Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria7 4 stars

Sagrada Familia, 1, esquina Sancho El Sabio, 20010 San Sebastián, Spain

#16 of 62 hotels in San Sebastián

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1970 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2018

    9.2
    Nice, clean and modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice, clean and modern hotel. Interesting movie theme. Quiet location but good access to public transpo and within walking distance to old town centre.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    10
    Everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All was great - no problems or gripes

    Everything!! Great Movies Theme to the hotel. Loved our room, the bed, the bathroom, the TV, the secure parking and the location. All the staff are great too

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money for those prepared to walk 15-20 minutes to the centre of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Heating and cooling controls seemed overly complicated. Flat pillows. Bar not open, too isolated from the restaurant.

    Elegant design, helpful staff with a good restaurant.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    10
    The facilities were excellent and the bed was huge and very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were excellent and the bed was huge and very comfortable. The location was good. Taxi to old town was €6-€8. You can walk to beach. Parking the car was easy and very secure.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Great staff and management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is an unusual review because we had to cancel trip due to a medical emergency. But the management were so helpful and understanding that I just had to post. They made us relax about having to cancel the holiday so we could focus on the medical issues. I am sure the staff reflect the management of this hotel..... we will reward their understanding by booking with them for our next trip to San Sebastián!!! And we will recommend them to anyone we know!!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel with great staff in nice quiet location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No problems at all.

    Hotel staff were very friendly and no request was any trouble. The room was very spacious with good storage for clothes. We rented bikes from Ciclos Luma across the road and they were first class. San Seb is really well set up for cycling. The movie memorabilia in the hotel really adds to the experience.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Clean and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was slightly noisy but I'm only nit-picking

    Nice and comfortable rooms which were kept very clean. Friendly staff. Location is perfect. Nice walk to old town and beach.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    The staff esp Aitor who assisted me with all my queries and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff esp Aitor who assisted me with all my queries and tour requirements. The free welcome drinks. The complimentary wine and chocolates for my parents bday and mine.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    9.6
    Modern comfortable hotel. Really liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Liked everything!

    Modern well equipped well sized room with comfortable bed (I have back issues so bed is a priority), good shower pressure, quiet and clean. Helpful friendly staff. After flashy Lasala plaza a few nights ago, we had been disappointed with varying hotel rooms but this unpretentious hotel with cinematic theme was great for the price. The surrounding area is less touristy than near Concha Bay so it gives you a different perspective of the same city of San Sebastian. It's about a 15 min walk to the bus terminal.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable hotel, 10-15 mins walk from city and Beach area of San Sebastián
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room wasn’t ready at check in -3.30pm. Reception staff a bit offhand. We were not notified that lost glasses had been handed in to reception while checking out-despite reception having committed to advise (aware of name, room number etc)if they were found. However-big relief to have found them

    Liked the movie theme. New, clean bright hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.2
    A cinema themed hotel with comfortable quiet rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is a reasonable walk from the old town and restaurants. We tended to walk in but with hindsight should have used the regular bus service which stops opposite the hotel.

    The hotel was stylishly designed and decorated and we enjoyed the cinema theme. The breakfast was good with a large range of options and excellent coffee. Our room on the 3rd floor was nice and quiet.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    8.8
    A pleasant hotel in a fantastic pl
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was not near the old town. The lighting was harsh.

    It was pleasant and clean. I liked the movie themes and the DVD library. I am a movie fan!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    9.2
    the hotel and the staff were more than perfect. i strongly recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    None.

    The hotel has a parking area in the same building which i like it most. the hotel design is deferent than other hotel where the same building was assign to Cinima long back then it been redesigned to a hotel, which i love it. you can feel this in the decoration of the Hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    7.9
    Really nice and helpful staff, a very pleasant place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedrooms were a bit small and the windows were closed, hence all the humidity from the bathroom stayed in the room

    Really nice and helpful staff, a very pleasant place to stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    8.3
    Good location, clean and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Beds were a little hard.

    Front desk staff very friendly. Easy paid parking on site. Bathroom facilities good. Room clean. Short walk into Old Town and Centre.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice Modern Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All good

    Nice modern hotel with good facilities. Bed was comfortable and we liked the shower. It is about 20 minutes walk up to the old town area, but we actually preferred that, as we could get our 10,000 steps a day in without a problem !

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    8.8
    Nice, residential location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The location, slightly outside downtown, in a more residential area, meant that shops, bars, and restaurants in the area are used by locals, and that enhances the experience of being in a new place. The bus to and from downtown stops right outside the hotel and goes every few minutes, otherwise it's just a short walk.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Nice stay but nothing special
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was smaller than expectet. This was dissapointing as it was very thight and just enough room for the two of us. Roomcleaning missed leasing handtowels 1 Day and didnt give us new coffecups 1 Day. Stayed for 3 nights. No complimentary Water or snacks in the room, which would have liftet the experience.

    Good fitnesscenter, Nice hotel-bar and good location with Nice facilities

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    6.7
    Beautiful room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Terrible parking situation. The hotel staff did not specify enough how to enter the parking, and there was a big truck blocking the reserved space. It was quite a stressful start. If you eat at the hotel restaurant they do not offer to send it to your room, so they invite you to do it yourself. I had to bring it up on my own with a huge tray. That's very subpar considering it is a 4 star hotel. There was no room-service, or I was not informed about it. We could not find a room-service menu on the room. The room, although beautiful, was very overpriced.

    Beautiful room.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Modern comfotable hotel in San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great hotel in a nice place of San Sebastian. A short easy stroll - about 10 minutes - to the San Sebastian Cathedral, then another 10 minutes to the Playa de la Concha. A few bars and small grocery stores next door. The sitting area/library which joins the hotel's bar in the evening is well equipped and comfortable. Parking in the garage downstairs, with elevator going straight to your floor. Nice restaurant on the premises.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Well We'd stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We walked to the beach down the street in front of the Hotel which while interesting may prove a little far for some people' good bars to stop at along the way though :)

    A very welcome reception with all paperwork ready for us including the car parking request. The room we had was interestingly themed to go with the rest of the hotel.. Films. Modern designed throughout clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.3
    Fine hotel, unpleasant reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unpleasent receptionist. Charged 25 euro additional for our daughter to stay in our room although there was no extra bed available and no extra towel. Felt like a rip off.

    Location fine, good rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.2
    Nice place. Funky film deco. Good food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms might be a little tight, but you don’t go to San Sebastián to stay in-house.

    Nice place. Funky film deco. Great restaurant, tested for lunch and breakfast. M Clean room. Modern. Hard mattresses. Nice touch of the front desk who realized it was my birthday and sent some wine to celebrate.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    7.9
    Did not stay for breakfast but overall they deliver what is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Second bed in our room was not that comfortable Shower overflowed

    Did not stay for breakfast but overall they deliver what is says on the tin Could do with stocking draft beer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.5
    Decent, clean, modern hotel in San Sebastian.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast is not available for a very long time, there is no room service outside of breakfast hours which personally I find ridiculous at a hotel of that price with a restaurant.

    Nice clean hotel with a decent location (not central to most of the spots but also not too far out and there is enough nearby). Room was modern and comfortable although a little small however that's to be expected in European towns of a similar size etc

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.2
    Great movie-themed hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing really, but just a suggestion; they could perhaps sell the tourist travel card at the front desk.

    I wasn't aware when I booked the hotel, but it is movie-themed! You will be greeted by a statue of Alfred Hitchcock (that I embarrassingly smiled at in my jet-lagged state) when you enter the hotel and the rooms are named after various movie stars. Staff were very friendly and helpful (gave me the directions I needed as well as loaned me umbrellas). Rooms were well-furnished and very comfortable, which was great since it was raining heavily during most of my stay in San Sebastian. Rain shower in the bathroom with good water pressure/temperature was great! The hotel is located in a quieter part of town. It was probably a 10 to 15-minute walk to old town (perfectly acceptable and enjoyable in good weather) or in my case, a 10-minute bus ride (bus stop is right outside the hotel). The restaurant serves up a good breakfast and lunch as well (did not try the dinner/pintxos there but heard those are good as well).

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in a great city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast buffet could be a bit bigger.

    I liked almost everything about that hotel, it offers more than it seems. The room (and the bathroom) is very spacious and well equipped. The hotel staff is very helpful, English is not a problem for them. The hotel's bar is small, but the offer is pretty broad. Parking in the hotel might be considered a bit expensive, but it's still acceptable, especially since it's safe and pretty spacious. You can reach the beach (La Concha) by walk in around 12 minutes, totally fine for me!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    8.8
    Well appointed and conveniently located hotel, with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much natural lighting in our room (201) as it was in a corner by the lift.

    Very clean and modern and well placed for the bus into town. Nice bar and cafe area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Very nice hotel with great staff that were very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel with great staff that were very helpful and pleasant and gave information on bus and train times and other tourist information. Hotel is 20 min walk to centre but there are buses outside the hotel. All the staff have very good english.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.5
    Was great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff very helpful and friendly. Good location and the best lemon meringue pudding we have ever tasted. Air con did not work but room was a good size and very clean .. big bathroom.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    10
    Excellent Comfortable Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent well managed hotel, comfortable beds, very friendly staff; especially obliging in the restaurant. Good breakfast and available set lunch/dinner menu (after eating too many Pinxos in town)! We were hiking and liked the quiet location. Bus stops nearby to go on a short ride to the old town, main bus station or simply walk there. The 5 star hotel in Bilbao was run down by comparison.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Excellent Location, Great Rooms, and Fun Decor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The hotel is in an ideal location! You can easily walk to City Center and Old Towne in about 15-20 minutes, which is perfect if you like to get some daily exercise. Taxi service and bus service is also available with the bus stop across the street. We selected the Astoria 7 because of its proximity to the Ice Hockey Rink; this was also about a 15 minute walk. There are no hills in this area so you don't get tired going in either direction. The room was a perfect size with two twin beds together as a king, a desk, and a comfortable chair. The bathroom was very roomy and the staff changed linens on a daily basis. The beds were comfortable! The registration staff were all very friendly and helpful, and spoke multiple languages. It was very beneficial to have someone speak English because not many people speak English in San Sebastian! The decor was creative, showing large photos of actors who stayed at the Astoria 7 with their room numbers. It's fun to tell your friends that you were in the Harrison Ford or John Travolta room! A bar and lounge is conveniently located by the lobby and the hotel cafe/restaurant is in that same area. They do serve breakfast for 15-18 Euro, but we chose to find a local restaurant. Our favorite was by the church square in City Center (by the underground parking garage). I highly recommend the Astoria 7!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Truly enjoyed my stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I could easily hear the people above me...perhaps better soundproofing or at a minimum pads on moveable furniture

    Atmosphere, rooms, location, good tapas, friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.6
    Great Hotel, Great Staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very nice and very helpful much more than our other experiences have been (just cultural differences), very nice hotel! The “movie” theme didn’t bother me at all it’s barley noticeable and who cares lol, comfortable beds two pillows, nice bathroom, the location is what it is for the price, we love walking so we didn’t mind walking even in the rain, about 20 mins to the Old Town and restaurants etc, a taxi was about 7 Euros, not bad. Good value! Thank you!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Nice hotel for a few days stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can be noisey from guests walking on floor above arriving back early am. All pillows are very flat. Bar/cafe offerings not great quality. Caesar salad wasn't great. Drink sizes very random. About 20 to 25min casual walk to old town. But it does make for a pleasant stroll.

    Modern movie star themed hotel in an original old cinema. Staff on reception are very warm and welcoming. Lovely clean rooms and marbled bathroom. On arrival we opted for a quick light lunch before exploring the city at the restaurant. Lunch was devine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    8.3
    Loved the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom door is glass, so it does not give you a lot of privacy.

    The hotel is not exactly near the center of the city, but a short 10 minute car ride and it is worth it. The place is beautiful, modern, and spotless. The staff is super friendly and accommodating, and the restaurant has very good food. They also have parking available, just make sure you reserve in advance. Will stay here again in a heartbeat!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Good lesson in cinematography
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not applicable

    Lovely hotel a short walk away from the town centre and the beach. Great idea to name each room after famous actor or actress. Well-equipped gym, practically no other people using it Amazing restaurant and tapas bar attached to the hotel making the stay a full-rounded experience

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    8.8
    nice cosy hotel in a quiet neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    sound isolation not perfect. you can hear bathroom sounds of next room. other than these there were no problem.

    Interesting design and comfortable rooms. It is very close to river and nice to have a walk. Each room is on name of one cinema artist,director. It is very pleasant. The coffee shop was very nice and food was delicious.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    We really enjoyed our stay at the Astoria7 and felt it was good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive breakfast at €18 each but we had breakfast across the road for €12 for two Although there is parking attached and was very safe we felt it was a little expensive

    Very comfortable and large bed. Very nice toiletries too. The staff were I ncredibly helpful Short walk to the old town where the pinxo’s are the best

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    10
    I loved San Sebastián thsnks to where we stayed and the professional staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    The whole experience was great. The staff especially helpful and went way beyond the call if duty . Breakfast great wait staff wonderful. All good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    10
    The room was spacious and very comfortable, super comfy bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and very comfortable, super comfy bed. But most of all, we enjoyed the buffet breakfast which is really valuable for its price and offers a big choice. We enjoyed every morning! Thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.5
    Lovely quirky Hotel in vibrant city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was beautiful and we loved the atmosphere-the Christmas tree was made from cinema film reels ! It was great to have the free drink-and to have a choice of a simple breakfast in the cafe or full breakfast in the restaurant

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    7.5
    So the room was nice, great location, value was ok and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was closed in am, which makes sense but come on. Parking is what did this place in. Very greedy. 18 euros a day or so and there was plenty down there. Also not the easiest place to navigate while driving. Laundry services were pretty greedy too.

    So the room was nice, great location, value was ok and restaraunt was good. Bathroom was really nice. No lock but it was just me and my girlfriend.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.6
    Great value and very chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only point I would consider is the fact that it is 25 mins walk to the old town.

    Everything. This is a great hotel, very comfortable and we really enjoyed our stay! Very chic, nice and warm atmosphere

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2017

    9.6
    Great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I just stayed overnight, coz i have to go to biarritz following day..

    My single room is nice and clean. Staff is great. Located 15 minutes walking to the renfe train station. There is bus station nearby to go to the center if you dont want to walk , 15 minutes walking distance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.9
    Good hotel, Good value
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water temperature fluxation in the shower was very bad at all times. No bath. No tea & coffee making facilities as advertised.

    Proximity to the start & finish line of the Marathon. Comfortable bed. Clean room. Nice coffee shops & places to buy fresh fruit, vegetables and bread nearby. Only 15min walk from town centre.area feels safe.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.9
    Excellent choice of hotel for Marathon weekend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Lighting in room was poor. No free drinking water in room. Rather thin walls! According to room information there should have been a clock and other things in the room which were not there. Bath products were not replaced.

    Very friendly staff. Very comfortable bed. Plenty of hot water. Good breakfast. Nice touch to offer massage facilities after the marathon!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    9.2
    Great spot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good location. Staff were really friendly and anything we needed they helped. Clean and comfortable rooms secure parking too. A flat 20 min stroll to La Concha. Great cocktails. Would stay here again for sure

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay, just eat out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only fault we could find was the attitude and basic lack of understanding of the role of staff in the restaurant. Surprising and disappointing. The waiter who showed us to our table declined a request for a more comfortable window table although the restaurant was not crowded and the three booths available were not reserved. The excuse we were given, that "those tables are for four, but you are only two" held no wait when two couples who arrived later were given the tables we requested. The girl/woman who took our order had no idea what the dishes on the menu were.

    Loved the movie film them of the hotel, including public areas, rooms, cafe & restaurant. All tastefully done & with vintage films (dozens of them) available via smart TV. Food in the restaurant was first class. Staff were friendly and helpful. Have to make an early departure to catch our train to Barcelona the provision of coffee and donuts at checkout was a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    9.2
    Quirky (in a good way) hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quirky place, had a movie themed decor. Parents stayed in Elizabeth Taylor's room (very spacious bathroom), I stayed in Orson Welles'. Clean, modern facilities. Location is a bit of a walk to old city, but accessible by bus as stop is just across the hotel (#26 or 29).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    9.0
    Really upset that there were no facilities in the room for making coffee in the morning. Had to go d
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THe people on reception could have been a bit friendlier and more helpful.... A hotel of this level and modernity should offer a Nespresso machine in the bedroom.....very annoying to have to go downstairs to get a coffee in the cafe as I don't like room service just for an espresso!

    The cafe attached to the hotel is very friendly and has delicious pinxtos..lots of locals drop in for a light breakfast. The cocktail bar was nice. THe mixologist made excellent cocktails. Liked the movie theme everywhere. Witty and amusing touches too.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Fabulous hotel with extremely helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only downside the hairdryer in the room was really heavy

    Modern hotel with film and theme, well designed and laid out with fun details. The room was very comfortable and quiet and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Had a great stay and I will definitely go back

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Good, relaxing trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in a superior room but for a couple it wasn’t worth the extra money. Larger room and maybe bath robes was the only difference.

    Reception staff friendly and very helpful- sorted out bus routes to places of interest and air conditioning problems. Breakfast very good would recommend the fried eggs!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Location is a about 15 mins fro the old town but the walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is a about 15 mins fro the old town but the walk did us good. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. The rooms are a good size and comfortable. A very pleasant stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Little luxury in San Sebastian
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel offered a complimentary wine at the bar and I was told at reception that you can also have coffee instead. Well, we couldn’t. Coupons weren’t accepted at the bar. No big deal about the cost to us but shouldn’t be a issue to hotel either. Coffee costs about the same as wine here. And mist of all, given coffee instead of wine would’ve been good customer service. Some people and firms just don’t get it. Walk to beach and old town is about 20 minutes. Buses go right in front of hotel but it’s a bit isolated from center if that matters to someone.

    Room was spacious and luxurious and the bed was huge. Breakfast wasn’t included but we ate some pintxos and coffee at the restaurant and they were really good. Wish I could’ve stayed another night.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    8.0
    We would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walking distance to Old Town and the Bus Station but nothing the bus or taxi can’t remedy.

    Room was clean; bed was comfortable. Great service from the Reception staff who were very helpful and efficient in recommending places to eat and in navigation directions.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    5.8
    as a whole the hotel was ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was awful!!! it was absoultly a nightmare and the fact that the air condition was exactly on me , I couldnt close it because of the weather so actually the terrible mattress and the aircontion on me the whole night turned out to be a slepless night and a -teriiblr cold

    as a whole the hotel was ok.Very functional .

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    7.5
    Bartenders in the bar lounge were very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like that they had us in a room directly below the gym. You could hear people on the cardio machines. Stay away from room 901

    Bartenders in the bar lounge were very friendly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    4.2
    Never again.....
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - when larger groups arrive or check out, like it happened right before me, the front desk is not able to cope properly - mattes super uncomfortable, we didn't sleep through for 4 nights - cleanliness of the room is improvable, our toddler always got dirty when he ran around (which didn´t happen at the Akelarre) - a lot of room spray is used by the cleaning team - air conditioning didn't work for 3 days - had a window to the street and because of the non-working air conditioning we had to keep it opened during the night. In the night the whole room smelled like sewer

    - Parking directly in the building with a lift which goes directly to the hotel rooms. -Film inspired interior was nice. -Friendly staff in the restaurant -Free water provided in the lobby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    7.1
    Great design hotel with an excellent cocktail bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Also a shame that there was no outdoor space at the hotel e.g. A courtyard. Also some building works outside our window that kept us up.

    Great design hotel with an excellent cocktail bar

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    8.8
    We loved Astoria 7, definitely recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I know it sounds very picky, but the hair dryer was awful, bring your own. Also, would be nice if you had options for breakfast in the restaurant other than the buffet. I just wanted a coffee but has to go to the noisy, busy bar section.

    Excellent staff! Very clean, close to bus stop. Highly recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    8.3
    Clean, well-designed hotel with spacious rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slightly awkward location - not much going on in the area and relatively far from the bars and tourist attractions. We received two coupons for a free drink in the hotel's bar. We each wanted a glass of wine but rather than letting us choose something from the menu (which had wines for 2-3 EUR per glass), we were only allowed to get a specific white and red. They both turned out to be absolutely disgusting and undrinkable, which is pathetic considering the plethora of good and inexpensive wine in the region. Just don't bother offering these coupons to your guests at all!

    Clean, well-designed hotel with spacious rooms.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2017

    9.6
    Execellent experience and I would hghly recommend them.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like the initial room offered. Also, the hours of the gym was very inadequate

    The initial room was very small. We upgraded to a suite with a balcony that was very nice.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.0
    The lighting above the bed was terrible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The lighting above the bed was terrible. A single switch turned on 5 lights around and above the bed so it was not possible for one person to read and the other to sleep. There should be separate switches to control the lighting. This is normal all over the world......

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.5
    Clean modern hotel - (needs a pool if you want somewhere to chill!)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Sofa Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expensive, child put up bed had springs popping up NO POOL (was fooled as on facilities list it mentioned pool/ beach towels available my problem for not checking this) tbh - not many hotels in San Seb have pools. 20 mins walk from centre. (Or 5 mins on bus)

    Clean, modern, great staff, relatively well located given San sebastien is spread out. Food was lovely. Underground parking (but you will be charged €29 per day)

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.2
    Very nice rooms and amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at hotel was a bit below average for San Sebastien. It's away from the old city so you have to take a bus to the attractions which was a bit confusing as there doesn't appear to be any signage on the bus to tell you when or where to get off. Did not see many taxis. You get used to it if you stay a while but we were there for a short part of our European trip.

    Very nice rooms and amenities. Close to public transport. Bike rental place across the street was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.6
    Faultless!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    The breakfast was superb and the staff was as very friendly, professional and efficient. We ate in the restaurant in the evening too and had a lovely meal. It would actually be hard to fault our stay and I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    10
    Memorable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having no coffee/tea making facilities in our room Would of appreciated earlier check in... (before 3pm)

    Location, size of room,? Movie/cinema theme throughout hotel very impressive. Great photography........ Great talking point ,,,Public transport excellent. Staff very helpful with all our enquirers

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    8.3
    The fact that it was a 'theme = film hotel', the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was not very big, no tea making facilities It was quite pricy compared to the paradores where we we staying during our holiday.

    The fact that it was a 'theme = film hotel', the friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    7.1
    Pleasant. Maybe would try another next visit. The room was what would keep me away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My room. Felt like I got one of the worst rooms because of being a solo traveler. It had poor light and faced an unattractive backside of buildings. Window was small and tucked into the corner. NO visual appeal at all. Meanwhile, the hotel has many rooms with large windows and some with balcony's on the street side. Hotel is about a 20 minute walk to old town and the beach. Close and not so close. I don't mind walking. A couple more blocks further and it would have been too far away.

    Liked the quirky decor and rooms were comfortable. Places near to get breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    7.9
    The hotel has a movie theme and each room is named after a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We went in high season so it was quite expensive.

    The hotel has a movie theme and each room is named after a star. It is situated in a nice area of San Sebastián. It is a 15/20 minute walk to the old town and the beach.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    8.3
    fun theme hotel and good for the area if you want to enjoy the beeches.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner at the hotel was terrible especially since they claim to be gastronomic. Parking spaces were awkward and you need to be careful of the add-on expenses of parking and breakfast when deciding on total room price you want to pay. Beach was a long and not interesting walk away.

    Unusual decor for a holiday. Bar area was relaxing. Huge CD film library available and keeping with the theme of the hotel. Breakfast was good although the same every day.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    9.2
    Modern hotel with a cinema theme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really but if I had to be picky, the A/C wouldn't go higher than 25ºC so when the room got too cold you'd have to turn the A/C off completely. It's about 15-20 minutes from the beach, so if you don't fancy a walk then choose a closer accommodation.

    Bedroom was quite spacious and it had an armchair - always useful when you don't want to use the bed to sit down. Very modern and tastefully decorated with pictures from different scenes of movies. Movie theme is special and you can see it everywhere - you can even listen to soundtracks as you have your buffet breakfast! Amenities were all from Rituals - shower gel and shampoo smelt so nice!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.6
    Modern and convenient hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit expensive. The gym is tiny.

    Extremely friendly front desk. Very modern hotel. Walking distance from the main attractions. Beautiful neighbourhood.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.5
    Cool cinema theme
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from our room was a little gloomy. Also, be aware that the end time for breakfast is the time at which the breakfast actually closes. Side note: there were so many typos on actors and films in the room cinema guide... a little disturbing for such a hotel.

    I really liked the film festival theme and the room was comfortable. The hotel is approximately at a 15-20 minute walk from the playa de la concha - which means it is in a less touristy area (but might be a little far if you travel with kids). It is a good hotel overall.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: