Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of BlueSense Madrid Génova

Almagro, 10, Chamberí, 28010 Madrid, Spain

#817 of 1,034 Holiday rentals in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 947 hotel reviews

6.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    5.8

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    5.6

  • Staff

    6.3

  • Value for money

    6.1

  • Paid WiFi

    3.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 70

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personnel have no respect for guests sleep. One time at 11pm and two additional times in the middle of the night we had to walk outside to the lobby to ask them to lower their voice. Room walls are extremely thin and the entire sound of the street comes into the hotel. If you want to rest, do not stay in this hotel.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The receptionist at our check in was incompetent.Took two hours (literally) for a check in of a group of 20 people before us ( and of whom she knew the arrival well in advance) just because she had not idea on how to manage it. We were all very tired and stressed.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are reforming the hotel so half is new and the other is old. The old rooms are horrible, dark, depressing and with broken things. The new ones look better but even though they are not very clean. The corridors are destroyed so is not safe at all.

    The location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy because they’re remodeling some rooms and the staff starts working very early in the morning, so the noise is heard clearly inside the room. We asked for a room change but they told us they couldn’t arrange it (even though they had rooms available). Also, their staff smokes cigars inside the hotel and the smell gets inside the room. Last but not least, the bathroom towels offered are really bad quality.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is not very modern nor very clean (bugs in the lamps, cheap furnishings, lots of marks on walls and floors). The floors in the hallways are broken and you can hear everything from the nearby rooms and elevator. This is a cheap place for college students to spend some time, nothing else.

    It was in the centre and very close to a metro station. The downstairs reception area was lovely. It was a big enough room for two people.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV a bit small and slow. The window was not facing the street but to an interior courtyard.

    I was a bit worried because of the reviews I read about this place regarding the poor internet connection, lack of hot water, hard mattress and maybe I was lucky but my room (besides being clean and spacious) had none of those problems. Location is quite convenient.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had to check out 3 nights earlier and asked for refund. The receptionist asked me to refer to Booking.com, because the reservation was organized via that site. Even after one month no feedback was provided to me and no refund was received though I followed all instructions of reception and booking.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We paid for breakfast but left the hotel at 8 a.m.. The breakfast was not available yet, the hotel said that they don't prepare packed breakfast ( we asked about it a day before) . We paid and got nothing. The room was veeery old, the walls dirty, noisy at night. I would not recommend.

    The receptionist was friendly

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were poorly decorated, very uncomfortable bed, Antiquated bathroom and furniture. The lobby was perhaps under construction, but still very small, The facility needs a lot of work and updating. We had to pay to be upgraded to a superior class room that was a slightly cleaner and more modern but still with very cheap furniture and space.

    Location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noise from the street heavy to lift, the hosts could be dampened by a window or do anything to improve it

    Very close to centrum, Puerta De Sol, Mayor Plaz :) Personel very frinedly and polite

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I highly recommend this apartment. There's a major renovation going in the lobby during my 4-night stay but this is only to upgrade the comfort and quality of the apartment. That didn't really bother me as i know that was just temporary and probably done as i am typing this review. As for the room, i couldn't be more happy with what i got. I booked a deluxe studio and it was very neat and clean... i had very little expectation upon check-in but i was wowed how good it was. Everything's functional. Location's great too. You'll see smart-looking people wearing their business wear the moment you step out of the apartment. It is surrounded with banks so i suppose that explains it. Public transport is easy access... literally 3 minutes walk from Doorstep to the nearest Metro station (Alonzo Martinez). Nearest supermarket is right beside Burger King which is not bad! Would love to stay here again when i have the chance to revisit Madrid!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lobby was a disaster zone because they were renovating. There was no attempt from the reception to explain why it was like that. Actually, there was no effort at all to even welcome us or make us feel welcome or assure us that our room won't look like that. No greeting nor smile at all. The daytime female receptionist made me feel like I was more of nuisance rather than a customer. But the evening receptionist was very friendly! It was my most expensive booking in Madrid. And there was no hairdryer! I assumed that all the places I would be staying in would have that. I failed to take into account that this was an apartment and not a hotel. I just thought that all places in Booking.com would be of hotel standards. And there was no CNN or any English channel on the cable. The positive thing was there was wifi in the room and it was free, unlike what it said on their site.

    The bed mattress

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mattress was disappointing. It was lumpy and too stiff.

    The staff was friendly and accommodating. The room and bathroom were clean. The mini kitchen was a plus. The hotel location is right off a subway station and in a good neighborhood.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The constant noise from the staff at the cleaning cupboard at 6am !!!

    Basic faculties, but a fantastic location and very good value for money for central Madrid. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very bad image at the entrance and lobby, staff with poor attention and not qualified to give customer service, there is no phone in the rooms. Bad relationship price vs quality. I would not go back and would not recommend it.

    the location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They gave us the room just next to reception. At 1a.m. The 2 ladies of reception started screaming at each other, making my sister and me wake up and not be able to sleep until 3 more hours. We had stayed other times and had to stay 5 more weeks, but we will not stay again. You cannot have that type of behavior at your job and neither at that time of night. Horrible experience which made us not be properly rested during the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wish dishwashing products were provided

    The apartment has good dimensions for a couple, clean and calm, the kitchen has is well equipped just what you need. The neighberhood is not noisy, looks like an adminisrative area since I ve noticed so many people in a suit and tie, It's a chic and nice area, calle serano and the chic boutiques are near to it. To reach the touristics places you can go by walking, for example to gran via it takes 20min, or you can take the metro or bus, the stations are really close to the appartment.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was awful to start with. Advertising for these rooms is not accurate, the photographs do not show how these rooms actually look like. I booked this trip for my birthday, it was ruined useless to say. Room was very cold,could warm up by using an antique air con but with the price of being extremely loud so couldn't sleep. Windows had no sealing and even with the curtains shut you would feel a very strong draft and curtains being blown all the time. Windows supposed to be double glazing but they were useless noise wise, made no difference, there is a restaurant/terrace under the windows so half the night you would hear the roaring crowd having fun. Kitchen is actually a cupboard where you have a sink and a hob, no kettle, no coffee, no draining for dishes, no soap or sponge or kitchen towel... overall unless unless you start doing a household shopping there is no use of that "kitchen". No coffee or tea or sugar.... Bathroom had no hair dryer but asked one from reception every time I needed it. Room overall was not clean, with filth in every corner. The bed did not have 2 pillows but one, very long, that serves both people. So if I liked my pillow up or under me more I'd have to leave my partner without. Overall awful. We tried "upgrading" but was nothing available. What we was offered is not presented in any pictures in the site, extremely disappointed. A birthday ruined.

    Location and that's about it.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall value for money is terrible. Understand that Spanish people struggle with English, but a smile would be welcome as well. Lady in receptionist probably hates her job. She was almost insulting or not cooperating. 12 Euros charge for internet on 2017... that is just crazy for the looks of this place. Breakfast is served at a bar near by. People who run it are nice and at least smile or take their jobs more seriously. But there is no menu, you have absolutely no idea what options are there. We ended up eating a piece of toasted bread with some butter and coffee all 3 days. Suggest, anyone interested to pay a bit more and get a proper place with nice people.

    Please is close to city centre, 20min walk and is clean. These are the only two positives I can think of.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The air condition did not work. Unable to sleep for the heat. The kitchen was out of order therefore it ceased to be an apartment but just a room. No help from the person on duty. No offer to change rooms or any other compensation. The shower was awful. Noisy from next door construction . ..

    The room was normal size and the floor was nice. An ordinary place to stay.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The furnishings were tired, and the beds were very hard and uncomfortable and without duvets, just a single sheet. The bathroom had bad water pressure and it's shower was a dribble and took ages for warm water to come through. The central air-conditioning was switched off and unable to be activated by staff as it was late September and management deemed it was not required (when we visited, it was 28th Sept and Madrid was having 30c heat?!) Our room was on the 7th floor and very very stuffy, the small window overlooking an empty courtyard and rooftops offered no breeze or respite from the heat, it was like sleeping in a sauna! Furthermore, there was no plug socket next to or near the bed which was essential to allow my husband to plug in his sleep apnea breathing machine, as a result he nearly choked to death in his sleep! No solution to the missing plug sockets were offered by staff. Very unpleasant experience and the staff not speaking English were very unhelpful and we could tell that they would rather have Spanish guests then those from England. A very overpriced room. Would not recommend staying here.

    Nothing except the early morning sunrise over the rooftops. It wasn't our preference to be awake so early but our neighbours alarm was so loud and the walls so thin, it woke us too!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    No wifi, no airconditional so it was very warm in the room

    Great location, kind receptionist, delicious breakfast, big room. Our room looked into the backyard so it was quiet, we could leave the luggage there after check-out.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff could be more friendly.

    The room is very clean and the location is not far from the center. It is ok.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality of facilities

    Location and staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view!

    Location excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Improve on your breakfast You can give much more than just a toast of bread n cup of tea

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that there was no free wifi.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place was terrible, not worth to stay even for 5 EUR.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very cold apartments

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No phone, no hot water for 3 days not really a apart hotel! No hair dryer, and very poor kitchen supplies and no microwave.

    Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The walls were too thin.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold shower

    Good location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was very basic, still needed some finishing touches.

    It was clean, a good location and an excellent price.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities not to standard!

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No general toilets in reception

    Location and amenities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi was not free. it's 2017 and they are making you pay

    Nice little kitchen

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    tele language couldn't be changed view noise levels

    beds were comfy bathroom was nice enough

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    There is no kitchen towel and no dish soap. No wifi included in price!

    Nice, new equipted room, very clean and quiet, kitchen corner.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was not pleasant and did not even look at us. The wifi per day is way too expensive.12€!!! The bed mattress was really hard and old.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old faded bed sheets, single glazing and no heating

    The room was dated and a bit cold

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The traffic is terrible and stops after 3 AM. The noise passes over the window. We could not sleep well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds weren't confortable at all. Furniture very old and walls with spots.

    Localization and breakfast were really good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 13 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access to public wifi

    Good price , nice location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet should be free Shower needs handle Improve sunlight cover in window

    Location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms too old, need refurbished

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff were robotic, noisy despite being on the 3rd floor, as it is located above a bar and single glazed, furniture was stained, breakfast was a juice box and a long life croissant, no jug to make a cup of tea coffee even though they provided everything else, I should add I was forced to take this hotel after another booking fell through and priced were hiked up because of Bruce Springsteen concert/football.

    Room was big. Room was relatively clean. Relatively cheap compared to others for that night.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen utensils are not clean, even though staff wash them. Beddings, in particular the blanket, are very old. Rooms dont have their own hairdryer, you have to ask this from the reception when you wanna use it, and after using you must return it.

    It's location is not far from the city center, you can walk there in fifteen minutes. Since it is apart hotel, you can use an oven, a refrigerator. There is no noise to interrupt your sleep.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Security: it is openned to everyone. Breakfast is terrible. The beds are not confortable. The bothroon smalls bad. Internet is more expensive then the telephone company.

    The location is nice. Close to everything.

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was too dirty. Bed linen and towels are very old and bad looking. Blankets are very dusty and dirty. The kitchen was poorly equipped, there wasn't even teakettle. The furniture is old, cheap and uncomfortable. Extremly bad and expensive wifi.

    Good shower. Warm spacious (30 m2) room. Location.

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    noice from the corridor quite annoying and sounds no stop; the big "peng" from the next room closing the door is a bit shorking due to the door is hard to close

    quite and big room

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff does not speak a single word in English. (I was lucky to speak Spanish.) The room was by the entrance (Number 4) and I heard all the noise from the reception. The heating was out of order, there was only a very thin blanket, do not use this hotel during cold autumn nights in Madrid. Also there is a construction going on in the building, it was impossible to sleep after 8 am. Breakfast is basically supermarket croissant.

    The location

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Extra charge for WiFi. Proposed breakfast in the rooms can not be called breakfast- it should be changed in the description.

    Good location with easy access to metro.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The night staff was rude and cold. Was not informative at all about the venue or the attractions around.

    Location. It's in a very safe and central location to all points of interest. Also, steps away from the metro.

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The king size bed was narrow. the breakfast very poor served at the room . very poor continental breakfast.

    Almost centered.lot of restaurants and shops near. Also there is a kitchenette.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    so poor breakfast in the room

    quite big room with small kitchen inside. near Metro (Alonzo Martinez) 100m. very good location.safe neighborhood day and night. supermarket just one street behind. restaurants and tapas bars down an opposite the hotel. good and helpful staff. they don't all speak English but they try to help.

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    not really

    very nice location, clean rooms, bathtub, friendly staff, not expensive, nice bars/restaurants at close distance, within walking distance to sol (15m) via hortaleza street.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast was the bare minimum but as the price was good and the location was good I can't complain But they should not call it breakfast as it takes away from their good points

    Location near centre of city and metro

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Receptionists very rude, did not smile or explain about the hotel. Did not even say hello! Some customer service training is in order. Shower was a trickle of water

    Central location, quiet apartment. Cheap.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No good

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No Free wifi

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wifi

    -Kitchen -Location(only 5 mins walk to metro) -Receptionist was very polite and knows English with 24 hours availability

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was great. Size of the room was large. Was suprised by the quality of the accommodation in such a location at a very low price.

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    No tea bags and the room could have used a little airing before the next arrival.

    Superb location and excellent value for money

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The location is perfect and low cost accomodation.

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    No wi-fi.

    Location.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Couple

    Easy to visit the rest of Madrid. Basic, cheap accomodation in a good area Good refridgerator in room

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the staff was unable to speak english which made communication very tricky

    price-quality comparison was very good compared to other establishments

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No free wifi

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed and the breakfast

    Location near metro

There are also 24 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 70

Browse BlueSense Madrid Génova traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: