Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Life 2 stars

Pizarro, 16, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#235 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1825 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    7.5
    Price is good, check in staff is nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is not very good, the cleaning lady didn’t change the bath towels for two days, the bathroom doesn’t have fan

    Price is good, check in staff is nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    Location, Simplicity, Cleanliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi coverage, at least in room 203, was mediocre to poor. An additional mirror in the actual bedroom is much needed. Expect to check-in at a different building which is however located only 50-60 metres away from Life's main entrance.

    This hotel will exceed your expectations and it is well beyond an average 2** hotel. It has a hipstery vibe (at my age these aspects make my stay more fun) to it but most importantly the entire hotel and room are spotlessly clean. The bathroom is large and modern. Location is key: walking distance to both Chueca and Gran Via/Principe neighbourhoods.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.3
    Perfect location for us!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in procedure should have been made clearer prior to check in as you have to go to another hotel (Hotel Abalu) to get the key to our room...

    Clean, good location, helpful staff, and we were provided with free mini breakfast every morning - nice touch!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful room and nice location, but aircon was poor/did not work
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nowhere to store our luggage. I contacted them before hand to enquire about it and they said there will be at the other reception. When we got there it was in yet again another hotel. When we got to the storage, there was only 2 lockers that could fit our bags. One was broken and the other in use. If I new this when I made the booking, I would have changed our flights to later or not booked this hotel. The Wifi did not work. The room had a notice board that there is no password on the wifi, but there was only password wifi available and no password was provided. The aircon in our room did not work. It sounds like it comes on, but nothing come out. We were only there for one day, so for that reason we just left it.

    The room was very beautiful. The lady in reception especially arranged a room for us earlier as we had no place to store our luggage. The staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. I really liked it.

    Great central location. A 5 minute stroll from Gran Via but in a nice quiet side street. Receptionist at hotel around the corner where we checked in was very helpful. We did not book in for breakfast but certainly appreciated the pastries and cartons of juice left hung on our door each morning. Liked the quirky decor. Will stay here again!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    5.8
    Location
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we got was overall dark. Perfect for sleeping in. We felt confined being in the room as the window we had was just facing the building walls so we didn’t stay in the room for too long. Bed was also uncomfortable.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    5.4
    Very disappointing hotel, but location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no service/reception in the hotel. had to walk over to another hotel for check in and any questions/concerns, and had no help with tourism or maps or anything. The hotel also felt like a ghost town because of this. That’s not to say it wasn’t noisy, because the street noise is very loud. Also, it was 30 celsius every day we were there and the hotel and especially our room were boiling hot. When we opened the windows for the night the noise was horrendous. The room temperature was controlled by the hotel centrally and they said they wouldn’t turn any air on. The room is modern and has some nice touches, but ours was very small and the beds were not comfortable. There’s no common kitchen,ini fridge, or area to fill water bottles. Lastly, no place to leave luggage at all.

    The location and modern design of the hotel are the only redeeming parts.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    4.6
    Good location but too expensive for 2 stars htl and for propertly with recycled furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Design and idea of making such hotel looks cool because premises of this hotel are actually renovated first 2 floors of some old house so the designer was using recycled materials etc... I like that idea but the finishing and decoration is very poor. It can be quite noisy and the noise is coming from all surrounding rooms and corridors because walls are thin and tiles and floors are cheap. This is hotel after all and even if it has only 2 stars the room rate for such hotel was not that cheap at all for property in such conditions. This is good solution for few nights and if you don't wish to share your room or to stay in hostel.

    Location and idea about design of hotel use of recycled materials.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    10
    Very nice hotel, has everything what a tourist needs :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very nice hotel, has everything what a tourist needs :) nice surprise with a croissant and a juice left at the door handle in the morning ;) also free coffee in the morning at the way out :) Room was cleaned every day, the reception is located at the hotel nearby but that does not affect at all. There are also lockers (just 1 Eur) for the guest to leave their luggage.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.8
    Best location. Zero maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unacceptable maintenance condition. The worst: My mattress was so old and used that it springs had sank. The window handle was broken and left hung on one screw. Toilet trash bin broken. All of the above were super visible to the maintenance team. The fact that they weren't fixed means that nobody cares.

    Location is superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    5.4
    Pretentious 'boutique' small room
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small and with interior windows. Though it has pretentious designer furnishings and decor, (a bit worn down too) the space was not great nor comfortable, or even easy to navigate. Our room had no desk to sit with your laptop, and wifi was from the lobby - not password protected. There was not a single hook to hang a towel, or your coat. Wardrobe was small, and hard to access. Lighting is dramatic though could be improved, not flattering. The mattress was thin for a 3 star hotel. The shower was inside the room half concealed beneath curtains, not practical nor comfortable (you feel cold coming out of the shower and makes the little room too humid) You have to put everything on the shower floor and bend down to pick up the shampoo and the soap! Bring your own bath gel too - theirs is too cheap.

    Good location, they give you a little water bottle in the morning and the bed was well made. There's a smart TV

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money! Staff were lovely. Room was cleaned every day and it's in a perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every morning we even recieved a complementary croissant & orange juice at the door. It was a lovely gesture by the staff considering we hadn't paid to eat breakfast.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    9.2
    A part of the city that is close to all the tourist areas but also an everyday neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    this is nothing serious - but breakfast in a bag appeared on our door handle each day - we weren't eating it and it seemed wasteful

    quirkiness of the room decor, friendliness of the staff, location in Madrid

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    6.3
    Bare-bones hotel in a great, bohemian zone.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It's a bit too basic. No closets, rubbish bin. Not very good mattresses. Breakfast is not really such, a packed croissant, juice carton and coffee in the lobby area cannot be called a breakfast; we needed to go out to the shop around the corner for anything substancial.

    Location is great, near a nice neighbourhood, restaurants, shops. Very clean. Decent Wifi most of the time.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2018

    9.2
    Great price, location and room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    check-in was a bit longer than expected

    Very good locaton near plenty of good restaurants, bars and breakfast places. The actual check-in and reception location is hotel abalu which is itself very nice and modeen in its decor. The hotel life building and rooms were very interesting, large , cozy and extremely economical for its location. I will definitely be returning for a stay in Madrid city centre. ( Near puerta del sol too)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    6.7
    Overall good, but with a few downsides to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Where to start? First of all, no reception and even worse no warning of this apart from a sticker at the hotel door. We had to walk to a nearby hotel to check-in. Secondly, very thin walls so there is not really a sense of privacy as you even hear the people next door showering. Thirdly, the hotel failed to warn us of the extra charging in case of a late check-out and adding to that it charged my credit card without permission while we were still in the room. Although there is some basis to that I find it very unprofessional that they did not warn us prior to charging. Last but not least, this is a minor detail but if you want to spend some time at the hotel the balcony is not a choice as it barely fits one person. I overall think it is a bit overpriced considering all the disadvantages. Yes the location is perfect, simply amazing, but with neither reception nor privacy i do find the hotel too expensive.

    The design of the room and the decorations were very beautiful. Custom-made lamps out of bottles, walls seemed wooden while in reality are proper cement. Overall it was a colorful and warm environment allowing people to spend some nights in without regretting missing out on the beautiful city.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    10
    We had a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a great stay! I was at first a little bit sceptical due to the negative reviews but decided to try the hotel anyway. The reception is at Hotel Abalu and the employees are super friendly. The room was clean, bright and very nice decorated. The location is great and has some of the best bars and tapas shops of Madrid just about the corner. The next Metro station is 4 minutes away and you can walk everywhere in Madrid from there.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.8
    The location is brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too old. No much comfort in the room.

    The location is brilliant.Cool neighbourhood and you can walk to the main attractions of the city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    9.2
    Super central locations, comfortable bed, clean and nicely...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no possibility to make yourself a cup of tea or coffee... In the morning there are two thermos cans with coffee and hot water, but the coffee is very bad and the water not hot enough to make a decent tea. A kettle or coffee machine in the common area would be a great plus.

    Super central locations, comfortable bed, clean and nicely decorated room. Small but functional. I'll stay here again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    7.9
    Minimalist but cool design, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's more like a hostel (except for inside bathroom which is definitely important) than a hotel. There is nothing wrong with it, just those who find hotel level care important, shouldn't be misled by the three stars.

    Minimalist but cool design, good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    7.1
    It was a surprise for us but every morning the staff was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was too small and it didn't have any place to store our clothes and luggage. And the view wasn't so beautiful.

    It was a surprise for us but every morning the staff was leaving at the door a small breakfast which included mini croissants and juice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    6.3
    The interior design and the surrounding area
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator, no closet, no recrption at the same building. Moreover the towels were torn and the bathroom was full of grooming hair when we arrived.

    The interior design and the surrounding area

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    4.2
    Disappointing from a stay point of view and we wanted our stay in Madrid to finish
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was not value for money at all. Location of the property is not good in terms of the place. Reception of the property is in other hotel. Moving the luggage with family to and fro is a task and there is no one to help for the movement of luggage. Room was small compared to other properties I have stayed and also at the lesser price

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    8.3
    The location is great and the hotel is close to bars and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be a bit cleaner even though its clean ffor the hotel level

    The location is great and the hotel is close to bars and restaurants and the main street for shopping

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    9.6
    Cosy, cute hotel, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As a recommendation it would benefit the room to have a life size mirror and maybe a little bin besides only one in the bathroom.

    Hotel life was exactly as shown on the pictures, cute, cosy and a perfect hotel for our city trip. Location is great, and right in the heart Malasaña. Staff is friendly and helpful we had a minor issue with the heating but that was solved within minutes.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    7.5
    Great location but slow check in process.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy (to be expected due to location). Check in is actually down the road at a different hotel which is a little annoying. No facilities to print or to keep small bags after check out.

    Great location. Clean throughout. Staff friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Really rather a nice hotel in a quiet street with very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really rather a nice hotel in a quiet street with very stylish decor. It didn't bother us that you have to check in at another hotel just round the corner. Very friendly staff and nice touches like a little snack left outside the room.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    Good value in hip district!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Location is perfect! The hotel is good value for money. We were give a much bigger room than we booked – everything was fine. Despite it is in the middle of a very hip and party district of Madrid it was possible to sleep very well. The room was located in the backyard of the building.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    5.4
    Arrogant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Let me tell you what-I’ve never ever experienced such an unhelpful, unfriendly and arrogant staff in my entire life. As you arrive on property, there’s a big note saying that there’s no front desk and you are supposed to walk down the street to another hotel to check-in. I tried to call-nobody answers? Well, my partner stayed with all of the luggage in front of the hotel as I went to check in. I waited in line to check in and nobody would even greet me. While only one of the women at the reception was working, the other was just hanging out. Okay. It was 2,30 pm and as I gave all of my documents and finally checked-in, the lady says:”well, check in is at 3 but okay, I’ll give you a room”. Well, Its 2,55 already!!!! Seriously?! I walk back, go in and my boyfriend forgets a bag in the lobby. Of course I went downstairs but it was gone. Fortunatelly, I see two cameras and I walk back to the front desk and ask them if anyone has seen the bag. Nobody had. Asked if we could see the cameras. The answer stated that the guy who checks the cameras will be there tomorrow. Unfortunately, the next day he wasn’t there. The next day he wasn’t there again. A month after we asked again, he hasn’t. We know it’s our fault, but we wanted to know who took the bag! Nobody would help or even show any interest. I wonder if someone got killed there they would show interest... overall, the hotel is in a small street near downtown, not really maintained. I really wish the staff has paid a little attention. Although, they didn’t. It would have been nice to be a human being sometimes and if you don’t like your job-just quit and find a job somewhere else! Thanks!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    6.3
    lovely but marred by impolite staff member
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had arrived at the hotel early, the staff member then confirmed with us that we had a twin room bed not a double. However upon check in we were given a double. The staff member at the desk later that night refused to apologise or admit that there was a miscommunication and kept saying it was our fault and couldn't be their fault that we received a double instead of a twin. We would have appreciated a simple apology saying that it was a miscommunication by his colleague but he just would not admit that nor advise if his colleague would be told of his misinformation.

    Nice little boutique hotel with good decor and amenities in a very central location. lovely bars and cafes around.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely and cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception is in another street and you have to pay so that they keep your luggage after check out... :/

    The hotel is super cosy, with a really beautiful decoration. good location, near Gran Via (about 300m)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    high water pressure in the shower, quite exquisite interiors...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the reception in the other building(not really close to the hotel), poor location with a very few restaurants, bad-looking neighborhood(not really bad though)

    high water pressure in the shower, quite exquisite interiors, silent neighborhoods

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    7.5
    Loved it
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with 2 more pillows and shooting the blessed bird recording in reception

    Location was perfect. Very clean and good value for money. Would def stay there again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    3.3
    Nightmare in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    No reception, no kettle or iron , no remote for tv so can't turn it on. Broken shower and all that for €350 a night. I should have stairs in the street

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    6.7
    Great location but limited facilities in accommodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, no view at all, no facilities such as electric jug or refrigerator, very limited space to unpack bags.

    Great location and reasonable value for money

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Cheap hotel, better than i was expecting for the price when considering location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in / out is at a different hotel that is just a very short walk around the corner. Breakfast is also available at the other hotel.

    The hotel is very well located and in the centre of town. I needed to walk to the principe Pio bus station in the morning and this was a cheap hotel for 1 night. It was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay just few steps away from Gran Via
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel had a modern and beautiful design, the room was equipped wit all the necessary items in order to make our stay enjoyable. Additional bonus which we have appreciated is juices and croissants hanged outside the door every morning. A special thanks to the blond girl at the reception (unfortunately cannot recall her name) who was extremely pleasant and helpful! Great stay in the heart of Madrid.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    9.2
    Simple, great value hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was based at a different hotel, and once you arrive with lots of luggage, to find you have to walk a little further just to check in is a little frustrating.

    Very good value for money, and friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    fanastic valve and location fantastic staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel reception is at a different hotel - I was jetlagged and had trouble following instrucitons emailed me to me prior to my stay

    very good staff who try to assist with answering questions and are polite

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Location close to everything in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No front desk. You need Check in around the corner in another hotel. Same people . In my case.arrival after one week from a cruise with two luggage was a little inconvenience. Thankful the lady in the hotel hotel understand my situation and granted the access. Put my luggage inside. And Check in in 2 minutes

    The room was a simple decoration. But a realty nice taste. Bed perfect. Too. I love the hight ceiling in the room plus the window doors access to a balcony with street view . In the morning you open your door and find a bag with a juice and Spanish bread. “ magdalena “ I’m always like the European way to safe electricity. You room card. Open your room and control the switch and TV

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    10
    Next time I am in Madrid, I will stay at Hotel Life.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was small but it was comfortable. I am a tall person.

    Very spacious room. Loved the decor. I liked that it felt more like an apartment than a hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Decent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only thing missing was a mini bar/fridge. Also no iron with board.

    I stayed in room for 4 persons which was very spacious if you're alone. Bathroom was simple and clean. Beds were ok. Easy (secured) access at the main entrance. Staff left a bag with orange juice and croissants hanging at the door every morning.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    10
    It was very basic hotel but served the purpose of staying...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was very basic hotel but served the purpose of staying for 2 nights. The room was comfortable and clean. Very near to public transport. The staff is situated in another hotel of 2 min walk but they were very friendly and very helpful. We liked the complementary croissant and Juice for breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    7.5
    Good for our first stop- jet lagged and all - on our trip to Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was hard and the pillows flat. Lighting in the bathroom was terrible.

    Reception was great, in a different hotel only a minute away. Nice little patio on the 2nd floor. Close to the Gran Via and other attractions. Close to Noviciado metro.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    10
    A stylish, affordable and comfortable stay in a trendy and central location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about the hotel however the one thing which confused us was that it was necessary to go to the reception of another hotel, which was a minutes walk away, in order to check in. This was not an issue but we had not known of this and it meant we were delayed as we struggled to find the hotel.

    We had a great stay at Hotel Life. It is in a great area- very central and in a cool, hip and artsy district. The staff were so lovely and friendly and made us feel at home. Each morning we received a little goodie bag, which was left outside our door, with a croissant and orange juice even though we hadn't opted for breakfast. There was also complimentary tea and coffee available in the foyer. It was decorated fabulously and was very 'insta-worthy'. The excellent wi-fi was also a big plus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    10
    Lovely clean place, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Even though there is a sign on the door telling us what to do, we didn't notice it and had to call the front desk. They were extremely accommodating and helpful and very sweet.

    The room was very nice. It felt clean and well put together.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    9.2
    Perfect accomodation for a city trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The walls are paperthin and we could hear literally everything, from people walking and talking, slamming the doors sounded as if they entered our own room and there were the occasional moaning and showering noises.

    The staff was really nice and they hang a bag with croissants and orange juice on your room door every morning. The room is very nice, good space and comfy. The air-condition was our saving grace when it was around 40c outside. The hotel is also located really centrally and you can get everywhere from there by foot or metro.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    2.9
    Location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service need to be improved. Dialed "9" for reception but no one answered for three days I was there. Safety box was locked. Even after communicating with the stuff the issue was not resolved.

    Location..

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    9.6
    Clean room and bathroom and an aircondition that you could...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The WLAN was a bit unstable and could only be reached from some points within the room.

    Clean room and bathroom and an aircondition that you could regulate, i.e. it was never too strong nor too weak.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.9
    The location of the hotel is really good, you are not far...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Only one remark - bed could be slightly more comfy, but it is really not an issue.

    The location of the hotel is really good, you are not far from Gran Via, Plaza del Sol or even museums such as Prado, Reina Sofia or Tissen. All is pretty walking distance through city. Around the hotel there is a number of small bars offering breakfast, lunch or dinner for reasonable prices. Definitely it is value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    6.3
    Quirky, but good deal and excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Okay, okay, where do I start? First of all, we failed to read the fine print, I guess. There is no concierge or check-in staff at the hotel - you must check in at the Hotel Abalu around the corner. Once we figured that out, we were told there were no rooms available, which was frustrating. We had just come from the airport on a red eye flight. Being in a different hotel, I have no idea how they knew which rooms were and were not available. They did, however, let us drop our bags and kill some time in the city while we waited. The second major issue we had was with security. Since no one is watching the door there, they give you a generic code related to your room number which is very easy to guess once you have figured out the pattern. Moreover, there did not appear to be a way for us to lock the door from the inside. So although you need a chip on the keycard to get into the room, that didn't give us very much peace of mind while we slept.

    The hotel is in a great location, on a quiet street, a short walk to Gran Via and Puerta del Sol. The wifi was free and fast. As an added feature, they have a cool little courtyard on the first floor where you can sit and have a quiet drink or conversation. Once we figured out the check-in process at the Hotel Abalu, the staff was exceedingly friendly a made us feel totally at home. The room was enormous for a hotel in Europe, especially the the bathroom. Although it rather spartan, we got a great deal from Booking.com. You get what you pay for.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    4.6
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the arrival we wanted to store our luggage and we were told that tis will cost us 1 euro a piece, but at checkout we wanted to do the same and they charged us 3 euro a peace. We felt like they making those prices of the top of their head and this is the basic feature that no other hotel charges. Also the booking website they didn't mention that luggage storage costs money. The room didn't have any closet which i think is very basic.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    7.9
    Sweet and simple: great for a weekend break away
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lack of staff and reception - even though the other hotel was just around the corner, I just think it makes for a more comfortable and pleasant experience if there's people/staff around acknowledging your stay. i.e. as you come in and out. And the fake bird noises in the foyer? Weird! The breakfast wasn't the best either- a sugary orange juice in a carton, and a small pre-wrapped pastry? It's sweet that they left it outside the door for you in the morning, but a piece of fruit and some decent coffee would be a much better idea!

    Simple, clean, no fuss. Good area to be in. Close to the trendy spots!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    5.8
    If you want value for money, Hotel Life may be a choice for you.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Hotel is like an offshoot of another hotel called Hotel Abu. There was no receptionist in this hotel. All matters are facilitated in Hotel Abu which is walking distance from Hotel Life. The sheets were not as clean as expected. We had to ask for towels one time because the cleaning lady may have forgotten to replace the old one we were using which they took. And since there's no warm body in the hotel itself, we had to wait a while before someone from Hotel Abu could accommodate our request. It was also along a small side road where other residential buildings are. We just hated all the dog poop that was constantly present on the streets.

    The Hotel is in the city proper and walking distance to the Gran Via. So transportation was not really a problem. It was easy for us to go around and enjoy Madrid. Our package included breakfast and they offered two kinds of breakfast - savory or sweet, all kinds of coffee which the staff can make for you. Staff was very friendly. Rate was fairly good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.2
    A lovely hotel in the center of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lovely hotel in the center of Madrid. The stuff is friendly and unobtrusive. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated. I enjoyed my stay there.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.8
    Very nice property in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great property and location. The only problem we had was that the hair dryer didn't work and they took two days to get us a new one.otherwise we had a great experience.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    7.1
    Nice stay, could do with some improvements.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room could have done with some additional facilities, it would have been nice to perhaps have some coffee or tea making facilities like in other hotels but it wasn't absolutely necessary. The desk in my room was not stable and couldn't work on there, but that didn't impact my stay as I was there only for two nights. I also found other people's hair on my bedsheets, which I thought wasn't very nice, but the rest of the room was clean.

    The hotel looked really nice, loved the design and the colors. The location is perfect as it's central without being in the middle of the noisy bits and it was really easy to get there and explore Madrid from there. The staff I interacted with was very nice and welcoming, they also hung a small bag on the door with free nibbles for breakfast which I thought was very nice! Really liked the atmosphere.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    7.9
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    As the hotel does not have a reception but at it's sister hotel just down the road would be nice if the was a iron in each room so you didn't have to walk back and forth to the sister hotel to get it when you need it

    Nice location...

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    10
    The perfect spot for sightseeing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The receptionist were great ,very kind and welcoming. Excellent food for breakfast. They would provide fresh towels daily. The rooms were new with very good interior design. Overall a very good hotel with great location for sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    8.3
    Note that Hotel Life has no reception of its own, check-in...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Note that Hotel Life has no reception of its own, check-in is in another nearby (~50m) boutique hotel. I got a free bread+orange juice hanging outside my door for breakfast. Conveniently located near metro Noveciado and also Plaza Espana (line 10, which connects directly with the airport metro line 8).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    6.3
    Budget hotel , friendly staff but do check what are you getting for the price you are paying
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had pre-paid for breakfast whilst booking the hotel but please be aware this is not a buffet breakfast but a fixed breakfast set (something we were made aware on the breakfast day). Breakfast is served 7:30 to 10:30 on weekedays and 9 to 11 on weekends. We were again not informed about this earlier but we saw this info on our hotel rooms door. Since our return flight was at 10 a.m. we had to leave hotel around 8 a.m. On checking with hotel staff if they could re-imburse the breakfast cost for the last day (since they couldn't serve it before 9), they advised they couldn't help on this as I had booked this through booking.com. So I have to reach booking.com to resolve this Wifi at hotel is not password protected so you will literally struggle to browse websites, access news apps and social media most times of the day (forget it if you are planning to stream it) as I guess the free internet is being accessed by non-hotel customers as well

    Hotel is very close to city centre It is also very close to many restaurants (5 min walk to Puerto de Sol and Grand Via) Hotel rooms are small but clean Hotel staff are friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    5.0
    It was ridiculous
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was ridiculous I think it was just a robbery , there was no hotel there!!! When we reach hotel no one open the door for us and someone told us that we should go through the map that sticked to the door and we have to take all our baggages with my child to next street and after reaching there I find out it is front desk of abalu hotel and after check in I have to come back the address before , i told them I can't take all my baggages so give me a room here, they offer an apartment with 40 Euros more and mention that I have to deposit money in Euros!!!! No other currency accepted And for check out the man on front desk told me check out will be very fast with no checking but when i went for checking out the lady told me I have to wait to check the room and mini bar and surprisingly they told me i used 2 coke although I did not use anything!!! The woman was so rude, these kind of experience can ruin you travel!!!! Don't suggest to anyone hotel life& hotel Alabu!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    5.8
    cute place, quite loud though
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms are quite small... beds too. Quite basic - more like hostel type room. I could hear absolutely everything that was happening in the room next door. People coming back to the hotel at 3am, closing doors, talking - even with earplugs so you can imagine how loud it must have been. I was expecting to get a proper room for this price and was really disappointed.

    I loved the location & the vibe...

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    7.5
    Great place in city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls are really thin, you can hear people talking in the hall even at normal volume. The ensuite didn't have an air extractor or a window.

    Location is perfect, really close to three centric metro stations and walking distance from all mayor shopping streets. The room was nicely decorated and had a little balcony.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    10
    Beautiful boutique hotel in a fantastic neighborhood!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing - I will definitely recommend this hotel to people travelling to Madrid - especially if you want to be off the beaten tourist path.

    The location is the biggest asset to Hotel Life. The room was clean and we loved our small balcony and view. The little things, like waking up to a simple breakfast on the door handle and coffee in the lobby were great touches.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    I like the privacy of hotel life. The cool surprise was breakfast hung on the door knob and tea and coffee for guests in common area (no breakfast fee).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    6.3
    Great location & spacious room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the location was excellent... The street could be a little too loud (going on past 2/ 3/ 4 am in the morning and then early morning rubbish collection). Checking in/ out at the hotel around the corner also makes you feel a little 'second class'... Especially when the staff interrupt you mid sentence to assist others that are staying in the main hotel!!

    The location was excellent (within walking distance of central Madrid and the districts/ attractions, easy walk of many train stations). Room was spacious and clean (although sometimes towels didn't get changed even when left in the tub...)

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    8.8
    Clean, comfortable room and central location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in at different hotel but to be fair it was less than a minute away.

    Room was clean, good location, well heated and it was very cold in Madrid during my visit.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    5.4
    “A problem a day gives the doctor away”
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1)Malfunction in air heating the first night (at the beginning of january u could imagine the pleasure of dreaming in a cold room) 2)The electricity turned off the first morning without any reason 3)the hair-dryer wasn't working 4)a storm of working man beside our room were the best surprise of the hotel. Our alarm at 8am was a nice hammer For this kind of problems usually u can call the reception with number 9. In life hotel u can't because the phone is not working and they told u that is a phone company's problem not a hotel's problem;-) Otherwise, as a happy-ending story, u can usually walk with the reception and find a pretty but really arrogant receptionist who tell you that all the problems have been solved the day after we told them about it and everything is perfectly working. Spend your time away if u can, otherwise sleep in a street corner enjoying a cerveza!:-)

    At least we had a bed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    10
    A wonderful little hotel in the heart of Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints what so ever

    The hotel was so nice & everything was extremely clean! Staff were very helpful & the orange juice and croissants that were left on the door in the mornings was adorable

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    9.2
    Manifiesto Boutique&Design by Abalú
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We had a reservation for Life Hotel, but we were checked in Abalu( in the same group of hotels, 1 block away), which was very clean, the staff was very friendly, close to Gran Via.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    The decoration is really nice, the bed is very comfortable,...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The decoration is really nice, the bed is very comfortable, the rooms are spacious and the location really close to the interesting points as Gran Via, Fuencarral, Chueca.. Very pleasant experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    7.9
    A nice surprise in the town center!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Noisy but with closed windows its fine. - The location is central BUT this has many disadvantages too (especially if you are a woman business traveler you may feel unsafe)

    - Clean - Nice Decorated (!) - Really friendly and helpful staff - Central location - Good wifi connection

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    8.3
    This would have been all excellent review if there had been...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That there was no Tea/coffee making facilities

    This would have been all excellent review if there had been tea/coffee making facilities in our room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    7.5
    Good budget hotel in great area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a double room and got two single beds pushed together, not very comfortable. The drainage system wasn't great as I could smell urine in the bathroom the whole time, but everything looked clean so it's the only explanation I can think of.

    Hotel was in a nice area, room was clean and staff were friendly, breakfast brought to the room everyday

    Stayed in September 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Life traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: