Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Altamar 3 stars

Avenida La Cornisa, 21, 35130. Puerto Rico, Spain

#36 of 99 hotels in Puerto Rico

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 136 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    5.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money apartment in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Amazing balcony with table/chairs and sunbeds. Ideal to get out of bed and lay in the sun if you do not wish to use the pool/beach. Went self catering and the apartment had everything I needed. Friendly cleaner came everyday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    8.3
    One relaxing night at Altamar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the terrace was great! Bed was comfortable too. Silent and relaxing. Didn't use pool area, restaurant or bar at hotel = can't say anything about them facilities.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    8.3
    Would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better choice of ciders behind the bar. Wifi should be free as you do pay a bit above average for the area.

    The accommodation has a view second to none the facilities are good / if we thought any different. I don't think we would have stayed now seven times. I think that speaks for it self.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    9.2
    Will definitely return here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Having to leave that bed!

    The food was excellent The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, we just didn't want to get out of it The size of the balcony on room 88A it was immense and the view was absolutely stunning. The onsite supermarket was well stocked with a good selection. Excellent reception staff, nothing was too much trouble, very helpfull

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    My young daughter liked the pools.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    4 euro's to get to the beach even though it was advertised as being 450 yards from the hotel when in reality it was 1.5 kilometres away

    My young daughter liked the pools. Nice view, shop on site was very handy

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    5.8
    The Apartment was comfortable with table and chairs and two...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lifts were a nightmare, sometimes it could take 20 mins to get to pool, or dining room, stairs every where , if you have a pram or walking difficulties you will have a problem, kids club cost 5 euros each child per time , one day it was 10 euros per child as they were watching the Cars movie (the old one ) you had to pay for tv hire, kettle hire, Air conditioning hire, Safe, Wi Fi, food was sometimes cold so a microwave in the dining room would be useful, was all inclusive, drinks were on tap the wine was disgusting sangria was ok , would not return,

    The Apartment was comfortable with table and chairs and two sun loungers, so if you did not want to go to the pool or beach you could lay on the balcony and sunbathe, Food was plentiful and always empty tables, nice views , good supermarket in the hotel with a good choice of beer, wine, food if you were self catering, everywhere was clean, Lauderette on site if needed., rooms were cleaned daily with a change of towels if needed

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.6
    Was better than i expected!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views were amazing, even with an overcast day, your so high up you still catch a tan. Complexs with resturants and bar/pubs are walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    6.3
    Suprised and disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lift which was taking over 20 mins to go from hotel room to reception. The fact that going to the beach takes 25 mins walk was a huge inconvenience.

    Hotel view was the only thing that I fancied here apart from that and the room was quite comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    8.8
    I loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just one lift for too many floors and apartments/people. Sometimes there were no parking spots available. The pool - too many people.

    Exelent for the price. I would stay again there. You have everything for your vacation - comfortable, beautiful view, relatively clean, kind personal ....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    10
    Excellent stay, with entertainment every night and pleasant staff at hand.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything and would definitely go back.

    Excellent accommodation for the price. Well impressed with the pillows provided and the cleaning staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    5.8
    Cheap,nice view,good mattresses and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was dirty by the pools.The food and service in the restaurant was awful! I had the worst meal in my life in that restaurant (a la carte). It was totally overpriced food and drinks. A lot of the other guests were British, and there was a lot of drinking, shouting and quarreling. Our children got scared from it. The elevator was another disaster! Too small for a fully booked hotel with seven floors.

    Cheap,nice view,good mattresses and friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    9.2
    Very recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I paid for wifi and that was very poor. Little far away from beach for family with small children. Long waiting time for a lift in meals hours.

    Every room has beutiful view. Very nice pools with lots of sunbeds. Local Spar shop with good choice and prices. Close to shopping center.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    8.8
    3rd time around. And not the last . . . .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Club Room -Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast buffet: The hot dishes - like scrambled/fried eggs, pancakes, spanish omelet - was precooked and lukewarm to semi-cold Some of the rooms are a bit outdated. However, the hotels is in the process of refurbishing the rooms. (I have seen some of the 'new' rooms, looks absolutely ok and up to date) And, this hotel has by far more 'positives' than 'negatives'. Hence living in one of the 'old rooms' does not spoil anything. For me, anyway

    Breakfast buffet with a wide selection Location. On the 'second ridge from downtown Puerto Rico', but still Large terrace with sunbeds Sun on the terrace from approx 8:30 in the morning to around 18:00 (Room 135, end April) Two pools The staff

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Great break away 😄
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More privacy from room/ balcony!!! you walk onto your own balcony & in via patio doors( I.e ...was open plan). So sunbathing, & eating on balcony was uncomfortable as people walking past. Felt it was not wheelchair or disability friendly as you needed to still use stairs no matter what floor on. To get to your room. (Unless they have rooms I don't know of.

    Helpful, friendly staff. Shop,hairdressers/nails/ massage all on site. Great swimming pools (2) bar,restaurant (nice food). Fab location!! Cleaner every other day to change towels, clean etc. Just loved it!!!!!!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    9.6
    Another fantastic stay in my favourite place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults + 2 Children) - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested a high level room and got a lower level with no view due to trees in front of balcony, I didn't complain though as the location to the restaurant and pool outweighed the lack of views from a high level room

    I keep returning to this Aparthotel as the staff are second to none and my wife and I have become very friendly with all the staff over the years. The food is great, the rooms are big and airy and the all Inclusve drinks package is value for money. At dinner time although there was an overwhelming choice of food I said to one of the waiters that I would have liked some pizza, the next thing I know I received a pizza free of charge. I will be back again next year.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Group
    • Double Room with Sea View without Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Brilliant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Sea View without Balcony
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entertainment was a bit poor

    I will be going again next year lovely food brill staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    8.8
    the spacious shower and huge balcony/terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wouldve liked an oven! Seperate beds pushed together. The hotel food was poor

    the spacious shower and huge balcony/terrace

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    7.5
    Wiew nice terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (2 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet 18 euro for week and no air-condition in room !

    Wiew nice terrace

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    10
    Great value and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (3 Adults) - Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location,easy access to bars,restaurants etc all within a few minutes walk. Spa shop on site.lovely views.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    10
    Loved everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The entertainment could of been a little louder and go on for a little bit more instead of finishing early.

    Loved everything Gazza a great guy! Very funny!

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    8.8
    The view was simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They had some problems with the elevator and we had to take the stairs from 1st to 6th floor... That happened on 2 or 3 occasions (different days)..

    The view was simply amazing! It was what you'll expect from such an island. From the price / quality POV.. no complaints.

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2016

    10
    Great hotel, wonderful view, good location in a quiet spot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great hotel, wonderful view, good location in a quiet spot on the Hills above Amadores. We vad a room close to reception. We also had a rental car, because it is a steep walk from beach to hotel, we could choose to walk or drive. Best hotel i ever stayed at in Puerto rico!

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    7.9
    Set on a perfectly southern slope, with a private terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Puerto Rico and the immediately surrounding area is a "tourist ghetto". Not all tourists are particularly well-behaved. This hotel, being somewhat upscale for the area, is a little oasis, though.

    Set on a perfectly southern slope, with a private terrace just at the entry, this place is perfect for basking in the winter sun. Unusually good swimming pools which allow...swimming.

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2016

    6.7
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows hard, no information booklet in room to browse through.

    Location Lovely sea view Large Balcony

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    The view was excellent and staff very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The view was excellent and staff very friendly

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    The room was lovely and the facilities were excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No bad experience

    The room was lovely and the facilities were excellent

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: