Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Artetxe 2 stars

Camino de Berriz 112 (Carretera Bi-3741 Enekuri-Artxanda km 7), 48015 Bilbao, Spain

#4 of 47 hotels in Bilbao

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2185 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.4

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    We love this hotel and have stayed here many times. The staff are really friendly and can't do enough for you. The hotel is spotlessly clean, and breakfast is amazing. The location is perfect for dog owners, out of the city in the country side, with just a 10 minute walk in to the centre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely helpful staff, comfy bed, delicious breakfast. Loved the way they catered for gluten & lactose intolerant (even though I am neither). Really enjoyed sitting out in the garden overlooking the city at dusk. Easy drive from the airport & the funicular made it very easy to get into Bilbao

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The City ring road system when trying to find the hotel. But that's not the fault of the hotel.

    Good location if you don't want to be in the City. A short drive from the Funicular which takes you down to the City.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ideally located outside of the main town of Bilbao but the cable car at €3 return into the town was excellent and very quick. About a mile up the road from the hotel and you can park at that location free of charge. The hotel itself is a beautifully refurbished set of three old barns and the views into the valley of Bilbao and mountains overlooking are stunning. Staff were so friendly and the breakfasts at €8 were great value with such a variety of choice to choose from. We will definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked everything, if I have to mention something, maybe the showers could be larger, but they are good enough

    Very friendly staff, the best breakfast I have ever had in Spain, very confortable bed, the location is great, close to the funicular that goes to Bilbao, the view of Bilbao,...great hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything great. Staff were lovely.

    Lovely hotel in a pretty countryside location. Extremely friendly, helpful staff. Room was very comfortable & spotless. Breakfast was delicious! Very close to funicular for easy access into Bilbao & Guggenheim.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location for visiting Bilboa. A lovely hotel with extremely friendly and helpful staff. We had a top room and the view was mesmerising. Funicular is just up the road..supermarket and lovely part of city is at bottom of Funicular..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a plea for real coffee, preferably fair trade, rather than Nespresso- this is Spain

    Staff are welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful. Walking distance to Bilbao but set above with great views of the city. Good breakfast with gluten free choices, though more expensive than others we experienced. Great to have a kettle in the room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    The Hotel worked very well for me and my friend, It was exceptionally clean! (I work in a hotel) Javier was the ultimate concierge giving us all the tips and more. we caught the funicular to the city and walked to the Guggenheim, jumped on the tram and went to the market had tapas and beer perfect. Thoroughly recommend. Loved Bilbao John and Alain

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price could have been 20 euros or so cheaper.

    Brilliant breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly. Lovely building in beautiful countryside. Outside Bilbao. But 10 minute drive to funicula which takes you to very convenient location. Easy parking and good restaurant nearby.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Taxis have to go a long (expensive) way round to reach it, it even appears walkable on map to centre , especially downhill.

    Room was very modern and nicely equipped if a little small. Nice view down into the valley. Staff super.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Really good hotel, with nice location - perfect view for a Bilbao city. Room was clean an big enough for me. Very nice bed. Really kind staff. I can not complain. I sincerely recommend it!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a perfect place from which to experience Bilbao. The hotel overlooks the city and the funicular is super close with free parking to descend into the city and explore on foot.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, everything was great!

    Friendly staff, cool location and view from above the city, comfortable bed, adorable price. A great stay, and we would repeat our visit

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, nice staff, very good for a 2 stars hotel

    It was fine for us as we knew it already but be careful that access to Bilbao center takes some time (20? minutes) on foot and it could be tiresome on the way back as you have to climb a pretty big hill

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dont choose room 207 as the door to reception below can be a bit disturbing as it is unlocked and locked

    Great location on a hill above Bilbao, we tried the walk down, the Funicular back up ( which is quite a hike, not to be attempted in the dark) and the A7 bus which runs a circular route into Bilbao and back up to Artxanda, 25 mins to the hour and return from Bilbao 15 mins past the hour up to 10.15pm, cost Euro 1.30 pp. Well worth it. The breakfast buffet although extra was stupendous and Eva was a fount of knowledge, although she can get carried away with the red marker on the map :-)

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were made very welcome and looked after well throughout our stay. It is a very friendly, comfortable family run hotel.They gave us lots of guidance about transport into Bilbao.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Ants in bathroom. Very noisy door and entry noise from other guests. Water running noise until well after midnight.

    Location and view were excellent. Staff helpful. bed comfortable. Shower very good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room has lower (drop) roof in half of room. This makes very dificult to move around specially around one bed. This makes you feel you can use only half the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a great place to stay; the staff were really freindly and helpful and the interior decoration was modern and clean. The bed was very comfortable and assured a good night's sleep. The buffet breakfast was an added bonus and offered plenty of choice. The hotel has plenty of free on site parking and is ideally located just outside the city, providing quick access to the main routs if you are traveling further into Spain or on to France.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    That I didn't stay longer...

    It was the cleanest and nicest hotel that I have stayed at in a while to include some of Boston, MA, USA's best. I was amazed!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was out of town as described however the bus links were excellent. Staff were very helpful and informative. Although we arrived at 9am, they permitted us to park the car while we were sightseeing in the city. A handy spot, especially if doing the ferry!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    amazing location, 5 min drive from the funicular ( that take you to the city center in 5 min). great view from the hotel. breakfast is really rich in variety and very good quality. room is big and spacious newly refurbished! extremely pleasant stay. people at the reception really helpful!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No issues

    You are on top of the hill away from Bilbao and you need a car to drive to the funicular. But that is the best and hassle free way to get into town. The the people at the desk are just terrific for English speakers. They looked after us very well.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Been nice to have had just one channel on the bedroom TV that was not in Spanish, or the facility for English (and/or French) subtitles. Choice of tea only in room. No coffee and it was not replenished each day. Got charged extra as 'bar service' one evening when asked for milk!

    The room was comfy with a very clean, modern shower room. Had a view over the rear of the property with lemon trees and a large garden. Whole property sits with a commanding view over Bilbao, which lay below us only some 15 - 20 minutes drive away. We had arrived by ferry/cruise ship from UK, so welcomed being able to leave bags early morning rather than risk them in the car until check-in. Plenty of parking at the hotel. A very large Carrefour supermarket down the road meant we could stock up for lunch after a more than ample Breakfast, which was a remarkable exercise in excess! Some great Basque favourites and a range going from savoury to sweet. You can get dinner at another hotel immediately opposite.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No supermarket near by, the best way is to take the cable car down, there is one right next to the station. Not enough choice of restaurant, the restaurant across the street was good but pricy.

    The hotel staffs was super friendly and helful. The breakfast was excellent, great food, good vallue. The cable car just few minutes away by car, 2 minutes ride from top to bottom, it made the trip to downtown so much easier than drive down, save lots of hassles.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was lovely . Hosts were very helpful and apartment was. Lovely and. Clean. They had a kettle and toaster which some don’t have. Great shower and beds.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything suited us

    The staff and owners were extremely professional and showed great hospitality. Their English was excellent and couldn't be more helpful to us

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location right outside of Bilbao and within easy drive to the funicular which takes you down in Bilbao (keep in mind that the last car coming back is at 10 PM). Secure parking. Good breakfast in the morning with a nice selection on meats, cheese, cereal, breads, etc. Very friendly staff. We had two rooms overlooking the gardens which were clean and very quiet at night. The hotel overlooks Bilbao and has a nice view of the city at night. We did not eat at their restaurant so I cannot comment on that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only arrived late so didn't get to enjoy the hotel a lot. The room was in a newly converted building, which appeared very old from the outside, but was super-modern and bright inside. The outstanding breakfast, featuring home-made yogurt, fresh bread, fruit kebabs and little sandwiches which were works of art, plus FABULOUS coffee really impressed us. Very good value for just 8 euros.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a little small and need to climb some stair. No good restaurant within walking distance. But Javier's recommendation of a restaurant, which was 4 minutes drive away, was very good.

    It has a very good view of the city. The breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    would have been nice to have a bench or so to sit outside

    Good room, lovely beds, nice bathroom, we had an excellent stay and weren glad we did not book in the centre of town.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast was really good, worth the money. Room was super clean and comfy and as we were there in early spring (colder nights) a heater was provided and waiting us there. Location is really great for somebody who wants to mix easy access by car, trekking routes and somewhat walkable distance down to the city. A taxi back from the centre costs 11-15€.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the restaurant was closed but we found one a little drive away which was fine

    Lovely friendly helpful staff, comfortable room and great view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - Everything was very good

    Very friendly staff. Good breakfast. A very nice restaurant opposite the hotel. Free parking. The bedroom even had a kettle - very unusual in Spain.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No disadvantages!

    Excellent view on Bilbao and convenient location 2 km from the Funicolar! Own transport is advised! Staff extremely friendly. Room includes all necesaar facilities: coffee, tea, etc.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately there was no bread for breakfast on the second day, but otherwise there was plenty of selection of other items.

    The staff were very accommodating and couldn’t do enough to help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    All was perfect!

    Very helpful staff! Great location right down the road is a hotel-restaurant school which serves an excellent lunch. And a little farther down the same road is a funicular which takes just three minutes to get to downtown Bilbao. There's plenty of parking at the funicular.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The hotel is around 7 km from old town which costs around €10 to reach by taxi. - The restaurant next to the hotel is an absolute joke! We paid ridiculous €47 for our supper (3 breadrolls, salad - lettuce, tomato, onion; some olives, some artichokes & 5 asparagus, one small beer & glass of wine). In comparison in the town we paid €50 for 2 wine glasses, 3 beers, 2 x 3 course meal with a dessert - be aware!

    - The staff were amazing, very helpful! They made us feel very special and had answer for all of our questions. - Our bed was really comfortable and we had a great view on Bilbao from our window! - There is plenty of parking spaces! - The hotel is pet friendly. - The hotel is on the top of the mountain and it's a really peaceful area. - There is a pathway down the mountain leading to the town, which we really enjoyed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a bit out of Bilbao’s center, but with a beautiful view. Perfect if you have a car because you can easily access the main attractions by "Funicular" (far 2 km from hotel).

    Cozy hotel and friendly staff. Room is comfortable. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cozy hotel and super friendly staff. It is a bit out of Bilbao’s center, but the beautiful view is worth it and you can easily acess the main atractions by bus.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Provision for two dogs

    Pets considered by providing bowls and a bed for the dog. The only downside to the dogs need was that we booked telling them we had two dogs but provisions were only made for one. A very minor detail really in the big scheme of things.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a little small, toilet in shower room too close to side of shower! Be aware nearby restaurant closed on a Sunday, also was closed on the Monday so we had to drive to restaurant near Furnicular! Whilst they had right idea about providing T making in room it was slightly limited as only Earl Grey Tea & sugar & sweetener. No milk or coffee.

    Modern shower room, clean comfortable bed, excellent selection for buffet breakfast ( no hot food). Actually had T making facilities in room (unusual for Spain) Great location, only 10 min drive to Furnicular down into city.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn’t find the hotel using tom Tom as post code was for whole of Bilbao centre. Directions to get there could have been clearer as there are no road names, a map could be provided as an attachment.

    The location was breath taking. The self serve breakfast was excellent value with lots to choose from. As their own restaurant was closed they recommended a local alternative. The staff helped us with a range of queries and eager to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downside is the lack of evening meal available on site, and mondays seems to be when local restaurants close.

    Warm and comfortable after a long journey. About 20 minutes from the ferry port. Will definitely use again. Really loved the fact that the car park had a night guard on duty.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were fantastic and went out of their way to make our stay fantastic. They told us local places to visit and the restaurant across the road was out of this world.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No food available in the hotel in the evening, the only close restaurants within walking distance were "a la carte" and reception warned they were expensive.Had to drive out to the next village a few kilometres away to a very good bar/ restaurant which was dog friendly- inside as well as outside. (Bar Txakoli) You are not permitted to leave your dog in the hotel room alone & must take it with you,( except at breakfast time actually in the hotel.) After completing the booking online I was only notified direct ( emails) from the hotel of the charge for the dog being €15 a night, this is much more than we would expect to pay at other hotels and was a little annoying as the booking was completed.

    Great for a one night stop over for Bilbao ferry.Very helpful friendly staff on check in at reception.Kettle & tea bags in room, quite unusual but welcone touch.Dog bowls and pet bed laid out ready for our small dog & information for local vet, dog friendly pubs/cafe bars in the area.Buffet, continental breakfast selection was very good, €7 each.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good location overlooking Bilbao. Perfect location if you have a car: possibility to park easily in the area. Nice hotel structured in various buildings, similar to a country house. Good choice of food for breakfast. Very friendly staff. Definitely a good price/quality relationship.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old fashioned no restaurant facilities no breakfast included made to pay for the small cup size sachets of milk which are complimentary in all hotels unfriendly staff

    The view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only suitable if you have car. Handy location to funicular two minutes away. It's actually on tracks .

    Clean with very good breakfast Great location with great views from top of the hill. Friendly helpful staff. WiFi strong at all times

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Delightful friendly and helpful owners. Fantastic view from our room, both day and night. Free parking. Our room was warm and spacious and the bed so comfortable. Excellent shower. Location great as it was away from the city yet close to the funicular which takes you into the city. As a bonus the owners let us leave our baggage at the hotel after we checked out so that we could explore the city for a while before collecting our baggage and moving on.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is great if you are travelling by car/ but the last furnicular back to the hotel is 9:45 do it limits opportunity to experience the nightlife of Bilbao.

    Bilbao is a fantastic city to visit, staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and responsive.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    For those who prefers to stay in the city centre this place might feel a bit remote although it is just 5-10 mins of cheap taxi drive (10-15 Eur) to the centre. Or the fit ones can walk down the hill as I did so! We all were completely pleased with the location and the spacious rooms, all facilities and view of nature during breakfast. Especially if you have a car, this place is very easy to reach from the Airport and has free parking area.

    We stayed in an apartment as 3 friends. Everything was sparkling clean, lots of unexpected details like (full kitchen including microwave etc) was there, it was very very spacious and they even had complimentary water and high quality coffee in the room. We had a delicious, very generous breakfast with a perfect view. Difficult to list all the good things! We haven't use them but there were some great restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Staff could not have been more polite and helpful. We very very lucky as the Staff spoke English which was enormously helpful as our Spanish was sadly lacking. The beds were very comfortable and most rooms had excellent views across the City. A great place to watch the sun setting.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    room is so small, shower is smaller. wifi is non existent most of the time even though the router just behind the room door. need to go to lobby for stable connection. heater is somehow not working so its really cold in the night

    BREAKFAST IS MARVELLOUS. friendly and good english speaking staff. free parking space with unbeatable view of bilbao below. cheap price

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was patchy.

    Excellent beaakfast.Extremely knowledgeable and helpful staff,especially Eva.Very comfortable and clean.Being able to park safely on the premises was a great benefit.A little way out of the city but you could walk down to it and get the bus back to the door .It suited us fine.An excellent

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having searched for hotels with parking and a restaurant this property came up. We booked it last minute so couldn’t cancel. We were astonished when 30 minutes later we got a message saying there was no restaurant. A very serious misrepresentation that should not be allowed. Booking sites should flag up that this hotels information is false or better still ban them.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    sometimes wi-fi doesn't work well

    It is very nice place. We were there for 6 days. It is very good if you have a car. Even if you don't you can use a public transport. It is a part of a real Basque village, so it is green, silent, calm place. The view from the hotel is really fantastic! The stuff is very friendly and helpful and hospitable. We asked them for kattel, iron, bottlescrew - every day we needed something. All our requests were fulfilled!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If there were a refrigerator in the room. (This is not a serious problem at all.)

    I do not know why, but from this part I cannot write in Japanese letters by my computer. Something must be wrong with the booking.com system? (A mark (@) appears.) Thus, let me allow to write in English. I am sorry. (1) A restaurant, which is open until 11 pm or so, is located very near from this hotel. (2) One can walk even to the Guggenheim Museum. If not, a landscape of Bilbao, which can be seen on the way, is very nice. The hotel is located at a high altitude. (3) I had booked for 4 nights stay at first. Later, I was obliged to cancel one night of the 4 nights stay beforehand. They were so kind to allow me to cancel without showing any sign of being annoyed.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - a supermarket or a small grocery shop near the property would have been convenient for a self catering option

    - well equipped 2 bedroom apartment - large bathroom with al lot of complimentary toiletries - kitchen with a coffee machine - staff extremely polite - good housekeeping service- beds were made, towels changed,… - free parking - excellent value for money

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only difficulty for us was not having a car. We did ok but it would have helped. It made us be more adventureous in getting places and walking.

    The breakfast, location and staff were great. Eva was the best about giving us information about the region and we just loved being there

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Its not so easy to come to Hotel if you dont know how to come to Artxanda or how to come to BI3741, but it will be one of another attractive point of Bilbo after you know these.

    Wonderful front staff,they kindly did everything for our need with very welcoming feeling. Very good Hotel if you know well around Bilbao area road by car and understand that car is not good way for sightseeing for bilbao central(walking is best,sometime using Tram and Metro and Funiclar...).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Drain noise from upstairs apartment, but not too annoying.

    Very spacious, well appointed apartment. Great coffee machine. Comfortable beds. Great shower in a huge bathroom. Excellent breakfast. Handy to a range of restaurants. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm at night in the room , necessary to use a/c which was there.

    Easy to park . Able to drive to funicular to get into town . Quiet . Beds and pillows were very comfortable . Great shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The nearest restaurant was very good but didn't open one evening.

    Location provides a great view of Bilbao. A short drive from the funicular railway that goes to the centre of Bilbao.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Views from the bedroom window of Bilbao were terrific and the breakfast was generous. Short drive to the funicular railway which takes you to downtown Bilbao There is also a local bus stop at the door which goes to Bilbao. Highly recommended for a short stay

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't really a cafe nearby to get a cup of tea or a light meal late afternoon / early evening. The restaurant attached to the hotel was great but didn't open til 8.30 and the meal was quite large, although delicious.

    The location was perfect as we had a car and it was very easy to get into the city using the fenicular just up the road. It was great to retreat back to the peace and quiet after a busy day sightseeing.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Difficult to find.

    This is an excellent hotel but only for motoring tourists. It sits on the hills outside Bilbao and has gorgeous views. Clean rooms, friendly staff, nice breakfast, prefect villagy feel -- if this is what you like. And I do:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Consistency of breakfast items.

    Very comfy bed and extremely clean room. Quiet hotel, staff especially Javier always friendly and went above and beyond. Seems like a strong 3 star hotel instead of 2!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Having to leave! The only downside to our three-day stay was the high price of the food in the adjacent restaurant. The service, food and wine were good, but not good enough to justify the cost. But this is the restaurant, not the hotel!

    Good-sized room with a very comfortable bed, a good shower and a lovely view over Bilbao. Large selection of food and drink (and good coffee!) for breakfast. Delightful staff, who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. With ample free parking on site and the funicular down to the city under 3km away, this hotel is perfectly situated for a visit to Bilbao. I cannot recommend it highly enough!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The welcome was warm and friendly, with useful advice on eating locally, as well as getting around Bilbao. The room was quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The owner even phoned ahead to our main destination in order to advise our travel plans.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We really enjoyed our stay there. Staff helpful and attentive. The only problem we had was because we had no satnav or gps and only two people we asked out of eight could give us proper directions.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    location was great for the funicular to get into town without having to drive and park. made very welcome on arrival, good English spoken good breakfast buffet, no hot option. comfortable and clean

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only comment is the distance from centre of town. The walk into town was an easy 30-40 minutes, didn't try walking back because of steep hill, (200 m high??). But it's a trek if you want to come back for siesta. BilboBus A7 is best option back to hotel.

    Wonderful staff. Helpful, truly want to do anything to make our stay top shelf. Great breakfast. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Need a good value for money restaurant nearby, similar to those in the Old Town.

    lovely location for access to the town by the funicular, superb views. My husband thought the breakfast was excellent, overall good value for money. Staff on reception were very kind and helpful, spoke good English.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: