Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Astoria 3 stars

Paris, 203, Eixample, 08036 Barcelona, Spain

#235 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1716 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We had an internal room on the second floor with the window opening on to the light shaft but it didn't bring any light into the room so it was perpetually dark. The room also had a damp smell. The bathroom extractor fan wasn't effective; our towels were never dry.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel,ideally located . Staff,were friendly and helpful and the rooms were extremely comfortable and clean. Lovely bar for a wee drink and would recommend the sangria. The pool terrace was an ideal spot to cool down and grab some sun after a busy morning sightseeing. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was so close to everything that Barcelona has to offer. 5 mins from subway. 20 mins from Catalunya stop. It was immaculate, quiet and has fantastic staff. Highly recommend ⭐️

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Cleaning was so so, and the interiors a bit dated. Didn't bother the overall experience though!

    Great pool, calm rooftop terrace with not too many people. Friendly staff. Best area in Barcelona, Upper Eixample, with all the best restaurants within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was quite big and well organized with a nice bathroom, quiet. We were staing for one night, the staff was helpful storing our luggage before and after our check-in and check-out time and we were very happy with them in general. The hotel is in a good central location.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hey needed a central light in the room to add more light hats it really

    All of the hotel was very clean and well lit, check in was a breeze staff were attentive and professional. As it was our honeymoon we had a comped bottle Of bubbly and chocolates in our rooms which shows the hotels desire to exceed customer ms expectations and added a personal touch

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest, the lifts never seem to arrive for us. After 12 miles of walking each day, you needed it....lol..

    Our room was thoroughly cleaned everyday, this included fresh towels, toiletries and bedding. The breakfast is fantastic and caters for everyone. The hotel management were brilliant.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The street noise was constant and went on all night. We did not realise there was a night club next door and people were outside talking all night. Closing the window and shutters did not help. Very disappointing because everything else made this a good hotel to stay at.

    The hotel was very comfortable and in a good location for walking to the many sites in Barcelona.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What we did not like was that somone was smoking in the corridore and our room . At first we thought it was the guest before us but then we realized it was ongoing .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little cold in the room,only bed sheets on beds (great in summer,but in rainy cold weather not enough).

    Perfect location for a good price. Quite and nice area,close to center,shops are close. Nice staff,very helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Requested a double bed and got twin bed that was on wheels. One or two moves too fast you would find your self with the bed on the other side of the room. Very noisy shower and bathroom. Very noisy rooms, you could hear the neighbors very easy through the walls.

    Good location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One night someone had been smoking on my floor which permeated thru the aircon. Was able to open a window to dissipate.

    Staff were incredibly helpful, room was large and clean. Easy to walk to main sights and taxi stand close by. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choices and good espresso

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room we were allocated was lovely however it faced straight out onto the roof terrace. On the first and second day we were there two separate hen parties were quite loud singing and screaming. Apart from these first two days the second two days were fine and quiet with just families and couple enjoying a quiet drink... I’m guessing this was just a one (or two) off so I wouldn’t let this put you off staying here.

    This hotel was absolutely perfect for what we needed, around 15/20 minute walk to La Ramblas, plenty of restaurants and shops near by and close to transport links if you don’t fancy walking. Hotel was spotlessly clean and well equipped for a city break. Staff were friendly and helpful, we could ask for any more. Would definitely return!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Slightly expensive considering breakfast was not included. Pool is not heated so not that appealing when outside temperature is only 22 degrees C. The pool was smaller than I expected, don't expect to swim here but I suspect it would be great for cooling off after a hot summer's day.

    Stunning Hotel and great location. Clean and modern rooms. Nice bar and restaurant. Flawless service. Lovely roof top pool and sun loungers. It's also got a gym.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived after a very long journey - flights were cancelled, delayed we were re-routed and lost a day in Barcelona - all without luggage! The kind people who worked at the hotel welcomed us with open arms - took excellent care of us and made wonderful recommendations for dinner. Maria is a wonderful bartender!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was right next to a strip club, so there’s that. Also, I was arranging airport transfer with the front desk and was told a taxi would be “no more than €14”. That’s insanely cheap so I checked with him that he said €14 and he confirmed. He must have meant €40 because it was €37. I was speaking in English, so learn your Spanish/Catalonian numbers before booking a taxi with them.

    It had everything you’d need and a very nice bathroom. It was well-located but on a side street so the traffic wasn’t too loud.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Somewhat expensive, but its Barcelona..

    Location is good, two blocks away from Rambla de Catalunya and next to Diagonal, heart of L'Eixample. Full of nearby restaurants. There are two metro lines around the corner that can take you to Sagrada Familia or Plaza Catalunya. Staff is awesome.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was not really a big issue but the pool is tiny. This was alleviated by the close proximity of an Olympic size 50 metre pool 7 mins walk away.

    1/ We all had our request for twin beds in our 10 rooms met. 2/ The reception staff were very helpful on an individual basis to members of our group. 3/ The Reservations Manager, Nuria, made a great impression with her welcome and the manner she dealt with any issues.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The price of breakfast was high, 15 euro/person considering 2 coffees and 2 croissants were under 5 euro at cafe next to the hotel.

    Taxi stand was just outside the building and restaurants and shopping were convenient and would fit any budget. Metro was within walking distance. Rooftop submersion pool and terrace would be lovely in summer months.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Gym is in need of some extra space and machines.

    Very comfortable bed, great bathroom, close to restaurants and transport, nice and quiet during the night. Friendly staff, very clean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only one thing we didn't like was the view from the window was kustblooking into othervwindows in centre of building nut it didn't spoil our stay.

    The breakfast very good loads of choice. The staff especially Maria in the bar in the evening. Location is great very central. Beautiful looking hotel inside, with a lovely art exhibition. Loved it.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t see sagrada Familia from the hotel as per the pictures.

    Good location. Not bad for one night. Has a bathtub and room is warm and nice but small.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I love the staff in the hotel, we arrived late after a long trip, the staff was helping us to make a smooth check in, the stay there was amazing everybody was helpful, professional and neat from morning to night we were feeling at home. we had the opportunity to meet the hotel director and have an amazing chat with him about Barcelona, things to do, food, wine, etc. Love the experience at the hotel

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms would need a little updating here and there - like the light fixtures.We only had a minor issue with the bathroom door cause it wouldn’t close properly. However, the staff was helpful and solved the issue.

    The location is absolutely perfect for getting to whatever place you want to visit. You have a lot of shops and restaurants nearby. The metro station is close- you can take the metro from Provença or Diagonal. The staff is very helpful and nice! Also, the wifi works perfectly. Extra like for the towels which are really big and fluffy!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    hot drink facilities in room

    the staff were excellent, along with food and coffee, not forgetting the opisso art collection first class , will definitely go back .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bathrooms are not modern and the corridors are noisy with maids in the mornings. Because everything is marble the sound travels more than usual. The standard rooms are boxy with windows that don't look out on anything and we found it a little claustrophobic. We did not look at the upgrade or better rooms and we had to request a change of room because originally we were put in a very small room that backs onto the maids closet; it was so noisy in the mornings. Finally, the cleaning of the rooms must be better then just a quick surface wipe and even then the maids could take more care of personal items. I do not expect to have to clean a sink plug hole of hair in order for the sink to drain properly. Not pleasant.

    The Hotel is located in a great part of Barcelona, with attractions, great restaurants, shopping and public transport links all within easy walking distance. If you are just looking for a comfortable room to lay your hat this is a good hotel for you. If you want a bar and nice lounge to chill out in, I would look for other hotels in the immediate area.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At least 25mins from Plaza Catalina/las ramblas despite previous reviews saying it was 5! maybe if you.re Mo Farrah! bar closed on New Years Eve, nothing to do in hotel, no tv room etc. Could hear lift everytime it was in use from room which disturbed my sleep very much. Windows rattled all night as it was windy.

    Staff friendly, upgraded our room foc when we originally had a room looking onto a brickwall. Shower good. Lovely view from rooftop terrace

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very small room. The window in the room looks out on a closed passage. There was no access to fresh air or natural light.

    Great location - a walking distance to main attractions of Barcelona.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is nothing really that we did not like. We thoroughly enjoyed everything about our stay. Perhaps only one comment is that there is mention of a restaurant but no obvious information about it in the rooms or foyer.

    Warm and comfy room and very friendly staff. Breakfast was unhurried and variety offered. The only downside of the property is also a plus in that it is very centrally located for those who enjoy a walk into the heart of the commercial centre. If however you are not so fit then it is on the edge of the centre and the distance might be prohibitive. We have stayed there before and enjoyed it so much we were determined to return.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    As with most older European hotels, the walls are thin. I also didn't like that the person next to us was smoking in their room and the smell was in out bathroom.

    I enjoyed the ambiance of the hotel. The location was a stone's throw from lots of shopping and some of the tourist attractions. The staff was helpful and gave great suggestions. They also remembered us and helped to make sure we had a great visit to Barcelona!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My first room was too small but they upgraded me and changed it right away.

    Maria and the whole kitchen staff as well as the front desk personnel . Everyone went above and beyond to be helpful. Wonderful people, great advice on restaurants and getting around.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    As mentioned just one employee put a downer on the stay. The breakfast is a little pricey and maybe think of more vegetarian options.

    When I was looking with my friend as where to stay in Barcelona we were a bit perplexed with which area. We, like many people, read reviews and therefore decided to stay at this hotel in Eixample area. I can say I agree with reviews I read about this area as in - if you want to be central and hit all the main tourist attractions then this is the best place and very safe neighbour hood. The hotel was in perfect location and very central which allowed us a 5 min walk to our left of the hotel and right; we hit the main road - Diagonal venue -which runs through Barcelona and is very central. There were lots of coffee / breakfast places around our hotel- we did not try these but looked very nice and clean. We were able to walk to all the main attractions such as Sagridia Familia, guadi's works such as Casa Bastilo, Pedro, the Gothic quarter, La Rambla, citadel parks, you name it- we walked to all the tourist attractions by foot and roughy took us 20/30 mins each time but we got quicker as we learnt the routes. If you don't mind walking then I recommend walking as it was the best way to see the city. The hotel provides a fab map and give information about the best routes etc. The hotel itself was as mentioned in a perfect location and the staff were AMAZING! The hotel Manger Mr Pepe was particularly helpful and attentive to our needs. He always asked how we were and what our plans were and then would recommend places for us to visit. We listened to his recommendations for food and bars and they were all brilliant. Other hotel staff such as Mr John, Valencia, and Manuel (all Italians) were FAB! Manuel, was funny, courteous and always had time to listen to our requests and would help us with walking routes and gave us fab suggestions as to where to eat etc. However, on a down side we had one hotel staff member (Spanish) was always rude, abrupt, didn't want to help because we didn't speak Spanish and made us feel inferior.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    This is a lovely hotel located in the L'Eixample neighborhood of Barcelona. It was in the perfect location for what we wanted to do during our three night stay - lovely neighborhood with many restaurants and walking distance of Las Ramblas, La Avenida Diagonal, Placa Catalunya and the old city Gothic Quarter to name a few. We love to walk but there is a taxi pick up on the corner across from the hotel for those who prefer not to walk - very reasonably priced too. The staff are very friendly, efficient and helpful, the rooms are spotless and breakfast in the morning offers many choices as well as made to order eggs and omelettes how you like them. The bed is extremely comfortable too. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Reception did not tell us about the facilities or where they were. Although there was a Directory in the room it didn't tell us much about the Hotel or suggestions of where to go, prices etc. We needed to know about facilities being open and whether we needed a timed ticket etc. Not particularly helpful as far as phoning attractions for us or looking on line or having basic tourist knowledge which I have found in other European Hotels of this standard. Breakfast was pricey at 15 euros and not particularly attractive. You can eat well for less just around the corner.

    Well situated and attractive hotel. Reception were welcoming but apart from giving us our room told us nothing about the facilities and where they were in the hotel. When we discovered that the safe was locked someone came to fix it within 10 minutes. Easy to walk into main areas and a taxi rank across the road. Very nice little passageway 100 yards on the left with good restaurants. Reception spoke enough English for us to get by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hair dryer in the room was pretty sad, barely worked. We had to rig the shower door each morning to ensure the bathroom didn't get flooded.

    Staff at desk were helpful. Room service was good. Excellent location and we got a very quiet room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was perfect in every way except one. That was the level of street and reveller noise experienced within our room (number 427} leading to a very sleepless night. Despite this large room being situated on the 4th floor with closable metal shutters fitted. The noise suppression from the windows for a hotel of this quality is unacceptable. The otherwise excellent hotel staff under the watchful eye of the manager were unable to comment or offer another an alternative room. It is with regret that on my next trip to Barcelona I will not be rebooking this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The photos on the website do not correspond to the reality. Very small room (according to the information on the website 20 m2, in reality ca 13 m2, no sofa, no chairs), no view. Overpriced.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Employees are very helpful and accomodating. They showed us how to get around Barcelona. Room is always clean with fresh and great quality towels. Adequate number of pillows which are comfortable. Great location which walking distance to train station, high end shops and all kinds of restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to be honest.

    Towels and shower/bath excellent location great 5 mins walk from top of rambles. Staff v helpful . Air con was good and cold when you wanted it. Bed really comfortable I slept thru each breakfast (3mornings) so no comment on food. Outside, there was a nice bar at the doorstep, 2 restaurants, so easy to have a few nightcaps and just walk upstairs. Location just 5 mins from top of las ramblas, so great location for walking. Very good value for money. Shower/bath memorable. We loved it. Will go back defo.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I should have checked the view or asked for a view when booking.

    Fantastic choice of breakfast. All the staff were helpful, friendly and spoke good English. The hotel was very close to most attraction or either a short walk, or metro ride.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very clean. The staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel is in a very beautiful and safe neighborhood, though it was a little away from the metro station.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was polite, but not really friendly. Tv didn't get any stations, and Wi-Fi only allows for you connect to one device for one email address.

    Comfortable rooms with very luxe towels! Steps away from Diagonal. Lovely art and staircase.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We made a last minute booking and got the last room in the Hotel. We chose the Hotel due to its close proximity to the Australian Consulate. Beautiful property but must really highlight the amazing Customer Service Team - each and every one of them exemplary.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A minor detail : only eggs on demand. Different prices for different days in one week.

    The reception was pleasant, the men at the desk speak English you could understand them. Enough space in the lounge to sit at a table or on the sofas. Nice pictures on the walls, kind of exposition. The firm has their own art collection. Nice restaurants to eat and have a drink very near the hotel. The WiFi is okay. Good breakfast with a lot of fruit and juices.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was excellent within walking distance to all of the main attractions and yet set in a lovely peaceful area with plenty of restaurants and cafes. Staff were very helpful and the room very roomy and comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First class service and made to feel very welcome from the word go I'd recommend this hotel to family and friends Fantastically friendly and helpful staff thank you

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room needed some repairs. Door to the room and bathroom door stuck. Toilet did not work well and ran at times. One light over bed flickered. (We just unplugged it). Could hear noise through walls.

    Breakfast onsite. Stairs as well as elevator. Felt safe walking in neighborhood around the hotel and many cafes, stores, and tourist attractions in neighborhood. Public transit an easy walk.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The majority of the staff were incredibly rude. Especially the staff behind the bar.

    Breakfast was very good value. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable. Very clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent location. A bit outside the overly touristic central core but still in walking distance of the Gothic quarter and even the marina. Nice albeit a bit small pool on rooftop (with amazing view over the city). The hotel has reserved places in a very nearby small park-house - albeit at 24 Euros/day extra charge.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't eat at the restaurant for a number of reasons. Firstly, the restaurant prices were quite pricey at the rate of £16.50 for breakfast. Secondly, there are so many food options around the area that my friends and I chose to eat at different restaurants during our stay. The gym could've bigger and had more equipment. I also wish that someone had shown us round in order to get to know the hotel a bit better but I believe it is because of the time we arrived.

    The staff were so helpful and friendly, even the ones on the night shift. They made my friends and I feel welcome. Our rooms were so comfortable and modern, it had everything we wanted and more. The rooftop pool was a nice touch to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The swimming pool/area was smaller than expected and therefore very crowded before dinner. It was closed after dinner when we tried to go back. Location is a little difficult to reach on foot from the airport/train station with bags, but that was only really an issue because of the extreme summer heat.

    Very clean room, excellent staff, and they let us borrow a corkscrew from the bar to open some wine we'd bought.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tiny pool on the roof with not enough sun loungers, tables, chairs or parasols. However, it's a small hotel with limited space so there's not much they can do. It's a minor grumble because in general, the hotel is excellent.

    Great location. Very central and a short walking distance from a major subway station making it very easy to get anywhere in Barcelona. For the price we paid, it was excellent value for money.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    what I didn't like is the long desk tables with drawers and tv was placed by the window which is no good idea. Hard to see outside when opening curtains too many stuffs that barred your views.

    Excellent location accessible to bus and near train station as well as restaurant. Chinese food, pizzaj, restaurants just across the road and nearby around the area.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The small pool and deck on the roof was a very enjoyable place to cool off and see the city. The staff did an excellent job finding a room to accommodate our family sleeping arrangements.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to really like this hotel, however, the beds were hard as rocks, the bedspreads and drapes were old and outdated, the walls were paper thin, the bathroom was tiny and awkward...these things made the stay less than comfortable.

    The staff were amazing, accommodating and helpful. The hotel is very old school, Art Deco, beautiful staircase, tons of interesting art.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms for Brooking clients are inner rooms , noisy ( next to the service area. you will wake up at 0730 of the noise of the cleaners) and small . I asked to move to an outer room - did not get it . but the idea of getting the lousiest room does not drive to be hosted again there .

    The hotel is located in a great area . The hotel is nice , big and comfortable . the manger - Mr.Papis is wonderful and very friendly .

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool was so lovely and the roof top area was but maybe some more chairs were needed, although it was too small an area to put more there.

    Great location lovely room with air con which was fab stunning rooftop with small pool. Staff were friendly especially a beautiful lady on reception who was so helpful. I would definitely book this hotel again I couldn't fault it. We was even allowed a few extra hours as I flight was in the evening free of charge. The only negative thing was I had to ask for a more fully itemised bill as the original bill they printed at the end of my stay was just the amount not actually stating what I payed for. It was soon sorted out and a discount too was given . I cant wait to visit Barcelona again and stay at the Astoria. Joanne and Elle

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had ordered a room with a queen size bed. Instead received a twin bed. Swimming pool is 2x3m. One can t nale this a swimming pool.cocktails are expensive

    Very expensive breakfast for what you get. Bath was clogged. Very warm weather: the hotel could have put some free water in the hall.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No safe in the room.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Location is very good. Don't miss the roof terrasse with the little swimming pool and view over the city and the sea. Breakfast was good. Decoration of breakfast room and corridors very charming.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints whatsoever.

    The reception staff were exceptional in their attitude and helpfulness. The room was great and the location excellent.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I liked everything.

    The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was friendly, very helpful, and accommodating to our every need. Great location to everything.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hotel staff made us feel that they really care about us and they are happy to see us. The room was cleaned very fast and neat. Rooftop pool and drinks from the bar are great, make sure you try Sangria because they make it from scratch.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was too expensive even with the discount for all days, but there were plenty of other bakeries and patisseries around the area where you could get a nice breakfast for less money.

    It was very convenient with extremely pleasant staff who were helpful. The rooms were clean and well equipped and we slept well in the comfortable beds. The pool was nice even if a bit cool.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything is nice, except the the cost of rooms. I won't have booked it if it wasn't a business trip.

    Cool location, 30 min by foot to reach the train station, 30 min for la Rambla. Nice, friendly staff, cozy cafes right out of the doors, bath in the room.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very beautiful clean hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and polite. Fabulous roof top terrace. We visited as a group of 15 women celebrating a milestone birthday, I would highly recommend the hotel Astoria.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Mattress could be better. Expensive compared to other cities, but not so compared to Barcelona.

    Clean and quiet room. Good location. Good spacious bathroom. Friendly and helpful staff. Good location.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Swimming pool is small like a bathtub. Sauna doesn't work this year. On our arrival we got bellboy's room in the back of hotel, on first floor without the elevator and window looking at the wall. We asked to change room for one with the normal window and we got room adapted for people with special needs with explanation that previous room was standard one that we have booked and new one is a superior one :(

    Location, wifi and roof terrace.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Upon our arrival there seemed to be a problem with our room not being ready, even though we only arrived in Barcelona after 6pm. This turned out to be fortuitous, however, as the hotel graciously gave us one of their two junior suites including a private terrace at no extra charge. The air-conditioning could be a little more powerful (it was VERY hot in Barcelona) but the beds were nice and the room was well appointed. Irritatingly, there is no way to make a cup of coffee in the morning, even though I had asked before our arrival and was told that a plan would be made. Eventually we just called down and room service brought coffee for two to the room, which some morning I had to sign for and others not. I think the Hotel suffers from "too many managers and not enough workers" syndrome. On the whole the beds were good, the bathroom nice and the hotel is very clean! Breakfast was a fair representation of a typical continental offering. Not a huge selection, but certainly enough to fill up on for a busy day walking around Barcelona ... relatively expensive tho' at 15Eur p/p. Our breakfasts in Madrid were way better and half that. The dining room staff seemed a little flustered and there didn't seem to be any conformity ... one day there was plenty of coffee one could pour from a flask and then the next day it had to be ordered from the staff ... ??? ... niggly little things like this irritate me. I needed a late checkout which was a complicated affair to organize, but I am grateful that the hotel allowed me to use the room for 5 extra hours. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Astoria ... the location is good for getting around and the Eixample neighborhood is lovely, filled with little bars and eateries all within walking distance.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    The Room Was Very Spacious and Comfortable and the Hotel Lobby is so Wonderful . It is Very near from Diagonal and thus all Barcelona can be Easily Accessed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The foyer is beautiful and the hotel has undoubtedly character but the rooms DO need updating and refurbishment. Although clean, orange silicon sealant around the bath caused by fungus is unacceptable. Beds are basic and bathrooms are cramped. For €140 per night, could do better. Shower head needs repair and spews water upwards as well as down. More maintenance and updating required.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was waiting for 30 min. upon arrival until room was cleaned,even it was 3 p. m. and I informed that arrival at 2p.m. There is no view from the window at all,as it closed by rollet curtain almost completelly. Fitness and roof cafe were closed for repairing.There were no info about that. There were few tranee at reception.Doing some mess.After all forced to ask permanent staff about help. Generally staff is polite,usefull and friendly. Breakfast costs 16.50,but at the adjacent cafe coud have for 9€. Good location.Just 7 min to go to metro station.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I dislike twin beds being pushed together to make a larger one.

    The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was convenient. I was able to walk back from the Gothic Quarter.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We experienced some small issues upon check in. The room had been just remodeled and the off gassing was very strong. The telephone did not work so the hotel included the breakfasts.

    Comfortable stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too many things to list. Think we were just unlucky. Picked the wrong room.

    Location. After doing the two day hop on hop off bus we thought we were in the best area. The Hotel was very average.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Window opened to the back of the building where all windows from other private buildings open too. There was no privacy if you kept curtains open and if you opened the window you could hear people talking and going by their life as if they were in your room

    Location and bed

    Stayed in May 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: