Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AinB Born-Dames Apartments

Damas, 1, Ciutat Vella, 08003 Barcelona, Spain

#987 of 1,300 Holiday rentals in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 121 apartment reviews

7.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.2

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    6.3

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    7.9
    Lovely cosy place. Excellent location. Toilet has some troubles flushing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The fact that I was not informed beforehand to collect the keys at another location than where the apartment was actually at. Upon arrival I had to call the general reception and walk with my luggage for 5-10 minutes to collect my keys elsewhere and then back.

    Location is the best!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    4.6
    The apartment needs cleaning and maintenance. DO NOT STAY HERE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    An email with all the check in information was sent two hours prior to the check in time, which was to late. There were dirty sheets and overflowing storage in the stairwell. The bedroom sheets were stained. The bathroom door did not work and the shower was broken. Very poor value based on the cost of the room. I would never recommend this location to another person.

    The location was excellent

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    4.6
    I would not stay with AinB Apartments again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The apartment came with only one toilette paper role (that wasn't even full!) and was never replenished. There was no soap on arrival either. For nearly $200 dollars a night I was quite disappointed. Furthermore, when we went to collect our luggage at the main office to catch pre-arranged taxi to the airport, the office was locked closed. A sign said someone would be back in 10 minutes. The minutes rolled by and after my repeatedly calling, someone finally arrived to open the office 45 minutes later. Needless to say, we were very anxious we would miss our international flight. Luckily after a very hectic stint in the airport, we did make our flight, but life would have been much less stressed if the main office was open like we were told it would be.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    4.6
    Lack of maintenance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dirty linen in the entrance was NOT welcoming. No hooks for outdoor clothing (we bought one to hang over a door). Just ONE mug (we bought another one). Bed was very hard. Loads of dust under the bed - our black suitcases were white of dust when we pulled them out. Table too low for the chairs - inconveniant. Maintenance was rubbish. Lots of smaller things (knob on the shower door, doorstop, window film, fire alarm instruction board, drapery / curtain were missing or lost). Cleaning was not to satisfaction. Coffee maker not emptied, floor dirty.

    Well situated in Born. Close to Lulu café (great for brunch), restaurants, shops, the beach etc Appreciated to have a water kettle and coffee maker for breakfast at home. Calm and quiet.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    3.3
    This was completely not like the photos on the booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was completely not like the photos on the booking.com site. I would highly recommend not staying here. Terrible facilities and not worth the money.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    6.0
    Good location but poorly maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I sent an email prior to arrival to know where to pick up the keys but never had an answer, I had to call on my arrival at the airport . The first night, the heater didn't work, it was fixed the next day but the first night we were really cold as there are no extra blankets, we looked for it under the bed but found only a lot of dust! The door between the bathroom and the bedroom is transparent: let say that it's not the best for privacy!! The shower was leaking on the floor after each shower! The kitchen shelf is broken and will fall down pretty soon Those are not big problems taken one by one but when you sum them up you realize that this company is the owner of dozens of appartement in Barcelona, they don't really care about customer as there will always be tourists coming and paying high price for poorly maintained places, It's a shame because with a small investment/maintenance it could be really nice

    The location is great to visit Barcelona

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    8.8
    Would stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be nice to have few packages of tea and sugar, and also some samples of shampoo can be handy so you don't have to go and buy huge bottle than you leave in a trash bean when you leave

    The bed was comfortable and everything was really clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    So close to everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite difficult to find the location of the office using google maps and being from a foreign country with no Spanish language.

    So close to everything!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    3.3
    Poor, property not as advertised on website
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unsecured (windows and door unlocked on arrival) Cold, poor heating facilities. Unclean. Not representative of images shown when booking. Only one pillow between 2 people. No proper bedding/duvet No amenities No toilet paper Entrance blocked from inside, difficult to get suitcase through door. Unfriendly staff on main reception Lift opens directly into bedroom so very noisy when other guests get into lift.

    Good central location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    8.8
    Overall very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smaller than expected, no freezer compartment in the fridge and no pans for cooking.

    Location is great, it was very clean and the staff in the office were very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    5.8
    Not good value for the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    You have to go to a central location to pick up keys during very limited hours. The person checking us in was overwhelmed with office desk calls and texts on her cell phone making the process very long. The property we booked was not available, why I have no idea, and we were forced to move to a new location. The wall decor of the room was really bad huge multicolored cartoon figures of "cute" young girls out on the town.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    6.3
    The location was perfect.
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small, ok for a solo traveller but not for two people with large suitcases. The window had no curtain so let in blinding light in the afternoons if trying to nap. The shower also didn't drain.

    The location was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.3
    Didn't live up to expectations.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception was a ten minute walk from the apartment. The electronic key didn't work and a replacement had to be delivered after a complaint was made. The aircon didn't work. The toilet seat was loose. Really disappointing.

    Good location, comfortable bed and good shower. Secure direct entry via lift.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    5.8
    Barcelona the city is amazing for all age groups. Would highly recomend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very disappointed with our balcony. My partner and myself could not get out on to our balcony as it was used as a storage for all 5 apartments air conditioning units, mops, buckets , ashtrays, brooms etc. This wouldn't have been an issue but I specifically asked for a balcony for this holiday which meant I was disappointed on arrival. I did let the host know straight away when he first showed us the apartment but that was the last one available so he was unable to do anything. I felt it was not clear that we were to collect keys from reception rather than apartment. I called on arrival thinking we would meet the guy at our apartment as I had pre paid and pre informed him of my arrival time. Instead we had to take detour to the reception which was about 1 km away. It would have been less an issue if I was staying for a longer period of time as it is not such a rush to get into city knowing you have longer but this did take a little time out of our holiday.

    Good, safe location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    5.0
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were informed at check-in that the apartment we had booked was not available due to plumbing problems. We were taken to a different apartment at a nearby location. It was not what we expected. It was very small, no windows, and extremely poor sound-proofing. We were very disappointed, but accepted as we had no time to look for other options. We were not compensated in any way for this obvious inconvenience. A major disappointment, especially considering the price.

    Great location.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    10
    when can we return?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reviews talking about the noise at night are correct but really you can't have it all seeing as you're in one of the best spots of the city!

    Central location, clean and comfortable apartment.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    8.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pictures were deceptive and the apartment was smaller than we thought it would be. Also only one mug and one wine glass, just needs someone to check the kitchen ware

    The location was excellent if you wanted to be between the centre and the beach/marina

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    9.2
    Tiny, but modern and bright.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen facilities were poor. One pot, a faulty kettle, leaky coffee machine!

    Modern bathroom, large shower. Tiny apartment but still bright and cheerful. Couldn't ask for a better location.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    3.8
    Dont go there
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The "apartment" was tiny and not clean. It was raining and water came in through the door. They switched the door key and didnt notify us so we ended up waiting outside for 40 min in the rain. and... the bath door broke down.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    7.9
    Really nice bed and the design of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the street. Broken shower.

    Really nice bed and the design of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    10
    100% recommends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Is central near to everywhere

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    7.5
    Amazing location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unreliable heating

    Amazing location!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    5.0
    Was ok but for the price could of been better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom needs some update

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location , very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot smaller than the pictures showed,

    Great location and the lift opens into the apartment which was cool

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    7.9
    I would go back - good location and comfortable bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Picking up keys from another location- should have been made clearr

    Great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    The aircon was broken and didn't work at its best
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The aircon was broken and didn't work at its best

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    NICE LOCATION
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small

    nice and cozy,wifi was faster than any other accommodation.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    8.8
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    small room but cozy

    good location I like the terrace.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    7.1
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The place is very small, the pictures are somehow deceiving.

    The location was great.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    3.3
    Dirty, old, very noisy
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dirty, old, very noisy

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Not exceptional but quite good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very small room, a bit noisy (very central), not as beautiful as on the official pictures

    Small kitchen available, very central

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small Terrace

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    6.5
    location , location, location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bad was terrible, the pillows where very uncomfortable , and it was even no soap in bathroom.

    location , location, location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2017

    6.7
    Wonderful sunny stay in a buzzy & friendly area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no kettle! Some basic toiletries... Soap was needed Softer pillows would be great

    The area The set up of the room Very clean

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    5.8
    Great location - apartment not amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Broken sink in bathroom. Pictures didn't look anything like the actual apartment - were far more complimentary than reality.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2016

    10
    Wonderfull!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Jet shower doesn't work very well...

    Wonderfull position, wonderfull apartment, wonderfull ad professional stuff! Super!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    5.0
    Seperate bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Apartment (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hard bed. Size of the appartment, very smal kitchenette.

    Seperate bathroom. Location is very good.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    6.3
    Very nice location but do not choose if you're looking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I've booked a car for airport transfer from the reception(which is in another street) for 3.30am but the taxi hasn't arrived.

    Very nice location but do not choose if you're looking for a silent, peaceful place. Streets are noisy because of the bars around all night.

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    8.3
    The location of the apartment was ideal for beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The kitchen area was not very well equipped.

    The location of the apartment was ideal for beach, restaurants, bars and shops and main town centre. Security and access to the apartment was good. Bike hire was very easy and allowed us to cycle the whole length of the marina with very little effort.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    8.8
    Location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location is perfect. Multiple restaurants and bars at walking distance. Located in a pedestrian area in a lively neighborhood. Love the atmosphere and the little balcony for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2015

    7.5
    The location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Would have been nice to have our room serviced rather than just towel drop offs. They should also inform you upon booking that the key pick up is at a different location.

    The location was great. Perfect for a short stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2015

    6.7
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were put in room 5 on the top floor which initially sounded nice but was not at all what was advertised. The "balcony" was a small outdoor area with a high wall which housed all the aircons of the entire block. These blasted hot air and you could not stand in the space. So it was not quaint and looking out on the street as shown in the pictures. The aircon in that room was also broken and it was tiny (we were expecting small but this was ridiculous) For some reason the noise was also very bad at the top floor (building works) We complained and they moved us into room 2 which was much better and what we had hoped for / expected. The staff were good about helping us out but if you do book be sure you do not get room 5. I feel it is not very honest to rent that one out at the same rate and specs as the others.

    Nice location. We were happy one moved to room 2. The bathroom was bigger and the space in general was a lot nicer with darker curtains to keep out the light.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    9.6
    Amazing location and gorgeous apartment perfect for a short...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Staff at reception are very slow

    Amazing location and gorgeous apartment perfect for a short break

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    5.4
    The location between Born and Barceloneta
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The cleaness, the overall equiment of the flat, 183€ is way overpriced for this level

    The location between Born and Barceloneta

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    7.0
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Size for 2 very small - kitchen with left overs

    Location Friendly staff:-) Will return

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2015

    7.1
    Located in Born, very nice neighbourhood.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A leakage of Some time ago damaged the wall and fungus makes it dirty and smelling bad.

    Located in Born, very nice neighbourhood. Modern small room.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    8.8
    Great location, everything looked brand new
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was not super comfortable - plus as two singles pushed together, was not ideal for a couple

    Great location, everything looked brand new

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47

Browse AinB Born-Dames Apartments traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: