Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Ancora 3 stars

Josep Pla, s/n, 17230 Palamós, Spain

#9 of 24 hotels in Palamós

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 411 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    8.8
    Great quiet location 5 mins walk to lovely beach with enough...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tea making facilities but bar was extremely reasonable so not really a problem

    Great quiet location 5 mins walk to lovely beach with enough restaurants for a few days Decent breakfast and large room with balcony - excellent value

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    10
    Would definitely visit again, one of the nicest places we've stayed in for a long time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great room with balcony looking out over the putting green and garden, spacious, immaculately clean and fresh, should have stayed longer! Helpful, courteous staff with a warm welcome.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    10
    This was a great stay and close to a fantastic beach at La Fosca.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing

    This is a family run hotel and all staff were smiling and friendly. Also has the bonus of being very pet friendly as the owners have a lovely Golden Lab. A wonderful stay for 5 days and in truth we were reluctant to leave. Easy car parking and safe location.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    This is a lovely family run hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a lovely family run hotel. The staff are friendly and the food is great. It is in a small seaside town close to the sea front and right by the most unspoiled stretch of coastline in the Costa Brava.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Comfortable hotel in a nice village
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I Only had two minor issues, neither of which detracted from my enjoyment of my stay. The first was the towel rack was up on the wall above the toilet and since I'm not tall, it was difficult to get them. The same was true of the showerhead, but again, it didn't take anything from the quality of the shower, or my enjoyment of my stay.

    The hotel had a very relaxed feeling and the staff were lovely, and very helpful. The room was clean, comfortable and modern with a HDTV with USB port. The food was simple, but very well prepared and the wines were excellent and reasonably priced. I'd definitely go back there!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    7.1
    One visit is enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom not overly clean. Quite a noisy hotel-little or no sound proofing, could hear everything in the corridor, including a dog walking around the corridors every morning!

    Location to the beach. Free parking. Reasonable wifi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.8
    Would I return ....... yes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Guests banging their room doors.

    The staff were both friendly and reasuringly calm lending itself to a relaxing environment, I loved it, they have got so much right, especially the food served in their restaurant in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    8.3
    Very good location for visiting the spectacular coastline of the Costa Brava.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The juices at breakfast were disappointing, and the salamis were too prevalent. The coffee machine needed a bit of coaxing to deliver good coffee.

    Everything worked, which is quite unusual in most hotels. The breakfasts were good, but continental only. The restaurant for evening dining was very good, compared with others in the locality. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The breads and croissants were very good

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    7.5
    A pleasant mini-break on a superb part of the coast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Just a little too far to walk easliy into Palamos but we managed it several times. Bars/snacks available on local La Fosca beach. Recommend visit to botanical gardens at Calella.

    Breakfast included, easy car parking. A bit out of season to comment on mini-golf and pool yet.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    10
    Great people, nice hotel in a pretty location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff here were just lovely, on arrival I found out that I'd inadvertently sent an email to them regarding something we'd left behind at another hotel the night before, as soon as we were checked in they brought it to our attention and even phoned the other property for us. They couldn't have been kinder. Our room was very comfortable and clean and the bathroom well stocked. The wifi was one of the best we've had anywhere. Lovely location near a quiet beach and waterfront, clifftop walks. The pool looked clean and invit ing but it wasn't hit enough to swim.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    10
    Late season holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't make tea/ coffee in our room but there was nothing big that we didn't like.

    Lovely friendly atmosphere- they all wanted us to enjoy our stay and were helpful, polite and caring EG the bed was too hard so they changed it- we didn't move .they lent us beach chairs, if something broke or didn't work it was fixed immediately.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    10
    3 jours Sea Sun and Relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff extremely Nice, excellent breakfast and restaurant, excellent location, 5mn walk to beach + chiringito, we loved our balcony...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    Un hotel para disfrutar tranquilos la mejor playa para familias de la Costa Brava
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La playa y las comidas, the beach and the meal, we recommend to reserve 1/2 pension if you want only to go and enjoy The Fosca beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    4.6
    Nice people,very basic breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    very basic for 3 star hotel

    Peaceful postion if at the back. Good pool area amd well kept

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    Overnight stay before returning home from holiday. Wanted to experience Palamos. Glad we did.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were worn out. Needs new linen.

    The staff @ breakfast very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    7.9
    Very quiet neighbourhood with no trafficsound.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very quiet neighbourhood with no trafficsound. Secure parking. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    Friendly staff, comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff, comfortable room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    9.6
    Very Good Value for money
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Excellent stay in a residential area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    None

    Needed assistance in changing a future stay. Staff was extremely helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    6.3
    It's near to sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I don't like clothes hanger.

    It's near to sea

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    4.2
    Poor value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold coffee with breakfast and uninterested staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    5.0
    Normal
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No funcionaba el wifi

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    8.8
    Well located hotel in quiet área of Palamós.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 1 night

    Well located hotel in quiet área of Palamós. The staff were exceptionally helfpul. Breakfast is fantastic.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    10
    Brilliant relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 3 nights

    love this place

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.5
    OK
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedrooms are just OK. No lights in some corridors. Noise from adjacent bedrooms.

    Kind and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    10
    My annual treat to myself.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I loved the choices at breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    9.6
    Well run 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenience of the location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    10
    Internet sygnal was not stable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet sygnal was not stable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    9.2
    Very happy with our choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room Comfort
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very happy with the location the Hotel was just as we hoped.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Breakfasts were very good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Only slight downside was walking back up the hill from Palamos but not a major problem.

    Breakfasts were very good. Food and drinks from the bar reasonably priced. Rooms spotlessly clean. Staff friendly and helpful. Had use of room for late check out at no extra cost.

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2015

    9.2
    Relaxed and friendly atmosphere, comfortable, air con.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only grumble is that in quiet season hotel is surrounded by shut up apartment blocks , which is when we went, envisage very different in season and at weekends.

    Relaxed and friendly atmosphere, comfortable, air con. room, friendly,efficient and obliging staff, good breakfast, great sw. pool, very close to super , un-commercialised, beach, well priced, not too far from town centre (bus).

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2015

    10
    An excellent hotel in a great location only 10 minute walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    An excellent hotel in a great location only 10 minute walk from the beach ! Amazing evening meal "menu del dia" in the restaurant staff were very helpful & attentive ! The pool was excellent also - a great hotel !!! I hope to return soon !!

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    7.5
    Quite, comfortable, good service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was much farther from Palamos than I had expected (2 km at least). My mistake probably, but it means you are more or less stuck at the place - although there is a nice little beach at 5 minutes and an old castle on the hill.

    Quite, comfortable, good service.

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    8.3
    Nice location and the bathtub was a really nice plus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice location and the bathtub was a really nice plus. Wifi worked well

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    9.6
    Ideal for families - Nice restaurant with healthy food -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Ideal for families - Nice restaurant with healthy food - Lovely people

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2015

    7.9
    fantastic view from the balcony.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    a longer walk into the city center

    fantastic view from the balcony. easy access to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    7.5
    Quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No near facilities

    Quiet location

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    8.8
    Great seaside hotel, with pool, table tennis and crazy golf.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great seaside hotel, with pool, table tennis and crazy golf. Very friendly and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    8.8
    Staff and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    road noise

    Staff and location

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    9.6
    We liked the gardens, pool and mini golf, the balconies,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We liked the gardens, pool and mini golf, the balconies, size of rooms, and the restaurant. Also the closeness to La Fosca beach

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    8.8
    Engaged staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Improve the orange juice

    Engaged staff Room very clean and functional Nice balcony Good breakfast

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: