Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of BULL Astoria 3 stars

Fernando Guanarteme, 54, 35010 Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain

#35 of 45 hotels in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1160 hotel reviews

7.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Although I like a firm bed I had a pain in my hip after one week on this bed. I thought the sachets of soap/shampoo were a bother to use and a small bottle would be better. The small soap tablets were mean and were not replaced when used up.

    The meals were generally with good choice. The coffee was quite good. The oranges and eggs for breakfast were very nice indeed. Nice to have vegetables like sprouts and cauliflower for evening meal as so few restaurants seem to serve them and the ice cream was very good. The bottle wine was very good at a very reasonable price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Breakfast average. Web site more impressive than the actual hotel. Friendly staff, lovely rooftop pool area, but room dated and breakfast disappointing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location, friendly helpful staff. Very close to the beach and only a short bus ride or a lovely walk along the coast to the Vegueta the old historic town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Parking in general in Las Palmas is a nightmare. I had to buy a parking contract for a week for 45 euros which is a discounted rate arranged by the hotel. The location is old in a 50s and 60s way and looks very shaby. It can also be very windy - not surprising for a beach well known for its surfing and other water sports.

    The hotel and its' facilities are fine except there is nowhere to park, not even to drop off. The location is very close to the beach and a wide variety of restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We were Bed and Breakfast only. The breakfast was very busy, but the staff worked hard in clearing away plates and keeping on top of the breakfast choices.

    Very clean, well priced. Good Staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We asked for a twin room. Our room had a third extra bed squeezed in which reduced the room space considerable. Booking.com should ensure rooms match descriptions. Building work outside our window. The crane was almost in touching distance! Whilst building work is inevitable, should this room really have been available whilst the work was going in. On the positive side the beds were comfy.

    Breakfast was plentiful but the breakfast room was quite crowded. Bar was very cheap but would have paid a little extra for a better quality of wine.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had building work right outside our window, the shower didn’t drain away properly leaving our bathroom floor soaking wet. The staff weren’t very friendly.

    I liked the extra facility of the gym even though it was a bit old and lots of the equipment did not work and it was close to the beach

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and well maintained. Very close to local supermarket, Super Dino and Orlando Car Rental. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of fresh salad and fruits, and hot food selection. Very short walk to the Playa de la Canteras promenade with plenty of dining options. Also close to the Avenue Jose Messa Lopez shopping area with several buses plying that main road.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    - Lot of noise at night (leaky windows) - Hotel in a shady neighborhood - Hard to find a parking place - No fridge, minibar, balcony

    + Close to the beach + Staff is very friendly + Breakfast was good + Bar (cheap beer) + Small rooftop pool, free gym and sauna + Huge superior room + Free WiFi + Good value for money

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paid for full board but food wasn't good, tasteless and repeatative seemed everything was microwaved. Only ate half board and asked for refund which was refused even though I paid at hotel was told it was difficult to cook for a whole hotel of people!

    Nice location room was OK free wi-fi that worked.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was really noicy (traffic, elevator..) at 5th floor and it was supposed to be a better doubleroom. Our other room at 4th floor had double-windows, much better. Beds not very comfortable.

    Hotel arranged earlier breakfast (at 6.50) since there was a marathon in Las Palmas where one of us participated also, that was great. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi did not work on any of our devices. Staff could only suggest we restart the phone...

    Huge room. Huge bed. Huge bathtub on the side of our huge bed. Very nice bathroom

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is lovely. Great value for money. Very friendly and helpful staff. I absolutely loved pool, sauna and roof terrace. Very cheap bar in the hotel as well. 2 min walk from Playa de las Canteras. Close to many cafes and restaurants. I highly recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I would like to make a formal complaint about the Hotel Astoria. There were many things that I found incredibly unsatisfactory about our stay. First of all, we were not warned about building work taking place outside the hotel which began at 6.30am one morning. we have photos and video recordings to prove this. We were staying in 'the suite' I requested a double bed but we received twins. The walls were extremely thin and the room was right next to the bar area so we were constantly disrupted by noise. I thought the room was incredibly overpriced for what it was, there were no extra amenities like dressing gowns, slippers or beach towels. The heating didn't work, the tv didn't have a single functioning english speaking channel. Everything in the 'leisure' area, swimming pool, gym and sauna and communal areas were incredibly outdated and shabby and we were totally misled by the photographs. Finally the elevators in the building didn't work adequately. being on the 5th floor we couldn't take the stairs. They were faulty and would take an incredibly long time and then stop at every floor on the way down which was very annoying and time wasting for us. Although some of the staff were friendly, in the most part we were really disappointed with the hotel given the money we spent we expected a lot more.

    The hotel was clean.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything negative.

    José was the perfect host. Helped us with everything and he even gave us a lift. The apartment is great, very central with a lovely terrace on the roof.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no minibar, small room, hard bed and pillow as a stone.No proper quilt just some old blankets.Very dirty windows, bare could see outside.

    location, quik rent a car service and good coffee

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel is very dated and needs a revamp. I thought it was quite expensive given how dated it was but perhaps it was priced higher than usual at Christmas time. One staff member at the front desk was particularly unhelpful but the others were nice. Breakfast was very mediocre.

    Good location close to the beach. Nice pool area.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is pretty anonymous and out dated (looks stuck in the '80), it is overall clean but very old design both in common areas and in the rooms. I would look for something different but in the same price range for next visit

    Friendly staff, good position, budget saving - i had just to stay overnight in Las Palmas to get a flight early in the morning

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The satellite T.V. channels were poor , as only Sky News was in English, and CNN's sound didn't work. Ventilation in bath room didn't work.

    Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. Hotel is good value for money, and I hope to return soon.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we were disappointed. Hotel desperately needs refurbishment, the toilet was leaking and wasn't very clean. All facilities are very old (swimming pool, gym, sauna)also old furniture in the hotel. We had half board, but I really regret that. Very low quality breakfast and dinner. ... honestly, the hotel should have 2 not 3 stars!!!

    Cheap drinks in the bar on 5th floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately, we were disappointed. Hotel desperately needs refurbishment, the toilet was leaking and wasn't very clean. All facilities are very old (swimming pool, gym, sauna)also old furniture in the hotel. We had half board, but I really regret that. Very low quality breakfast and dinner. ... honestly, the hotel should have 2 not 3 stars!!!

    Cheap drinks in the bar on 5th floor.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was nice but could do with a paint.

    The hotel is only a 3 or 4 minutes walk from a lovely big beach front. Loads of places to eat and drink or you can head into the city centre. The breakfast buffet was Ok. Only had one person replenishing the food so had to wait sometimes. If you get the bus, Line 60, try and get the one which goes to Santa Catalina bus station its nearer than San Telmo.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was good but after a few days realize it's the same stuff every morning,possible change of breakfast menu would be good !!

    The hotel although dated was lovely.. the room was more than adequate,very quiet ,very clean.we enjoyed relaxing with coffee in evening at roof top bar,nice place to read or catch up on emails..the wifi was great..we were encouraged by one of the front desk attendant to take a tour of the (south)island,we were forever grateful for that descision as it was a wonderfully tour !!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The cereals weren't very nice and not much selection for English people. Seems you really only catered for foreign people which is a bit of a disappointment to me and my husband.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no fridge or kettle in the room which was a bit of a pain. We are both vegans so the breakfast was a little disappointing - we could only eat a few options (fruit/salad) but we excepted this before hand. We stayed for 4 nights and for the first 3 on return to the hotel around 11/12pm we noticed lots of interesting characters loitering around the entrance to the hotel- who looked a little intimidating. This could have been coincidence with our visit - but I'm assuming as it's not a very touristy part of the city it may be a common occurrence.

    We were really impressed with this hotel as it had everything we could need. The hotel room was large and modern with a huge bath room and lovely shower. When we arrived our hairdryer wasn't working so I called reception and they sent someone up straight away. Free wifi in the room and key controlled air con. There is a little pool and sun terrace area and games room with pool, air hockey and fuse ball tables at €1 a game and table tennis (€2 deposit for bats and ball) 5 minute walk to the beach and a few minutes to a few mini markets.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shuttle was available to go to the airport directly from the hotel, although this information was clearly offered on the booking confirmation. Restaurant is on the underground floor. No view, quite sad. They could open on the roof top for breackfast, it's much nicer

    I loved the proximity to the beach (Playa de las Canteras) and the swimming pool on the roof. Internet is free and good and the hotel is clean and confortable. Nice breackfast buffet with eggs, sauté mushrooms, tomatoes, spanish bacon, sausages, toast and lots of other good things.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Across from our room was a very Very suspicious and rub down block with too many people entering and leaving within minutes !

    Quite comfortable and clean - good breakast and nice friendly reception staff

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Air-conditioning was loud and not cooling enough. Restaurant was too busy at times to allocate all guests.

    Hotel is extremely close to the ocean. Nice, relaxing music in the hotel. Helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    In the room there was noizy from air condition even if the air condition is off.

    On the roof of the bulding it is a nice terace and pool , the drinks are cheap, the view is good. The hotel is close to the beach and a lot of restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To eat bad food in the basement is not very charming, the hotel have a wonderful place to eat on the fifth floor, but the hotel have decided to serve the food in the basement, anyway the food is so bad that it maybe doesnt matter. The Cantera beach is nothing, it is rocks and black sand. The restaurants at the beachpromenade is expensive though only two restaurants is worth the money, casa italiana and a restaurant with five black baldakines, i dont remember the name. And a big minus at the hotel Astoria, no rooms have a fridge or minibar and no rooms have a balkone, on the street beside the hotel there are some prostitutes, noft very attraktive, and some screaming peoble, constantly screaming the whole night through. The weather in las palmas is always cloudy, nearly no sun.

    Nice and clean rooms

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I tried asking about transfer (the possibility is mentioned in the description), but got no reply :(

    Very good location - 5 minutes to the beach and promenade, a bus stop is also in 5 minutes. On the roof is really a small pool and place to sunbath. Breakfast variety is typical for hotels, there is always something to choose from (I mean, english breakfast vs musli vs sandwiches), and they have a coffee-mashine! Dinners were different every day of the week, although it seemed like they have week menues (meaning all monday-dinners will be the same).

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE ROOM HAD NO FRESH AIR , THE TOILET WINDOW DOESENT OPEN , THE WINDOW THAT DOES WHICH IS IN THE MAIN ROOM, OPENS TO AN INDOOR OUT AREA, WHICH IS WHY THE ROOM HAD AIR CONDITIONING, SHOULD OF ASKED FOR A ROOM WITH A WINDOW. LOL

    I HAD A REALLY GOOD NIGHT SLEEP, MY HOTEL ROOM WAS IN A GOOD AND QUITE LOCATION.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a disability room with a wetroom like bathroom. The water from the shower escaped the tray onto the tiled floor that left the floor slippery as not non slip tiles.

    Central location. Hotel bar very good value.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony so I did feel a little restricted when in my room

    Great location perfect for our needs as I took my Mum away for a short break Evening food excellent value for money and a great choice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The surroundings of the hotel are very noisy and lot's of disturb, the police can't do much about the prostitution and fightings in the area.

    The hotel is OK, the staff were very kind and frendly

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the hotel was difficult to find, due to a lot of roads nearby had one way direction only. Please provide a street map marked with how to get to the hotel from the airport. Parking facilities where difficult and I recommend to enter by taxi.

    Excellent breakfast and nice staff. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The hotel was situated in a seedy part of town,although there were no problems,it does take on a rather different aspect outside at night . Don't let this put you off mind. The good points far outweigh the bad .

    lovely hotel,staff were great. pool area was great for my three kids,quiet and clean. The breakfast was fab and we had lunch one day which was good. Mostly older couples in this hotel so probably would n't have booked this hotel for my family,but we needed the location for a wedding. I would however recommend this hotel.Also the bar prices are very cheap.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Smelly room NO parking available - the parking mentioned on booking.com is a public parking with extra costs about 5min away from hotel

    Good location acceptable price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    as above

    Opposite the hotel was a block of flats that was obviously a drugs den.there were people coming and going all day and night very clearly under the influence of drugs,also hanging around outside the hotel.this was an unpleasant experience and one which will certainly stop us staying at the Astoria hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under criticism. It's a 2 stars hotel. 
Dirthy: hair on the bathroom's floor and on the towel, glasses and cups in the restaurant, carpet in the corridor, etc.
In the room there were two floor levels, and the bathroom was higher with 15 cm. The windows couldn't you open whole, because the bridging beam is low. 
The bed is very hart, thin walls, through the ventilation duct you can hear everything from the other room and from up and down. 
At half board must you pay for water at dinner. You can choose between water and wine. Bad quality and always same food, poor choice.
On the table there is glass sheet, the waiter clears it with an aqueous dirthy cloth (he doesn't clean dry). 
Lemon is missing for tea.
Area: drug dealers and prostitutes at the corner next to the hotel. Guarded parking cost 16€ /night. It's from 6 corners from the hotel. 
Almost just pensioners are in the hotel. At the top of the hotel there is a small pool, terrace and a lot of ventilators down from the kitchen. You can feel all the smells.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No free welcoming mineral water. Hard to reach the hotel from airport because bus that came from airport stopped pretty far from the hotel. Elevator is small and quite slow. Room quite small, but expected this from the price. Swimming pool is too small to enjoy swimming. Good just for a dipping and fun with friends.

    Housekeeping and cleanliness are great! Staff (Sergio) is very helpful. Very close to Las Canteras beach. Bed and toilet are excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Maintenance was very poor/non-existent; we reported a leaking air conditioning unit on Sunday and was told it would be fixed. It wasn't and kept us awake at night. As a result we were very tired. Then when I complained again we were told the only option was to move rooms, so we did (but this was after waiting days for it to be fixed).

    The rooftop garden, café and pool were lovely.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - the breakfast was the same every day...and the food did not seem to have the quality I would expect for paying that amount of money. By my fourth day it got to the point where I couldn't even eat the food. Just very basic, not the work of a chef - the key that turns on the AC is permanently attached to your room key (therefore, on hot days you will come back to a hot room) - the shower drain was so slow that it would overflow onto the bathroom floor after a short shower

    + It's only a short walk from the beach + cheap beer at the bar by the pool + WiFi worked well!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was awful. Couldn't see any daylight which wasn't nice and thankfully was only at the property for 3 nights or this wouldn't have been acceptable.

    Location excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool and the pool area Could be bigger, for the capacity of the hotel, but it's very pleasant there anyway.

    Great breakfast, nice staff, big airy rooms!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed hard, pool freezing would be nice if heated, some hot breakfast items not very not, bit dated decor but clean.

    Very good location, good size room, very reasonable bar prices, helpful friendly staff, nice pool and bar area.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The receptionists except for one , were not all that good on explaining things in English. There could also have been better information on where to go and what to do on las Palmas and the island in general.

    The leisure rooftop facilities

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 4 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Daytime bar staff very unhelpful and rude. Breakfast was hard to find a table, very busy.

    Good value for money. Reception staff were excellent, very helpful. Clean rooms. Excellent location. Close to airport (20mins in taxi) close to old town (10mins in a taxi) close proximity for bars and restaurants.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very flustered it took 2 to check in 1 customer therefore leaving is standing there for almost 20 minutes without so much as an acknowledgement. Very basic service could not even provide directions nor seemed too bothered to. So sent us off with the directions to the bus station as follows "leave hotel turn left and walk for 10 minutes you will get there" very inaccurate as we then spent 45 minutes walking around until we found it nowhere near where we were instructed to go. The pictures deceived me we are frequent travellers and love to try out and and all kinds of hotels but the photos for this were outdated wasn't a major issue I just felt as though I had paid for something else. And the beds were very uncomfortable

    Location was excellent and the rooms were impeccably clean. The breakfast was fantastic and don't at a good time too as many hotels start it at 7 and finish at 9. Over all a pleasant stay nothing spoiled our holiday.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    the room was not clean, I found a plaster with long black hairs on my pillow, they put only one time 2 shower gel for 7 days, the food and drinks for breakfast wasn't enough and the plates, cups, glasses also... always in the morning we should wait for free table and after that for crockery and food, they didn't have iron and iron board (that is a 3 stars hotel...)

    good location, friendly reception staff, good size room, nice bathroom, maybe good value for the money, the dinner was nice

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was shock for us, when we had check in, we paid in cash without check. After 20 minutes when we come down to the supper, administrator said us that we need to pay. But we told him that we already paid, and only after 3 minutes he had remembered that we paid. So our advise be careful with personal and when paying! And one more thing, we couldn't understand why at the supper they don't have free juices. You need to pay for water or wine. So this hotel is to expensive for this money which we paid. Maybe in summer when it is good weather and you can enjoy the sun on the terrace with pool. But in our case, we didn't have a good weather and didn't use terrace. And please one more advice for hotel, clean your windows outside.

    Good breakfast and supper.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    It was a little bit embarrassing at dinner, wine beer and water is free on full board but not on half board which is confusing. They need to put extractors in the bathrooms as a horrid smell builds up overnight. The restaurant is in the basement.

    There was good variety at the breakfast and dinner buffets. The room was clean and had a lot of storage space. I liked that it had laminate floors so it was clean and good for my allergies. I thought we got good value. it was close to the beech

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The range of food in the restaurant was very limited and often cool/cold unless you were there when the food was put out. More staff are required in the restaurant as often the guests had trouble attracting the attention of a member of staff. On several occasions myself or partner had to let other guests where items such as cutlery or napkins were located. There were also elderly or infirm guests in the restaurant who could have done with a little help locating a table and carrying plates.

    The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The wifi was good and the lounge area was very good. The bar prices were very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is really hard to find a parking place, when you are coming with a car. Streets around the hotel are narrow and packed with cars.

    Really good breakfast, with variety of choices. Close to a beach.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very busy at breakfast time, not always a table available & staff struggled to keep up with demand.

    Plenty of communal seating areas. Change of towels daily. Very reasonably priced drinks at the hotel bar. Good position for beach or city, plenty of very nice restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wifi did not work. I'm so sick of booking hotels based on the fact that they also have wifi only to turn up and find it doesn't work. I feel like it's a bit of a scam to be honest because in this day and age people expect wifi and if a place doesn't have wifi they won't book it. So I find hotels say they have wifi... but they actually don't. Or else the service is so bad that they might as well not have wifi. Other than that this place was nice, but the lack of wifi is extremely irritating and, quite frankly, it's false advertising to say you have something when you don't.

    The price was good and the swimming pool was nice. There is free use of the computers in the bar, which is a nice touch. Location is good.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very small point. Could have been a greater selection of deserts. But if you like ice cream (like me) then OK

    There was an excellent full breakfast and good main dishes at dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location is good with the Cantaras Beach very close. There is an excellent bus service and you must visit Puerto de las Nieves and Arucas a short distance away. The number 60 to and from the airport almost to the doorstep (ten minute walk) and fraction of the price of taxi.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Found a cockroach in the room one morning. The breakfast serving staff could not really cope- eg the eggs ran out, so I waited for more, by the time they arrived the tomatoes had gone, and the coffee machine kept having to have a rest! We did not book to eat there in the evenings but the food did not look very appetising..

    No noise from outside at night, (we had an inside room 222). Good location and a car park close by (c. Olof Palme) that allowed a term ticket so we could come and go as we wished.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Area local to hotel attracts spurious local individuals loitering in side streets presumably carrying out illegal transactions which is very uncomfortable for passers by. Restaurant area down in basement creating an unwelcome atmosphere. Breakfast was overcrowded and lacking seating, sufficient food, utensils etc. with too few staff to cope. Only one lift working. Had to pay extra for safe although booking implied it was included. Reception staff very abrupt. Not a hotel to be recommended.

    Location near to beach and promenade.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hot water at breakfast wasn't very hot. Orange juice was awful and the selection of fresh fruit was poor. Rooms were very dated, I think a refurbishment is required

    Reception staff were great.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More staff in major areas ie reception ,dining room other wise good

    Breakfast was a bit hectic not enough staff on to replenish food or to clean tables. Reception were very helpful but should have more than one on.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing major, but no kettle, tea/coffee facilities in the room.

    For us, the serviced received from Sergio on reception was 'Outstanding'. We booked a couple of excursions through him and everything went wonderfully as he advised. A great thank you to him for all his assistance.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Breakfast was a shambles! Staff could not cope with full hotel - not enough tables, crockery, cutlery and food selection not replenished quickly enough. Bed very hard!

    Bar prices

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls between rooms are bit thin

    The hotel has a deal with a nearby parkinglot, which was good and cheaper. It's very close to the beach and shopping places and going out to explore the island was easy and quick.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The beds are like concrete. Felt like sleeping in the reception on several occasions. Breakfast was disappointing and usually overcrowded (unable to get a table and had to go later).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No free internet in the room because of bad weather. Very dirty breakfast room. Noisy difficult or expensive parking

    very close to the beach staff willing to help

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To many people to breakfast. Not essy to get a table. They need a sign at the pool to say that you where not allowed to hold a chair with a Towell

    location

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Buffet breakfast and dinner, a lot of days there were no plates, knives & forks, cups, saucers and food. Had to wait for table as so few staff around to clear,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was chaotic and poor - too many customers, not enough staff, poor food quality and choice, kept running out of food, crockery and cutlery, coffee machine kept breaking down, queues everywhere. Room was on busy main road and noisy with window open. Side street felt unsafe - prostitutes, beggars, drug users day and night.

    Fitness room, sauna, pool. Near beach and walkable to old town. Several bus stops and shops nearby.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Can't say, just that drinks/coffee were not included in price except breakfast, but juice/coffee machine during lunch was not locked like used to be in other hotels and it caused funny situation when tourist wanted to take drink.

    Good food, you could choose whatever you want how many times you want (buffet). There was enough food for all tourists, staff always brought new. Free internet in room. All staff looks happy. Hotel looks nice. Very good location, 100m to beach.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    We'd booked a superior twin room, the hotel CLAIMED to have no knowledge of our booking and fobbed us off with a very noisy ordinary room. Presented with a take-it-or-leave it price. IF THEY HADN'T A ROOM WE'D HAVE HAD PROBLEMS. Food generally cold.

    Relative helpfulness of some staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Food in the hotel does not taste good, it was so plain. Also the facilities such as the gym was so old.

    Location is very close to one of the city centers. When you have full board, it becomes good for value.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dirty, dust everywhere, terrible breakfast, unfriendly staff, especially portman Sergio. Cleaning staff doesn't clean the floors. TV doesn't have any entertainment channels. People smoking in their suits. Smell of chlorine. They don't clean containers for table appliances. Location is seedy-prostitutes. The tenants are mostly seniors.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Our room overlooked some roads which were a bit noisy at night. Other than that we cannot fault it.

    Great hotel! Fab value for money! The staff were very friendly and helpful, lovely big room with comfy bed and a tasty breakfast. Close to the beach, restaurants and bars, and we enjoyed using the gym, pool and sauna. We also went on one of the organised coach trips through the mountains which was a fantastic way to see the island's beautiful scenery!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I had an excellent stay! The Food was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpfull, the price of the stay was reasonable. Furthermore the hotel atmosphere was very relaxing (no loud Music in the bar), and both the rooms and common areas were clean and neat. The location is excellent, With short distance to the city's facilities and the Las Canteras Beach promenade. This was my Third stay at Astoria, and NeXT time I am in Las Palmas, I will definetly choose Astoria again

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse BULL Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: