather than going out in the evening.

    Loved this place - great room, fabulous breakfast and dinner, just a beautiful place - away from the hustle and bustle of Granada

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    very nice and wild place with view on the mountains, 15-20 min. from Granada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the smell in our bathroom (room n. 10).

    the view, the swimming pool, the decoration, the disponibility of the owners (so nice, welcoming, taking car of us)! very good and fresh food for breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    9.6
    Highly Recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Tricky parking in a hire car! Unheated pool, sure I had read it was heated... No choice for dinner, although the food was excellent on the set menu

    Super friendly owners, very warm and welcoming Very comfortable bed Peace and quiet Great gin and tonics Loved the cats and dog Delicious breakfasts with homemade specialties

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    10
    On the doorstep for the Alhambra but in the peace of the countryside
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast buffet was superb with great choice - not just standard international fare. There were rugs available and a roaring log fire for colder evenings - even in April. The 5 course dinner was delicious and based on local foods.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    10
    A generally quiet spot off the beaten track.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not try what looked a good swimming pool as the weather was too cold.

    Secluded spot. Great view from the room. Pleasant friendly and helpful staff. Splendid breakfasts and dinners. Good walks straight from the property.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    10
    A great place to stay very near Granada but in the middle of nature and peaceful mountains !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing :)

    We loved this amazing house, very quiet, beautiful with the most charming welcome. Manuel and his lovely wife make you feel at home. Decoration is superbe and Chic, the room was large with incredible view and private terrasse. Very comfortable and cosy, with beautiful bathroom. And above all the food is delicate, tasty and homemade. Breakfast is also very complete and delicious ! We recommend this place !

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    9.6
    Love and care in Almunia Del Valle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi

    The very nice atmosphere and the welcoming we got from the sympathetic owners and staff. Everything was beautifully designed and taken care of with love and care.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    8.8
    A super boutique hotel with lots of designer flair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were not aware when we booked that there is no choice offered on the dinner menu. You can select either a 25 euro three course set meal or a 35 euro five course set meal. When we arrived we were told that the main course was a slow roast chicken. Everything was very tasty but a choice of say two or three items for the main course would perhaps be more in keeping with the price.

    Fabulous boutique hotel with a great ambience and beautifully decorated. The location is ideal for those wishing to hike and commune with nature and it's just a short 30 minute drive to the Sierra Nevada for skiing in the log winter season. The owners and staff were super friendly and welcoming and breakfast was excellent with a great variety of unusual little dishes such as smoked salmon frittata.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    9.6
    An unforgettable stay at La Almuna della Valle
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We loved this little rural gem in Monachil. The property is beautiful and the level of comfort was outstanding. The decor in the bedroom is simple but very tasteful and done with so much thought and care. The bed was super comfy and loved the small balcony overlooking the spectacular mountain views of Sierra Nevada. Everything was just perfect. We were served delicious home made breakfasts and were always made to feel very welcome by the super friendly hosts & their dedicated staff. We ate dinner on one night and it was also very delicious. Thank you for everything, and especially for ensuring that my partner's lactose intolerance was very well catered for - your thoughtfulness and great service with a smile were very much appreciated! Hope to be back one day!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    9.2
    a great place to relax and unwine
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the road to the hotel was very tight the council could do with widening the road

    we were treated very well.the room and the terrance and the view were excellant

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    10
    Fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is a little difficult to find and the road access is a bit 'rural' but it's worth it

    Food amazing, staff fantastic. Best hotel I've stayed in for a long time.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2016

    9.6
    A charming small rural hotel in the foothills of the Sierra Nevada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A comfortable clean and welcoming rural luxury hotel in the olive groves outside of Monachil furnished in mid-century modern decor. The rural setting offers great views and pleasant leisure walks in the countryside. Comfortable clean rooms, ours featured a furnished patio. Incredible fixed menu dinners featuring regional and local foods and wine. Breakfast was wonderful with a wide variety of food and drink. The staff are all welcoming, friendly and very helpful. Follow the published driving directions on your first trip to the hotel and you will happily arrive at this wonderful hotel.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2018

    10
    Great place to stay for visiting Granada and Sierra Nevada
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to visit Granada and for hiking. Excellent breakfast and dinner. Very hospital staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2018

    10
    Hidden gem, worth exploring!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    It was located off the beaten track, higher up on a mountain top, with fantatsic views

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No choice at dinner but food fabulous anyway

    Fabulous food and get away from it all location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Lovely stay close to the Mountains and Granada with amazing food an lovely owner and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location, view an especially the food (breakfast and Dinner) was amazing.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Haven of peace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only Very minor drawback was that the pool was rather cold!

    Wonderful staff, wonderful food, lovely room

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Just what we were after.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were superb, they couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. The breakfast was the best we've ever had and the local area is ideal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    Everything was exceptional and the views of the Mountains...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was exceptional and the views of the Mountains were beautiful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Internet was slow
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet was slow

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    9.2
    View from the hotel was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from the hotel was stunning.

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 – 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: