Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Silken Amara Plaza 4 stars

Plaza Pío XII, 7, 20010 San Sebastián, Spain

#29 of 56 hotels in San Sebastián

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1719 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2018

    8.3
    Love the huge double bed :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we have a terrace but there was nothing. But otherwise it's very nice :)

    Comfy big double bed, very clean :) Smells nicely in the entrance :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    Special offer price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea or coffee facilities in the room. Parking fees excessive for a paid hotel stay at a touch under €60 for 3 nights. It feels more of a business style hotel than tourist/traveller but that’s just a personal thing.

    Special offer price. Comfortable and large bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    10
    Very enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish I was told about the restaurant on site, had lunch before leaving the hotel and the food and service was very good. I would have had all my meals there.

    Very friendly staff. I like the view of the three branches from my high floor room.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.2
    This hotel is easily accessible by vehicle and includes...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is easily accessible by vehicle and includes parking with many suite choices. It is close to the main parts of town and we enjoyed a leisurely stroll down to town and enjoyed many of San Sebastian's culinary delights. The rooms were very spacious and the breakfast buffet was a vast array of choices.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.6
    A good hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The hotel staff were very helpful. We had chosen the hotel as we had a car but the 30min walk into the old part of San Sebastian was very pleasant. The hotel had a great restaurant with very friendly and efficient staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Great place to stay in San Sebastián!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was fantastic--a beautiful walk to the old town. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Internet was reliable. The bed was comfortable. We are breakfast in the cafeteria instead of the breakfast buffet since we don't like a lot of food in the morning, and the offerings were perfect for a light start to the day.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    7.5
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s not the best location

    Staff were very helpful. It’s probably more of a business/group travel hotel. But staff were very accommodating of us traveling with our baby. They had a cot for her to sleep in and a kettle was sent to the room to allow us heat her baby food. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air conditioning could have been better

    Excellent location Cafeteria is very good Dont bother with the buffet breakfast just have breakfast in the hotel cafeteria

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    A good hotel not too far from the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I struggled to find directions to it although it kept saying it was 4 mins from the bus station the station had moved! So it was about a 10 min walk. Also it doesn't say Silken Amara on the hotel (as it does in the photo on booking.com) but it says Amara Plaza so we were confused and thought we were in the wrong place

    The staff were extremely helpful. The hotel was fairly quiet and the facilities were reasonable. I thought breakfast was overpriced at 19euros but there were plenty of local coffee places nearby doing breakfast for 4 euros

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel, can recommend if you like a firmer bed...😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was clean and neat, but a little firm for me... but this seems to be the normal thing in the Spanish hotels I have stayed in this trip.

    Very well located and appointed hotel that was clean with cafe and restaurant at ground floor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    9.6
    Short break in San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea and coffee making facilities in the room and air conditioning not effective. I was also surprised that you could open the windows wide , especially as I was on the 9th floor!

    Staff were very friendly and efficient. Prices were very reasonable for a a hotel off this standard.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    7.9
    A decent hotel, with a short walk to the centre of a lovely city. The cost was the only negative
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had to pay 19eur a day to park our car. Aircon was not switched on for our stay in April and we found the room a bit warm. Otherwise all manageable

    Clean, tidy well presented hotel. A short walk into town and a reasonable breakfast. Cant complain about anything other than the cost

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    8.8
    Lovely well equipped hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing. It was perfect

    Room was always cleaned and tidy, even the conditioner was provided by the hotel. the breakfast was served for 4 hours so no need to rush! The staff speaks English!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    Great stay in a nice hotel with very pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was slightly dated but it was very clean, unfortunately there was no kettle so we could not make tea in our room but the bar was nice and drinks were cheap so that made up for it!

    Large bedroom, comfy bed, globally clean, just missing a kettle and tea!!! A bit of a walk to the Old Town (about 25min) but rather pleasant along the river. Nice bar where drinks are cheap but we found the breakfast was a bit dear at 19€ pp.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    It was literally amazing . Hotel Staf are very friendly . Breakfast was amazing so much food it’s un
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was literally amazing . Hotel Staf are very friendly . Breakfast was amazing so much food it’s unbelivable. Rooms are very clean. Probably one thing they can add is sky news . Overall excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    10
    Excellent value, quality and super service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The BBC channel was not working on the TV

    Excellent service from the front desk to restaurant and bar staff. Very helpful and knowledgeable. The breakfast is a real highlight, possibly the best breakfast buffet I can recall anywhere and I've had a few.. The restaurant set menu exceeded my expectations, very high quality, well presented and excellent service. House wine was very very good. This is a modern hotel that sets a very high standard and for me it was a highlight of our visit to San Sebastian

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tea bags are very very weak. As hotels here don't do hot drink facilities in rooms it would be a relief to get a decent cup of tea in the hotel cafe or restaurant!

    Staff very helpful Good view over the river

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    5.0
    Disapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaness was really bad and I don't think that place are a really 4*. in general the building needs an improvement. Definetely not a 4* maybe 3...

    Location wasn't bad and the staff in reception were kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable with polite and efficient staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not entirey quiet at times on the top floor.

    Clean and comfortable with polite and efficient staff. The. hotel restaurant and piano bar are also pleasant location's that offer good service. The hotel is well located in the town,near to the centre and beaches .

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful city and the fact that we didnt stay in the Old Town meant we got to walk along the
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Really have no complaints as spent very little time in property as were always out exploring.

    Hotel clean and bed very comfortable. Lovely lady brought a pot of tea each morning when we were having our breakfast. Hotel is about a twenty minute walk to the Old Town along the river and is most pleasant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    5.0
    Not luxurious as they would want to be.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy location. If you open windows you cannot sleep due to traffic noise, if you close it, noise is still very noticeable. And on top of it, AC could only heat :-(

    Parking is good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Generally good hotel but wouldn't stay again for reasons mentioned.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Junior suite was right next to the lift so very noisy and our second evening we had a very noisy group of people above us until nearly 1 am so not great. Breakfast a little pricey especially for children we have a 5 and 10 year old and had to pay €11 per child as well as ours priced at €19 each. Really considering what we paid for the junior suite, breakfast should have been included or at least free for children.

    We had a junior suite which was great for a family of 4.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    4.2
    Wish had booked a different hotel that's the only thing that spoilt our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what you get rooms small considering the price and location is out of way would not class it as a four star hotel it is definately over priced very disappointed!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.3
    A comfortable, modern hotel in a great location by the river with a good bar and restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer a stand alone shower instead of one over the bath and also shower pressure could be better.

    Nice all day cafe/bar selling coffee and snacks which is very handy. Dinner in restaurant was very good and singer in bar on Friday night was a great idea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.2
    Very enjoyable ...loved the city and would love to return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Guest adjacent to us smoked in room and we could smell smoke Friday night and early Saturday morning.Did inform staff and didn't smell again.

    Staff very corteous,room clean ,bed comfy and nice smell in the lobby :)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.2
    A wonderful hotel well worth staying at. Even the surrounding area was fabulous and a very pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No kettle for tea / coffee and no spare blanket although I asked for a blanket the second night and slept so much better.

    With the use of our gps, The hotel is easy to drive to and access to the underground parking is across the street. You just ride the elevator into the hotel. We had a lovely view of the river and the mountains. The room was very comfortable. And quiet. We enjoy walking so the walk into the old town didn't bother us except when we got caught in a downpour and our bottom half got soaked. But that's the fun of it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    6.3
    Staff was friendly and helpful, good access to public...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Value for money poor, room not renovated, no tea/coffee in room, food at bar not very tasty, parking quite expensive.

    Staff was friendly and helpful, good access to public transportation

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.3
    Liked San Sebastian and would like to go again but definitely in a different hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very average for price

    For the price water in the room would have been nice. During this Holiday we gave stayed in quite a few hotels and everyone with free water when you arrived. The hotel and staff were ok but very average. Breakfast was good

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    7.9
    Good stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was expensive for what you got, and our room was not ready on arrival. Breakfast was pricy as well for the offering and so we did not take this but for 310 euros would have expected a little more from facilities and staff

    The room was spacious and great to have. A separate space where the kids could sleep. Parking was easy

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needed coffee making facilities in the room (a kettle). It was a 25 min + walk to the centre. Doing that 4 times a day was tiring but i suppose we should have asked reception for bus details.

    We loved the room and cleanliness. The staff were all very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.3
    All together, the hotel was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit pricey for what they offered.

    Decent property. It is a good 25 minute walk to the beach and old part of town where all the bars, restaurants and night life is located. That was our biggest issue. However, they had bikes to rent at the hotel, which was great and made the location manageable. Hotel room was nice but a bit small. Bathroom was ok.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    10
    Professional friendly and attentive staff who were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 28 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited selection on the room service menu and limited times to order but that is only minor.

    Professional friendly and attentive staff who were outstanding at their job and we recieved complementary tickets to events, attractions as well as numerous food and drink gifts during our month long stay. It made our stay at the Silken Amara an amazing experience and I'll definitely be returning. Niel T. Australia

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    5.8
    Acceptable hotel in San Sebastián
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like the location. I didn't like that for a 4 star we received no assistance for the luggage. No complimentary water. No shower caps ...

    It was Okay ... Nothing to make me return

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    A great place to stay in San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This hotel was the perfect spot for our stay in San Sebastian this July. It was well located and very well priced. The staff was professional and helpful with many good recommendations and information on the very easy to use city bus system. The parking was right under the hotel, easy to find and very convenient. We had a lovely breakfast at the hotel bar. This is the right spot for a short stay in San Sebastian.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    9.6
    This was a one off, special occasion for us which we enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Disappointing that a surprise gift from our family was not in the room when we arrived as requested. However this was soon sorted.

    The very high standard in all areas

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    7.5
    Meh. I won't repeat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast servers had poor attitude. Location was far from cultural/historic center, 20-30 min walk. Very expensive.

    Nice restaurant (dinner), great bar and staff. Big comfy bed. English tv capable.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    2.5
    I booked to stay at the Silken Amara Plaza with my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I booked to stay at the Silken Amara Plaza with my colleagues as we were working in San Sebastian. However I am writing this review to let you know that the water in the hotel is very dirty. After a hard day working in the town I returned back to my room and ran a bath. The water that came out was yellow and murky with thick brown scum around the edges and a damp smell. I went down to the reception to let them know and they told me someone would come up. No one ever did for the duration of my stay. The following day, the water was the same so I went down to reception only to be told as no managers were in as there was noting they could do. I was outraged. Myself and my colleagues were over professionally on business and I have spent over 2k with the hotel in rooms. I have since emailed the hotel asking for an explanation. They have told me that it isn't there fault, and the town hall have confirmed the 'water was fit for consumption'. I certainly wouldn't advise drinking that water! I did not expect this from a 4 star hotel. I feel really cross that they treated me so rudely. I even asked the girl in reception - 'would you wash in this water' and she honestly replied 'no i wouldn't'. Please if you like clean water and polite staff DO NOT STAY HERE!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    10
    Dreamland
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having to leave and go home.

    Hotel restaurant was the best. Location perfect, easy to walk around the city, and to the beach and parks. Didn't want to leave.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    9.2
    Nice accomodation, great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although the place is a little bit far from the city centre, you can take a bus that leaves you right in the centre, or you can have a nice walk bordering the west bank of the river if the weather is nice.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice Hotel but bad AC
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The AC is not proper AC but central air, so when the hotel feels its cold they turn it up. Not exactly what you want if you enjoy sleeping in a cold room

    Nice rooms, and decent on site dining options

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    10
    Super Silken
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good

    Great sized room with lovely views overlooking the river and St Sebastian. Breakfast was really fantastic with excellent variety. Staff attentive in all areas of the hotel. Location perfect, a 20 minute walk along the river into the centre. Will return

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Super hotel! Super location! SUPER STAFF.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like having to leave!

    The staff on Reception were extremely helpful. The artworks around the hotel were really interesting. Comfy bed and pillows zzzzzzzzzzzz!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    5.4
    does not rate 4 stars
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom floor dirty beneath the beds.Hotel group advertised balconies that dont exist at Hotel Silken Amara.We were told the balcony would cost 22 eu per day if available.Hotel lacks 4 star quality.Artwork ok ..lounge bar cold and austere decor.

    House staff at bar and reception were friendly.l.Coffee bar and night lounge bar both excellent staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    9.2
    An excellent hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    An excellent hotel! Friendly, welcoming and helpful reception staff. Spacious, clean and comfortable room with a very large, comfortable bed. The hotel was well situated for us, arriving by train at Amara station, about 10 minutes walk away. The old town is about 30 minutes walk, but there are frequent buses. The breakfast buffet seemed rather expensive, but excellent and inexpensive coffee and croissants were available in the hotel's cafeteria.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.3
    Overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View

    Extremely overpriced for size and some maintenance issues, maid walked into room at 9am without knocking and a woman rang at 2 am and woke us all up

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2017

    9.2
    Comfortable
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was significantly under what I would have expected for this quality hotel - just not quality food and presentation was from a much cheaper hotel. Not good in Basque Country!

    Conveniently located to our meetings. Staff was excellent and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Perfect one-night stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night

    No outside terrace, or outside bar, or garden/sitting area. It's a city/business hotel. We were there on a sunday night, and people wishing to avail themselves of the several Michelin-starred restaurants in San Sebastian should make sure to book reservations well in advance.

    City hotel,perfect for a one-night stop on a long car journey. Underground parking, buffet breakfast, river views and walk along the river to nearby restaurant Via Fora for dinner. We walked into SS's main square/beach, but were glad not to have been staying there (very touristy). Hotel was quiet and tranquil. Good bed and linens. Professional hotel staff, good manners and english spoken.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Cannot think of anything

    The breakfast buffet was excellent. The staff was very helpful and language was no problem as they spoke very good English. The location alongside the river is actually quite nice and one can walk a leisurely 25 minutes along the river to the Old Part of the town or even take a bus.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Good base for a short break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit too far away from old town and beach about 25 mins walk.

    Comfortable hotel near river. Hotel has its own underground parking area with access to hotel. Good breakfast buffet.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    8.3
    Hotel easy to get to off main road if driving, clean with good acces by foot to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nowhere outside to sit. had maintainance being carried out while we were asleep which we hadnt been warned about and was right above our room. we were woken about 1 in the morning looked out the window to see a crane a couple of feet in front of our window lifting various poles etc to carry out maintainance on the roof. we were on the eigth floor and it was unloading right above us with men walking about on the roof. We did ring down to reception to find out what was happening.

    hotel great to visit town and beach by foot, flat not hilly. Underground parking had acces direct from hotel although other areas of car park open to general public too. Clean good breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    8.8
    Awesome location, great parking, delicious food & nice lobby staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We did not like that they did not have a coffee or tea machine in the room.

    Location was great for us because we had a vehicle and this location has access to all the main roads. The parking is below the hotel and it is connected to the hotel elevator. The walk to town appeared easy and only about a 25 minute walk, at a leisure pace. The walk path thru the streets is also pleasant and interesting. The buffet breakfast was delicious. The room was pleasantly quiet & the view of the river was beautiful. The staff at the lobby were nice, friendly, helpful and overall a pleasure to deal with. Room service was very good and reasonably priced. The hotel restaurant food was delicious!!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    8.8
    Great hotel-shame about the lack of air conditioning!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only problem was the misinformation regarding air conditioning in room. There was none and it was uncomfortably hot and noisy as the window had to be open.

    The room was really spacious and the bed super-comfy. The staff were great and breakfast was amazing!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Very nice staff. Clean and functional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a corporate hotel but everything else was sold out!

    I asked for a room with a view of the river and I got one! V grateful for that. V nice staff. Relaxed place.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    7.5
    Quite serene location. San Sebastián is a must see and the people know how to socialise!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really. If the charge for breakfast was more realistic then more people would probably engage.

    Although the walk into the centre took 25 mins it was a pleasant stroll in good weather and enabled us to take in the places where the locals go. The hotel was in quiet position and not too far from the bus station ( 8 mins ) walk. Would have had breakfast but the price is prohibitive so the plentiful local cafes were the answer.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    10
    Great hotel great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were comfortable the shower hot and powerful. Location good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Excellent value for money. I would recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    9.6
    Greatly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived early at the hotel hoping to park the car and leave our luggage until check-in time. However the reception clerk did all he could to accommodate us and found us a room which was ready. All the staff we encountered were polite and pleasant and we could not fault the cleanliness. Breakfast was an excellent buffet. We did not have any other meals there. Parking under the hotel was an absolute bonus. The hotel was approximately 25mins walk by the river into the old town. Great for us, but should one have mobility problems, a taxi is approx. €7. We recommend this hotel and would certainly stay there again should we revisit San Sebastián.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    8.3
    Clean and simple.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is a bit far from the attractions. We were aware of it when booking, and still decided to book it since we like walking. However comparing to most of the other accomodations, I would have to say it had quite a distance from the old town. Everything else was nice--worth the price.

    Clean and simple. Nice bed. Large bathroom w/tub. Worth the price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    6.3
    The staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Size of the room: a little too small for our taste and the shower tiny. Location: I would have liked to have been a little closer to the city center.

    The staff was very helpful. Not overly friendly, but nice. It has an excellent bar and even though we did not eat any of our meals there our friends said the restaurant was really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    8.3
    Excellent quality and comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I booked through Booking.com and it said the hotel had free wifi but the wifi was free only for 24 hours and was very poor. After that time you had to pay. I would have liked to be have been told in advance of the limits on the wifi and the wifi costs.

    Excellent quality and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.5
    Good for a short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Paying extra for breakfast, and 19 euros per day for car parking added quite a supplement to the room costs. Only two lifts which, at busy times of the day meant a considerable wait!

    Comfortable bed, plenty of breakfast choice, 10 minute walk into centre of town.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    6.7
    OK but should have been better for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tray cracked, adjustable shower head broken, therefore only position very low. Room OK but expensive for what it offered.

    Convenient position but no better than others.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    4.6
    Very noisy spot, no where near the action.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy spot, no where near the action. Very busy with traffic noise from very early in the morning plus a coach parking next to hotel and they all were on the move around 4am, very disappointing and expensive

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    9.2
    Good quiet room for elderly lady guest. Very comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxi or bus journey to new bus station situated at the other end of town. not the hotels fault, but inconvenient and missed the old one opposite hotel!

    Always a very comfortable night's sleep here. Staff very friendly and helpful. first class buffet breakfast with good varied selection. Quite handy for beach and shops/restaurants. Always like visiting San Sebastian and the Silken Amara.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    6.3
    Clean, tidy and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very overpriced for an ordinary hotel. 600 euro for a weekend with parking! For that price I expected something a bit special. I stay in hotels a lot for work and this isn't worth the money.

    Clean, tidy and friendly staff. Good selection for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2016

    8.8
    Good for a short stay with an easy walk to the beach and old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To pay to use the Internet was unacceptable together with the fact that breakfast was 18 euros and we could get similar breakfast in cafe nearby with free internet - hotel should review their policy.

    Easy to check in - hotel easy to find - although parking was rather on the high end 19 ish euros a night - secure parking was a plus point

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    5.4
    Functional. Not good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff at reception were most unhelpful. Had stayed at a Silken in Vitoria and the contrast was marked. Reception are was not particularly welcoming and uncomfortable to sit around. Bar area also sparse. This hotel could benefit from more comfortable surroundings and a terrace

    Good bedrooms and bathrooms.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    10
    Fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room with Parking
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything.

    From the moment we arrived we were already planning our next visit. We were welcomed by extremely friendly staff and the room was lovely - blissfully cool and the bed was extremely comfortable. We had a lovely view of the water. It is very near to the old town with a lovely walk along shady boulevards to get there. The breakfast was very good and secure car parking with direct lift access to the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    6.7
    Average. Not a 4-star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was useless beyond hope, both in the room and in the common areas on the ground floor. Room isilation against noise could be improved. Lack of tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Room and bathroom should be refurbished. Shower did not work properly.

    Good room size. Helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    7.1
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation in the bathroom. No kettle to make our own tea/coffee - really important facility, limited space in the bedroom, quite expensive for the location and the room type.

    The bed was a good size.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.8
    A deluxe place to stay, a nice walk to the beaches and the old city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    They advertised a "piano bar," but no one was ever playing the piano. That was a little disappointing!

    The bed and room were PERFECT! Extremely comfortable. Located close to some fantastic restaurants and pintxo bars like Botanika.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2016

    8.3
    Reasonable price for San Sebastián, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    20 minutes walk to city center and main points of interest, room a bit small for two larger suitcases

    Reasonable price for San Sebastián, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    7.1
    Exploring Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was hard and very uncomfortable Quite expensive No facilities

    Nice breakfast, lots of choices and freshly cooked Friendly staff Running on the quay Fabulous views and buildings, San Sebastián is worth visiting

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    8.3
    A comfortable city centre hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little further from the old town and beach than we would have liked' there were not many local bars or restaurants if you preferred to eat out

    The hotel meets everything you would expect from a 4* city hotel, comfortable rooms with good facilities, we found the staff very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    6.7
    Good chain hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    welcome was a bit underwhelming but we only stayed one night

    the café attached is excellent for lunch and the general appearance and comfort in the hotel is very good

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    9.2
    Classy and comfortable in a Basque paradise!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Comfort Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was a bit of a walk to the beach, which was a bit tough in the heat, but not a huge issue

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room and bathroom themselves were much more spacious than standard European hotels. Highly recommend :)

    Stayed in July 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: