Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aran La Abuela 3 stars

Avenida Castiero, 5, 25530 Vielha, Spain

#19 of 46 hotels in Vielha

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 748 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 23

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great value for money at this cosy and quirky family-run (or at least it feels that way!) hotel. Perfect location if you’re looking for something in town.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The girl at reception refused to speak Spanish, despite my advanced level . Only French or Catalan. Compared to other hotels in the aera (I'm in val d'aran 1/month) very poor breakfast, no tortilla, no spanish "Jamon " cheap hamm & cheese. No free parking.

    one apple for breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is not suitable for vegetarians. There is no free parking close to the hotel.

    The staff is friendly and does everything possible to make us pleasant. The pool is small but very special with spa elements.The hotel is located in the center of the main street.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The double bed in the leaflet certainly was not what we got. First time in Vielha and the view was another window and wall 3 feet away. not what i had imagined

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Bed was extremely hard!!

    The evening meal in the restaurant was absolutely fabulous. Lovely traditional cooking.!! The spa & pool area was great.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Sauna was on low heat /cold so couldnt use staff could of asked if we intended toi use and adjust in readiness, sauna bench seat broken.

    Value for money, facilities , comfort.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Over-priced - possibly our most unsatisfactory stay ever via booking.com. Surprised (and annoyed) to notice another booking.com reservation under our own on the desk on checking quoting a tariff nearly half our own charge. On arrival, only hot water came out of the cold tap - manager suggested we should buy bottled water locally. He obviously knew this to be a problem - why, then, was there no bottled water provided in the room? Had requested a room with a mountain view (this turned out to be a glimpse of a couple of peaks over the roofs opposite) and a quiet room (our room overlooked the main street, traffic and pedestrian noise continued until well into the small hours). The room's balcony was tiny and barely usuable. Very basic breakfast served in a dark, gloomy and over-crowded room with minimal window space apparently looking onto a wall. Cannot believe this place worthy of three stars. All in all, very disappointing and would not recommend. What a comparison to our previous night's stay elsewhere in the Pyrenees which was more than twice as good in all respects and at marginally more than half the cost of our night at Aran La Abuela.

    Very little

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were travelling with bikes, mentioned this in advance, and they were exceptionally accommodating. We were late in arriving, but mentioned this in advance and the staff saved us some dinner - we were so grateful!!! Fantastic staff, could not have been more helpful.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View and Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The car park was a few steps away but we enjoyed the security of it.

    This was a great example of a family run hotel. Service second to none. Loved the quirky décor, the spa and swimming pool, one of our favourite 2 hotels this entire 2 weeks on tour.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Second time we have been here. Staff is very helpful. Good breakfast. Fresh rolls, fruit, great coffee machine. Dinner was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We enjoyed our stay. The room was great, breakfast and especially dinner. We want to say a big gracias ☺️

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double or Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Quaint hotel comfortable bed if a little on the small side

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Stayed in June 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very funky, eclectic decor and wonderful, friendly staff. The room was immaculately clean, spacious and very comfortable. The bathroom was a highlight - not your typical EU closet, but a spacious retreat with a tub and shower with great water pressure and HOT water. Very much appreciated after a week of trekking through the countryside. A great market and plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby, and in the heart of the beautiful Val d'Aran. Also appreciated the nonsmoking rooms and the incredible view!

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nada, rien, nothing.

    Skiweek in Baqueira Beret. Great weather and snow, but we would have enjoyed this family-run hotel anyway. If only every 3-star hotel were like this! Cute après-ski saunas, pool...for tired muscles. Lots of delighted 8-year olds running about the hotel in the 17-18:00 time slot but not an issue. The food (take half board) was uniformly delicious and copious, 3 choices weighted toward fish, and often creative. If you're skiing (30 minutes to Beret parking lot - staying in Baqueira won't get you to the same spot any quicker - on heavy skier days there are bottlenecks in traffic though), take a garage spot (100 metre walk) and leave all your stuff in the car. French and Spanish clientele. Lots of restaurants and nice bars nearby (but who needs them if you're in this hotel, whose managers should give courses on how to run a hotel of this type well). We'll take the road back here from Arcachon in the future.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa facilities were not really up to date and were a bit cold (eg the turkish bad had not much vapour), but still it was wonderful to have it available and for free after a great day of skiing!

    They were really friendly and helpful, felt like being with the family. The breakfast was good, with fruits, pastry, cold meats, cheese, tortilla, cereals, bread, juices... Perfect for skiers! Dinner was really good and it was possible to get more of everything. Really yummy, comfort food with a great variety (among 4 starters and 3 main). Room was comfy and with enough space.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A smell of dust in the air.

    Very helpful staff (good English) provided valuable information about hiking treks in the area. Interesting decorations throughout the hotel

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No rugs/carpets in the room so very cold to the feet and I already had a cold so quite important at the time.

    Not at all pretentious. The meals were not haute cuisine but cheap and adequate with some courses very good occasionally.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in Room 407. The room overhead was very noisy - it sounded as if sliding doors were being moved frequently. The breakfast was much better on the first morning, a Wednesday, than the other two days.

    Cleanliness of room and bathroom, mountain view, reasonable breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    La chambre 105 est inhabitable( contigue à la machinerie du spa)

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Basic breakfast not a lot of choice. Staff were helpful thou.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the stuff bearly know english. the breakfast is very poor

    the decaration, the hotel is in really good place, close to everithing, the room was amazing

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    In the centre of this charming town. Lots of interesting places to explore. Only twenty minute drive to an excellent ski resort.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 23

Guests also reviewed these properties: