Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Apal Chinasol 3 stars

Avenida del Mediterráneo, 51, 18690 Almuñécar, Spain

#12 of 26 Holiday rentals in Almuñécar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 616 apartment reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    4.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 44

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.2
    appreciated the clean polluted air, walking the sea front and use of the public swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were unlucky with the weather as we had heavy rain every day. This is not usual and was badly needed.

    Hospitality. Promenade good for walking. Bus service. Town. Good supermarket.The way the local council dealt with the problems caused by the heavy rain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    7.1
    As good as we expected .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very basic room, booked breakfast but it was not available in restaurant and was not told . Balcony breakfast fair but not offered any reduction even though it is cheaper there.

    View and staff helpfulness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    6.7
    It's what we have come to expect from this budget aparthotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that you cannot specify which room you can request. Even if you are a frequent visitor and you cannot offer to pay extra.

    The views and the price

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant cheery staff; comfortable rooms; good value for money and a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It would have been an improvement to have air con/ heating in both bedroom and lounge area, as it was only in the lounge. Internet access only available in communal public areas - and not 100% reliable.

    The location suited us well. Right near the beach and a local shop and with restaurants/bars nearby. Easy access to the main road as we were here on a property viewing trip and needed to get out and about daily. The chinasol restaurant bar provided good value tasty meals in a relaxed and friendly environment. Staff were all cheery and helpful. the rooms were adequately equipped and comfy.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    8.8
    Winter sun in Almunecar
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 8 nights

    On-going building was a little noisy at times. Restaurant was closed first few days of my stay. Balcony was cramped

    Comfortable beds in the apartment. And surprisingly good cooking facilities in mine (the apartments vary considerably in standard). Lively atmosphere with lots of pensioners - like me - enjoying winter in Almunecar. Well situated on a paseo by the sea with several restaurants a couple of minutes walk away. And the local bus to the town centre stops outside (or 20 minutes walk)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.3
    You get what you pay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 13 nights

    The breakfast offer was very poor, € 4,50 for some yoghurt, coffe, egg and bread, all from Lidl and not possible to sit outside on the terrace.

    Closeness to the beach and city center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    7.9
    Value for money is OK; clean and functional; close to the beach; big swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very few pans and cutleries in the kitchen.

    The price, the swimming pool, the vieuw of the beach from the appartment. Located just in front of the beach. Parking places available, but July or August is probably another story...

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2017

    8.3
    Peaceful, restful and very warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I tried to ask about booking a tour but was informed from the tour office, 'we only deal with Swedish people'?!! what was that all about? Pot luck with reception staff, who could speak English or who could try to speak English.?!! No information in the studio apartment about the bar or restaurant, ie times, menu's or entertainment and again staff had very little English.

    Nice quiet location, easy access on foot to old town, supermarket next door for easy. Cleaning staff very friendly. Not an Irish nor English bar to be found, great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.8
    Great big apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Personnel do not speak English (but are friendly and do their best). Parking (underground, paid) is 300 meters from the hotel.

    Very big and fully equipped apartments, including kitchen accessories. Big balcony. Good view.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    8.3
    Perfect location, next to the pebble beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room service is performed on a daily basis which is not very thourough but still ok. However, they need to re-check if the door of the room was actually locked after their departure. Our room was always unlocked when we returned in the evening which is not save.

    Perfect location, next to the pebble beach. Restaurants are in the walking distance, Mercadona supermarket is within 10 min walk. The parking slot is provided in the nearby public parking which is very useful as it is difficult to find a spot without it. Aquarium & Loro park are great for childern and they are nearby as well.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    6.7
    Good location, comfortable and clean but a little run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment was a little old although attempts at modernising it had been done. It seemed expensive for the quality of accommodation. The balcony had virtually no sea view. There was no parking although it was advertised as having it. The receptionist told us there were no spaces left.

    The fridge was nice and cold. There was a bidet in the bathroom. The kitchen was well stocked with crockery and cutlery.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    6.3
    Bring your dog. OK.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building interior a bit worn down. Reception people speaks none or poor english.

    One room appartment with kitchenette and balcony with sea view. AC. Dogs were allowed. Room cleaned every day.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.8
    Very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A basic but very nice and very clean apartment. Self catering facilities in the apartment consisted of a 2 ring hob plus microwave, enough to to make meals if required, but not serious cooking. Restaurant and pool on the property and lots of local bars cafes and restaurant in the town.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.9
    Winter Sun
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you are in a land of fresh cheap oranges why provide powdered cheap orange juice. The coffee was undrinkable.

    The location was very good and it is very quiet

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2017

    9.2
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being a bit naughty but could do with a few English tv channels. On tv but bigger need is wi fi. Needed in bed rooms

    Staff friendly. Tapas good great location value for money

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2016

    5.4
    Needs some updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Car parking arrangements, generally needed updating and slightly shabby. Room decor very dated. Staff looked jaded and tired,

    Location, cleanliness, restaurant, good breakfast choice, value for money. Staff were friendly when approached.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    7.9
    We relaxed and enjoyed our stay at Chinasol
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    there were a few minor things that needed repairing and there was some tired furniture, it did not bother us, we relaxed.

    Excellent position, clean, comfortable apartment, we slept well, no noise, Exceptional free Buffet breakfast! we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    4.2
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The balcony was actually a sort of laundry room with a window. No free Wifi. Had to go to the restaurant. Bed is actually a folding cot, is very small and extremely uncomfortable

    Proximity of the beach

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.5
    A pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really

    The view was good and the room was Very clean. Shower was good but a bath mat would be essential. we had to ask for extra pillows. Overall no complaints for the price

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    9.6
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    8.3
    Great view of the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Somewhat dated. Restaurant marginal

    Great view of the ocean. Spacious room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed the whole experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed the whole experience.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    A very nica stay, would like to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The outside of the building, the dark corridors

    Good placement close to the beach, enough space, friendly staff, nica town

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    NORMAL
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    LA DUCHA

    LA PISCINA

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    10
    J
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    J

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.1
    Very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2016

    5.0
    Wifi only at the restaurant, everything very outdated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wifi only at the restaurant, everything very outdated

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    7.9
    The location was the best feature, room was spacious, beds...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartments were dated, we had no kettle, we had a hob, which stood ontop of the old cooker, the shower was hanging off the wall, but it was hot and powerful.

    The location was the best feature, room was spacious, beds comfortable. Breakfast was adequate.

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We chose Chinasol because it was cheap and a good location in Almunecar. We loved Almunecar. The apartments are dated and there is no internet. You expect that for the price we paid. What we did not expect was that they were doing renovation works inside the buildings and there was dust and noise in the building. We could accept that too as the staff were very polite and welcoming. On the second day the builders were using machines at 9 o'clock in the morning, Not good but we accepted it, however on our third and last day they started drilling and hammering at 8 o'clock in the morning. After breakfast (another story) on check out I complained to the reception about the noise and they referred me to the manager. This was the rudest hotelier I have ever met. He said for the price we paid what did we expect ! I said sleep. He asked what did I want? I said some discount, a refund or just an apology ..whatever he felt was correct. He then proceeded to shout at me and question my integrity. He telephoned the contractors who confirmed they started work at 8 o'clock and then he continued to berate me, shouting and accusing me of being dishonourable. We had to leave because of another appointment, luckily for all parties. It has only been on my return have I seen all the other negative comments and reviews without reply. This management do not care about their clients or the service they provide. I would advise other clients considering Chinasol go elsewhere and I would advise booking.com and other agencies to seriously consider recommending/offering this property to other clients.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    7.5
    nice staff, i asked in advance for the favour and the hotel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The hotel building needs a renovation. It reminds of early 80s with low cieling, dark narrow corridors, small rooms. All 4 beds and kitchen were placed in the same room!

    nice staff, i asked in advance for the favour and the hotel helped me out. Room good, kitcenette convenient as well. Good breakfast at the restaurant, enough choices. Brilliant view from the balcony!

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    8.8
    Helpfulness and friendliness of staff in particular...
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Helpfulness and friendliness of staff in particular Macarena and the manager who volunteered to collect a prescription from the out of hours pharmacy on his bike.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    7.9
    The location of this hotel gives it outstanding views and is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It really did not bother us but the building is under active renovation so there was lots of noises during the day, brick piles, dust etc...

    The location of this hotel gives it outstanding views and is close to many restaurants. The room was very comfortable, the beds, the kitchen, full bath, balcony, and even a lounge area. The buffet breakfast was also a nice touch. For this price we were able to be bothered by the renovations.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    8.3
    Good breakfast and helpful staff especially in reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lifts were a disaster. My wife is disabled and cannot walk well only one lift went to the ground floor ( -1 ) The other three went to 0 ( ie the 1st floor ) and we had to walk down approx 20 steps to exit the hotel Sometimes it took 5-7 mins to get to the ground floor ! we dread to think if there was a fire

    Good breakfast and helpful staff especially in reception

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2015

    7.9
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kitchen area and bathroom were both tired and dated and needed replacing.There were no plugs for the sink or bath. There were no laundry facilities, although the hotel description said there would be.

    Great location. rooms were cleaned every day. A nice buffet breakfast. Good value for money.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    10
    Staff were pleasant and always happy to help
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Pool wasn't open but will definitely come back

    Staff were pleasant and always happy to help

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    9.2
    Nice large apartment with balconies overlooking the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice large apartment with balconies overlooking the beach. Cleaner came in every day. Breakfast included in the price!

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi coverage

    Location

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    6.3
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    good location

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    8.8
    The swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The lifts still take an age to arrive. The view of the big rock from the balcony was a big let down.

    The swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2015

    7.9
    the location of the apartments.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the location of the apartments.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    8.3
    The bacon
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bacon

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    6.3
    The position opposite the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Buffet breakfast choice very limited

    The position opposite the beach.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    7.5
    Nice room, renovated kitchen.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice room, renovated kitchen. Amazing sea view from the balcony. Calm neighbourhood.

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2015

    7.1
    PET FRIENDLY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    TWO LIFTS WERE SO BUSY. NO DOUBLE BED, TWO SINGLE BEDS

    PET FRIENDLY BUFFET BREAKFAST

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 44

Guests also reviewed these properties: