Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Aparthotel Senator Barcelona 3 stars

Vía Augusta, 167, Sarrià-St. Gervasi, 08021 Barcelona, Spain

#801 of 1,300 Holiday rentals in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 573 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.7

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 63

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    4.6
    Not good but we enjoyed city and portaventura
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The price charge is too much for the hotel compared with my experience with other hotels in Miami Florida and World touris centre Dubai- it's totally ripped off to charge €219 a night for this hotel. No gym, No swimming pool, No breakfast also air condition need attention. Not for me anymore when next I visit lovely city of Barcelona. Thank you lovely people of Barcelona

    None

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    5.5
    A pleasant enough stay but the air-con really does need sorting out before we would return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Air-con in our room (502) was very noisy and didn't chill the room sufficiently to be comfortable through the night.

    Quiet neighbour-hood and access to public transport. Some lovely eateries within a few metres of the apartment. Staff were very pleasant and thankfully spoke good English(better than our Children's Spanish)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    5.0
    Average at very best.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Turned up to find out we had been put in a temporary apartment for a night and would be moved into our new and correct apartment in the morning. They did not explain, we hadn't to properly check out and check back in as though we were leaving which seems ridiculous??? We went the following morning and were told to return later that day.. we did and they then explained they had put someone else in our apartment as we should have checked out at 12 (we went to reception that morning to change and this wasn't mentioned, nor had it been mentioned since we arrived). So now 2 out of our 7 night stay we're in a tiny little apartment, not like what we wanted or what we had paid for. The staff were very rude and abrupt when we had asked why they didn't explain the room change procedure. They said we could use their car park for the duration of our stay and then, at checkout, asked us for further €168 for the privelige. We refused to pay this as no charge had ever been mentioned prior to us leaving and just think it is a money making exercise. They very quickly backed down about the parking charge which also seemed suspect to me. We managed to enjoy our stay regardless but it was no thanks to the poor reception.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    3.8
    The fotos don't match the rooms they don't look...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place and the rooms

    The fotos don't match the rooms they don't look alike, broken restroom, Larry but i wouldn't come back and will not recommend

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful basic apartment hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The door key was old fashioned, not key card. There was no restaurant or other food service at the hotel besides the breakfast. There was no closet or other place to keep outdoor clothes or shoes. The air condition was good but noisy.

    It was a peaceful location with a super market across street. Basic breakfast was included. The staff was friendly. Nice apartment room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    6.3
    Comfy, clean and silent but the staff did not pay attention to booking details.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the staff didn't pay attention to our booking details, they asked for extra charge in order to get breakfast.

    I liked the fact that our room had a separate bed.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    7.1
    Clean
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    High price for ground floor small double room we requested one big bed they give us two and that was bad and refused to modify it?????????expensive

    Clean Quiet Friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    3.8
    Poorly maintained old fashioned unpractical Hotel of early 90's
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly designed room for 4 persons lacking space, non announced 3 steps stair in the room, dangerous inside gliding wall between sleeping and living room. Impossible to park in front of hotel for unloading. Impossible access for disabled people, difficult moving with bags due to stairs and small lift. Only 1 lift

    Good location in North area of Barcelona

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Nice and clean place in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom door handle was broken, I've requested double bed and extendable sofa, instead we've received two single beds, a fix sofa and a camping bed, but they offered to change the room

    Close to most of the attractions, perfect for families with children

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.5
    Room was clean, and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not great value for money but left it a bit last minute.....Cheap TV remote had no facility to change language, not a major thing, just annoying when you're restricted to staying in.

    Room was clean, and modern. Decent location, in nice area of Barca

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    7.5
    Good enough standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The proximity to Pl. Cataluna is not really walking and the location can be hardly described as central.

    The room was spacious enough and the big bed was really comfy. We didn't book breakfast at the hotel and would recommend everyone to do the same as there are so many bakeries right next to the hotel that we struggled to choose and ate at a different one every morning. Also, if you ever get tired of eating tapas for dinner, there is an amazing Italian restaurant La Tagliatella where we had the best pizza outside of Italy.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    7.1
    Good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast Not proper for disabled and baby stroller No kettle Single toilet Poor and tiny restaurant

    Good price Near metro station Good room with kitchen Clean Friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2016

    8.3
    Totally recommend it!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a good option if you want to stay close to the center of the city

    Really comfortable hotel with big, clean and cosy rooms. Nice staff, cool breakfast options. It's a little more expensive than the average hotel but it definitely worths it! I loved it!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    5.8
    ...
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...

    ...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    7.9
    Nice location and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Loft with Terrace - Groud Floor
    • Stayed 27 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit pricy in comparison to others. Would be great to revise some prices.

    Nice location and very helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great little hotel. Clean comfortable. Would recomend to others
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfortable bed. Plain but good breakfast. So close to Metro. Very convenient in a nice area

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice rooms, solid breakfast, receptionists always great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smell from drains in the bathroom, no help but put paper towels to stop bad smell.

    Nice rooms, solid breakfast, receptionists always great.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Penthouse is great!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Penthouse with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    Penthouse is great! Looking forward to go back there soon!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice staff. Close to underground.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    3.3
    Terrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Camas incomodas Olor desagradable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.5
    Good accommodation and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fairly expensive.

    Great location. Clean. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    7.5
    Pleasant and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing much

    Kitchen and reception

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.5
    It's ok
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All ok

    Didn't do breakfast as exspensive

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    6.7
    Expensive for the value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our apartment wasn't as nice as the photos.

    Cleaning, confortable and it's near metro

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    10
    A bit refreshing would be nice but nothing tl complain about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit refreshing would be nice but nothing tl complain about.good quality/price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    5.0
    Not too bad
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights

    From room to room the quality is absolutely unconsistent.

    Price, location are quite good

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    10
    Perfect stay with excellent price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Penthouse with terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Central location to the attractions

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    7.5
    Few steps away to the Metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con wasn't cold enough inside the room

    Few steps away to the Metro

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    5.4
    just good location...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • One-Bedroom Apartment (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    very dark room, old bathroom that did not look clean enough

    good location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Loft with Terrace - Groud Floor
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The remote for the tv had dine sort of issues and didn't work.

    Nice big spacious room and bathroom with my own outside area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    10
    Excellent place
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was all good!

    I liked the penthouse upgrade.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    6.7
    Watch out for windows!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom was tiny for 3 people staying in the room. Lack of window in the main bedroom made it really stuffy at times.

    Clean and modern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    6.7
    Rooms were small but comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Felt a bit crowded due to size of room. Bathroom fixtures needed repair.

    Rooms were small but comfortable. Place was clean. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    8.3
    The kitchen
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The kitchen

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    5.0
    Very shabby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very shabby

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    6.3
    Fair space of the apartment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walls extremely thin, during the night we heard our neighbour snoring...

    Fair space of the apartment.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    5.8
    Excellent staff but below average rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paper thin walls, could hear our neighbours snoring and coughing. Small, old and dark room

    Helpful and professional staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    perfect location, very clean, nice staff, good wifi signal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with Kitchen - Ground Floor
    • Stayed 4 nights

    perfect location, very clean, nice staff, good wifi signal

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    6.7
    I like the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like to more communicate for stuff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    5.4
    AC
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    AC

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2016

    7.1
    Great location: very close to the Muntaner station, quiet...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No clothes washer and small kitchen - something good to have if you're staying for a week or more. Bathroom and bedroom door did not close properly.

    Great location: very close to the Muntaner station, quiet place, clean rooms. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    6.3
    Near to the hospital
    • Family with young children

    Small/one elevator hardly enough for my daughter stroller No A/C in the room, a sliding window between the room and the living room so AC passed through Noisy,, voices easily heard from other rooms Poor breakfast

    Near to the hospital

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    5.0
    The staff was friendly and ready to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not really sure what I paid for. The rooms were exceptionally small, and in one you even had to move the bed aside to open the bathroom door. The overall condition of the rooms was poor - they really need an upgrade. The breakfast was nothing to write home about - it was pretty lackluster. I would not stay here again.

    The staff was friendly and ready to help. Location was fine, and easy to find. Right downtown.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    7.5
    Great place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Building maintenance needs to be improved a little bit. The appartments facing Via Augusta (a 4 lane highway) are great if you don't mind not being able to carry a conversation without shouting through the noise from the traffic outside if a window is open. It helps to close it, but not enough to settle down and achieve the peace of mind you're looking for after you unpack and take your shoes off. They should replace the windows with noiseblocking windows. The bathroom door was impossible to close because of swelling in the floor from moisture. The staff should've spoken better English, but that is more of a problem in general in Spain than with this hotel in particular.

    Great place. Modern. Lots of space, very tastefully decorated and cosy. The staff was very friendly, professional and intent on doing everything they could to be of assistance. The interior design is top notch. The elevation of the bedroom and the sliding glass windows between it and the livingroom created a unique atmosphere.

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    10
    The place was great value for money and very comfortable but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The carpet in the elevator :-)

    The place was great value for money and very comfortable but the best thing was the staff they were extremely helpful no matter who was there I will definitely come here again

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    8.8
    Great value for money, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing we were not satisfied - bad smell at bathroom facilities. Probably water circulation problem. Although room was clean and hotel staff every day took care of it.

    Great value for money, good location.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.4
    We liked the location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We didn't like the smell of cigarettes; the smell in the bathroom was awful too; The WC was not disinfected! The bathroom door is just next to your head during your sleep in the main room

    We liked the location!

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2015

    6.3
    Responsive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Rooms need renovation. The furniture is very old. In room 502 Seats of chairs were broken. Very expensive parking and it is located two streets away.

    Responsive staff. The room has everything you need to travel with the children. Convenient location. Free and fast wi-fi.

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    5.8
    Room was ok, noisy from traffic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    "Kitchenette' was just plates and microwave, no kettle, teabags, or fridge room apart from small minibar. No corkscrew either. No help there from staff. Site said 10 minutes walk from Diagonal station - more like 30. There is a station outside, Mutuner, which strangely doesn't appear on metro plans. Take line 6. Supermarket nearby but closes early.

    Room was ok, noisy from traffic.

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    8.3
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Although location is central, you still have to commute to where the action is.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. Wifi in the rooms with nice speed.

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    5.4
    location nearby Metro station, Montaner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff speaks poor English. Need to be more friendly. Room 104 needs more privacy & natural lights. No night life. Room dated & need refurbishing.

    location nearby Metro station, Montaner. Quiet.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    6.7
    Hotel is closely location to the public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed of the hotel needed repair. Room Furnishings were very old. Hotel uses the common passage for serving breakfast. No sound proofing

    Hotel is closely location to the public transportation. Small room with a tiny kitchen still value for money

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    6.3
    The bed was uncomfortable and there is not enough light in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The bed was uncomfortable and there is not enough light in the living area. All in need of renovation.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    9.6
    Good place, view to the ocean ,private parking space ,all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Good place, view to the ocean ,private parking space ,all facilities in apartment

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    7.9
    Perfect location for a city break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Perfect location for a city break. Less than a minute walk to the metro station and a 5 mins walk to the high street.

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    3.3
    Rooms aren't as nice as they look on the pictures!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Rooms aren't as nice as they look on the pictures! Bed was very low quality, shower was broken, bathroom didn't look very clean.

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    8.3
    Room were neat and clean and looked fancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    You could hear people all around you walking, the room wasn't sound proof enough.

    Room were neat and clean and looked fancy. Internet was fast.

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2015

    5.8
    Good location helpfully staff
    • Couple

    There was no internet for more than 3 days breakfast is poor

    Good location helpfully staff

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    7.5
    Nice and clean apartment staff was friendly but far from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nice and clean apartment staff was friendly but far from city center and airport

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2015

    5.4
    Location was fab 3 stops centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor cleanliness

    Location was fab 3 stops centre

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.3
    Nice apartment
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Strange odor in the Bathroom

    Nice apartment

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2015

    6.7
    the smell from the bathroom
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    the smell from the bathroom no windows cover so i couldnt open the windows being afraid of insects

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2015

    9.2
    El tamaño de la habitación es muy comodo
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    El tamaño de la habitación es muy comodo

There are also 33 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 63

Guests also reviewed these properties: