Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Apartamentos Solimar 3 stars

Vilamar, 79, 43820 Calafell, Spain

#7 of 44 hotels in Calafell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 737 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 30

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    Overall, quite good. Will recommend to everybody :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was there with my friend and we both speak a bit of Spanish. For some reason, during the move-in the reception positively excluded me from conversation, even though the room was booked under my name. I do not know if it was because I am girl (really?) or because I was talking with my friend in our mother-tongue when we came in. It didn't happen again, thankfully, even though I didn't say anything. My friend also complained a lot about having to wear a bracelet, even though we only had breakfast included. The sea is always good in Calafell, but this year when we stayed there, there were meduzas and my friend even saw a stingray, which was even in a local newspaper since it is not something that happens normally.

    The breakfast was amazing. Bacon and sausages, and they even had churros on Sunday. The pastries were positively mouth-watering. The room had a balcony, which was nice and air conditioning worked alright, too. There is also parking just outside the hotel, but we didn't use it. The location is quite perfect, very close to the train station and two minutes away from the beach. There is a restaurant across the road and the touristic part of the town is also five minutes away. It's a bit further from mercadona than a lot of other hotels, but still close enough (15 minutes perhaps?)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    5.4
    The staff was really nice and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly the room is expensive for what they offer. Tiny room and very old shower with low pressure. Extremely noisy at night (whether from the hotel activities or from the neighborhood). Very basic breakfast. For the same price I could find very nice hotels in other areas, including in Barcelona.

    The staff was really nice and helpful. I had to do an early check out and they proposed to prepare a takeaway breakfast for me without asking for it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    7.9
    Early check in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Many guests (sometimes we spent much time waiting the food , 2 shifts dinner) Small fridge We can hear all the noises from the other rooms (noise insulation)

    Early check in Russian speaking staff (it wasnt important for us because we can speak Spanish and English) Excessive dinner (including yogurts, fruits) Cleaning of the room Sea 1-minute walk Balcony Sea view from the balcony Good air conditioner Not far from train station Easy way to get Tarragona from here

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    4.6
    Some of the male staff were nice and tried to accomodate us
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came to visit from england and nobody bothered with us at all when we asked what food was bein served at the restaurant nobody understood us my mum wanted to play bingo and when asked if we werre playing we said we were english and then was just ignored so couldnt play anyway which really upset my mun

    Some of the male staff were nice and tried to accomodate us

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.2
    Overall a great time was had at Hotel Solimar
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Eggs whites were to watery on inside had to go to second option of boiled eggs. wifi not the best from one area to other areas within hotel.

    Helpful staff, Management runs a tight ship with all areas from foyer to outdoors being spotlessly cleaned, all meals were well presented and checked on regularly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    6.7
    Overpriced. Tight. Basic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was long queue of peoples to get drinks at the breakfast because of the location of two cafe automats and water automats. They were situated at the same place. The separation of cafe automats will be very reasonable. We could not find free parking near hotel to unload our luggage. There were beds with different levels in the living room. There is nothing to hang towels in the bathroom & on the balcony. Very dark in the bathroom & in the living room.

    Nice breakfast and diner. There were different dishes from day to day. Not far from the beach and lot of restaurants and cafes.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.9
    loved our stay it was very nice would recomend to friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    double bed that's all

    food was excellent staff very nice would have loved double bed in a double bedroom we got single beds but very cleen and lots of room we also had a pool view which was lovely would deffo stay again

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    7.5
    Coffee excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was quite strange for an American, lunchmeat and sweet rolls for breakfast. Staff barely spoke english. WiFi only available in lobby area

    Coffee excellent. location and atmosphere great

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Good location for Beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely great little apartment

    hotel located near train station so you can hear hentrains however did not bother us. 3 minutes to walk to beach. Plenty of restaurants nearby and all throughout Calafell. Hotel food better than most and fairly tasty and fresh.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    6.7
    Fabulous location but would not go back to this particular hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Breakfast was very poor when compared to other hotels recommended by Booking.com that we usually use during our numerous visits to Spain. Wi-Fi was so slow that I could only log on on my last day - once most of the other guests had left. Although the room was advertised as small it would have been nice to have been provided with a little drawer space and more hangers but this is a minor point.

    The location was fantastic - Calafell is a lovely small town. Cannot fault the actual resort of Calafell.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2017

    10
    Brilliant fun had at the beach and in the pool by all three generations of my family that stayed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Staff were very accomodating - happy to change one of our rooms to have a different outlook (over pool rather than onto street). Half board: food was excellent and varied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    5.0
    Convenienly located but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking cost. 24€ for 2 days. They didn't allow my son to walk in because he was not registered (he was sleeping somewhere else). Very noisy during the night.

    Location, air conditioning and very nice balcony. We reported a problem with the bed and they fixed it immediately.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    6.3
    Gd 3 star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food preparation was gd and a gd choice. But the heat lamps didnt keep the food hot... unless u got your food as soon as it came from the kitchen

    Lovely pool area.clean and tidy hotel.staff v helpful Generally for a 3 star hotel it was gd value

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Can park car for free on streets near the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can park car for free on streets near the hotel

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.5
    Staff very friendly andhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Balcony door would not lock.

    Staff very friendly andhelpful. Rooms are quite basic, but clean. Location is very good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    What a fantastic place for a family holiday, everything exceeded our expectations 100% all round.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Everything was 100% thank you

    We had an amazing time here and everything exceeded our expectations 100% all round.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.4
    Location and food is good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was really small and it had no wall holder you had to hold the shower head on your hand

    Location and food is good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    9.6
    we had a good stay and will book it again next year.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    better breakfast selection.

    good selection for evening meals, beds were very comfortable and great sun terrace with our room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit better there wasn't much choice

    Really nice pool and you can check out later for a little extra money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    8.8
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit better there wasn't much choice

    Really nice pool and you can check out later for a little extra money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Not having a phone in the room to contact reception

    Great location, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.5
    Lovely location and pool . very clean with helpful staff, But poor beds and food choices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Apartment (3 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the beds were very uncomfortable , and one bed was even broken!

    The pool and cleanliness , also the location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    7.1
    Breakfast options were fairly limited
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast options were fairly limited

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff in the pool bar to understand a little bit of English

    We liked the location,cleanliness and the staff excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    9.2
    Very comfortable and relaxed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cereal!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent hotel and brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel and brilliant staff... I felt like at home

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    7.5
    Staff, balcony,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cold food, coffee, orange juice

    Staff, balcony,

    Stayed in April 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    6.3
    It was ok as a base for visiting friends but not for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I was told there would be a microwave, kettle and toaster in the room but there wasn't and the hob didn't get hot enough to boil the water for a cup of tea! Couldn't have toast for breakfast so ended up having to buy breakfast out. The microwave was located 5 floors down!

    It was ok as a base for visiting friends but not for a holiday

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    7.9
    Nice location lose to the beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nice location lose to the beach.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    6.0
    Location, one block from the beach and good size apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Noisy apartment, low quality finishing

    Location, one block from the beach and good size apartment.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 30

Guests also reviewed these properties: