Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Spain hotel reviews
  3. Basque Country B&B and inn reviews
  4. Zarautz B&B and inn reviews
  5. Reviews of Pensión Lagunak

Reviews of Pensión Lagunak This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

San Francisco, 10, 20800 Zarautz, Spain

#10 of 10 B&Bs and inns in Zarautz

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 418 hotel reviews

6.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6.3

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    7.1

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    6.2

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2019

    6.7
    Location good . Noisy
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No heating. Shower was leaking badly and broken from wall. No hot water at night. Noisy from street and train. Only staffed when restaurant next door open. Restaurant VERY expensive. No towels. Had to wait over an hour to get them

    Convenient location. Comfy bed. Restaurant food was lovely but expensive

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2019

    5.8
    Very basic, no towels in the room when we arrived and quite...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No towels on arrival and quite confusing check in arrangements.

    Very basic, no towels in the room when we arrived and quite a confusing check in process with so many doors to unlock. Not a great shower but clean and the room was quiet at night. Good location but just very basic.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: March 23, 2019

    7.5
    Room perfect for what I needed, was disappointed with the limited check in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No heater/air con in room. You can check in between 16:30-19:30 which was annoying because I had to get a taxi and miss this last 3km of my hike to check in by 16:30 that day!

    Nice private room with basic en-suite, clean perfect for what I needed.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    5.0
    The room was much smaller than the pictures are showing.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was much smaller than the pictures are showing. Besides it smelled like cogarettes in the room and also on the floor. It wasn't possible to change the room but i got an perfume for the room (didn't help at all). Much to expanisve for what you get!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    3.8
    Only if you dont have another choice....
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy. One side is facing to a square where people is eating and chatting until 2 am. Another side is just deside the rail way. In the room it smells so bad like dust and smoke. Air conditioner doesnt help since it seems like its filter has been never cleaned or changed.

    Location is good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    6.3
    Ok for one night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Ok for one night. Kinde staff, wifi ok. Public parking (free for the night) is 300 mt away. The railway is under the windows but there are no trains during the night

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 30, 2018

    5.4
    A noisy uncomfortable room and we won't be back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We told management we would get there at 6pm but we were 5 minutes late due to trying to find a car park and they didn't wait for us. We had to call booking.com to find the manager to let us in as they had left the premises. The train ran outside our bedroom window about 10 metres away so it was very noisy.

    We had somewhere to put our heads for the night.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 17, 2018

    3.3
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    2 weeks before our departure we recieved an e-mail saying: “Please note that the renovations are taking place in the street where the Pension Lagunak is located. You may experience minor disturbances”. We decided to keep our reservations for the hotel, so we wouldnt have to look for someplace else, and thought that it wouldnt disturb us that much since it would only be minor disturbances in the street. When we arrived at the hotel the renovations where right outside the hotel, and we ended up getting the room just infront of the renovation, wich ment that we had to have our blinds shut our intire stay, because there were 10 men working right outside our Windows, so our room was constantly dark. We immediately went down to the reception to ask if we could get another room, but that wasnt possible, even though the hotel was completely empty. We saw about 3 people other than us in the hotel in 3 days. It didnt Seem like They had Many guests because of the renovations, but the boss didnt even bother to check for other rooms. She just told us that it wasnt possible. Besides this there is a railway line 2 meters from the hotel, as close at it can ever get, so the train literally runs right past your hotel room twice an hour ALSO at night (approximately once an hour at night), so we didnt sleep much in the night, and woke up by the major disturbance of the renovations, which go on from 8-19 every day. We Cant believe that the train runs right next to the hotel and makes a hell of a noice every time, and the hotel has not stated this In their profile, which seems pretty relevant to state, when this itself is a major disturbance. The noise from the renovations were so loud, that we had to almost shout to each other whilst having a conversation in our room. Both days we couldnt take the noise so we had to ensure that we were out of the hotel the WHOLE day untill the renovations stopped at around 19 o clock. We couldnt even hear the tv when the volume was on the highest.

    The bathroom and bath was nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 8, 2018

    9.6
    Great!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Brilliant location quiet spotless and friendly right by the beach and beautiful marina, plenty to watch on the very long promenade. Very spacious room and bathroom.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2017

    5.4
    Noise, Currently there are renovations on the street and we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise, Currently there are renovations on the street and we were woken at 6am and the noise continued all morning. It was terrible, they should not be renting the rooms like that. In the small print of the description it says that there would be minor inconveniences due to works but this was a major disruption. Read the small print. The restaurant looks great but is not open on Sunday evening or in the mornings. You should arrive before 15.00 to check in or contact them. Read the small print. They didn't see our email and we didn't see the small print so we had to phone in the rainy evening and wait for someone to arrive with the key. As regards the noise, watch out for the train track nearby and the hotwater system also makes a lot of noise. So be prepared to be woken up each time a neighbour takes a shower.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    4.2
    Nice staff, poor facilities and super nisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom smelled like sewage.It was directly on the on the train line and you could also hear every step or door opening and closing around.

    Staff was very nice

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    9.2
    Excellent family run hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Small, family run hotel with restaurant attached. Very friendly staff, decent sezed rooms with an excellent shower. The food in the restaurant is delicious and at a reasonable price. Our stay at Asador Pension Lagunak has been very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2017

    10
    Zarruatz recommendation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Road building next to.property noisy. But

    Property had character but nicely modern. Fantastic location. Lovely clean room. Good size with balcony. Excellent value.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2019

    2.5
    The bar across the street with a vegan menu
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Sewer smell, train outside window, broken window,broken toilet, broken tv. No sleep.

    The bar across the street with a vegan menu

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2019

    5.0
    Not great room but location was convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not clean, broken shower head

    The location was great

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2019

    6.3
    Just a place to sleep very noisy, you'll be woken up by the first train or the road sweeper.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in time limited, as the property is closed at certain times.

    Central location good but no parking.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    9.6
    On T Camino route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    HOT ... but unusually hot in Spain.

    On T Camino route.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2018

    7.5
    Good place - if you sleep like the dead
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very noisy as right by a railway track! Don't stay here if you value your sleep.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: March 7, 2018

    7.1
    Good enough if share price
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noises due to thin walls and it’s beside the train tracks

    Friendly owner who kept restaurant open past 4pm to feed me

    Stayed in March 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: May 26, 2016

    8.3
    Only disadvantage was that the Euskotren ran immediately...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Only disadvantage was that the Euskotren ran immediately beside the Hotel Restaurant. Very noisy! And that every hour or more often. Starting again at 6! Comida was great when I arrived at 4 3:30.

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2016

    5.0
    A place to rest for the night.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    The restaurant closed at eight before I had time to eat. This place probably closes early sundays. Every restaurant in Spain closes early or doesn't open at all one day a week to let the staff rest.

    A place to rest for the night. Nothing fancy but must have been renovated not so long ago.

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2016

    6.7
    Location was great, just next to the popular part of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I hated the plastified sheet on the bed, made sleeping very unconfortable, was hot and "noisy" when moving. Double bed was too small. Noisy area at the night with all the young people continuying the party until late.

    Location was great, just next to the popular part of the city for going out and close to the beach. Everything on walking distance. Facilities ok. Next to train but that didnt really bothered us at night.

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2015

    7.1
    In old town close to everything, close to beach.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Smelt like cigarettes, staff weren't friendly, extremely noisey right next to train tracks and no soundproofing whatsoever.

    In old town close to everything, close to beach. Room nice enough for price. Hotel smelt like cigarettes, staff weren't friendly, extremely noisey right next to train tracks and no soundproofing whatsoever.

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2015

    7.5
    The room was very clean and comfy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was spotty. Others might be disturbed by the room being next to the train line. I'm a light sleeper though and barely heard a thing.

    The room was very clean and comfy. The location was excellent. Hooks for towels and more reliable wifi would improve the experience.

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2015

    7.5
    The room was nice and fresh situated in a beautiful,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Noisy from the train passing by right behind the building. Not to recommend for people that are easily disturbed by noise. Worked fine for me.

    The room was nice and fresh situated in a beautiful, peaceful building. Restaurant downstairs offer great meals at good prices. No disturbance from the restaurant.

  • Reviewed: July 3, 2015

    5.0
    In general, the appartment was very nice, nice bathroom,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There was one window, in wood. The wood was warped, or I dont know what, we tried with 2 persons to close it, but impossible to have it closed air-tight. As its located on a noisy place, it was very noisy at night.

    In general, the appartment was very nice, nice bathroom, nice enterance, nice bed, however ...

  • Reviewed: May 4, 2015

    2.9
    Nothing about this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Next to a railway line with trains to Bilbao every 20 minutes like 3 metres .away,Apartments above with people moving around at 6 am a lot of noise and not a good nights sleep. do not stay here . .

    Nothing about this hotel

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2015

    4.2
    Window was broken and couldn't shut it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Window was broken and couldn't shut it. Train right by window so heard noise all the time

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    8.8
    Clean, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit expensive for the quality of the pension. Good location

    Clean, good location

  • Reviewed: June 25, 2015

    7.5
    good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    WIFI was not functioning

    good location

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2015

    8.3
    Good facility and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Noise

    Good facility and location.

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: