Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Asunción 2 stars

Plaza de Santa Bárbara, 8 - 2º D, Madrid City Centre, 28004 Madrid, Spain

#293 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1617 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.7

  • Staff

    6.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    If I return I will book it again
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet somtimes is very strong and other times is not even visible but it was not a big issue .

    I’m impressed by how smooth and easy the checking in went without seeing the staff, your one the smartest hotel i’ve used without wasting the guest’s time . Staff were very nice and available whenever needed. Very close to the Metro and Touristic places, restaurants are just beside. I highly recommend it .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    7.5
    Nice location , a good value for money ,the room is ok but .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was horrible, they were rude and not helpful, giving instructions through the intercom , asking me to do their work. I arrived tired and just wanted to get to my room but it wasn’t an easy process. The person who checked me in was laughing on me if I fail to understand what she was saying ! How rude ! never stay there again even if I was offered the room for free

    Nice location , a good value for money ,the room is ok but ....hospitality industry is not for everyone! People need really to be trained on how to interact with the guests ! Those unprofessional hosts and hostels are growing..which raises so many concerns

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    8.3
    The cost and the location were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check in process for us was a bit clunky although it ended up working well, it just took time. The air conditioning unit was also quite noisy - it made unusual clicking sounds. The shower curtain was a little bit too short and water ran out and into the bathroom. Unfortunately for them the first room they gave us, the lock did not work but we were moved to another room straight away.

    The cost and the location were great. Not having a key is also a benefit. They also let us use a secure storage cupboard for our things as we arrived before our check in time. The staff make use of WhatsApp and remote monitoring so the only person you actually see is the cleaning lady.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.7
    It is very clean, rooms look good, has little patio with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their system is extremely weird. We arrived there from Barcelona. It is far from airport. When we reached there after lot of hassles in airport and transportation, there is no one in the reception. There was no air conditioning or air circulation, we were just out of breath. Someone was talking to me over microphone and watching us through camera. He asked us to make the full payment either in euro cash or through card/ paypal. We didn’t have hat much euro so I asked him to punch my card which was in the system. But his bank could not go through my card, where as i was using the card in 7 other cities in Europe. He insisted to go for paypal. I requested him to give me the room so i can breath a bit ( it was extremely hot in the reception) and i will make the payment in 5 minutes. And i will need access to wifi to access to paypal in my laptop. He declined. He would not do anything until payment is clear. We had to unpack luggage, take my laptop out, pay through paypal, send him the screenshot through WhatsApp. Then he let us in. And gave us a wrong room with queen bed, but we booked for twin bed. Thanks fully he changed it immediately. May be they did the whole system for their own security, but it is very inconvenient for the tourists. What if we don’t use WhatsApp, or phone doesn’t have internet. How do we contact them. After my credit card details are given , we do not expect such hassles after arriving following hectic journey from another country. It is their problem if their bank can’t go through the system. In this trip we had been in 6 other hotels, none of them had any issue with the card. Payment was smooth.

    It is very clean, rooms look good, has little patio with every room. location is very good. Stores and transportation are right beside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    6.3
    Un-manned check-in
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception is un-manned and you need to pay in cash by putting the money in a safe. They communicate through Whatsapp, a camera and a speaker. Really weird.

    Location was good and the room was decent.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    3.8
    Low level experience.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy street and the bedroom was badly insulated.bed unconfortable and with a leg bended. old windows. It is evident the maintanence kept at minimum. Not recommended.

    only the central position

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    7.1
    Good location but too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    You definitely pay the location. The room was okay with a small window, the shower was small, functional but did not smell very good.

    The communcation with the staff was perfect. Eveything is through Whatsapp but they reply very quickly. The location was super great, north of Malasaña / Chueca. Only 20min walk to Plaza del Sol. Essentials and facilities were alright, not outstanding for the price. I recommend for one or two nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    9.2
    Totally worth it!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great remote service, big thank you to the stuff for your patience when my card was encountering some issues while being charged. Communication via WhatsApp is also a great idea!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel in the city centre9
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the city centre ! Room was simple and clean. It was surprising that you speak to a camera and not a real person for check in and we relied on speaking Spanish.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    6.7
    Location, location, location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The check-in was not good. I requested in my booking if we could check-in a bit earlier, as we had a red-eye from Canada. Any earlier would be great. I did not get an answer. When we were at the airport, I sent them another email. Five minutes later I received a phone call, however my bf and I could not understand the person. When we arrived at the hotel, no one was answering. We had to go to the hostel next door TWICE for help, as we did not have phones. Thank heavens they were very helpful, because no one at our hostel was. No one gave us "codes" to get in the hotel, so after a while of trying to press the buzzer, the house cleaning lady finally screamed the buzzer # out the window. We have been outside for one hour. When we get in the hostal, instead of greeting us, she would talk through intercom. She was giving us directions of what to write down on a piece of paper but we had no pen. It was very awkward and weird. She said our room would be ready in 15 min, but by then it was already 2PM anyway. We are easy going, but that experience and being very tired from our flight was unpleasant. Also, the shower was easily floaded.

    The location was fantastic! Close to metro, walking distance to all of our favorite locations, and 1 euro beers at restaurant below. This made it worth it.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    10
    Hilarious check in procedure, talking to a camera, half cut.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hilarious check in procedure, talking to a camera, half cut. But all cool. Nice place. It's above Domino's pizza if you can't find it like me. Very clean and excellent value.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    5.8
    no reception, no staff, spoke to a camera and requested my...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no reception, no staff, spoke to a camera and requested my credit card through the speaker, it says 24 h reception but I arrived at 5am and had to stay out in the could until 11am

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.1
    Relaxed stay -once you manage to get in.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Getting in was a proper hassle. The hotel says they use whatsapp for communication but can you find them on whatsapp? Nope. They also give phone numbers that do not appear on whatsapp nor do they answer when you try to call them. The key is to wait for them to invite you to their private group, which might happen or might not happen. So be prepared to join whatsapp and give them the number at the time of reservation and hope for the best...

    Good location, quiet rooms

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    6.3
    Nice location not an ideal place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It took a while for the check in and all with a Camara looking at me kind of annoying not to have a real person to handle the check in process or welcome you.

    The location was nice

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    9.6
    Easy access and great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    We booked a room with balcony, they give us one without it. We had to ask for it a few time till they give it to us.

    Everything was through WhatsApp. Theres no staff in the lobby. Just codes to open doors.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    7.9
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little renovation maybe.

    Location is few steps away from the metro. Stores, restaurants are everywhere. Red bus tour may not be necessary as most of the spots can be visited by walking.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.6
    Surprisingly good quality rooms with private bathroom, heating and A.C..Value for money unbeatable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was different; all by WhatsApp/Intercom but everything went well and I was given the access codes quickly upon arrival.

    I got an amazing price on a room and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the rooms, although not ultra modern, the room was functional, clean, and perfect for a short stay in Madrid. Comfortable bed. Amazing location at heart of Alonso Martinez; close to the metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    5.4
    Scary place
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Weird not to ever see a face, impersonal. Rooms are locked by 4# codes. I woke up twice with my door wide open except for the chain lock I had put on. Very scary, a break in? Loud American neighbors in the adjacent building partied til 6am. Horrible. Never again!

    Good location next to metro.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    6.7
    Bed was comfy if a bit small, and room was very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was quiet the first night but after that I kept hearing loud plumbing noises over my head. Second morning the hall was as noisy as a cheap hotel in India. Room was also very small.

    Bed was comfy if a bit small, and room was very clean. check in and out was a breeze.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    5.0
    Nothing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The guy in the desk was a jurk. We came and waited that some one will talk to us ..untill it happens the guy in the seat told we will take care of it. After half an hour other family came because they spoke Spanish they got threat before us!! Second the door room was broken. Water from the shower gone to the carpet room. No window in the toilet so all the room smells like s .hit

    Nothing.big dissapointment

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    7.5
    Surreal experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was really tiny.

    The stay was nice. The communication with the staff using microphones and cameras was especially cool. The overall experience was like from a movie. Very nice view from the window.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice hotel without staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Check-in was easy but it's true that should be mentioned there is no staff (except cleaners). No view from window.

    Clean, comfy and spacious double room. Very good location but not too noisy. I actually liked it that there is no staff and no keys.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    5.4
    I guess you get what you pay for and Madrid was very busy.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I guess you get what you pay for and Madrid was very busy. Cheap clean, noise was bad could hear people making love in the next room both morning at 5:30 AM. No reception language issue codes for all doors hard to understand.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    9.6
    Location was really good, clean room, good toilet and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was not so easy to check- in, no keys, only codes to open doors. Was difficult 1St time. When we have done it, next time was easy.

    Location was really good, clean room, good toilet and bathroom, clean sheets, 2nd floor.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    8.3
    The bed was comfortable and the room and facilities very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred to see a person rather than complete the check in process through an intercom.

    The bed was comfortable and the room and facilities very clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    6.7
    Some good some bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no indication from Booking.com or Asunscion that this was an unstaffed facility and that the only way to get in and out would be through codes on the front door, the upstairs door to reception and to the room. The signage was little bigger than a postage stamp. My daughter quipped that getting into this place was a little like a scene out of Get Smart. I think they should let their customers know in advance.

    Value for money and great location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2017

    5.4
    Basic, terrible service as no staff on-site.
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Waited 20 minutes outside, at no one was answering the door. There is no reception staff on-site. In the end a neighbour let me inside, and then finally got hold of the staff via phone.

    Room was clean but basic.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    8.8
    Good place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No reception - all is automatizated, first few minutes you can't understand what happened and what to do.

    No reception - all is automatizated: with code locks, cameras and dinamics, you can speak with receptionist by skype(?) but everything is understandable after few minutes :) and they are available all time. You can ask all you need. They cleaned room every day, gave us toilet things, didn't touch our belongings. Good view and balcon.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    7.9
    I liked the situation of the property and the strange fact...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Strange at first, the fact that there is no staff.

    I liked the situation of the property and the strange fact that there is no staff, everything is done through skype when you get there.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.6
    Especially the location of the hostel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We talked someone with some kind of skype system instead of face to face while we are checkin in and it was kinda creepy. We couldnt see who we are talking to but she could see us like we are guilty.

    Especially the location of the hostel is excellent. It is close to everything shops, subway etc. and the area is safe enough. You can easily walk to the museums in the city. Also everything was so tidy.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    10
    I will definitely be coming back to Madrid and will definitely consider staying at this location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that you couldn't communicate with the staff face to face, you would have to talk to them through an intercom it was weird but it was also our firsts time at a hostel so not sure if thats normal.

    The location was prime. Everything we wanted to do was literally with in walking distance. There's was tons of shops and restaraunts and bars all around. We had a private room and private bathroom. It was over all an awesome experience.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.5
    Good location and near to what you need urgently.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pillows should be changed into a comfortable pillow.

    The hostal is very close to metro station Alonso Martinez and everything, this is my favorite hostal whenever I stay in Madrid, but I do notice that the pillows are to small and uncomfortable to sleep with a small pillow, and the remote control of the TV is not working I have to get from bed each time I change chanel.the rest are good,

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    6.3
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The entry into the property with electronic entry and talking to someone through a speaker and camera is somewhat impersonal. Our first room had air con that didnt work properly so we managed to move rooms the next day. 37 deg in Madrid not ideal. The second room was great.

    The cleaning staff helped us move rooms and were amazing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    7.5
    Good place to be for a short, budget stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was really noisy in the night - people shouting and breaking bottles. It was hard to find the hostel - maybe a big sign in front of the door will be nice. Also I didn't feel safe when there is nobody on the reception and the only way to talk with staff is Skype connection.

    It was just the perfect location - next to the metro and close by walking to the major attractions in Madrid. A lot of places to have a dinner around it. Staff was helpful. The room had an air conditioning which was really nice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.5
    Functional for sleep and clean, but a little impersonal
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The push button, code entry system to the room felt a bit like a cell, as did the lack of a physical receptionist at any time during my stay. OK I was late in arriving (about 12:45am) but I checked out at 08:15 and still only spoke via a two way speaker system.

    Good central location near Alonso Martinez metro station

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    8.3
    An affordable no-frills place to stay in Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night

    First, the hostel was somewhat difficult to find. We went back and forth past the door several times before we asked someone standing in the doorway who told us that the hostel was on the second floor. When we got to the second floor, there were two locked doors without any identification we could see. We figured out to buzz the buzzer and were given a number to punch into the keypad, which let us into an unattended small lobby. We eventually figured out that we needed to communicate though a speaker with an unseen person located who-knows-where. Once we got through the process, it was fine but the process itself was unfamiliar to us and therefore uncomfortable. The only minor drawback was that there were very few electrical outlets. To charge our electronic devices, we needed to unplug the TV and use its outlet. It wasn't a big deal but it was a minor inconvenience.

    The location was fine and the price, for a place to sleep, was fair. The building was old but the room was clean and adequate for our purposes for one night. We arrived in Madrid at noon on Friday and needed to wait until Saturday for our train to Sevilla, so we were only looking for a place to sleep.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    5.0
    Uncomfortable due to unease and disappointment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't like the absence of a person to greet us. It felt insecure, giving our personal room key code out loud over the intercom in front of a complete stranger who we didn't know. He may have been part of the hostal but we had no way of knowing if he was or not. Our room door didn't seem too solid either, it felt as though anyone may be able to push it open.

    Not much.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    10
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was very good, easy to reach all the touristic sites from the location. Plaza Santa Barbara itself is very lively and with manz locals. The surrounding streets are full of restaurants, local stores for clothing and design.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Fantastic location in the heart of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No ventilation in the bathroom, could be overcome by opening both window and bathroom door though.

    Fantastic location in the heart of Madrid. The fact that there is no reception is understandable given the price and people were always available and helpful (English speaking) on the intercom. A/C available for hot days.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    6.3
    Good location, poor staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stood outside for a few minutes before I was let in. Doesn't sound like long but when you have all your luggage and you're in a main plaza it is. Once I got to level 2 reception, I spoke to a man through intercom. He then let me in. I then had to speak to him again all through intercom. The first night there was extremely loud music played next door as well as loud talking and smoking could be smelt. I phoned reception and they sort of laughed and said they'd call the room but nothing changed so I don't think they called, and certainly didn't bother visiting them. It only stopped when the people went out at 1am. Not impressed with staff.

    Good location and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2017

    6.7
    A bit annoying
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there was no reception. Talking to a camera without seeing anybody is quite strange. They could have at least showed their face on the screen, but it was not on, so you could not know whether the one you were talking to was on the toilet or at an office. I think it is a matter of respect.

    Position

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    8.3
    We booked a double with a view and got that.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked a double with a view and got that. While some might argue that having no one at reception desk and not having keys, our experience has been no reception even though it was advertised (you had to ring and someone would arrive);. Being given codes for access to building and room means individual guests can come and go without relying on the other party for keys. Very close to the metro and printer when our boarding passes needed printing;. Exceptional value for the price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    4.6
    Good value for transit stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They said they would return with my change but never did, didn't like smell of tobacco in room. Unfortunately was not able to change rooms.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    4.2
    Disappointment.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no personnal contact with the staff, everything is running via electronic codes (streat door, floor door, room door), contact with the reception only through camera, the monay are charged without your approval, not possible to obtain an invoice in case you need it for your office.

    Good location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2017

    5.0
    Not one member of staff, but a camera. Not feeling of safety. But, a Big Brother house.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Please management-owner consider having one member of staff at least in reception: for safety reasons and fairness on the neighbours. There is not reception, not personal of staff that you could see, contact in case of an emergency or in case of needing something. The caretaker (conserje) of the building, is the one helping guests, informing them about amenities or where to eat or to go. The entrance to the building as well as the main door where the rooms are located is with codes. Anyone could follow me and go into the building. It is not saved. Not only regarding the guests, but essentially for the neighbours. There is not an emergency exit; the smoke alarm seems not to have light, not sure if it works. I was given with a mini-room, too tiny although I asked for a bedroom with bath. The corridors are too tiny. Towels too small, also. It is stated that you could leave a suitcase in a store room, but there is not control of who leaves what. There is not provided with a hairdryer, also it is stated. And the toiletries are not good (gel). No kettle facilities. TV small. Old deco and furniture. Green and dark colours, depressing. The checkin is done by a camera (CCTV). You do not see anyone I believe this could be against the DATA protection Act. There are no signs of informing that there are cameras (at least I saw one), potentially recording. I went to eat breakfast to the coffee shops downstairs, and I came back to my room to rest, when at 10:30 am one of the cleaners opened my door. She told me that she was informed that I left. Obviously it was not her fault, I said do not worry. Astonishing, so they saw me through the camera leaving and they assumed that I left the room. As stated, firstly I do not think that it is a secure place; things can happened, emergencies, etc. one old couple got confused with the codes and they could not access the main door to the bedrooms, I just arrived (around 9 pm) and help them. But, usually there is nobody there.

    The location, just in Plaza Santa Bárbara where the Metro Alonso Martínez is located (from the Airport T4 to Nuevos Ministerios and then L10 two stops, approximately 30 minutes overall. Make sure you follow the signs in the Metro to Plaza Santa Bárbara, otherwise you may get confused). The wifi is strong. There are shops and restaurants nearby. Walking distance to Gran Via (15 minutes) and other interesting locations. Bathroom size fair. Heating and air-conditioning (I did not try it though).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    2.5
    Not recommend,not even to enemies
    • Group
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very dirty, not recommend it.... They paint the walls with guests inside the hostel....refused to stay in that toxic vapors, first they refused to refunded, the guy from reception was very drunk... All around smell cheap alcohol and toxic fresh paint..run away from this location, can find others in Lisbon much much cleaner

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    7.1
    Nobody was there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nobody we can face to face to check in. We arrived early in the morning, we were waiting outside for a long time to leave our baggages. And we could not get into the room untill 1pm after check in. It was better they were inside the hotel, but they talked only on phone.

    Very warm room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    9.6
    Good relation quality price and good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit strange not to have a person to talk too "in vivo", but not a real problem

    Really good quality of beds and great location. Clean and family friendly.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    6.7
    Easy to access by Metro from the airport, and to walk to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No face to face contact with any staff. It was surreal to access the building and check in only speaking with someone via intercoms. Other guests kindly explained the procedures when we arrived. Fortunately we had some forewarning from other reviews!

    Easy to access by Metro from the airport, and to walk to the Prado.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    9.2
    Central, clean and comfortable!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was no staff on reception when we arrived, instead we spoke to someone remotely through a microphone in the reception area which was a little unnerving, but wasn't a problem

    Great location, close to Sol and the Malasaña district. The room was well equipped, comfortable and had a nice balcony.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    6.7
    Good location, good room & en-suite; good price. Disturbed by tapping/knocking noises though.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird disembodied check-in= by 1-way CCTV; no human seen; cash put into a box on the wall. No reply to emailed query about continuous knocking/tapping sound that went on a cycle from maybe 40 beats to 200 beats/minute so hard to rest in the afternoon or sleep in the early hours. Came from either the walls or from the floor above & must have affected the room next to mine too. The owners must have known about this. Id stay again if they guarantee peace:)

    Good location by Alonso Martinez metro in Plaza S Barbara. Very good price. Smart, dark wood panelling and wooden (or wood-alike) floors. Good bathroom en-suite. No key- electronic door codes everywhere. Good bars, cafes (and favourite club El Junco) close at hand. Large eating place on the corner, Cafe Santander, seems overpriced. Branch of 100 Monteditos is by the hostal- great value, esp on Sundays.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    8.3
    Great value but hard to find hotel. Use Google Maps prior to arriving. Its a green door!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No staff! 3 entry codes needed for access. One for the street door, the next for 2nd floor access to "reception" then a button to press to speak to someone to get code to enter the bedroom. Better to e-mail hotel prior to arrival to get first 2 codes.

    Location excellent right next to the metro and easy walking to the center. Bars and restaurants surround the hotel so no real need to go further in the evening. Rooms are good for the price.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.1
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    As i have used this property on 3 previous occasions i was a wee bit dissatisfied that on arrival you could only speak to someone through a communication system and no one face to face thought this was not a good personal service

    The Hostal is so Central and only a 10 minute walk from Gran Via, this is the 4th time i have used this property and will always use when i go to Madrid, very clean property and benefits from free wi-fi

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    4.2
    Best for the under 25 pack set.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding it. Remote concierge with busy phone (10 minute wait to get in). Got lucky figuring out which floor (2nd). Room was clean but very musky smelling - had to sleep with the window open and fan on despite the cool night. Pictures are deceptive - it shows what you get but in way too positive a light.

    Mattresses were clean and comfortable. No checkout. Tub was hillariously short...

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    7.9
    for my use it was ok
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the reception procedure was a hassle and tha lack of explanation / signs a hassle

    the location is very good and the rooms are very clean, at the end also the hotel manager was helpful, once i got over the hurdel of the virtual receptionist which was very solw and not really well marked

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    4.6
    Rubbish
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Scruffy little room like a prison cell. Impersonal greeting (a intercom on wall!). So they take your money and can't even be bothered to say hello. There are much better options for same money.

    Good location, that's all

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    6.3
    Great location, very close to underground.
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I came after 2 pm, the room still was not cleaned. No wifi available. Sometimes too noisy with the construction outside and the noise from old air condition.

    Great location, very close to underground. Access each room with code only.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    6.3
    The area
    • Family with young children
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the street

    The area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    7.5
    The automatic check-in with code worked very well. I liked it and also the location is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Good location, nice area.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    7.1
    Fine for the price,
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The reception is a nightmare, no Air conditioner and you feel that you are in an interrogation room

    The rooms and the location were fine

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    It was totally good experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was totally good experience. Room and location was perfect.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    2.9
    They added 35 euro of fees.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They added 35 euro of fees... But in no one document they mentioned about that...

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Best quality you can get foe this price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small kitchen around could be very useful.

    The bed was really comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    3.8
    Horrible
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am happy just one night stayed there.

    There is not any reception. Nobody can speak english. No wifi in the room. No breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Good choice if you spend there just a short time
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location is really great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    10
    Great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    10
    The area - so near at the metro station
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must put a charging area at the reception. Put a More wall socket to plug in.

    The area - so near at the metro station

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Automate check-in system is really great
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows open on a rather busy square, blinds can't keep our all the noise.

    Automate check-in system is really great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    Easy check in.
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Payment in cash. I would have preferred cc

    Easy check in. Good location. Good price.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.5
    CHECK IN A TRAVÉS DE VIDEO CÁMARA, Y PAGO OBLIGATORIO EN...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    CHECK IN A TRAVÉS DE VIDEO CÁMARA, Y PAGO OBLIGATORIO EN EFECTIVO

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    5.4
    Next to metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check-in procedure. It was weird to talk to a webcam and to put the money in an envelope which then goes in a safebox...

    Next to metro station

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.8
    Super clean room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We don’t have a complaint.🙂👍

    Super clean room. Location couldn’t have been better as we travelled by metro.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    7.0
    Perfect location!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    Simple and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No facilities; just a room and a bathroom. (But good because of value for money)

    Nice clean room with private bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.1
    Got charged more than I was told
    • Group
    • Double single room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Got charged more than I was told

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hostal Asunción traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: