Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Altaia 2 stars

Sant Pere, 28, 03590 Altea, Spain

#6 of 9 hotels in Altea

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 432 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 60

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is family owned you can tell by all the personal touches in the bedroom, bathroom, lobby and restaurant areas. The continental breakfast was excellent as was the service very personable. The hotel is ideally situated on the sea front in a very peaceful, tranquil area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice location next to the beach. Close to the tram station and old city. Extra large bed was super, and room included all what you would need. Breakfast is very good and it varies a bit every day including lots of fruits and berries, bread, vegetables, eggs etc.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Television was a little small but managed to get a number of channels.

    Room was large and staff very nice and friendly. Situation of hotel is very good and right on the esplanade of Altea. Unfortunately, the restaurant was closed during our stay but we had a very good time.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check in and Check out experience, was slow. Staff not too friendly. Amenities and towels were of poor quality.

    Breakfast was good and healthy. The location is good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful position & beautiful views from the hotel. Lovely & relaxed & able to take our dog as well. Very central for the bars & restaurants. WiFi good & free parking nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Staff at the Hotel were all excellent, I cannot fault it and as said by many people the breakfast [continental] has an excellent choice. It was our first time at this Hotel [we usually stay in Albir] and I would highly recommend it but for us the location was not really ideal.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is made up of large pebbles

    The hotel is in a superb location, only a ffew rooms, breakfast included, staff very nice (good English). So nice that we stayed an extra 3 days 👍😎

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beautiful location. Small family run hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very comfortable clean room. More facilities than expected from a 2 star rated hotel. Do not be put off by the 2 star rating. I have stayed in higher rated hotels in the area which fell well below the standards offered here.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was nice, each one comes with a balcony. Ours was the cheaper option so didn't face the beach, but we could still see it laterally. Be careful not to stain your clothes by touching the balcony wall like I did. The room was nice. Above all, the breakfast buffet was outstanding. The breakfast was one of the reasons we came, and it was fantastic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints.

    Excellent buffet style breakfast with a lovely view of the beach and water. Great coffee. Good location within the town. Lots of private parking on site. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike!

    Location for beach, bars, restraunts, was excellent. Breakfast very nice, fresh tasty local produce. Staff made us feel very welcome.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Mattress on bed very firm. Old 'spa' shower in bathroom difficult to turn on and off. (Though there was a bath with hand-shower in the bathroom as well). Had to ask for shampoo sachets for the spa shower, and also for extra toilet paper on two occasions.

    Excellently situated on the front with a great view of the sea. Very tasty and varied continental breakfast. Easy access to and from the hotel. Lift to all floors. Large bedroom and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the pillows were a bit wide but not very deep, luckily they also had other pillows on the bed wich slept alot better:) but other than this all was wonderfull

    the hotel was under new management, during my stay Ive heard alot of people asking: your staying at altaia? is it ok now?? I was amazed because the hotel could have had the same 5 star rating that Ive seen during many other stays at different european hotelrooms.the hotel lounge was very luxurious! The room was very spacious and very clean, the bed ye could fit almost 4 adults, the staff friendly and helpfull, free breakfast better than most where you pay 15 or 20 euro's during your stay, the restaurant was empty most of the time because some of my countrymen boycotted it because former managment ruined the reputation, this is horrible and isn't reprensentative for the current state of the food and hotel, I encourage all to try it and stay here for a lovely visit in Altea....and the view is...breathtaking! best spot to be to visit the spannish coast in my oppinion!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was as good as expected.

    The location and the in a way classical atmosphere of the hotel at the beach. Very good breakfast. Private parking was also available just across the street in the back of the building.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was facing to the back of the hotel, rather than towards the sea

    the views and breakfast were real nice, next to the sea so you can have coffee with breeze

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We needed to google the aircon, as there is a 15mt delay till it responds totally. But really good when we worked that out!

    Very kind efficient staff and a wonderful choice at breakfast, constantly freshly replenished. Situation looking out on the beach was wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful and convenient location on the beachfront. It's a 10 minute uphill walk through picturesque streets to the old town. Great value for money. The hotel has its own car park which made all the difference as it is a challenge to find a car parking space in Altea.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t have improved on anything

    Upgraded to a far superior room - the staff and the hotel was fabulous - we even had brand new mattresses to sleep on as they had all been changed that morning when we arrived! Delightful breakfast that was immaculately presented

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Generally all was OK .Staff on duty on the check in day not especially friendly but as we speak no Spanish they probably were at a disadvantage.Check out lady was friendly.

    Basic holiday hotel with lovely big bed ,very clean room and en suite.Had view of the beach and sea.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place and beautiful love location. Welcoming hotel with fantastic views whilst eating breakfast. Hotel faces the seafront. I went with my husband this time but would take the 3 children next time.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything especially that they were great with our little dog. And the parking is perfect

    The staff are really helpful and the location is fabulous

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The location was excellent right on the promenade and just a few minutes walk from Altea Station. The staff were very pleasant. Sky News on the TV was appreciated.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed linen and towels were very `tired looking´ and need replacing. The breakfast could have been of better quality (industrial baking etc)

    The mattress and pillows were very comfortable. The sleep quality was good (no street or bar noise)

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We missed a fridge in the first room, even though Booking.com promised that it should be one. Some mistakes in the information given by Booking.com and the owner was not happy with that either. We would have liked a water heater in the room for making coffee and tea.

    We liked the location of the hotel, and the owner was a very nice and friendly lady. We changed the first room to a better room with a wonderful view to the sea after her recommendations.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were non existent, man on reception was very unfriendly and not helpful. Said he didnt need my debit card but next day after check out i was called back to pay . Tried to get a drink at the bar at 7.30 but man on reception said bar didnt open until 8pm he was the only member of staff we saw until the next morning. We sat on the terraceat breakfast and ordered a coffee the boy called us in to get the coffee ourselves instead of bringing it out to us. Room very clean but beds sooo noisy every time you turned over no sleep all night, worst hotel we have stayed in . Would NEVER stay there again

    Location was good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms, the man on reception on arrival. We arrived just after 7.00pm for one nights stay in two superior rooms. The receptionist (male) was not very friendly, however we got our keys and checked into our room. Very basic room. We particularly booked superior as the reviews on trip advisor were not very complementary. So thought we would make our stay a little more comfortable with a superior room. Nothing about the rooms were superior. Extremely basic. The beds were hard, the pillow useless. The seaview was a side on view with a small balcony. The air con did not work and was very very hot this night. No mini bar in the room. We showered and went down to the bar for a well earned drink after working long long hours. This was around 8-830pm. The man on reception said no - bar closed. I might say that the moors and Christians were on and seemed extremely odd that no bar open and no restaurant open for food. Although the staff were sitting down having a meal. My sisters room also a superior room was dirty. Someone's old contact lenses left in sink and the toilet had been used and not flushed. Not very pleasant at all. Again their air con not working and a very basic room again with hard uncomfortable beds, small balcony with no seats and small side on sea view. As we were so tired we had no time to find somewhere else, being for one night only stay, so had to endure it. Had no sleep all night and left early next morning for an important meeting. We reported the problems to the reception, they said this is not possible and the problems we discovered "we're not possible". They gave a 5 euro discount for no mini bar in the room as the staff forgot to put it back, and nothing for the dirty toilet and someone's contact lenses in the sink! We were not after discounts but at least an apology. Nothing. Staff very rude, no food available in the evening and no bar open!

    The location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, just opposite the beach and in walking distance (although uphill) of the old town of Altea. The hotel has recently been taken over and in the process of being updated. At the moment it is basic (2*)but very clean and staff quite helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect place just a few steps from old centre of beautiful town Altea, hotel is situated right on the beach, with many good restaurants. Hotel personal were very helpful and kind, good simple breakfast, clean hotel room - tided everyday, we would go there again :) Thank you Altaya!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Iron in room or offered. No Information book in room to let you know the services they provide.

    Rooms cleaned every day and staff were excellent. Able to hire towels for the beach for a good price. Great location and accommodation is very clean.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There could have been more soap in the bathroom, and check-out at 11 AM is a bit early. Price a bit high, but this was high season

    This family-style hotel is simple, but comfortable and has an excellent localization just at the (stony) beach in Altea, one of the nicest small towns in this area. Many restaurants and bars nearby. Large room and bathroom with the higher category room with balcony and view of the sea, good restaurant on the hotel terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude staff after they learned that we did not bring our passports on our one day trip from Alicante. They could be right that we should in spain, but no need to be rude about it

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit disorganised not explained very well

    The location was very good right on the seafront

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like

    God for parking. Near to the beach and restaurants

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect.

    The staff was ever so friendly and helpful; the hotel was amazingly clean.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything really .staff were lovely.excellent locstion.overlooking beachfront.breakfast wast perfect.could not fault it.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant and bar not associated with hotel.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location room was clean breakfast was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location on the sea front, excellent breakfast and nice staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Good coffee and tostada , location of hotel excellent, nice bars and restaurants on the doorstep, and beach just across the road perfect.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Friendly staff, clean comfortable rooms. Breakfast was good with a variety of food and plenty of it. Great location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't have been better

    Comfy bed, excellent inclusive breakfast, friendly staff, and perfect position facing the beach

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excelente trato y mini buffet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location on the beach front. Excellent healthy breakfast overlooking the ocean. Great location for local restaurants and walking.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    GRUMPY GUY ON RECEPTION. Female staff very friendly and helpful.

    Bed very comfy. Clean. Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location clean and homely

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing all good

    Friendly helpful staff great location and stunning view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paper thin. Bring earplugs

    The luminous front restaurant room where they serve breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee or kettle in room it

    Right on the sea front no

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The position was good in front of beach

    The owners. and staff are very good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    every thing was fine ,especially liked the breakfast lot of variety.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Convenience toshor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Budget Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very very poor

    I was there for the second time .... but for the last time. The breakfast was very poor ... the room Was not clean

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant was poor.

    Great value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    English not spoken by the staff

    Beds were very soft and gave me a sore back

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    La cama horrible

    El irme de allí

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better breakfast toast scrambled egg

    Continent Al breakfast minimum

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sparse amenities. Sparse rooms

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

There are also 17 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 60

Guests also reviewed these properties: