Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Arte Vida

Carretera Nacional 340, Km 79.3, 11380 Tarifa, Spain

#18 of 32 hotels in Tarifa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 485 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful beach bar and great room rightthe beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    saw some ants in my room. Also- I had to check out at 8 A.M.- and no one was on the property yet who spoke English. There was one guy cleaning but it took him at least 20 minutes to process my bill for the room. He’d never done it before.

    The beach bar is absolutely gorgeous. So fun. Breakfast was great. I loved this place.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Wow, what a great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic hotel - I booked this for our anniversary with my wife. It really was an absolute pleasure - friendly staff, great restaurant and amazing outside area to relax in the sun right on the beach. Location was great for us as we are kite surfers. Highly recommend. We will be back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    6.7
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Rooms were a bit basic but did the job. Not very private as rooms open onto veranda with people either walking past or lying on the bean bags outside. No chance of a lay in after 9am as dogs started barking, deliveries arrived and people walking around. Not able to Kite off the beach directly in front of hotel as it was blocked off for swimmers.

    Location and the cocktails. Dead quiet after 8.30pm and good chance to really enjoy the sunset in peace and quiet. Really ideal for couples.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Wonderful Beach Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Starting to look a little tired, having visited several times noticed the quality of the cocktails lacked the quantity of alcohol they used to making them disappointing. Music being played no longer created the vibe and ambience it previously so we were disappointed.

    Great location to relax, chill and be lulled to sleep by the waves breaking onto the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Great place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All rooms offer a perfect sea view, besides Nr 12 und 14.

    Excellent location with perfect sea view. Nice place to spend some quality time. Cool bar with good cocktails. 5 Minutes to Tarifa city center.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    2.5
    It isn’t a hotel it is a brothel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn’t a hotel it is a brothel!!! You can order sex toys and hookers through the mini bar It shouldn’t be on the booking.com site it isn’t a hotel!!!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    10
    A gem of a place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a thing.

    The staff were all ever so pleasant and very helpful. Nothing was a problem at all for them. I wanted ti move rooms as i was next to a crying baby- no problem (the housekeeper even helped me move). I wanted a bottle of my own wine opened- no problem. I requested glasses to have my own G&T for my friends that popped over to visit-no problem. Such a pleasant stay. Will definitely be staying here again. The view from my room was amazing- you can hear the oceans waves crash.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    8.3
    Ok but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small living area and very bad sound isolation. Lots of noise in day and night time from neighbors.

    Friendly host and perfect location. Beautiful old city center.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.5
    Cool place right on the beach. 10 minutes to Tarifa ferry.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water before 7:00 a. m. A little hard to find as there’s no sign on the road.

    Location right on the beach, good service. Comfy bed. We had to leave early to catch the Tarifa ferry and they provided an early little breakfast. The property was a surprise to us but we really liked it. It’s nice and clean, except for some unavoidable sand on the floor. Once the day wind surf crowd leaves its really quiet. Ask for room 11 at the end.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.5
    It was very lovely stay, relaxing and calm. We enjoyed the time with our little family
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t like the bathroom. I just couldn’t take the shower there. It’s wasnt clean enough with a rust and mold in the corners. and in the night when I went to use the bathroom one big cockroach was coming out the bathroom.

    It’s perfect location. Lovely view on the ocean. We loved the garden with sun beds and swing chairs. Absolutely great that our two dogs could stay with us. That’s why we choose that place.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2017

    7.5
    Great beach location - although we did walk into tarifa but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although it was off season, it was noisy as the hotel is laid out in motel style so everyone walks and talks past your room. It is a lot more rustic that it looks in the pictures- The beds are not that comfortable, they are the sort of beds you would expect in a cheaper place - for the price it is very budget but the beach and sunset views are wonderful. It is quite a laid back place, staff are easy going and nice. Breakfast was pretty decent buffet style. I would stay again if it was cheaper but it is overpriced.

    Great beach location - although we did walk into tarifa but took 2 hours ( at high tide you will get cut off and have to walk part way on road)

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    10
    Chill in tarifa weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ...there was nothing to dislike if I'm honest. ..our weekend was perfect

    The whole atmosphere is perfect ...and it's location ..waking up to the sound of the sea

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    4.6
    DO NOT GO!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Review tripadvisor Arte Vida They don't answer the phone and after fifteen attempts the receptionist put the phone down on me even though I speak fluent Spanish. I was forced to make a booking through booking.com because I really wanted to stay at that location. I should've known at this point but this was a sign to not bother. Upon my arrival at Arte Vida Hotel I was met with a very surly, moody, rude receptionist , her name is Estella, she was drinking in the kitchen it is open to view from the reception area. There was a member of staff also working at the bar who continued to ignore me. Five minutes went by until eventually she came to the desk. With no apology or smile. Simply saying "yes!" At first I assumed she was tired of communicating with people who don't speak Spanish etc but soon realised after speaking in Spanish that it's just her way. The check-in procedure was one of the worst I've ever experienced. She announced again with no apology or smile that the room was not available even though I had turned up at the correct time. She told me that I could leave my bags "over there" , pointing to an area very loosely and with impatience that didn't quite make sense to me because it was in the direction of the restaurant. She clearly wasn't happy to arise from her throne to show me the area so I wandered off to have a look for myself and came back even more confused. She then found me at the rear of the hotel because it was also in the direction that she had pointed in, at this point she had the audacity to tell me off for being in an area that I was not supposed to be in... She then announced that I could leave my bags outside of the room. I explained I was not happy to do this as they would be in an area entirely exposed for theft. At this she shrugged her shoulders.

    Nothing

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Great location with good staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had just an unfortunate issue with the AC in the room. It wasn't working probably, so we had to leave the hotel at night with our baby, because it was impossible to sleep like that. The staff at night tried to help us with all their good intentions, however technically it was impossible to do anything so they were helpless too. We got our refund easily and stayed in another hotel, although we would love to stay in Arte Vida.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    7.1
    Not impressed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I do not generally like leaving negative feedback, but I feel I have to. We booked this hotel well in advance of our trip. One day before our planned check-in we received a call from Booking.com saying that Arte Vida cancelled our booking due to no rooms available - first time ever we came across such an inconvenient situation! We booked this room ages ago just to be told a day before check-in it was not available? What sort of management is that? We then had to spend at least an hour on a phone with Booking.com trying to sort this out. When a room was (finally) found, the hotel then had issues with charging our card, so another 20 min spent sorting that out. Overall, not the greatest initial impression! When we arrived at the hotel, we found out that we were given a twin room instead of a room with a double bed (as specifically requested in our booking). We also found no a/c or tv remotes in the room, so had to go to reception to request these - in all honesty, the hotel should give those to you when you check in. I had to make two trips to get the remotes that actually worked! Facilities are ok, I cannot say that either bed or room itself is comfortable and breakfast is pretty average, but I guess that is what you are getting for your money in Tarifa. The only things that compensate for that are the beach next to hotel and the funky theme of the hotel. That is all. It took us a while trying to find entrance to the road leading to hotel - virtually impossible to do so in the dark as there are no signs at all.

    The hotel is next to a huge, gorgeous, wide, white sand beach (albeit windy one). It is a hippy and funky looking hotel and they have restaurant that serves dinner until wee hours (comes handy as there is not much around). Staff is pretty prompt.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    6.7
    Great location, Bad staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I staid in the hotel for three days. Not one staff said "Good Morning" , " Welcome" , "Do you need anything" The staff do not care for the guests. I found this rude. No safety box in the rooms. The enterance of the hotel is through the restautrant with open kitchen and it smells really bad.

    Great Location, relaxed place...

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    6.7
    The location is Fantastic, on the beach!
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was very random for such place. My partner and I were looking for a place for our wedding and apart from the wind ( which is natural) the service we received was poor for such price and wonderful location.

    The location is Fantastic, on the beach!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful view and a place to relax, but not much else here and pretty basic rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were there in low season so it was lacking a bit of buzz. Would have preferred to stay a bit further up near Valdevaqueros.

    Lovely location as you are right on the beach, beautiful views from the room, but there is not much else here so you would definitely need a car. Valdevaqueros beach had a lot more on it, nice lunch places and a great chilled out atmosphere. The music here was good and nice to lay out in the afternoon to sunset.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    7.1
    Great sea front view!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, absolutely not work tu the money! Was highly recommended here but would highly NOT recommend it myself!

    Great location right on the ocean. Wake up to the noise of the waves in the most tranquil setup!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location, hippy style and relaxed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Twin beds pushed together to make a double was about as bad as it got! Breakfasts could have been better

    Right on the beach, dedicated sun loungers, good bar, massages available. GREAT FOOD-I'd recommend the tuna vermicelli noodles dish- so delicious!!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    10
    Fantastic basic hotel, can't wait to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the only thing if any, prices in restaurant slightly high for Tarifa

    staff were great and very laid back in a good way. location and sea front room where fantastic

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    10
    Ab fab
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s a secret why share with the world

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Everything perfect hotel, great location on the beach,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything perfect hotel, great location on the beach, great restaurant delicious meals, great beach-bar, clean spacious room. - todo Perfecto!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    Good 8n the restaurant was delicious.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Good 8n the restaurant was delicious. Location can't be better.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    8.3
    Awesome!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my absolute favorite place , dog friendly, very chilled, fabulous restaurant and unbeatable location...

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Our expectations of Tarifa where not big before we arrived but soon found out we where wrong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A room with a bath for my wife and utility to make coffee or tea

    The staff where very professional and tried to help in many ways

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    9.2
    Having been here years ago I didnt know what to expect .However nothing dissapointed and will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Even though weather was awful the staff more than made up for that and more Having bee

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    10
    Spacious, clean accomodation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spacious, clean accomodation with friendly staff. Excellent breakfast and evening meal.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    A Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A Room update wouldn’t be bad !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.9
    Especial y agradable. Para repetir
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tranquilo y playa

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    9.2
    super friendly staff, nice location at the beach!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    do you like dogs? there are some of them around

    super friendly staff, nice location at the beach!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    9.2
    Great weekend
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not served til 9.30am. No tea/coffee facilities in room

    Beach front setting...perfect as we had two dogs with us. They loved it

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Perfect place to rest and enjoy the ocean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic place on the beach,lovely clean rooms and outdoor area, great restaurant and friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.6
    Sea front!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would be nice if they could invest into new furniture and baths, but overall fun!!

    Sea front! Sea sounds! Kite hassle Free!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.5
    Could be better quaility
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We chose this hotel due to its good WIFI however it did not work properly... Plus the room was small.

    Good location & friendly staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    5.0
    Location front beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor accomodation

    Location front beach

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    7.5
    BEST KITE HOTEL
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    GREAT KITE LOCATION RIGHT ON THE BEACH

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    7.5
    Peaceful and uplifting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arty vibe. Off beaten track

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    9.6
    Very chilled & relaxed
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a bit sparse!

    everything!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    10
    Basic but clean and comfy room. Amazing location and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location,nice chill out area. Food wad lovely although a little pricey but with that view it didn't matter!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    5.0
    Too noisy.
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too noisy. Walls paper thin. Staff not available. Not worth 120 euros per night for one star facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Lovely, friendly and amazing views
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone helpful and friendly. Good atmosphere and nice food in the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.5
    A genuine beach hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast

    The ambiance

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    8.3
    Great location, relaxing atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, relaxing atmosphere

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    9.2
    Cannot wait to return
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception on arrival & departure was quite rude

    The location is awesome

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    8.8
    great location, good food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    great location by beach

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    Perfect place to relax!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great place to relax and lovely food

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2016

    9.2
    The breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit but especially...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Restaurant was cold, no heating

    The breakfast was great, lots of fresh fruit but especially the fresh orange juice was nice. Chilled out atmosfeer. Great views of the beach.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    8.8
    Perfect location, lulled to sleep by listening to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Perfect location, lulled to sleep by listening to the seawaves. Simple rooms but renovated and clean! Great chillout area and relaxed athmosphere!!! Breakfast basic but for us was ok, served with a beautiful open view to the beach!

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2016

    7.9
    Although the check in staff on arrival were unattentive to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The heating seems to be either ON or OFF with no apparent option to change temperature.

    Although the check in staff on arrival were unattentive to the point of being rude, which actually made us smile......the staff in the evening were superb. So maybe its a hit and miss.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2015

    3.3
    Location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Not clean Not comfortable Breakfast very basic Room very basic Too expensive for the money

    Location is good. But for kite surfing not very great because directly in front of the hotel is a bad spot to enter the water due to a mountain in the back of the hotel blocking the wind just at the shore

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2015

    9.6
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Sometimes music a bit loud

    Everything

There are also 34 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: