Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of AinB B&B Eixample-Muntaner

Muntaner, 4, Eixample, 08011 Barcelona, Spain

#272 of 307 B&Bs and Inns in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 174 B&B reviews

6.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.4

  • Comfort

    6.1

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    5.9

  • Staff

    6.6

  • Value for money

    5.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 40

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2018

    10
    Adorable b&b
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why start asking for bad things first? Start this questions asking the good things first booking. Com! Everything was just perfect, absolutely nothing to complain about! That is one of the reasons I hate these kind of reviews.

    Everything! Nice and very friendly host, clean and comfortable room, good breakfast, perfect location, just all we expected for the price. Absolutely great

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.7
    Nice enough
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No clear indication at street level of the appartments being at No 4. And no indication on the emails or in the block as to which floor the appartments are on. But a Massive sign right at the interior door! The bed was very hard, and breakfast was limited for somone who doesn't like/can't eat eggs. Maybe some cereal would be nice to have on offer and a sign at ground floor?

    Location is amazing especially to the buzzy Gothic quarter which we loved. The room was spacious and perfectly adequate for a short stay, only let down buy limited comfortable furniture.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    5.0
    Minimal at best. More like a hostel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed is BASIC and includes a sheet. No comforter. The plumbing in the bathroom has a pump that sounds of a Harley Davidson next to your bed all night. Towels are not willingly provided. Don’t expect common travel amenities like soap, shampoo, etc. The shower barley fits one person. The walls are paper thin so you get to hear all the inhabitants singing with babies crying. Parking is available across the street for $25 euro per day with very strict weekend hours.

    The place photographs amazingly well. Good location to all the bars and nightlife. Easy to miss the location. Nifty app to unlock your door. That’s it.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    6.7
    Good location, but it is only for not demanding clients
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room look much worst in reality than on the photos. The room was supposed to be soundproof and it was definitely not! It was loud from the street. The bed was really uncomfortable, the toilet was noisy and we had something broken with shower, because the floor was full of water after showering with closed door. We couldn't close the door of the room, because the look was broken.

    Good location, nice way for a keys receiving. We choosed it because there was a breakfast included.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Horrible place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Old furniture, hole in the wall, the walls in the room were dirty, no breakfasts at all. The door lock to the toilet broke down at night so we could not open it and had to wait...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    3.3
    Very dodgy!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The b&b is not advertised anywhere from the street! You have to buzz an apartment number yet there is no way to know which one. Upon arrival it turns out you are staying in the apartment of a lady who advertises the rooms. I arrived to a mother and a screaming baby. The lady clearly rents out the rooms as a way of making extra money whilst she can stay at home. Beyond that theres no customer service. she reluctantly asked if i needed wifi. My key into the apartment did not work so i could not stay out late and the door to my room did not lock so anyone could have walked in during the night! I emerged from my room at 9am. no sight of anyone or breakfast! My room was also much smaller than pictured and more basic. bed cover was also dirty. For the same price my colleague stayed in a hotel across the road!!!!!!!

    Nothing. Not acceptable that room advertised as a b&b is actually the private apartment of a lady who simply advertises other rooms in the apartment

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    3.8
    Definitely we won't go back - very disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Host and staff are unprofessional. The breakfast was just appalling. We had breakfast there just once, then we preferred to have it elsewhere. They offered us an omelet - we didn't fancy it but there were no real alternative apart from some stale confectionery, cereals and unappealing ham and cheese. Cutlery were not clean. There were no napkins but as replacement a roll of toilet paper! The room we had (E6) was spacious but very noisy, dusty and for some odd reason stank of cooking (especially the bathroom). We had to keep the windows always opened (even at night). When we arrived, the doorkeeper showed us a lift that is a real safety hazard (walls are plasterboard and carton-board kept in place with adesive tape). A day later we found out that there is a second (more safe) lift. The bathroom is good size but it would benefit from a refurbishment - or at least it should cleaned with bleach to remove the mould. We stayed 5 nights - we had towels changed only once. The rubbish bin was emptied only once.

    The accommodation it is very central and close to close to restaurants, shops and public transport.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    4.6
    The apartment per se was nice, bright and with nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The apartment was not what I have booked and looked different from online pictures; I thought I would have had a room in the main building (the one corresponding to the address showed online), which I'd have preferred, but I was located in an apartment in a secondary street, which was not so nice. I paid for breakfast to be then told in that apartment breakfast was not included, but had no refund for this, nor excuses. The towels were tired and had some holes and bed linen were not very clean. So overall, quite expensive for what I have actually had. I would have appreciated to be informed I would have been located in a different building, as I would have probably chosen to go somewhere else.

    The apartment per se was nice, bright and with nice furniture. Easy to reach with public transportation, walking distance from Placa Catalunya.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    2.9
    Do not go to this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Staff not nice room not properly cleaned furniture is poor linens and towels were changed twice in 8 days!!!!!! Breakfast very poor Holes in the walls very cheap place

    Very good location

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    3.3
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in was supposed to be at 3 pm and when we arrive the room was dirty and smelly And the patio was full of dust

    Rude reception shouting the whole on me and my friend, she didn't care about the reputation of her work place,what shocked me the most was the way she treated the clean lady If you want a good time in Barcelona don't go there

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    5.8
    Misled and deceived
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property, at very short notice decided to move our booking to a different location without consultation. When I complained, they moved us again to a different location (the room was admittedly better). The location was however further away from our family and friends who booked nearby our first location. We paid for bed and breakfast which we didn't get. When I complained I was told we we didn't book for breakfast, and upon providing proof I was told that I could have breakfast at a different location! This was after the second night of our three night stay, so in essence we could have breakfast 1 morning (despite having paid for three) but inconveniently not at our accommodation!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    3.3
    Don't chose this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a terrible experience. Would not recommend this place to anyone. The images of the place is deceiving. I booked a double room and was given a room the size of a broom closet.

    Nothing

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    5.0
    COLD WATER!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No view at all - Room smelt musty and there was no hot water so we could not have a shower the whole time we were there - there was no recompense for this and I feel it was a lot of money for what it was - we are returning in October but will be booking into a Hotel.

    The fact we could walk everywhere was good

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    9.2
    Best holidays
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Few things, just some crutches, some little loss of water from the shower....

    Dinky is a very special person, she manages this b&d in a very friendly way,making feel yourself like at home. She is available for every request always smiling! Fantastic woman. The b&b is an old restored apartment simply furnished but comprehensive of the essentials things. The accommodation is nicely located closest the metro stop. The apartment is very very clean and the bathroom too.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff was really helpful and friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tv didnt work. Had no signal on any channel

    The staff was really helpful and friendly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.9
    Convenient to old town, Jinky a fount of useful information.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Jinky was a wonderful hostess: friendly, helpful, kind, engaging personality. The owner is fortunate to have her on staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    3.3
    Nothing at all.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every single thing.

    Nothing at all.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    7.9
    Cheap and cheerful. Perfect for short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could be better signed on the front of the building. It took us a little while to figure out which building it was

    Lovely staff. Great location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.0
    AMAZING : Totally unfriendly and unpleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Service Staff

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no full length mirror in the room.

    The location was fantastic, the room was big and nice.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    5.8
    Nothing great, nothing fancy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Photos can be deceiving

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Jiggy is the best hotel lady ever!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Jiggy is the best hotel lady ever!!!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2017

    7.9
    The host Jinky is very friendly and helpful.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lift.

    The host Jinky is very friendly and helpful. She can speak very good English.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    9.2
    Location, polite & friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Non

    Location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    7.9
    Nice location in the city center with good connection to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The price was high, but it's because we came during the holiday time in May. Maybe normally it's not that high. The elevator was very nostalgic.

    Nice location in the city center with good connection to the metro, clean rooms, nice classy decoration, very good reliable wifi, very friendly and hardworking personal from the Philippines, her name is Jinki. She helped us with information for the city trip and made nice breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    8.8
    Great breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The apartment was not clearly marked at the down stairs entrance.

    Great breakfast. Lovely smartly furnished room and short walk to Catalonia Square. Manager [Jinky] welcomed us and was always very helpful and pleasant. A real gem.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    7.1
    The location was perfect and the staff was friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We coudn't see the marking of 'AinB B&B Eixample-Muntaner '

    The location was perfect and the staff was friendly and funny. Clean rooms and a good, basic breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    8.8
    The best thing of this AinB is the service of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was a big congress in Barcelona this week-end, the prices of the hotels were high. So, also this apartment was overpaid. The heating was not all functioning, but it was again the responsible person, that put a small heater in our room.

    The best thing of this AinB is the service of the responsible person, a woman of the Philippines. She is really a nice, warm-hearted woman, she spreads a good atmosphere and tries to satisfy your wishes. Breakfast is okay, but again the best: the omelette that this lady will prepare for you.

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    10
    It was our first trip to Barcelona Spain and Ain BnB made...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It was our first trip to Barcelona Spain and Ain BnB made the whole experience a memorable one. Our room overlooked the busy streets of Muntaner, we were within walking proximity of many fabulous restaurants that were literally outside our door step. The rooms and facilities were great, all with modern finishings. The staff were exceptional! We were graced with Jinky, the apartment manager whom provided us with local knowledge on all the sights to see and places to visit and eat. She made our stay that much more enjoyable. Highly recommend anyone to stay if visiting Barcelona! Especially being right in the centre of Catalunya and only a 10-15 minute walk from La Rambles. 10 out of 10!

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    10
    Thank you very much for super service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    everything was very good. price, place , bed , pillows everything

    Thank you very much for super service. Breakfast was brilliant , your omelet was somwthing special for us ;)

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    6.7
    The manager/owner was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noisy - room (7) is surrounded on all sides, next to the front entrance door/buzzer, the kitchen, backing on to the owners living quarters/the dining area, they played loud computer games/tv until late into the night, talking loud clattering of dishes etc into early hours. The air conditioning unit for other rooms is outside the bedroom window (which didn't close properly) and it sounds like a washing machine on full spin which is hard to sleep next to until 2am. The internal walls are very thin, the gap in the room door is wide so the shaft of light that hits the bed from the outside b&b entrance area is wide so you don't need the bedside lights which are unreachable from lying in bed anyway. No privacy in the room - the bathroom has a frosted glass door with no lock. Unsafe - recessed ceiling spot light in the bathroom hanging out on a wire a few inches from the shower enclosure. Irritating and inconvenient- the front entrance key to the b&b internal door doesn't work/ sticks in the lock, played with it for 5+ minutes each time coming in before we could get the door open or gave up and rang the doorbell. No glasses provided in the room for water. Only 2 single electric sockets one either side of the bed, well 1 really as the other is powering the fridge. The view was of an internal lightwell and noisy air conditioning units.

    The manager/owner was lovely. The breakfast was basic help yourself but you could eat as much as you wanted, the owner offered to cook fresh eggs. Excellent wifi signal which you'll need because you won't sleep.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    3.8
    Only the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the price that we paid was too much for what the b&b offers, the room was very small, there was noise from other rooms air conditioners and water pipes noise and smell bad, they brought us torn towels. and towels were dirty. Manager said she would change bed sheets every two days and did not. to climb the apartment was an old elevator that whenever you think that was about to happen something bad.....

    Only the location

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.6
    Very greatful thanks to Ms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Very greatful thanks to Ms. Jinky (housekeeper) for friendly and warm assistance. We were travelling together with my wife from 23.06.15 till 1.07.15 and like to tell our best regards to her. Every morning we received tasty omilettes, tea and coffee cooked by her as well as our room frequently cleaned. Even after the booking term completed she assisted to prolong the room for an additional day. Very nice location near the Universitat square, close to metro station. 10 minutes by walking to La Rambla street. We'd like to recommend AinB in Muntaner street to every traveller.

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    8.8
    We really enjoyed the apartment we finally ended up, it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The check in procedure was a bit messy, the address given in the voucher was not finally the right one and we had to take a new taxi to the other place. It was reimbursed, so it was okay, just a bit inconvenient.

    We really enjoyed the apartment we finally ended up, it was a cool penthouse with a really large balcony in the Gothic centre of Barcelona, everything close by.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    9.2
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower heads need fixing

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    9.2
    The most important things are staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The most important things are staff. Jinky is so kind. She helped us more. she is so happy and friendly. Also, the breakfast is good.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    6.7
    personal do what he can with very poor means
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    breakfast is a joke, more as insufficiant!

    personal do what he can with very poor means

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2015

    9.6
    Great location, although it's an apartment, it was still...
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, although it's an apartment, it was still private and was more like a hotel. Friendly staff and clean rooms.

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    6.3
    Location and price are ok
    • Couple

    Is not a real hotel

    Location and price are ok

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2015

    8.3
    good location, easy to get to plaza cataluyna, and metro is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    good location, easy to get to plaza cataluyna, and metro is very close by, the host jinky is great,

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 – 40

Guests also reviewed these properties: