Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Chic & Basic Ramblas 3 stars

Passatge Gutenberg, 7, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#231 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4768 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I emailed the property asking about the best way to reach the property, they've replied back with an automat message telling me that the check in was only 3 o'clock and didn't even bother to answer the question. Also, the AC in my room wasn't working properly.

    In general it's an ok hotel, a bit pricey for what it offers. It's a good location, near the subway and Las Ramblas street.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the space given to a partial kitchen, space could be better used,

    beds very comfy, location perfect for exploring ,, no city noise for such a central location, not sure why there was an out of commission kitchen, waste of space in my opinion, recommend top floor room,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom flooded every time we had showers which was a little disappointing. Because of the location, it could be noisy outside at times. Staff weren’t always easy to deal with.

    Room was a great size for 4 of us with ample storage. Location is fantastic. 24hour reception was great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy hotel. Banging doors from early in the morning and cleaners hovering outside the door at 7am. Noisy air con and fridge meant we didn’t sleep much at night.

    Great location for accessing Las Ramblas and gothic quarter

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very close to La Ramblas, metro station, market, old town, Barceloneta. Room was quiet, except outside noise. Good idea to rent the bicycle and discover the Barcelona.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the kitchen had ants the toilet door was problematic and we got stuck in it more than once during the weekend, we notified the staff but they said it's not something they can fix at the moment

    the breakfast is worth the price for those who are too lazy to walk to the coffeeshops on the streets.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hotel name says it all ..Chic Basic Rambla.....Great location 200metres from las Rambla Small intimate and Chic with an attached restaurant for a great breakfast at extra reasonable cost Staff so helpful and friendly Early 10.00 arrival but we were allowed to check in to a room because it was ready.should have been 15.00hrs Although basic ..very clean and comfortable and great value for money Pleased We found this little Gem.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have like some cooking utensils in the room as I travelled with a young family. Beware of the noise the two single beds make which was ‘ hilarious ‘ . That said, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    The location is excellent and the hotel is stylish and has character. The staff were always friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are pretty plain and basic for the price you’re paying.

    Great location. Stunning lobby, very helpful staff. Our air-con was dripping with water the first night so we’re moved room at around 11pm when this was discovered. The next morning the air-con was still in fixed so we were moved to a larger premium room. Decent cold breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was extremely small & badly designed , you couldn't even open the shower door or the bathroom door fully , quite noisy outside , walls paper thin, not going to mention the view ! We even had a kitchen sink & hob in our room (studio flat style) Estically, the corridors and reception were the cool parts .

    Reception, corridors

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although you know it's going to be basic, the only thing I would suggest is a couple of tea bags or coffee sachets to go with kettle. Especially if you've travelled a long way, it would be a nice when you first arrive.

    Beds were comfortable and the room and bathroom one of the cleanest I've stayed in. Very friendly staff. Only a 2 minute walk to the beach and la rambla shopping strip.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds felt like military cots. Room wasn’t ready at check in time at 3. Had no toilet paper. Very noisy inside hotel and outside since it’s a busy area of town. Hard to rest.

    Nice large family room but very loud inside and outside of hotel. You can hear everything. Bar/restaurant and lobby were cool. Hotel stored our luggage since room wasn’t ready when we arrived.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small elevator.

    The location is the best. 2 mins walk to the Ramblas street where you can stroll down the Rambla or go towards then dock and the mall near the sea. The staff was friendly. Our room was like a little apartment, not to big but comfortable. Simple but clean and with all you need if you would like to cook or store food in the fridge. The decor of the lobby is really nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was slightly dated and the kitchenette was falling apart.

    We requested a balcony and were thrilled to find one upon checking in!! The room was large and clean and the communal areas of the hotel were beautifully presented. The location literally couldn’t have been better.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Homeless people laying out front. Room is extremely small we didn't have room to open our suitcases. The elevator is like a phone booth.

    Decent location near tourist area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Ramblas seems like a really dodgy area. Nothing bad happened to us but a lot of reviews of the area warned us to be extremely careful. I think that kind of put a damp on our trip a little although Barcelona is an amazing city. This property had very friendly staff and a lot of fellow tourists. A lot of families with kids as well.

    I loved that they had a decent breakfast and the decoration is very nice. It smells great there. What is that scent?!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was very sterile, grey and white felt like a room in a clinic. Quite noisy in the evenings and you need to keep the curtains drawn.

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was a tiny bit dark but this wasn't a major issue.

    The shower was amazing. Two shower heads, one large rainfall shower head to go along with the regular multi-option type.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I WAS CHARGED ON MY EMAIL RECEIPT FOR BREAKFAST WHICH I DID NOT HAVE IWAS TOLD IT WOOD BE CHANGE BUT IT WAS NOT.

    I HAVE STAYED THERE BEFORE AND I LIKE THE PLACE.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms could have been updated better.

    Huge room.. the Family sure did appreciate being able to stretch out after spending 10 nights in cramped VRBO's and hotel rooms.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mark and Lucia were especially helpful. Loved the coffee machine. Proximity to the metro and La Rambla was prefect. The bed was comfortable. Elevators were helpful and parking. Very clean and nice decor. We would recommend Chic and Basic.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price, breakfast should be included. Not extra. Bathroom is very small and we really did not like the half door shower. It ends up sending lots of water outside shower into bathroom floor.

    Great location, staff is friendly. Breakfast was good. Rooms are a nice size.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was overpriced for what it offered. No coffee / tea in the room. No attention to detail. Nothing personal. No soundproof. Very noisy. No view. Literally just a place to sleep and shower. I expected more for what I paid for.

    Well positioned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sofa bed in the family room was very short, and I am not a giant....

    This is a nice hotel in a prime location: close to the Ramblas, to the metro station and only 30 minutes away from the airport (by Taxi or Uber) - I have to congratulate the reception team: they were very helpful, friendly and service oriented. Thanks to them the little glitch I had on arrival (room not ready at the time initially indicated) was totally forgotten. They were prompt in reacting and offered us an excellent breakfast for free (worth the price though!) the next morning. Super service!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve been to two other hotels of this chain and they were beyond expectations, exciting, unique and artistic. (Madrid and Born x2)Their rooms were A+ with a surprise with lighting or shower placement and size The Ramblas location feels older and my room was clean, but dismal and very ordinary. With very cheap furniture - even tho they were trying to connect a ‘60’s theme, they fell very short of the design effort. Front desk staff were fantastic! Bar tender in the evening was rude. I should not have tipped him. 😏

    I liked the lobby and the bar/cafe experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's our 2nd time to stay here and we missed the little chorizos they serve at breakfast. Those were really yummy!

    Aside from the location, I appreciate how accommodating the staff were. The breakfast spread was also suffcient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff during the breakfast was rude and unpolite.

    The atmosphere of the hotel was great, the tapas bar and the lobby are very comfortable and cozy.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit on the pricey side but the location means higher prices

    Not far from the famous Barcelona La Rambla but far enough away that you don’t get the noise at night. Nice reception area and tasty tapas at the restaurant where there was live music playing. Room was spacious and included a hob, although we didn’t use it (and anyway there were no pans or cutlery to use it). Bathroom was also large with a good shower and terrace was also nice and large. A metro station is close by where you can be at the station in 20 mins.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    to have return the rented bikes every day and couldn't keep them for the length of the rental time. breakfast could be improved. specially the coffee.

    very central and still very quite familiar boutique hotel. delicious tapas bar and aromatic coffee with very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Balcony was a waste of money as it looks out over grim rooftops and a noisy alley. Because of no interlocking doors between the bar, reception and rooms, there was quite a bit of noise at night - although not too late.

    Excellent location, staff were very pleasant, the room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was reasonably good and a nice little bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, party hotel, breakfast is a rip-off. Especially the coffee machine. If youbfor some reason would desperately want to stay here then do not choose the breakfast but go out and eat instead unless you want to start your day with a sour feeling. The hotel has a potential but if the managment doesn’t wake up there is only a hope they will sell and get new owners!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This themed hotel is a fun place to stay. It's located a couple blocks from La Rambla, walking distant from the Gothic quarter and El Born. It's also not far from the beachfront promenade. The staff is very accommodating and friendly. They rent bikes right on site. Spent four nights and loved it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room at first floor was on the street side and too loud. We had also 2 little unexcpected insects in the bathroom.

    Very nice place, near the city center Ramblas and metro station

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel was situated in a very small road which was not easy to find and at night it was very reassuring to walk there.

    The concept of the hotel was nice. Every floor has its own theme.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had no tea bags to make tea or no curtly of any kind. No wine glasses to have a glass of wine at the end of day. I personally found the lift to small to our room.

    We liked how close we were to places. It was easy get around. We didn't eat at the hotel we went out. We would liked to have tea bags in the room and curtly in the room. The bathroom had everything.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the bar staff was rude when the food wasn’t what we expected. Rather than would u like anything else we got I did tell you what it was which he didnt

    Staff on reception were great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast was low quality. We would have appreciated a step up on pretty much all of the food. It seemed like the cheapest of the cheap. Basic shouldn't be low quality. Not a big negative but the elevator to the family room is tiny and wouldn't be able to fit an entire family.

    The family room was nice with a pleasant view from the balcony. The little kitchenette is basic but helpful. The staff was generally helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room smelled like smoke even though non smoking room. Given no toilet roll so had to go to reception to ask for some. Hotel provides no where to get any water after bar has closed.

    Great location. Beds comfortable. And nice bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect as it was. No complaints at all and I would highly recommend it

    This hotel is a quirky as the photos show, it has a lovely vibe and is perfect for a city break.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the lifts was out of action because of a foul smell, but the staff did their best to sort it out. We would have liked a balcony, but that wasn’t guaranteed and we were told that although we requested a double bed, we might not get one. But they did email us and when we arrived, they mentioned our request and therefore gave us a double so I was happy! Thanks x

    Staff were really friendly and there was always at least 2 staff on reception. Our room looked like the photos online - quite quirky and really clean, so I was pleased and the hotel was so close to everything, and if you can’t walk, there are metro stops nearby! We ate tapas in the bar on their live music night and had a great time. The staff made great cocktails!! Thank you :)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisey in the corridors which you can hear and we had very noisy neighboirs slamming wardrobe doors early in the morning.

    The shower was fantastic. Breakfasts were brilliant and location was perfect!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no facilities to make a coffee/ tea. There was only 1 bowl and 1 spoon in the room for 2 people. No cutlery or cooking appliances even though there was a cook top. There was also maintenance work happening in the room next to us all week, which was at times quite loud.

    The rooms were always cleaned and refreshing to walk back into

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I’ve got a “sauna room” experience followed by creative explanations that staff arranged to justify that by paying for a room you do not get the right to regulate the temperature you feel more confortable with but rather the opportunity to adapt to a “sauna experience”. It would seem funny if it had not been a nightmare. Firstly, i was told that since the air conditioning was not working because of “seasonal technicalities”, i should open the window to cool down the room (a window for a common backyard with machinery) and once did the temperature would maintain - wrong...i spent the night opening and closing the window trying to choose between the overheating sensation and a noisy backyard. In the morning, after exposing this to the staff at the forefront desk, i was told that this is a regular situation... To improve the situation, the manager seems to be the “ghost” of this nightmare since it only communicates through the staff being unavailable to talk with clients directly.

    The lobby area is very nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is located 100 m from the Ramblas and 100 m from the Drassanes Metro stop; very central. We walked to many places and used the metro for other attractions and transport to/from the airport. The facility is quite nice with a restaurant adjoined on the first floor. The building is very clean, has lots of hot water and a good shower. You sometimes hear noise from the hallway if people are loud. The room is a size, quite spartan but clean and has lots of closet and counter space. We requested a room with a window that opens and were happy to have fresh air. The staff were busy but very friendly and knowledgeable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a very short stay, and couldn't fault it.

    Quirky trendy hotel. Staff were exceptionally helpful even allowing us to store our luggage for the day, following a very short cruise even though we only stayed one night originally. Exactly as it states, although I personally wouldn't use Basic in the name of my hotel. Nice coffee shop, and good breakfast. Location, is excellent, if a little hidden away, but couldn't be closer to the Ramblas. Also pretty good value for money. Would stay here again, if for a short visit to Barcelona

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cafe/bar located in the lobby was really nice and great fun at night. They have excellent bikes for rent which I would highly recommend doing to get around the city and see as much as possible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom was ok - very compact so not overly easy to move around. Shower pressure good but moved to spray outside when turned on. A few small maintenance things - shower plug cover kept flipping up too.

    Bed was very comfy, general bedroom/living area was great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you arrived by car is difficult to find the place specially if you are a tourist and are not use to the parking in Europe

    Friendly staff great location the only thing it needs is a little more choices on the restaurant menu.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was noisey as windows were not insulated and it was great that the room was freshly painted but the smell from the paint was not great. Also roim had a little kitchenette which would have been fabulous but nothing given in which you could use it to cook on.

    Hotel was in a great location very funky and fun. Staff were very helpful with any questions you had.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All perfectly

    Particularly liked the location. I chose it especially close to the seaport. comfortable room with balcony, comfortable bed and a clean bathroom. The staff is friendly and helpful. the proposed breakfast is wonderful.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would recommend this hotel to anyone. This hotel is in a perfect location, out of the front door is La Rambla(4 minutes walking), the underground is 2 minutes away. The hotel itself was very clean and modern, the staff were very polite and helpful.The breakfast was very excellent. Wouldn't think twice about recommending this hotel to other people, will definitely be returning

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast area got very busy with non residents which created a cool atmosphere but they took their eyes off small things like the juice bar was empty for a while which was in glass so you could see and often fun out of milk for cereals which you had to pick up the plastic bottle to notice.

    Friendly reception staff speaking good English. Nothing to much trouble.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Price a little too much high for place With 3 stars

    Service Quite place 60 m from ramblas Quality of place Show at restaurant in weekend 50 m from metro

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were extremely happy with this Hotel, it was a quiet oasis is a busy city. Close to everything and the staff were friendly and helpful. Have already recommended to friends.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What i did not like was that the windows didn’t quite close completelly, they did not “seal” the room from the exterior. Not a big problem, a little noisier than average but not disturbing. This didn’t disturb your sleep.

    Perfect location, nice quiet area, very chic, i loved the design and the idea of the hotel. The bar and the relaxation area are awesome!!! I reccomend the stay and peobably will return!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is built at an odd angle and is a wee bit small.

    We stayed in a family room which was spacious enough for 3 adults to stay comfortably just off La Rambla. There was a flamenco night in the bar just below and we could barely hear a thing late into the night too which was a bonus!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very chilly reception and breakfast area There seemed to be a couple of bikes available so I will try to figure out how to acquire one.

    The breakfast was excellent. We found the after hours part of the bar confusing as it didn't have food to order at the end of the day.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did find it a little bit too expensive, but since Barcelona is expensive these days I suppose it's normal to pay this amount to stay at a nice hotel.

    The hotel is super nice! A-ma-zing location, it's straight nextto La Rambla in el Raval, which I really like as a neighbourhood. The facilities were great, very clear, new and modern. We got a room update to a room with a balcony without an extra fee so that was great too. We rented bikes for a day at the hotel, only for 15 euros, which is a great tip to do in Barcelona! I would definitely go back here! I would recommed this hotel to all young people that want to be in the neighbourhoods with nice small cafes and the more underground'ish vibe (el Raval, Barri Gotic).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds are not that nice and comfy actually, they easily move as soon as you learn on the wall while seated on the bed.

    The bathroom is clean, the shower is extra clean and nice. The location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was a bit creaky although still comfortable. Requested a double but got twin beds - didn’t bother complaining as they were beside each other. Missed having tea and coffee in the room.

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Loved the decor...very hip and quirky. Rooms were basic but clean and although the bathroom was small, the bedroom itself was a good size. Fridge in the room was very useful. Minutes from the metro stop and La Rambla.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee in the breakfast was bad from a vending machine, but with an extra 1€ you get a nice freshly ground espresso. The room temperature was very very high. Although subjective, I woke up sweating when using the duvet.

    The breakfast was worth the extra €10. Nice variety of local products and good quality products. The overall design is also very interesting and the room is very spacious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning was good just missed some things everyday (no toiletpaper was one of them). Easy to hear noise from outside and also hallway

    The staff was amazing regarding my request for flowers and breakfast at the room for my sisters birthday and they made such a wonderful job!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    stayed in the room with balcony, rather spacious, really like the design style of the lobby and public area and even the counter and corridor, every room has a theme color. excellent location, just 3 min walk from the Drassanes of line 3 and the Monument a Colom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hairdryer in the bathroom was great. I could check online what facilities were in the hotel room so it saved me bringing along the dryer. The bed was also very comfortable! The fact that there was a coffee shop/bar in the hotel was great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was different from hotel photos in the website, no shower cabin in bathroom, bathroom wall wasn’t clean enough, kettle wasn’t work properly, other visitors were noisy

    Location, lobby decoration,

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cleaning staff talking very loud at 10:00 while check out is at 12:00. After cleaning the hallway smelled like it was drained in ammonia, very disgusting and made me nauseous. After complaining at the reception they seemed like they couldn't care less. With Eur 90 for one night in a double room this was below all standards. Would not come here again.

    Location is good, room was spacious and clean, beds were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I did not like that I was given the room with 3 beds although we were two people...it felt like it was the kids room. I did not like that there was only body wash and I know it can double as shampoo but that is horrendous for the hair. The bathroom had a smell of sewer coming out of it at all times and the over all cleanliness was not what I expected from a hotel like this. I also do not appreciate that although I paid 75 euros a night, I had people coming in and out of their rooms at all times, banging doors and laughing loud and other than the people who were outside the window and you could hear them all night although I was on the 5th floor.

    I liked how close it was to the Rambla area and the room was big.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need to provide long mirror in the room specially there is a nice space for that.

    Clean, good room space, nice people, good hot water and AC.In the middle of the action.I will go there if I visited Barcelona again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    we had a superior room with balcony, rooms was a little tired but plenty of space considering we only spent time sleeping during a frantic weekend visit. Plenty of choice at breakfast and the small bar provided a basic tapas and a selection of wines, beers and spirits. Already planning our next trip as 48 hrs is not enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has a bar/club at ground floor which can be great if you like a drink or a coffee, but it's a bit noisy at night. No big deal anyway.

    Everything! The room was massive and comfortable and the breakfast varied and tasty.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (3-4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Uncomfortable beds that could not be combined. Very small elevator; though it's good that it was at all ;-)

    Great location, a few steps from La Rambla, Rambla de Mar and Drassanes metro station. A great base for exploring the city. The original decor of the reception. Very good breakfasts and friendly service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location, room and bathroom clean, nice staff, nice decoration ( car and café bar) Everything around is near, restaurant, shopping and specially the port... For sure we will come back to this hotel We will reccomand this hotel to our friends Very special decoration in the entrance Thank you for all the staff Claude

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room is a bit spare. Could add a bit more design like the public spaces have. Also, wanted to open the window because the room was too warm but didn’t want to leave balcony door open for security reasons.

    Lobby and bar are hip and comfy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot drinks was hard to negotiate.hot food not very hot . Bullitt style sausages warm scrambled egg not worth €20 we left it fruit looked nice I know the price are dear there but you know that when you go

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi didn't work properly, breakfast was boring and not very good, the room was pretty noisy (we could hear everything that happend in the hall which was very annoying)

    Nice and clean room, great location

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Chic & Basic Ramblas traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: