Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ateneo Puerta del Sol 3 stars

Montera, 22, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#218 of 327 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1392 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.2

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.6
    Fab time in Madrid as always, love this city. Would stay at ateneo again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly a little noisy at night our room was at the front of the hotel, but it didn’t stop us sleeping.

    The beds were very comfortable and the hotel and rooms spotlessly clean. Lots of complimentary toiletries in bathroom, fridge in bedroom and excellent continental breakfast in pleasant dining room. Perfect central location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    8.3
    Excellent ratio price/quality
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good place, totally recommendable; ratio price/quality is good. So, there aren't negative comments.

    Location is excellent. The hotel is very close to markets (for example, Mercado de San Miguel). This place has the advantage that is really is close to a lot of attractions, and is quiet and clean. The staff is friendly. Rooms are comfortables, correct size and clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    10
    Very good breakfast and the location is super.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Some noise from the street but this is the problem you have to face in all hotels been in the city center.

    Very good breakfast and the location is super.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.5
    Location and staff were awwsome.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Quite noisy during the day - noise from the street outside and from the cleaning staff inisde. if you are daysleeper, keepout - otherise it's a good hotel,

    Location and staff were awwsome.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    6.7
    Old hotel but perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old furniture, basic room ( No slippers, no soap dish in the bathroom, no glases in the room, using the seif box costed 1 euro/ each time you used it ??!!! ). Expected somehow different more modern look from the pictures.

    Very good location, very friendly and helpfull staff, clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    10
    Lovely city break with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was for three of us and we were ecpecting small separate beds- but they were a really good size. The location was also perfect - we could walk everywhere to visit the sights.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    Location and attention.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and attention. Need anything from a taxi to a place to go, just ask and they provide. Breakfast is just excellent and at a great price. Located between Puerta del Sol and Gran Via makes this the best locaton to reach anyplace in Madrid. Walking distance to metro station and public parking is nearby if you are driving.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    I'm glad I chose this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I would have preferred if there were tea-making facilities in the room, though I knew before I booked. The internet was very poor, I guess that could be improved.

    The hotel is in the centre , near shopping centre and in walking distance to tourist attractions. The triple room was spacious, clean and beds comfortable, with extra blankets in the wardrobe. The bathroom was spacious and cleaned daily, and clean towels provided daily. Breakfast abundant and a lot of choice, hot and cold, with various types of milk. The staff were very, very helpful. I would gladly go back in this hotel if I went to Madrid again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    9.2
    A Great weekend - cant wait to go back - would recommend location / hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The location was excellent and could not have been better for what we needed - the only downside was the noise from the street and passers by . Till the early hours of the morning , would imagine this would not be so noisy during the week - we did go on a very busy weekend .

    Lovely old building with some original features staff friendly and helpful . Spotless clean , lovely comfy beds , balcony , beautiful bathroom all the toiletries you need and more besides - razor , etc . Ironing board and fridge all excellent facilities for a three star hotel . Great location for all what we needed for our weekend away and running the Madrid RnR .

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.2
    Amazing location, really cute hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The safe costs 1 euro each lock, feels not enough light but the sunset was only at 9 pm so it was really enough

    There was everything, air conditioning

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    The location couldn't have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location couldn't have been better. The price was very good, we asked for a backyard room, otherwise probably it would have been noisy. The room was spacious. The hotel is deservedly with 8+ rate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    10
    Perfect price/quality ratio.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect price/quality ratio. Perfect place. I recommend it completely! Couldn't possibly think of anything bad. We were supremely satisfied with our choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Nice place close to several sightseeings.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bedroom is a bit small. Nevertheless, I was alone, and this issue was not an inconvenient to me.

    The hotel's personnel is kind. It stands in the center of Madrid, nearby several sightseeings, including subway and train station. I really recommend the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    10
    Great place !
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The coffee machine in breakfast is horiballe - the coffe is not hot and tasets bad. Also things not ready in breakfas room in opening time.

    The Best Place in Madrid for hotel - between Gran Via and Sol!!!!!!!!. The size of the room was good, the bath was very big. Very good and friendly help from the staff.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    8.8
    Good value, basic hotel in great location. Clean and comfortable with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No complaints on the hotel.

    We were on the 4th floor at the back of the hotel so it was quiet although we were in one of the busiest streets in Madrid. We got a discount voucher from the hotel for the nearest car park in Plaza Carmenas well, although parking was still over 25 euros per day with the discount. The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was warm, clean and comfortable. Nothing spectacular but the location and the price, we were perfectly satisfied, since decent hotels are pricey in Madrid.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    comfortable hotel in the heart of Madrid
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too noisy and there wasn't good light, difficult to read in the evening.

    The location is perfect, easily reached, very nice neighborhood. Very helpful staff. The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    location in the centre of town , restaurant nearby - very practical for a short stay !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The receptionist was very helpful , when all of a sudden the taxis did not work in whole Madrid , and I had to get to the airport next morning . With many telephone calls she arranged a private driver so I did not miss my plane . And although there is no room service, I did get something to drink from the restaurant to my room later on in the evening , when arranging the transfer to the airport .

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    7.5
    Very nice hotel in a central place, but if you are sensitive to noises and cold, not best choice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lighting in the room was very dim and putting on makeup in the bathroom was hard as a short person who also needs glasses (because the sink was big and mirror placed quite high). Also there wasn't any heating in the room so we had to ask for extra blankets. Moreover, the room was quite noisy during the night as it had bad voice isolation and the street was quite busy during the nights at weekend.

    The room was very big and had a bathtub which was very nice. Also the hotel was very clean. Staff was friendly and location was central so it was easy to get around in the city. The wifi worked very well during our stay and we could even get signal at the nearby restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    very pleasant short stay in Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little noisy at night because it is so central.

    The hotel was very central and staff were very helpful. Lack of restaurant irrelevant as hundreds of places to eat and drinks within yards. Staff printed my next boarding pass.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2017

    8.3
    The location of this property was perfect!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in a relatively quiet room. We heard some of the noise outside but were able to tune it out and slept just fine.

    The location of this property was perfect! If you’re looking to be a part of the action one Madrid, this is a good place to stay as it is directly in the center. The hotel was close to restaurants, shopping, and attractions. The staff were friendly and welcoming.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.3
    It was a fantasic holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel is situated in very lively district, full of ristorants, cafe, bars. On the 4th floor we could here no noise and slept very well. It is easy to reach all the important attractions on foot or metro. The personal was nice and professional

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    5.4
    MORELESS, THE ENTRANCE OF THE HOTEL SMELL TERRIBLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    NEED IMPROVE THE LIGHTS OF THE ROOM, THE CABLE IS VERY BASIC, THE RECEPTION WAS TERRIBLE ONLY SAID LIMITS ABOUT SERVICE, DONT HAVE MEALS OR TE FOR PAID...WHAT A PITTY?, THE ENTRANCE OF THE HOSTEL SMELL TERRIBLE.

    NOTHING, ALL THE FACILITIES WAS USUAL, DONT GIVE A MESSAGE ABOUT THE COUNTRY OR MOLLS,

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    10
    excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    location was excellent - in the centre of madrid - hotel very clean and reception staff were very helpful. Asked for a front viewing room and that was given. would highly recommend this hotel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    7.5
    Reasonably priced, centrally located, ideal for a short stay.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room had quite low points to get to wardrobe, which means banging of head a couple of times

    Receptionist on arrival was very friendly, and location is very central.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    9.6
    A great location and nice staff☺
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The location was perfect, the hotel is located in the center of the the downtown historic center, it means , it is easy to walk around finding great restaurants and places to shop. The staff was kind and most important a all, the hotel was clean and comfortable☺. We really recommend this hotel, the price was in our voyage because we did the booking in advance and the timeframe was ideal, it was a little crowded with tourist but not too bad; we really enjoyed our trip to Spain.♥

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    Fantastic location, clean rooms, friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall i have no major dislikes. If i was being picky, the safe in the room requires a 1 euro payment every time you open it. Also, although it was not an issue for me, the street the hotel is on is quite lively at night, so if you are a light sleeper it might be an issue.

    Really great location between Sol and Grand Via, friendly and helpful staff . Clean bedroom and bathroom. The perfect location for all the sites and perfect if you plan to go out at night. Close to 2 major metro stops and walking distance to Playa Major etc...

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    7.5
    bad sleep good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was gay pride at the time of our stay and the property was INCREDIBLY noisy!!! I don't know if it is always this noisy, but not being able to sleep defeats the point of a hotel.

    Staff were friendly and have good info.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    9.2
    Very central hotel close to Sól metro stop, close to most of...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No major complaints, just a minor inconvenience that the WiFi didn't work.

    Very central hotel close to Sól metro stop, close to most of the popular tourist attractions. Lots of great restaurants and bars nearby. The reception staff were very helpful and polite. The cleaning staff were great, the room and bathroom were very clean, also the room was cleaned everyday - which can't be said for other hotels I've stayed in. Previous reviews mentioned street noise; it's a central hotel of course there will be passing noise. That being said, we didn't notice much noise at all, and we were placed in a street view room, which we asked for. Would stay here again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Good location and nothing else
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in the fourth floor. Our room smelled like fried food during the entire stay. The wifi did not work in the room, Only in the lobby which is very frustrating as they advertise it as free wifi in the rooms. i would not stay there again or recommend it to anyone.

    Location was great. Room was pretty big for three people and AC worked very well.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    6.7
    Fair
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most noisy room. We got lucky and the receptionist ess kind and changed our room (still noisy but better) otherwise we wouldn't have slept at all. Very poor value for money - almost 200€ per night for a 3 star hotel (without beakfast) - this is the most expensive room i have ever paid in Europe.

    Close to Gran Via (1 min)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    10
    Welcome to the centre of Madrid...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is not a complaint! BUT I do think it is probably time for them to up-grade their towels. The "freebies" offered in the bathroom included a razor and comb as well as the normal things but the towels were thin and the bath towel small. As I said NOT a complaint but, hopefully , a constructive criticism.

    Sorry but I have no idea what are "Genius perks". The staff were very pleasant, even at 6 in the morning when I had to leave! It is very central. The room I had was very large. It was very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.9
    Central location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very noisy at night however this due to the good location! Easy to find the hotel.

    Central location. A lively area. Good for transport. Easy to walk to other sights.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    8.3
    our stay was comfortable and quite relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the room, though quiet, was rather short of fresh air and light ... with no verandahs the hotel façade is in dire need of a good refurbishment

    The room, bed linen and shower towels were very clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    Functional, served our purpose.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Street scene noise can continue late or most of the night. May be a bother to those not adaptable to it.

    Great location. No frills,but room was very clean and housekeeping on top of it every day. Nice view from 4th story room overlooking street scene near Puerta del Sol. Front desk (day shift) very helpful in arranging side trips (Toledo), providing assistance, answering questions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    7.9
    Super strategic location, easy access to metro and nearby...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The in room safe is very small and its pay per use, smells from kitchen get into the room even when all doors and windows are closed.

    Super strategic location, easy access to metro and nearby attractions, value for price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    7.9
    In the very centre of the action excellent value for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy outside, was in an "attic" room window very high would have to stand on bed to look out. Small lifts

    Very good location large beds, hotel was clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    8.8
    The only issue is the noise from Montera Street as it is a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only issue is the noise from Montera Street as it is a busy walking area to Grand Via and Sol. If you are a person that likes quiet, then ask for a room not close to the street. If your window is open you will hear the street noise at night. If you want to enjoy Spain and you are a person that likes to walk, the hotel is in the perfect area. It is perfect for getting to most attractions, within 1 to 2 KM. Also it sits between two metro stops (Gran Via) (Sol)

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.3
    Very busy and noisy location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Located on very noisy street. Hotel would not allow AC to be turned on so opening window for cool air was only option. Noise was so loud even with window closed we could no sleep.

    Rooms were a good value.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    8.8
    Very friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Busy streets nearby. Although traffic noise was not a problem, noise from late night revellers was! This city likes to party!

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Excellent standard of cleanliness. Very central location - within walking distance of major sights. Metro stop also very close. Would certainly stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    6.7
    Great location - right at the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A lot of noise in the night from the street. Out dated room - only 2 electricity sockets (one had a lamp we had to unplug),worn towels, the safety deposit boxed cost 1 Euro for every time we wanted to close it

    Great location - right at the center. Staff was really nice and helpful, always willing to advise and book tickets Beds are super comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    2.5
    Safety and loyalty first...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Location, cleaning, comfort, staff...etc is of course important but safety and loyalty is first. I used my credit card only once to pay hotel during my holiday. And now my credit card is blocked due to 3 times credit card fraud via internet. From 3 different web sites somebody tried to shop via internet and again; I only used my credit card to pay the hotel during my holiday. So I strongly believe that staff from hotel tried to do that. Is there any reason not to think as that?

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    6.7
    Could've been so much better. No bueno.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Where do I start? The first room we were given had a terrible smell of sewer gases. The second room was better, but still had issues. First, no a/c, the television didn't work, one of the reading lights didn't work and there is very little lighting to start with! Also, our room was along a strange labyrinth of corridors with steps up and down thru narrow halls. It was awkward with even our carry on luggage.

    The location in the city center. The lady at the front desk was kind. The bathtub was nice for a soak. The bed and linens were comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    8.3
    Superb location, right in the city centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Quite a bit of noise outside throughout the night, but given the location that's probably unavoidable. No tea or coffee facilities.

    Superb location, right in the city centre. Couldn't be better. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    6.7
    The location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness- rooms were ok... bathroom was not maintained at all. One can manage due to the location.. but hotel should work on cleanliness.

    The location... just perfect.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location. Super comfy beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small window into a courtyard. Need electric light to see during the day. Felt a bit claustrophobic. Check in staff could have been friendlier

    Beds we're super comfy. Location really great. Price very good too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    6.3
    Very central location just a short walk from Puerto Del Sol...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quite noisy overnight. Located above a bar which is open to 2am (or later). Revellers still going strong at 6am. Part of the drawback of a central location.

    Very central location just a short walk from Puerto Del Sol and Grand Via.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    9.6
    Location perfect, very close to the puerta del sol and gran...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location perfect, very close to the puerta del sol and gran via, you can visit the old city by walking. The hotel is very clean and confortable, the price is acceptable.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    8.8
    A nice stay in the heart of Madrid around New Year's eve
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was too noisy. Rooms are far from being sound-proof and you can hear the neighbours. Also at night you hear the loud Spaniards partying as if they were inside the room. They woke us up several times during the night as they party all night long!

    The staff was really nice and helpful. We stayed around New Years's eve and they even gave us the 12 grapes the Spanish people eat on 31st Dec at midnight to welcome the new year. The location of the hotel is excellent, just a couple of minutes walk from Puerta del Sol, right in the city centre.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    7.9
    Amazing central location to move around Madrid by walking
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    - Improve the Door Isolation from Noises created by Customers in the aisles - Protect from the Cooking smell coming from the internal window - Improve the mattress of the additional bed

    - Wonderful Staff - Very Good Location - Amazing Balance Price/Quality

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    8.3
    Well worth a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot jug in room (all over Spain & Portugal). Weather was -4 degrees. Taxis don't want to drop at the doorstep. With heavy baggage that can be a pain cis roads are cobbled. If hotel calls cab, they pick up from doorstep😉

    Staff were very helpful regarding sight seeing trips& the property is very well located -in the heart of the city

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Satisfied
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location awesome and staff nice .i think best option for anyone just put in your mind the area crowded and stay like this till late time so not quite area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    10
    Very comfortable hotel , excellent relation value - money !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a pity, that there is no chance to buy any water or juice and take to the room for the night . If you need something like this , you have to shop it in the supermarket or other shops, surrounding the hotel .

    The hotel is right in the centre of town, 2 minutes from the Puerta del Sol. The room is a bit tiny, but you have everything you need . And the room is quiet. There are several restaurants nearby , I tried the one situated next door, and I was surprised of its good quality . The room price includes breakfast, and there is a flat rate to take a cab to the airport.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    7.1
    Location is its only strength.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms facing inner courtyard is quiet but smelly from next door's cooking. Rooms facing road is pleasant but noisy from the restaurants and pedestrians. Staff are not rude but not terribly helpful also.

    Location is perfect for sightseeing, eating & shopping.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    8.8
    Great location - but noisy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    "Attic" sloped cieling room / bumped my head several times. One small window about 6 feet above floor. Lots of outside people noise all night long

    Location - Center of city.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.5
    -The position between Puerta del Sol and Gran Via.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    -The position is perfect for tourism, but this area is full of people till night and it is very noisy. The windows are good with double glass, but they are not sufficient when there are the hooligans of the Legia Warsaw for Champions League match - The washbasin was too little, it was difficult to wash myself or to clean the tooth

    -The position between Puerta del Sol and Gran Via. - the bed is very comfortable, with double pillows --The room was very clean, also the bathroom

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel in an excellent spot for exploring Madrid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Fabulous location - walked most places Clean Friendly, knowledgable staff (with excellent English speaking skills) We chose not to eat at the hotel so can't comment on food

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    9.6
    The receptionists were amazing, they helped me a lot and...
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little bit noisy on the weekends because of the (drunk) people in the streets.

    The receptionists were amazing, they helped me a lot and always with a big smile! Thank you!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    8.3
    Madrid One Night Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Could be easy to miss.

    The hotel location is great especially if you want to be in the city center. I absolutely loved our stay here. The staff was super nice and helpful as well. They allowed us to hang out in their lobby until it was time for us to leave to the airport. Definitely would recommend for any travelers to Madrid.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    10
    The hotel was in an excellent central location, close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was in an excellent central location, close to the Puerto del sol but not too noisy. The staff were very friendly and supportive of my halting attempts at speaking Spanish!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    9.6
    Great hotel, friendly staff & fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy on some nights, could hear people from the street

    We absolutely loved the location of the hotel, so convenient. Friendly & helpful staff & 24 hour reception was great.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.5
    Quiet air conditioning and great position for everything.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was noisy at night but hotel in busy area so to be expected, however with the heat and late nights it made no difference to me as fell asleep instantly. No shutters but thick curtains to keep light out.

    Quiet air conditioning. Great view from small balcony of busy street below. Position was ideal for everything.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    7.5
    Perfect for a short city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Strange smell of food in the room

    Great location and good value for money. Nice quiet room (we stated this when booking due to reading reviews about it being loud). Would book again!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    4.6
    Go somewhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was horrible, we paid for it but went out to eat breakfast from somewhere else, room was very small and like an attic, staff were very unfriendly and the room was extremely noisy since the location is in the centre.

    Location only

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    7.5
    Great staff, good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was rather small, a bit bigger than a twin bed, when i had booked queen/king size. The elevator seemed a bit unsafe.

    The staff was really nice and helpfull . Very well located.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.2
    It is near the Sol Metro Station and it is very accesible to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It is near the Sol Metro Station and it is very accesible to some of the sights that you have to visit in Madrid.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    9.2
    Location is totally in the center of the city center,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was nice

    Location is totally in the center of the city center, friendly stuff, good value for money

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Super central!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noise from the street and rooms are small but I already knew it.

    Super central! Simple and good value for the money.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    6.3
    Uncomfortable stay in a small room with no outside window. Pleasant staff and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The hotel was not finished. the room was too small with no outside window. I had very bad claustrophobia

    Breakfast very good

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Well lolcated in the Heart of Madrid City Center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everythign went well but with less price

    Well lolcated in the Heart of Madrid City Center

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.8
    Great central location in the heat of Madrid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Little bit run down could use a makeover.

    Great central location in the heat of Madrid.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    10
    I liked cleanliness, staff, location.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I liked cleanliness, staff, location. Thank you.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    IT WAS INTERESTING TO SEE PLACES AND MONUMENT AND ALSO SHOPS
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    BREAKFAST DURING SATURDAY AND SUNDAY AD IT WAS A BIT LATE I.E. AFTER 8.30 N06 ASULALLY 7.30

    THE BED WAS CONFORTABLE AND ROOM ALWAYS CLEAN

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    Excellent!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom had no vent and shower water went everywhere.

    great location, friendly staff. Comfortable room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    7.9
    Very good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy,poor wifi

    Very good location

    Stayed in March 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ateneo Puerta del Sol traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: