Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hostal Avenida 2 stars

Gran Via, 15 - 4º A, Madrid City Centre, 28013 Madrid, Spain

#207 of 372 B&Bs and Inns in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 286 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    9.5

  • Facilities

    7.7

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 28

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The doors and walls are a bit thin, so you can easily hear people walking down the corridor

    The receptionists were very friendly and welcoming. The bathrooms are stylish.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff was super kind. For the last day of the year, they provided us some cupcakes, some wine with glasses and other stuff to celebrate. Very nice room, with a great view on the Gran Via.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent Location The Hoslat located in best location. It is near to everything If you want to go for shipping just downstairs, if you are fan of point of interests you just need to walk. Personnel are so friendly and lovely , the room was very small but enough for one and of course so clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The recepcionist was rude since day 1 but finally got mad & yelled me cause I changed from one bed to other of a 2 bed room he gave me cause they were out of single bed rooms I rent, never listened I didn't know that wasn't allowed. WiFi was awfull

    Facilities are fine. But wifi is awfull

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Terrible outdated pension with poor comfort. No free access to the rooms after 10pm. Doors are locked. You have to ask rude guy to open the street door, and justify that you are a guest. Then you must be accompanied in the elevator and have the second door unlocked before getting to your bedroom... felt like staying in a jail! Poor wifi connexion. Old bathroom with dirty floor (hair). Single beds directly coming from last century boarding school... Avoid this place. Definitely not recommended.

    Location

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was one man on staff that spoke no English and was very rude when I could not understand him. He made NO effort to communicate in other ways, such as google translate or even trying to speak a little slower. He seemed aggravated that I could not understand him and seemed annoyed that I could not speak Spanish. He was VERY rude. This hotel specifically says the staff speaks English so they must expect some guests to not know the language. That particular employee made me feel very uncomfortable for not being able to speak Spanish and during my stay he was often the only employee present. The description also says there is daily housekeeping in the rooms but I stayed 2 nights and my room was not cleaned.

    I liked the 2 staff members that spoke English. They spoke very well and were almost completely fluent. Those 2 employees (especially Marisol) were wonderfully helpful and accommodating. They made recommendations and gave me directions. One of them even helped me to book a shuttle to the airport when I needed to leave. The location was also fantastic and the ac was nice and cold.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is right near the reception, so it can be noisy

    Location in the centre of Madrid and close to the bus stop where from night buses leave for the airport Very good facilities for this price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Small fridge in the room would be nice as they don't offer breakfast. Soundproofing wasn't so good but I had an interior room so it wasn't too noisy, especially with earplugs which would be good to bring, I slept fine.

    The location is brilliant. Wifi worked well for me. Single room was surprisingly spacious for one persona and it's a big plus to have an own bathroom in the room. The room was clean. I would stay again, worth of the price especially considering the location!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Guy in reception (he was there for all these days!!!) didn`t speak english. But the worst thing is he said to me and my friend: if you are in Spain you should speak in Spanish - unbeliveble!!!! :/ Rest things was perfecto!

    Clean room, bathroom, great place

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like if I used my credit card to make the reservation and pay, my surprise was when I arrived the Hostal the receptionist told its not pay, I got pocker face😱😱😱, I supposed when you used booking.com and make a reservation I already pay my room, not doing twice and wasting time, I really would like that Booking.com and the Hostal can fix that issues.

    I like the charming hostal, very good location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very clean Hostal Avenida, Accomodating staff NORA Very affordable Perfect location Very good security Highly recommended

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the bathtub/shower is slippery

    The value, the staff and the location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thin walls, sometimes you can hear noises from the other rooms

    Helpful staff, perfect location, nice building

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very clean and quiet environment. One feels very secure in the building and its in the centre of Madrid making it easy to access many other places!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was great, in the heart of la gran vía. The room was nice and clean. Good value for money

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can hear people walking on corridor and bell ringing

    Convenient location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location to all the sites of Madrid.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Single room very small. Poor sound insulation so could hear everything from corridor and rom bpnext door

    Excellent location

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was a bit small

    Location was excellent near to all the nightlife and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    They don't speak English.

    Location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    A breakfast of sorts included in the price would be better value,crossaints, ceral, juice and coffee would have sufficed

    Location is good for experiencing the city, close to Gran Via metro.

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff is not really willing to help All the rooms are close to reception, so it can get quite noisy

    Located exactly in Gran Via. Walking distance to most of the main sights in Madrid Late check out: noon Cozy and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Some noise from the next rooms, WI FI sometimes despire .

    THE LICATION is great, price is Good,staff are nice , they don't speak Good english but ok, Room very small but clean.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything, staff was very unfriendly, they only speak Spanish and when we talk once they talk with high sound " you are in Spain you should speak Spanish " it's the first time this happens for me in Spain, the building guard was very unfriendly too, in the room you can hear everything happens around you

    Location only is the good point

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Soundproofing is not excellent, although as the hotel wasn't busy, it didn't affect us so much.

    Location is magnificent; staff is awesome. The building is also beautiful and extremely clean. I would recommend the place and stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Honestly, nothing to add! Everything was better than I expected for such a low price.

    The location is amazing! The price for quality overall is very good. Other hotels in the area are much more expensive. The room was very simple and practical, with literally all the facilities you need for a short-term visit. I'm definitely staying here when I visit Madrid for business again in the future!

  • Reviewed: 29 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    the place!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Everything was very fine to me

    Location is GREAT!. Price is very OK. Cleanness approppiated.

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 28

Guests also reviewed these properties: