Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bahía Santa Cruz 3 stars

Carretera Suspiro del Moro Km 1, 18690 Almuñécar, Spain

#11 of 16 hotels in Almuñécar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 150 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    8

  • Paid WiFi

    4.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no spa, although it is mentioned in the add. The spa is not included in the condo, it belongs to a private company, so you can find out that it is closed, as it happens during my trip. The room is extremely noise, you can perfectly eat the neighbours getting shower or watching tv at any time. Kitchen is not enough equipped.

    It has a great terrace. Pet friendly

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I messaged the property well ahead of time with (a) our arrival time and (b) a question as to whether a late checkout was possible. Booking.com forwarded my message to the property but I never received a response. We arrived precisely when we said we would but had to telephone and then wait about 15 minutes out in the street (next to a planter bed chock-full of cat poo) for the woman who looks after the apartments to turn up and admit us. (Same thing happened last year, which is why we gave a specific arrival time this year, but doing that obviously makes no difference). We asked her about the late checkout and she said oh yes, that would be fine and we could stay there till 4:00. However, on the last morning she came around to tell us we must leave at 1:00 after all as they needed the room, so we had to cancel our plans and dash around getting ready to leave. (Had we known ahead of time that late checkout wasn't possible we would simply have booked an extra night.)

    Particularly appreciated the central heating as so many apartments in Spain are cold in winter.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 12 nights

    More sunlougers near pool would be good , towels only changed twice in 12 nights . Also the opening times of reception on booking wasn't accurate

    The lady who met us was very friendly , apartment was very clean and spacious with big terrace, lovely views etc

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every piece of table ware is chipped, each plate, bowl cup and saucer and please wash the net curtains. Small trivial things easily rectified which would improve people's stay immensely.

    The apartment is spacious with an amazing terrace offering all day sun,and fully furnished.the lounge dining area has all you need for a comfortable stay with airconditioning to help cope with those extra hot night's.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Instructions on how to use appliances would have been helpful i.e. Safe, heating.

    Apartment on the top floor was great. Had a large terrace, with great views. Well equipped.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights

    The big downside for us was the lack of free wifi and the fact that the paid (€3 a day) wi-fi was only available 'in some rooms.' To ensure good connectivity in our room we bought a local SIM card for our own pocket mi-fi. That saved us money as well but it meant we had to ration our bandwidth, which was a pain as we use the internet a lot. We had a problem on arrival because the wording on our booking confirmation - and the notice on the front door - implied that the reception desk was open at certain times, but it wasn't. To check in, you have to call the housekeeper's cell phone, but nobody told us that ahead of time. (Normally, in that situation, one is advised accordingly.) The only other thing that marred our stay was the loud and pitiful barking - for hours at a time - by the dog in the house below. Understandable, because the owner left the poor creature alone on the property, but painful to have to listen to every day.

    The apartments are a fifteen minute uphill walk from the bus station, but the slightly-out-of-town location means that there is more space available than there is downtown and a lovely view so we enjoyed it more than last year's stay in the heart of the old town. The 'resort' has obviously seen better days and has a somewhat shabby feel to it, but we were simply here for the accommodation, which was good value, so that didn't bother us. We were on foot, but friends of ours who stayed there with a car said they appreciated the onsite parking. We loved the sunny terrace, the spaciousness and especially the central heating, as the January nights were cool. The bed was comfortable and the place was kept very clean by the friendly and efficient housekeeper. We really enjoyed our fortnight here and would definitely stay here again if it had free, fast and reliable (everywhere on the premises) wi-fi.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Inspection of faults, ie. 5 dead light bulbs, no chopping board, patio windows wouldn't lock, single beds pushed together and therefore separate bed linen, no mugs etc.

    Originally luxurious, and now getting shabby (neglected), but good value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no reception or bar. You are in a mainly residential complex. We arrived early and were confused by this. The first two bed apartment we were offered meant we had to walk a very long way to the pool. It took quite a bit of persuasion to get the rooms switched as it was definitely not what the pictures showed. But the new apartments were ten times nicer. However it wasn't until we requested a refund that this happened.

    When we complained about the apartment we were given a different apartment. Views are great, pool is nice, no one there so we had it to ourselves too. Apartment was nice overall. Ten minute walk to town was nice, quiet area. Parking space.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's quite far to walk to the beach.

    We booked and arrived after reception shut so the receptionist had to come in after work especially to check us in and show us to our room and despite all that was very friendly and helpful. Very clean, good shower, bed and air con. Great view from the terrace. Peaceful atmosphere, safe parking. Would stay again and longer next time!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sun lounger broken, light over bathroom mirror didn't work. Cigarette ends and weeds in planters on balcony, hairdryer didn't work. Like a ghost town - complete waste of money - don't bother!

    Nothing!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    a little more information regarding breakfast and also where to eat---

    The wonderfull helpful lady that checked us in ..The apartment was huge and very quiet...will definately recommend to friends..thankyou

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2-3 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad availability of staff/reception. There was nobody during opening hours. No water in the pool.

    Appartement was nice with great balcony

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior One-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was not offered.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very kind and helpful staff. Terrace and view wunderful

    Stayed in January 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The toilet seat cover was annoying and kept hitting you on the back as it fell down and going to wee for a man was one handed ?? The TV didn't work at first but was very quickly sorted. One thing that did annoy us was the barking of dogs late at night.

    The outside of the property leaves a lot to be desired and is off-putting initially, but once in the apartment everything becomes much more pleasant. the terrace was enormous and the sea view was lovely. the apartment itself was very spacious and comfortable. our advice, don't be put off by the outside. We would book again.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very spacious room and outside terrace, easy walk into town. Kitchen, utensils available. Clean bathroom. Great views over the hills and towards coast. Secure under building parking and very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows, the property only has the standard Spanish single long pillow which may be perfect for some but was a nightmare for us. Sorry it may seem petty but I like my own pillow and my wife likes 2 to 3 pillows and part of a good holiday is a good night's/days sleep. If you don't understand Spanish then communication may be a problem, as your contacts have very little English, remember this is a Spanish resort.

    Knowing the area I have to say that the distance from town is almost ideal, away from from all the noise but only 5€ by taxi and still within walking distance. This is a well proportioned property with a massive terrace ideal for almost all day sun. The furnishings are comfortable and everything is spotless with room service every 2 days. The bathroom is of a good size, no bath but the shower is both hot and powerful, ideal to relax after a hard days relaxing. The whole apartment has airconditioning which is a must for Costa tropical summer's.

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The bathroom tap dripped constantly and the kitchen cupboard door was hanging off due to a leaky tap. We only saw 1 of the staff and I think that was due to being out of season. A slight disappointment was the bed and the shower was cleaned 2 days before we was due to leave and that was the only time! We had to mop the floors and take our rubbish out but we didn't complain because all in all we had a lovely holiday and despite everything else we would go back for the andalusian hospitality.

    The apartment itself was lovely and comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Directions were worse than useless ( the 40 minute journey took 3 hours) on, eventual, arrival there was no one in the locked building. A few phone calls later (30 minutes) we gained entry. In the morning there were insect bites to deal with. Location poor.

    Ample space, rental cost reasonable.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The drains smelt a bit. The toilet seat was very loose. The lift stuck shut at our 2nd floor, 3 times.

    It was February and yet we were warm due to the aircon .The views were great. The self catering was good.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing bad to say!

    Spacious clean apartment with good sized terrace and lovely views of the mountains and over the town. Although quite a way from the sea, it was less than five minute drive in the car. By far the biggest 2-bed apartment we've stayed in. Our small dog was welcome. At the top of the street was a beautiful Roman Aquaduct with kids play area.we will definitely be returning.

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    We had a property there just sold great spot we rented as we were moving poor equipment no kettle fuses kept blowing shame as could be very nice just wants a bit spent on it like blinds Tec I would return but not to number 21 we rented a 1 bed last year much better I think if owner supplied discomfort they would have more people return every year

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool was not open at the times it was supposed to be and this was the main point we booked this property - because it had a decent looking pool.

    The apartment was beautiful.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything all right. We missed some minor details in the kitchen : a cork-screw, a palette knife, a small carving board and two breakfast or salad bowls.

    In January it was calm and beautiful place. Great view, lot of sunshine on the terrace.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Quite a long walk to town.

    View from the terrace. The staff were helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    No wifi. Reception only available via telephone

    Spacious appartment. Historic look of building . Free parking

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    run down part of town a long way from any open businesses or restaurants

    nice apartment, well appointed

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit far away from amiaties

    The apartment was lovely views beautiful

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bad smell in the bathroom and the small TV with only Spanish speaking channels

    The view from the balcony and the layout of the apartment.

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    location next to friends

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Long uphill walk back from town/beach area.

    Great views.

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: