Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Exe Astoria 3 stars

Avenida Comandante Benitez, 5, Malaga Centro, 29001 Málaga, Spain

#59 of 98 hotels in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1935 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2018

    9.2
    Central but outside the big noise
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows could be better, not really sound-proof. Even if there is no traffic in front of the house and the street is far enough across the river bed, the street cleaning is quite loud and normally comes in 1am or even 2am.

    Good standard hotel. Wifi worked, noise insulation inside the house is adequate, did not hear much of the other guests. Train stop is just in front of the house, very convenient access to/from airport. Easy walk to the bus station or to the east waterfront. Or to the old town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.6
    Good as we needed central stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe reception area could do with an upgrade as the reception was quite poorly manned considering the room was 145 per night and the receptionist seemed to have a lot of duties to deal with on his own at 10 pm

    Our travel arrangements to Torre del Mar became a bit too complicated and we decided at the last minute we needed to stay a night in Malaga. Hotel Astoria met all expectations and were soo helpful. Easy travel, central and lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    The hotel is quite quite, very near from the C1 trainline...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is quite quite, very near from the C1 trainline (last stop: Centro Alameda). Very easy to walk to the city centre as soon as you know how to walk through the streets.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    9.6
    Hotel met our needs perfectly -easy transport links to airport and well placed for sightseeing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee and tea making facilities in the room would have been nice

    Good variety of foods for breakfast and the scrambled eggs were brilliant - very good value for money. Perfect for a short city break

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    7.5
    Good stopover for the night before my flight home;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast room a little depressing. I think the waiter at breakfast could have done with a hand too; there was too much work for one person to keep on top of Decor a little but dated (but fine).

    Good stopover for the night before my flight home; the hotel is about a 10 minute walk from the train station and only one minute from the metro which takes you to the airport in about 12 minutes. Evening receptionist was very pleasant and helpful. Room looked like the photos.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    Great overnight stay in Malaga before leaving for the airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Couldn't be better.

    Very comfortable quiet hotel with a truly excellent breakfast and staff. Also only 150 yards from the Centro Alameda metro station with its direct link to Malaga airport which costs only €1.80.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    8.3
    Great central location convenient for train/metro.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A smell that someone had been smoking in the room when first entering. The safe was not secure, just loose on a wardrobe shelf, anyone gaining access could walk off with it. Aircon control did not seem to raise temp....ended up switching off to allow room temp to rise.

    Breakfast was good. Helpful catering staff, would stay again, location ideal. Staff Helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    10
    Perfect vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is extremely close to the train station just across the street and to the city center 10 min maximum walking, the breakfast was wonderful a lot of sweets and variety of pastries, the room very clean and the bathroom big , the staff so helpful always

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    6.7
    Locality
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I probably forgot my stuff in my hotel room. When I wrote to the reception, If they found something, no answer. This is how they take care of guests.. Also for the price of 80eurs they could at least include a small refrigerator in room

    Locality

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location with comfartable and clean rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    What was described as a terrace in our room, was actually a small balcony.

    Very comfortable room. We chose a room with a "terrace", the space was quite small but nice to able to sit out. Excellent location, central for everything.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    10
    Well placed, reasonably priced accommodation which facilitated our enjoyment of Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hard to find because of the extensive work relating to the metro.This is not the hotel's fault but some warning might have been useful for travellers who don't know Malaga. Otherwise our stay was fine.

    We felt very welcome and staff were helpful and friendly. Breakfast very good and well priced with a variety of different local foods.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location for shopping and going out.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was okay but nothing special so felt a bit pricey @ €8

    Great location for shopping and going out. Only 100 metres from the train station which takes you to the airport or along the coastline

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    The hotel was great, very close to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was great, very close to everything. We thought the staff were very lovely and helpful. I would like to investigate Malaga historic centre again and will return to the Astoria. Thanks.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    8.8
    Convenient for an early flight
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was fine - nothing negative at all.

    We stayed here as we had an early flight and the airport train leaves from just across the road - it was easy to stroll across and we caught the first 6.30am train. There were no problems checking out early as there is someone at reception 24 hours. It's only a short walk of ten minutes or so to the centre of town and there are plenty of bars and restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Good access to the town centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room decor a little tired , with a leaking shower screen. The safe wasn’t secure not bolted down. So the safe and it’s contents could have been stolen.

    Good access to the town centre. If it had been a business trip I would have scored it better

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    7.5
    good value for Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff were very helpful, location was close enough to enjoy the sights but far enough away to be quiet at night. close walk to RENFE and bus station. Beach was only a 20 min walk away.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fixtures and fittings are a little bit tired. Small balcony with uninspiring view and only 1 chair...not worth paying extra for. No iron.

    Clean and comfy. Friendly staff. A reasonable walk/stroll into the centre (15 mins) the marina (20 mins) and the beach (25 mins).

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    7.5
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms a small, especially for three persons.

    The location is very good. Sightseeing bus stop 2 just across the street. Walking distance from city center. Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful staff, comfortable rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We didn’t expect much, but the staff were so friendly and the room pleasantly large and comfortable. I’d definitely recommend especially if you’re looking for something a bit cheaper than what else is on offer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Bath tub drainage is always choked;
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bath tub drainage is always choked; water pressure of shower head low Reception staff not very well informed - about laundromats, Sunday markets and helping to call a taxi (did not instead direct us to the taxi stand close by even though we waited more than 15minutes after they called and almost made us miss our train

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.8
    The staff were friendly and very professional.
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception entrance looked a bit old fashioned not modern and could do with being modernised.

    The staff were friendly and very professional. They were helpful and had attention to detail in many ways, such lovely people. It was a special birthday for my mother and they organised a bottle of cava and some brownies for us all. Staff at the dining hall was very attentive.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.8
    Convenient & comfortable for a one night stay in Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A slight smell of drains in the room from time to time, and the safe was broken, which they said they would look at.

    It was a convenient location between the bus station and the city centre, but not right in the city centre so quiet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    6.7
    Location good but too pricey.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in high price.

    Location good but too pricey. Difficult to book online so lost a free breakfast as had to go through booking.com to make a reservation.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    7.9
    Was good for a busy traveller
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything...rooftop pool would be good...l.o.l.

    Get the balcony...the breakfast was great and tasty....good location....easy to find....would stay again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    5.0
    Holiday in Spain
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aditional charges which was not showing on the booking time... for the 144€ booking prise hotel add additional 35€ ... and extra 15€ charge for the parking... but from the main booking price on the info parking was included ... And one of the staff from the main reception was very rude...

    Location...

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.6
    Excellent value, location and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We would have loved to have tea making facilities in the room.

    The room was comfortable, clean and quiet. The reception staff (& in particular Carlos) were extremely helpful and went beyond what might be accepted to be helpful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location for getting to the airport as very close to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size only adequate for two. Had to skirt around each other all the time. No kettle.

    Good location for getting to the airport as very close to the Centro-alameda station with direct link. Very clean. Friendly and helpful staff. Cake for breakfast 😃

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Top class staff in all areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We have no complaints.

    Top class staff in all areas. They even set up our TV so we could watch BBC World and Harry and Megans wedding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    A great option for a stay in Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They made the room as 2 single beds made separately but pushed together. It didn’t bother us really, but it was odd. The canal is not a very nice aspect to look at.

    Fantastic staff, clean and close to everything we wanted.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Very satisfactory and central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I noticed that there wasn't a toilet brush in the bathroom.

    Very good buffet breakfast. Reception very polite and helpful. Tea, Coffee etc available near the reception area free of charge. (suggest a kettle with some tea bags and coffee in the room)

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Easy and comfortable, friendly staff, quiet room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, helpful staff. Very comfortable. And - big bonus for me as I'm coeliac - gluten-free bread and croissants for breakfast. Also bikes to hire.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.2
    The Staff were incredibly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Given the timing of our visit, I would have appreciated being able to access on TV an English speaking news channel.

    The Staff were incredibly helpful. With their good level of English, they were able to answer all our questions, give us directions, suggest better alternatives etc. Plenty of space in dining room at breakfast time, with lots to choose from.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    10
    Overall happy guests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was disappointed that there were no tea and coffee making facilities in the room.

    Very central to train station. Handy for walking to centre and portm

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.5
    Nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first night we spent in small, dark room with small window overlooking the wells. After the claim we received the nice, big double room with Balcony.

    Nice location. You can rent the bike in the hotel. Nice staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    9.6
    We usually stay at Eurostar Astoria the last night in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The beds need an extra mattress!!! You feel the bed ribs and you´ll wake up a bit uncomfortable. (could be solved by the management by going to IKEA; 7 cm thickness would do)

    We usually stay at Eurostar Astoria the last night in Andalucía. Clean room, nice breakfast. About 50 m from the station Malaga-Centro Almeria; local train, connection with the airport (it takes 7-10 min to go there, costs 1,80 €)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    7.5
    We ended up staying at the EXE in city center- so my review...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small things but they all added up to we won’t go back to this hotel... even with the great location- there are others just as close to everything. When we got to the hotel booked they said they had a problem with updating the booking.com site and so they were actually full and sent us to their sister hotel the EXE in Malaga city center. It was cozy... so getting past the desk in the room was a challenge and I’m not a very big person either. There was not a closet or wardrobe - just a hanging rod. It would have been an issue had we been staying more than one night. We had a backpack worth of clothes for our overnight trip to Malaga as we live in Spain. They gave us one key, for two people, I would think two keys especially since nothing works when you don’t have a key in the room. We could have asked for another one but really we shouldn’t have had to. Parking is not ideal - they have an agreement with the parking garage across the street- who did not honor the price we were told. We had two motorcycles parked in one spot, we were told that for the two bikes it would be 19€ & It turned it to be 38€!! Could have swore I saw 15€ online, but I could be wrong. Not ideal, for all the little things we didn’t like about this place and the price we paid, in total,I think we could have done better with someplace else.

    We ended up staying at the EXE in city center- so my review is for there. The hotel was cozy and very clean. The room was warm and the linen was nice. Refrigerator and safe in the room so that was good. The location of the EXE was great!! They are around a corner from the museum and cathedral. Shopping was right below and all around. The restaurants were so close and everything was conveniently located EXCEPT parking.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.9
    Great location, good breakfast, small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was very small. Difficult to walk round the bed and impossible to sit at the desk. Much smaller than the photos.

    The location is very good. Short walk to the old city, beside the metro station, and close to the pick up for a trip to Granada. The room was clean and the breakfast good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    7.5
    Close to the center and public transportation.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated furniture, even broken. We couldn't open the mini bar. Toiletries for 1 person and were not replaced after use.

    Close to the center and public transportation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    10
    A good review :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hote has a good location. It is not in the city center but only a few minutes walk from there and from the train station also. We could leave our luggages at the reception after the check out and they also helped to print the boarding passes 😊 We were absolutely satisfied with this hotel! I can recommend!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    7.5
    Good clean three star hotel, and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hot food at breakfast was cold, and one or two more staff needed in breakfast room.

    Relatively modest hotel but excellent position between old town and modern Malaga. Reception staff excellent, and room clean and comfortable. Near to railway station too. Breakfast basic but adequate, but very largely continental.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    8.3
    Very pleasant stay at Eurostars Astoria
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The location is excellent; the old city is near with it´s attractions and railway station is just beside the hotel. The staff was very friendly. We also liked the varied breakfast. The hotel is not a modern or exclusive one but everything was clean. We can really recommend it. Estamos muy contentos y podemos recomendar el hotel a todos!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    9.2
    Perfect 3 star budget property in great location it did what it said on the tin would return
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    suited our needs so cant say

    It was in a great location beside the old town small 3 star budget you get what you pay for and a bit more with this hotel

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lift was too small for a bike and we were staying on the top floor, but only minor detail

    Wow amazing room and bathroom, great value for money and central location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    10
    I will always go again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is quite noisy on the street side - but that is not the hotel's fault - this is Spain ! Enjoy the throb of a city ----

    The staff are really helpful and the breakfast is good ( egg and bacon which is unusual for a 3 star !! ) Really near the Cercania ( a train ) from the airport. Really central but in a residential area so all bars etc cheap. Near all buses. 10 mins walk to train station ( lots of hire cars ). Good size rooms. I have stayed there 8 times.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    I will always go back !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My seventh stay - and there will be more. The hotel is about 3 mins from the Cercania train from the airport. It is 5 mins walk fm very central Malaga. It’s 10 mins walk to main train station. Lots of local buses - SO, it is very convenient for all. Staff great and helpful. Breakfast good. Go !

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    We arrived at the hotel to find out that they had made a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived at the hotel to find out that they had made a mistake with our book and that the hotel was fully booked. The lady at the desk was apologetic and explained that they had booked us in at another hotel instead. Everything had been payed for an sorted and a taxi picked us up to take us to the new hotel. The other hotel (EXE Museos) was right in the city centre, which was nice. (though it meant it was a little noisier) The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    5.0
    Stressful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at the hotel we were informed at Reception that , owing to some electrical emergency , we would have to be sent to Hotel Exe , but we’d get a free taxi there. The taxi driver wasn’t told the exact address so dropped us off and we wandered round for 20 minutes before we realised that the hotel is actually called Hotel Itaca - there was no sign on the building to indicate that it is part of the Hotel Exe chain , and we hadn’t heard of that chain before so it was very frustrating. Hotel Itaca was good , but not near to the railway station which was why we had chosen Astoria in the first place . We were allowed a free taxi to the station next morning but the driver wasn’t told that it was to be paid for by Hotel Itaca. All in all, we were not happy with the communication.

    I chose this hotel for its convenient location , very close to the train station for an early flight from Malaga Airport next morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.0
    Great spot , nice staff , good value and comfort for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent location and very quite while being very close to the heart of Malaga super convenient to access from the airport as the metro stop is 5 mins walk away and the journey time just 11 minutes

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    7.5
    Nice room with balcony window overlooking river.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was fine - but a short walk from the main centre of Malaga above the Alameda Principal which is not a problem unless you have mobility issues.

    Nice room with balcony window overlooking river.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    6.3
    The location was right across the street from the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was right across the street from the train station with quick access to the airport so it made getting to and from the airport simple, and not having to drag bags all over or pay a lot for transport was great. The breakfast lady was hardworking and polite. The food on offer was good, fresh and plenty of it, however it never varied day to day. The room was ok, not that big but not euro tiny either. The bathroom was pretty roomy but needed a really deep cleaning and had some mold. If you stay here and are a light sleeper bring earplugs or ask for a room in the back as opposed to the front as it can get a bit noisy on weekends out front, but not too bad. Also the bed was really hard. Nothing really wrong with this hotel, great location for getting around cheaply and easily, but nothing special either.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    7.5
    Was perfectly located for exploring and the staff were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    With regard to parking, you need to read further in the booking as it is off site and an additional cost.

    Was perfectly located for exploring and the staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Not about the property.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not about the property. The booking process.... Got a room without breakfast included despite using filter for accomodation WITH breakfast. Poor show booking. com

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    5.8
    This is the view outside my window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is the view outside my window. See attached photo. So you can understand why I was not happy with this hotel. Felt like a prison. And you can hear everything from next-door.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    7.1
    Fairly modest for the money paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Communication difficulties. Lack of tea making facility in the room.

    Pretty average facilities considering other hotels in Spain and other parts of the world.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Highly recommended!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were very pleased with our stay; the hotel was comfortable and the service good. The breakfast was also very nice! I asked for a double bed and a bubble bath, and the hotel made sure to fulfil both of those wishes, which for me was the most important thing. It was also very central and perfectly seated. We will definitely come back for our next stay in Malaga! 😊

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2017

    9.6
    I like the room and stuff was helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I like the room and stuff was helpful. Breakfast was nice and reasonable price as well £8 per person. But there is not enough vegetable. So, if they offer the salad, such as lettuce or cucumber, it will be great!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    9.6
    Jacuzzi bath was an excellent addition after a day walking...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just had an overnight stay nothing negative found.

    Jacuzzi bath was an excellent addition after a day walking around Malaga Excellent location next to Malaga centre train station, exit via the underpass follow centre almeda sign and turn right and it’s there on your left.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.2
    I would definitely book again on my next stay in Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked the variety of choices for breakfast including fresh fruit. The room was larger than average. The bed was large, long and comfortable. It was very convenient for the airport, galleries, waterfront and the old town.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    An excellent stay with Eurostar’s Astoria and would recommend them to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have stayed at hotel on many occasions and always found it an excellent place to stay, I travelled with my sister on this occasion to see the switch on of the Xmas lights,and we were not disappointed.I would like to especially mention Manual on reception for noticing that it was my sisters birthday and very kindly left a gift of chocolates in our room going that extra mile was very special.My only complaint is with the web site of Bookings, com who clearly showed at the time of booking a special price and also showed inc,breakfast shown in green I found out after paying that breakfast was not included I at the time spoke to Booking, com who said they would provide a hook up on an e,mail and on providing a copy of payment for breakfast would repay the amount to me unfortunately this never happened, so I am a little dissatisfied with Booking, com and probably never use them again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    8.8
    A good location from which to explore Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe in room did not work but a replacement was promptly provided. The water pressure was very poor from the shower. Air con did not work, but we were able to sleep with the window open. These points may have been resolved had we raised them, but we were only there for 4 nights, so did not bother.

    The location of this hotel is excellent. We were arriving late and wanted an easy transfer from the airport. The train from the airport is quick ( about 10 - 15 mins )and easy and a single ticket costs only 1.80 Eu. It is less than 100m from the exit of the station to the hotel. It is only a short walk to the seafront and from there you can walk as far as you would like along the promenade. The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    9.6
    A most enjoyable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We were unable to lower the temperature of the air condition to the level we would have liked as it was preset.

    Ideally located to walk to the main shopping area, historic centre, as well as to walk to train and bus stations. Javier in Reception was always pleasant and willing to help, even giving us tips where we should visit and how to get to said places.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.8
    Loved Malaga and the hotel was a good choice. Thank you
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No tea and and coffee making facilities in the room. Room was compact but ok for 1 night stay.

    Staff very friendly and helpful. Location to the train station only 100m away, the old town, shopping and harbour only minutes away too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Excellent is all respects
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent 3 star hotel.All staff were friendly and had good knowledge of the surrounding area and local restaurants.Breakfast was first class.The hotel is located a short walk from the railway station.The cost of the rail fare was 3.60 euros for both of us from the airport.If you like walking all the major attractions of the city can easily be reached on foot. In summary a great place to stay in the very Spanish city of Malaga.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    I recommend to avoid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    - the room was unpleasantly dark, almost no sunlight getting in (1st floor facing the inner yard). And the lamps were more like mood lighting, providing little light, definitely not enough for the dark room! - the room was very small - we could hear a lot of noise coming from the reception, as the room was in the 1st floor close to the stairs and there was no door - the bathroom smelled mouldy

    Close to the train station where we were arriving and leaving from.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    8.3
    Staff lovely, room always clean, great location, we booked a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have liked tea/coffee facilities in the room

    Staff lovely, room always clean, great location, we booked a romantic room and had cava and chocolates delivered to the room which was a lovely touch

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2017

    5.4
    Rooms were clean, fresh towels and clean linen were provided...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff were rude upon check-in, also were unhelpful in providing instructions on where to park (parking was in a public car park). Was advised room I had booked did not have a balcony (despite it being advertised on Booking.com), the reception staff claimed only rooms booked via their own website had a balcony, and I had to ask them to look on Booking.com as they were not willing to give me the room I had booked. Once they realised it was on Booking.com had to wait 30min for room to be ready even though check in time had passed. There was no double bed in the room (just 2 single beds pushed together). A lot of mosquitoes in the room - was woken up by mosquitoes and bitten countless times every night we stayed there!!!

    Rooms were clean, fresh towels and clean linen were provided daily.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    7.5
    Good location but needs renovation-poor breakfast with no vegetables
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor breakfast - no vegetables at all: no salad, no tomato, no cucumber....nothing. Bathroom and room are old fashion and should be renovated. Beds were old and uncomforable due to sunken i.e. not flat.

    Good location, everything within walking distance, easy to come from the airport by train Room was quite.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    8.3
    A good standard hotel in quiet location -and nearly all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A good standard hotel in quiet location -and nearly all areas nearby were on the level,important if you wish to circulate around the old town ,port and beach areas.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    8.8
    Good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Romantic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    These are minor points but there are no drink making facilities in the room. They are offered in the lobby, but you have to ask for milk. The view is also not so great as you look across the Guadalmedina - which never seems to have water in it - and the walls of the riverbank are covered with graffiti.

    The breakfast was excellent. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable well stocked with toiletries and towels etc. Free wifi worked well. Air conditioning was great. The location for the old town and shops is great. The beach is about 20 minutes walk - but we enjoyed that.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    An excellent property for an overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only stayed one night so can't really comment on much more

    We arrived on a late flight & the receptionist was excellent we were checked in so quickly & smoothly & the walking instruction were spot on.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    Loved the whole experience and breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    cannot think of anything

    Excellent reception staff, location opposite the centro terminus, communications with all staff super, left our suitcases with the reception while we enjoyed more time in Malaga. when asked if there was a restaurant near after our arrival late at night, a really first class restaurant within walking distance was suggested, where the service and food were first class.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    8.8
    The hotel is close to most of the city's shops and restaurants.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is close to most of the city's shops and restaurants. Room and bathroom nice. Double bed is two beds (not included together). Tasty breakfast. Parking a minute walk away at a good price. Staff very nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    4.6
    a hotel in need of renovation - but close to city attractions.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A real pain to park car nearby; staff quite unhelpful; hotel needs renovation (shabby and aircon not working).

    It's walking distance to the waterfront and to the cathedral.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    7.9
    Necessary
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we spent Monday afternoon and evening in Malaga and most of the museums were closed.

    We had to get up early for a flight and the service we received was absolutely first class. Wake up call prompt and pleasant, taxi ordered and coffee made for us in hotel lobby all with a smile and it was 5.30 am 👍

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    9.2
    Maliga is excellent fora city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the rating of the Hotel nothing can be faulted.

    Excellent 3 star hotel.Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Hotel is in a very good location easy walking distance to old town,harbour and beach.Great places to eat nearby.Close to El Corte Inglis store.Good breakfast What more do you want ?

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Exe Astoria traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: