Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Mesón Castilla Atiram Hotels 2 stars

Valldonzella, 5, Ciutat Vella, 08001 Barcelona, Spain

#340 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1296 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.1

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic location. Close to metro and to all places which we were planning to visit. Room nice and clean. Staff very helpful. Can fully recommend it. !! Thank you very much for having us x

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Soundproofing could be improved as we could hear the people in the neighbouring room have a shower early in the morning, but this is a minor criticism

    This is a great hotel, well located. Walking distance to major attractions and good restaurants. Very comfortable beds and good sized rooms. Our room had a little terrace which was wonderful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2018

    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant some of the workers not friendly

    Location is perfect Staff is friendly (specially isdiar very helpfully)hope I spelled his name Wright .But we will be back at this hotel .

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only thing we missed was a mirror. There was only the mirror in the bathroom. A second morrow would have been great.

    From the very beginning the staff were very helpful and friendly. The location is excellent and the place was spotlessly clean. There were only 2 of us but we had a huge amount of space over 2 rooms. The kettle in the room and the TV showing Roland Garros was terrific.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nice hotel but not value for money. Expected a higher class hotel than what we got . Air conditioner was so noisy it was impossible to sleep with it on. Had to ask for a replacement bulb for bedside lamp. However the breakfast was great in a beautiful room with terrace....made up for the little faux pas.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is central and great this way, has plenty of nice small cafes, bars and nice areas, however, be prepared for noisy crowds outside your windows (at least during Saturday night:).

    Central location, unexpectedly big room, great room design (mix of traditional and contemporary) and interesting old building, friendly and helpful staff. At the moment of booking this was the cheapest and closest accommodation to Plaza Catalunya, so it was a good value for money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was good, well kept dining room and a lovely terrace. location not for everybody is very close to the <University, other than that is fairlly close to Plaza Catalunya. The hotel should have a porter or a person to help with luggage when guests arrive and dpart. Personel was pleasant, ,Monstse at the front desk was great, ç hotel was remodeled about a year or two ago

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We absolutely loved the location - just a short walk to Las Ramblas and Catalunyia Plaza - plus tons of cafes, bakeries, etc. The room was spotless - the beds were excepionally confortable and the shower has great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms in floor one have no windows and smaller,not at all looks like the photoes for double room during booking time which is shown ..but we asked and after 1st night our room is changed; to the one which is same as photoes. You are lucky if you stay upper floors.All room types can be shown with the photoes,so at least noone gets surprised once you r in.we were unhappy the first night. The little terrace is awesome but only open during breakfast time..

    Breakfast is very good Hotel location is very central.. Hotel's general areas interior is very nice.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was smaller than average and did not have much character. The windows were a bit odd....one large one with obstructed roof view...and one 12" square window that opened for fresh air in the bathroom. Tiny shower.

    I liked this hotel as it was reasonbably priced, clean, and it was centrally located. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast room was bright and cheerful. Breakfast was typical buffet style was many choices including eggs, fruits, meat and cheeses. Elevator to your room is always a plus.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My room was on mezzanine floor with a window open to a busy street. I couldn’t open the window for fresh air because the street was noisy.

    A few minutes walk to Plaza Catalunya where Airport buses are located.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everyone is so friendly and although the immediate area is'nt so nice location wise it's excellent. Although breafast was typical continental it was good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sleep quality was poor due to the thin walls. We could hear both rooms talking and the TV early in the morning. Also the actual area was not the best.

    It was very nice and comfortable also the staff were friendly. The location was ideal for the City centre

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It was a bit noisy as it is just by the student area The breakfast could have been a bit better, eg fresh eggs, the coffee machine made good coffee but was painfully slow often creating a long, slow queue. A separate hot water dispenser would have helped

    The location was very good. The bedroom was comfortable, the sheets very nice. The hotel was spotless The staff were very helpful The breakfast room and outdoor area were very pleasant

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    so I book online and pay half the price via the credit card and when i get there they make me pay the full amount again. they said the money we took was for conformation only and it well be refunded to your bank but it never did!!!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room is very small and very dark. They have a garden (patio)at 1st floor next to the restaurant but it's open only breakfast time, why? No safe in the room, you have to pay 5 euro if you want use a safe

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room 129 has no outlook just a door to an airshaft giving an outdoor space for smokers. When staying there again would ensure that I did not have this room..

    Good value breakfast. Easy access to city centre, Metro, Airport Bus etc..

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The most of the staff does not speak English. Difficult to get more than very basic and standard services, as the person does not understand. Leaving super early morning there was a problem to get water, coffe and fruits in the morning. Breakfast in general was too basic.

    The location of the hotel is very convenient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not much. The walls were a bit thin and we could hear the tv in the other room pretty loudly. And a big mirror in the room and some more places to hang stuff would be great.

    What a great little hotel, in the centre of the city, but still in a nice quite side street. The hotel is nicely renovated but has kept its old charme and decorations. I espacially liked the room where breakfast is served. The breakfast was also really good.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was as expected

    The cleanliness. Ample room. The armoire closet in our room was beautiful. We had a private terrace perfect to rest for the day's walks. Complimentary coffee/tea maker.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Grafitti everywhere in the area. Beggars but they in all cities around the world

    University quarter can be a little noisy but the food is superb. The area is literally 6 mins from las ramblas brill location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room. No chair in the room so bed the only place to sit. No tissues. Very limited protein for breakfast, mostly cold food.

    Very clean. Excellent bathroom. Convenient location but loud at night. Windows opened to let in fresh air. Pleasant dining room with courtyard. Adequate breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did'rt like the poor quality juices at the breakfast bar, nor the lack of healthy cereal (granola, muesli...) and fresh cut-up fruit.

    Liked the location, the clealiness and the comfort.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wall between our room 354 and the adjacent room 355 was thin and we were disturbed several nights by very noisy occupants coming in late and carrying on enjoying themselves regardless. We had to call down to reception for them to deal with them.

    The bed was very comfortable and the room had a balcony with table and chairs. It was quiet with no street noises. The room had a kettle and drink makings and a fridge which was very handy. The staff were very helpful and polite. We would go back to this hotel room if we came back to Barcelona.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The consistent noise at night from the the nearby Uni students detracted from my stay, but is out of the hotel’s control. English speaking guests would appreciate more channels on the tv like CNN and BBC.

    The room on the 5 th floor with a decent balcony was terrific . In room tea and coffee making and small refrigerator were appreciated. La Rambla , the market, and Place de Catalunya are 5 minutes walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only negative was our room didn't really have a window which would have been nice but for our stay we weren't in the room much so it didn't matter

    Staff were extremely Friendly, helped with transport links and the hotel was very clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given room 466, when we opened the door to the room it was so small we had to shuffle in with our suitcases. There was a wardrobe but not one drawer in the room to put our clothes, we had to leave everything in our suitcases and push them under the bed. I went down to ask reception if they had any bigger rooms only to be told all the rooms were the same. When we looked at the floor plan at the back of our door we could see that our room had once been a single but had been changed into a double. All other rooms on our floor were doubles and much bigger than ours, I feel that we were cheated. The room was totally unsuitable for two people and very claustrophobic. My husband and I were very disappointed as we had gone to Barcelona for a special occasion and this really spoilt the trip. Breakfast wasn't particularly exciting.

    It was central and hotel was clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    No grumbles

    Breakfast great. Staff friendly and helpful - happily recommend. Close to La Rambla and interesting streets nearby. Hotel will lock luggage in a safe room on the day of departure to save lugging it around

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There might be a little bit noise during week-end due to crowd around the hotel.

    Hotel manager whose name is Gerard was very kind and did his best to solve our problem we had in breakfast room. He also sent us some gifts to apologize :) Location of the hotel is perfect, it is very close to many touristic areas and there are lots of pubs, restaurants around. We highly recommend to stay there.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They never put more than a small soap in the bathroom good thing I carry my own shampoo and conditioner, I have to buy a soap and kleenex.

    The breakfast was ok and the staff was really friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ROOM pictures on your website are NOT OF THIS HOTEL!!! Our room had a TINY space and THERE WAS NO BATHROOM IN THR ROOM. WE WERE GIVEN A KEY TO OUR "BATHROOM" on the floor. The room was so tiny that we had no place to put our luggage. We booked with breakfast included but upon our arrival were told that there is a mistake on booking.com site and no breakfast is included. They also said that everyone had the same problem. We ended up canceling our second night stay and booking a different hotel. We are still waiting for our partial refund.

    The only good thing about this property was the location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was just a bit small for us and our stuff. Also, due to the location of our room with the window facing the interior air shaft, we could hear the water going through the pipes from the flushing of toilets (pretty loud).

    The bed was terrific; nice and firm just like at home. Really appreciated that. Staff extremely helpful and friendly. Good location! Very clean. thank you

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Proximity to a skateboard park. Teenagers were skating back and force at any time of day or night making noise. So, if your room is facing the street, make sure to get the ear plugs. Alternatively, ask for a room facing the inner patio. But that wasn't a major inconvenience. Still a very nice hotel for the price.

    Great location, under 5 min walk to Rambla and Placa Catalonia. The staff is super friendly and helpful. The room was very nice, and the entire hotel has a very good ambiance. We had a very pleasant stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we got was much smaller than shown in the pictures. It was really just a little larger than the bed and there was no transparent window. We had shopped around a lot before booking, and we picked this place based on the pictures of the rooms but this was unacceptable. I was about to leave the hotel. It was a big disappointment. We went downstairs and were asked to wait in line again. The lady then gave us a better room - like the one in the picture and explained that they only use the best pictures on the website. She said changing had been possible since we'd arrived early in the day, but if we'd been late it wouldn't have been possible. It was a stressful start to the trip. Then, walking past this woman every day was uncomfortable. She didn't seem warm. The breakfast was also not what I had expected. They showed pictures of fried eggs, but that was only on Sunday. I had to get used to eating cold slices of meat and boiled eggs. The bread was very good though.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit expensive for the service they provide, our room was very noisy until 1 a.m and from time to time there was only hot water in the bathroom.

    The location is good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel was beautiful, the location was excellent and the rooms were very clean and spacious. Brilliant amenities would 100% recommend this hotel . I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the acoustics between neighbouring rooms could have been better

    we found the staff extremely polite and helpful. the rooms were superbly presented and made up every day including Sundays! the food was continental but well presented and varied. the location was very central but just secluded enough to give a quiet nights sleep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    noisy at night, as the room overlooked the street and bars; and it was easy to hear people talking in other rooms

    Really comfortable, huge double bed; fantastic choice at buffet breakfast; excellent location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We didn`t like the clairaudience in the building. We could hear every noises from our neighbors. The two last nights we could hear a baby screaming from the room next to us, which was kind of exhausting. The cleanliness could be better. The bathrooms faucets were not really clean. One day we even got dirty cups in our room, which still had coffee grounds.

    The location is perfect. In the student district of Barcelona, just a few minutes from great restaurants, shops, the Rambla and the Placa Catalunya. The antic style of the Hotel is great and chic. Our room had a great size and was located to the backyard, so we did not hear any noises from the streets. We really liked the breakfast, which was rich in variety and very authentic. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The bed was really comfy.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Slight problem with noisy neighbours in the room next door on the first night, but that's largely to be expected. Hotel staff did ask them to keep the noise down so were on hand to help.

    Excellent location, clean rooms, and very friendly and helpful staff. Secure parking next door and as part of the hotel was also a bonus, especially given its central location. Would stay there again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was wonderfully comfy! The buffet breakfast was excellent. The location was perfect, a short walk from the Placa Catalunya and the buses and Metro.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We thought of giving a try to this hotel for a night but undoubtedly we continue to stay for another. The room was clean and tidy with lollipops on the bed and electric kettle with coffee and tea. No dressing table but was fine with us. Toilet have bathtub and bidet in addition. We're staying on the 2nd floor and not a problem for our wheelchair elderly as there's lift. Love the location and the antiques decor that bring you back to the past. Staff was accommodating. Recommended.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise because the hotel is located in an area next to the university and it’s full of students who stay up at night :)

    The location was great ,the room was perfect and clean ,most of the stuff were polite especially the guy at the reception

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy because I had a balcony room and the street noise was pretty loud.

    Great location, rooms are very comfortable , but with every hotel in Spain , you can hear your next door neighbor. They walls are thin.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No vegetable Crying child

    We loved our room but next door there was a crying children so was hard to rest but the hotel was nice comfortable and clean Breakfast was really good but i missed vegetables. Otherwise would definetly recommend x

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location, room with balcony on top floor. Refurbished room which was spotless & pristine. Friendly staff, adequate breakfast, plenty of food to chose from, would stay here again.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be more complete

    The room was very nice, It had a mini terrace and the beds were very confy. The location is perfect if you want to visit the Ciutat Vella but is also very close to a metro station and the aerobus stop

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only thing I did not like with the views from our room (466). It was my partner's first time in Barcelona and I was expecting nice views however we had no views at all.

    My journey with Meson Castilla hotel started when I did reserve the room on Booking.com. few minutes after I called the hotel to confirm my reservation and Guillem picked up the phone and answered all my questions, He was so helpful and explained to me how to get to the hotel from Plaza Universitat. When we arrived Miriam at reception received us with a very warm welcome and explained to us everything we needed during our stay. The breakfast was 5 stars with different selection everyday, my partner and I loved it, especially with Pillar's smile in the restaurant every morning asking us for our room number. Last day we did not to leave the hotel. we felt like at home. We did the check out with Amparo and she was so helpful and let us to keep our suitcases in the cloakroom until we came back in the evening to collect them and catch our plane. Honestly it is a very nice hotel with 5* staff and very professional. Such a shame we did not have nice views from our room. other than that we loved it and will come back indeed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very thin walls, we could hear the guy next door snoring and the people on the other side have a very good time one morning.

    Beautiful hotel, lovely and clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms (I had 2) had no windows and bathroom window was to a 2 square meter "view" of other hotel windows. Parking in Barcelona is impossible, hotel has its own parking but its a extra cost. Breakfast is not that great and its not included.

    The location of the hotel is great, walking distance of a handful of things to see in Barcelona

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No view from window, but as we were only in the room during night hours it didn't matter too much.

    Clean, well presented hotel, convenient location, very helpful friendly staff, it had everything we needed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee during the breakfast

    Very good located, breakfast are ok, everyday was the same with a little changes. Very bad tea and coffee. Staff was lovely and very helpfull. Rooms are very small but it was ok as most of out time we spent outside. I would recomended this hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast was good however it would be nice to include some more options. Gluten and dairy free options were available though which was a plus!

    Amazing location, friendly stuff and very clean rooms. We were in the top floor room with a balcony with a lovely view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Very bad coffee. The rest of breakfast was great. We stayed in 3 bed room under the roof. The room is quite small for three persons.

    Breakfasts were fine, worth of the money. Perfect location in a very nice part of Barcelona.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are rooms with no windows for the same price as rooms with windows. Price is the same, quality is different.

    Amazing value for money. I really think it is unique. It is very beautiful building that has been apparently recently innovated but the spirit was kept. The interiors deserve taking a walk inside the hotel and appreciating pictures, architecture and drawings on walls and ceiling.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only matter but not so big problem is the lack of a small fridge in the rooms.

    The room was fine and near the center . the hotel was great and comfort . Coffee tea in rooms was very convenient .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not up to standard. did not expect speciality cakes for breakfast

    staff extremely friendly and hotel sitiuated within easy reach of Las Rambles

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was clean, but a little on the small side - better for shorter stays where you are not going to be in the room much

    Great central location - with plenty of bars and restaurants in walking distance.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, very close to La Rambla and the Universitat subway station which made it easy to get around. The curtains are great and block out all of the sunlight so it's easy to sleep-in. However, the noise on the street at night was VERY LOUD. If you're a light sleeper then you will struggle to get to sleep here I think. We stayed Thursday-Sunday and every night (particularly Saturday night) there was an abundance of noise around the hotel. Otherwise, a really nice stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room facing the main street was little noisy, but there was no problem to change it for the next night. Wi-fi is not very stable.

    Very nice and helpful staff. Large room, good beds, nice location, close to metro station and restaurants. Lovely breakfast buffet. Good value for the money.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor issue with shower temperature. Cold drinking water would be a nice extra, there is no fridge in room.

    Friendly & helpful staff, always someone at reception. Contemporary bedroom decor. Good selection for breakfast. Hotel is close to metro and restaurants, but quiet enough for central location on a semi-pedestrianised street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms were very small and quite dated, also no window in first room felt quite suffocated but staff were nice enough to move us to a different room.

    Extremely clean, kind staff and good location.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, comfortable, well located hotel for Last Ramblas and 5 minutes to tube station.Very helpful staff, printed off my Boarding tickets and gave good advice of on getting to Montserrat.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Customer service is useless. I’ve called to checked if we left a ring from our room and they said they will email me once they have info, 2 weeks later I’ve heard nothing.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had to pay when we checked in. The heat was not working in the room and the aircondition had only cold air.Also cold air and a lot of noice was coming from the closed window during the night. So, after the first night we changed rooms. In the new room , everything was fine.

    Fantastic location, 5 minutes walk from Plaza Catalunia. When we arrived receptionist gave us a map and tips about the city. Also they gave us some gifts when we had to change room because the heat was off in the room we ckecked in. Good choice compared to location and price.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sound proofing between rooms could be better. Although this is only a two star hotel, I felt the fruit juices at breakfast were not up to standard.

    Friendly helpful staff. Central Location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location in relation to the gothic quarter and amenities such as metro, las ramblas and restaurants. Comfortable rooms, the back of the hotel is quiet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The heating system was not functional. The website of the hotel didn't mention the closest metro station.

    The breakfast and the position of the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little bit loud outside and in the next-door neighbour room

    Great location, friendly staff and clean rooms, especially the rooms on the 5th floor with balcony are beautiful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bad internet connection and frquently lost. No internet on 1-st floor, but room was cahged by staff quickly to 5-st floor with internet connection, but was problems with internet in this room too. I had wi-fi on my mobile phone but had not on laptop on the same time. Difficulties with wi-fi if you stay here for business trip.

    Wery good staff, start from receipton and to manager. A lot of restaurants and shops around. You stay in the hearth of student life place. It is not noisy, it is power of life. Comfortable rooms, cleaningperfect each day.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Greeting with a friendly manner, rooms always cleaned, tea and coffee was always replenished. Even on my bday I asked for a tea bag for my room but was told 'uno momento' only to be greeted with a made cup of tea!! Lovely balcony, decent size bathroom everything was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room wifi wasn't the greatest. Perhaps some brochures in the lobby and the front desk staff could have been a bit more knowledgeable on the area. Certainly not a deal breaker.

    The Hotel was attractive, very clean, and in a very cool area. Nice breakfast in a beautiful restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Window view - couldn't see the sky, just the wall, sometimes there was weird smell but it doesn't really matter since we were out all the time.

    Location is great, breakfast were OK, staff was helpful, bed was comfortable but squeaky, bathroom was clean and nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is not an American hotel, which gives you a free breakfast; the soaps in the bathroom are literally 1"x 1" square bar, although they did provide a body gel and shampoo in the shower, but that was watered down. You're better off using the 1"x 1" soap bar. You could hear the street noises, motorcycles, cars, people talking out loud in the ween hours of the night, but again, you're in a foreign country and things are different. It wasn't too much of a problem.

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is smaller than I expected. The photos are taken from a good angle to look bigger :) Also, I have a private bathroom, but it was outside the room. It is a bit incovenient. But is does not affect at all my experience during the stay.

    It is very clean. The location is perfect if you want to stay in center, but in a quite hotel. Almost all of touristic atractions are at a walking distance. The staff is very helpful and lovely. When the room is ready, they let us check in before the time. We had a little balcony which is a plus too.

    Stayed in November 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Mesón Castilla Atiram Hotels traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: