Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Atxega 1 stars

Osiña kalea, 20170 Usúrbil, Spain

#2 of 3 hotels in Usúrbil

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 493 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is situated in industrial zone so no shops around.

    Very clean and comfortable room, very big bed. The breakfast was ok. Parking is near and free of charge. In front of the hotel there is a park. The staff very friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Car parking nearer to the front door, there are a lot of steps and the alternative slope is too far away

    impressive old architecture but with modern hotel facilities

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed covert was kinda old fashioned, you know, like the ones that grandmas have in their room in the attic (not that good if you have an allergy - but wasn't causing me major problems). Also one towel wasn't well washed (but there were several other perfectly clean towels we could use).

    The breakfast was good, the rooms quite big. Our room had a lovely view over a small park. We did not travel with a pet but it is worth mentioning this hotel allows pets to stay over - really nice!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No real soul at this place and it is difficult to tell that the property is actually on an industrial estate from the hotel description and pictures. The bar closed early and it was quite a trek to San Sebastian.

    Lovely building.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in the location. Sunday everything (EVERYTHING) is closed and nowhere to eat or drink ...even the cafe attached to the hotel. Staff removed kettles so we could not even make an instant noodle meal.

    This is a lovely building and the rooms are spacious and clean. Great bathrooms...free wifi. Driving distance to San Sebastian (public transport not so good though)

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel Ataxia is located adjacent to an industrial estate, thankfully not noisy or dirty, and there is no large sign to indicate the site of the hotel. As such it was lucky that I had memorised the pictures of the hotel and we eventually found the hotel. We used a sat-nav, but as usual these devices can sometimes 'take you around the houses' so to speak. As mentioned previously, not all staff could communicate in English, but then again our Spanish was limited and we were in their country. Therefore, will learn more Spanish for another occasion.

    The rooms were of a good size, clean and very comfortable. Plenty of towels and sachets of shower gel and shampoo. Both receptionists (day, evening) had a good knowledge of the English language, our Spanish being minimal, so helped with stay at the hotel. We were a group of six males travelling through France and Spain down to Santander and found the hotel to provide a secure environment for our motorcycles right outside the front of the hotel. We did have to ride our bikes up a path to do this but it was wide enough and the surface was good. The food, wine, service and costs were good and the staff were friendly although not all staff at the hotel spoke English but we managed our way through this which is part of the experience of enjoying a different culture. Also the gardens of the hotel appeared well kept and clean and tidy. There is a small precinct not far from the hotel where there are a few small shops, ATMs, bars and cafes, which like the hotel are reasonably priced. A glass of beer, about 3/4 of a pint, was two euros and of good quality. We did not try the food in the precinct but can confirm that the food at the hotel Ataxia is excellent.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing, everything was ideal.

    The ambiance of the place was fantastic. The restaurant although almost empty, the service, the food and value for money was excellent. It was amazing to find that this was formerly a palace.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We stayed here one night on the way to Bilbao and we discovered this charming hotel with very friendly personal, big and clean room. Wifi connection was great and the breakfast was good for the price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel suffered from being located in the middle of an industrial estate! This didn't encourage walks beyond the colonnade.

    The hotel was nicely appointed and had a 'cared for' look. The staff were friendly and the attached restaurant served good food. The outlook from the front of the hotel, along a manicured colonnade to the mountains was stunning.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Insulation between floors is very poor due to the old style boarded ceilings although floors have wood or tiled flooring.

    Bed very comfortable. Staff really friendly and helpful. Cafe and restaurant service excellent. Delicious food and very good value. Lovely garden area around hotel, great for walking our dogs and leading to footbridge over main road for short walk into Usurbil where a few small shops and cafes/bars. Restaurants were closed in late September.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was quite uncomfortable. Host did not speak English but tried to help where possible and was very pleasant.

    Property was very near the train station which gave us easy access to downtown Bilbao. Room was a good size and clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Short walk in to town very little to offer.

    Convenient location traveling back to the ferry. Very nice renovated old building. Not too far from a very nice beach. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    When we arrived there was no one there. Even though we rang the bell (as requested on the piece of paper at reception), no one can to help us (we waited about 10 minutes). Because we were hungry we left to eat at the restaurant below. The hotel was difficult to find, even with navigation.

    The restaurant below was very good. The room was very nice. Old building, but modernized. The receptionist after 19.00 was very helpful and arranged a taxi for us to go to the restaurant we made a reservation for.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality of the two girls in reception was amazing They support me when was waiting for answer from airlines where us my lost luggage They called couple times for me

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Information said that staff spoke English. That was true only for one person, other staff members were clearly struggling with English (though friendly).

    Great room and bed. Nice staff, good parking facilities.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is situated on an industrial estate and there was a power generator directly under our window so it was noisy. Tiny window.

    Very easy train trip to San Sebastián. Usurbil is a small but charming village with lively local eateries. Newly refurbished hotel, nicely decorated. Beautiful country surroundings. Buffet bfast. Spacious modern room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel is a bit in the middle of nowhere. Room had only a small window and was therefore a bit dark. Bed had this strange extra-long pillow for two people - not very convenient/workable.

    Nice staff. Restaurant had good food - albeit a bit pricey.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast menu was a bit unimaginative

    Convenient location, walking distance to local town, easy access to San Sebastian and surrounding areas. Dog allowed at breakfast table in designated area.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bed extremely comfy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Excellent accommodation, clean, confortable, good breakfast, very nice people!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a wedding reception on and the music was a bit loud when we went to bed - but couldn't be helped :)

    Big comfy bed. Nice hot shower.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you need car

    The room is very clean staff

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Staff were extremely helpful and very efficient and friendly. The Lady on Duty, when our Car Battery was flat, even arranged for the Garage opposite to jump start it free of charge. Very nicely renovated, we had a large room at the front of Hotel, which was excellent value for money, as was the Breakfast. We would certainly recommend this Hotel.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff was super nice. We were travelling from Germany on our way to Portugal and made an overnight stop at the Palace. We arrived very late and tired, but the staff made sure that someone would be there to welcome us. They were super friendly. The palace is a beautiful and charming restaured historical building. The room was really nice, very clean, with a high ceiling and wood structure above..

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    From the ceiling we could hear everything going on on the floor above. No noise insulation at all.

    Parking facilities and station at walking distance. Nice, clean room with comfortable beds.

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A lot of stairs from the street up and also to the floors (no lift). The breakfast was pitiful I'm afraid to say. Very little selection.

    Nice location. Friendly staff. Spacious room, with good size bathroom. Room had plenty of sockets for charging tablets, plugging in laptop etc.

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Initially difficult to find. Very little to do in Usurbil.

    Very friendly and attentive to the guests. Close to the train station to San Sebastian. Nice breakfast. Probably a great location to drive to neighboring small towns.

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is not much in town, you have to go to San Sebastian for almost everything, but it is very close to a train station. We could hear our people talk next door. Wifi was not great. A bit pricey.

    The room was big, the bed comfy. The house was cool even on a really hot summer day. Free parking.

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was just OK. Hotel is in an industrial area, quite a long way (15 minutes drive) from San Sebastian.

    Beautiful historic hotel. Comfortable and clean; the staff were fantastic

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Area not fantastic but quick train into san Sebastian. We had the set menu at the restaurant and....well I'm too tired to tell you everything that was wrong but I wouldn't eat there again. It may well of just been my girlfriend and I but it was laughable and awful in equal parts.

    Staff lovely, building lovely, room lovely. Shower a bit dodgy, bed lovely.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    cafe/bar downstairs can get a little noisy in the evenings

    good size room, nicely decorated, friendly staff, close to station - easy to take the train into San Sebastian in about 15 mins (about the same as driving time with traffic).

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was hard to find even with a gps

    The breakfast was very good

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast.

    Beautiful room with great art works. Loved my Juliet balcony.

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had a room upgrade,? they recommended, but wanted to charge extra? This was corrected at checkout back to original price.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Lovely hotel,good size rooms. Nice restaurant. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    wifi was a little hit and miss

    good location near station, lovely old building but modern inside

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Hotel confortable

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I like how room and bathroom decorated

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    restaurant was abysmal

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Over priced

    Air conditioner

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Guests also reviewed these properties: