Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Avenida 2 stars

Eduardo Pondal, 46, 36003 Pontevedra, Spain

#2 of 16 hotels in Pontevedra

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 589 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 54

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    Popular Camino trail hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Narrow single beds. No electric jug for making a cup of tea.

    Well located, very good staff at reception and room cleaning. Plenty of hot water. Good quality towels.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    9.6
    Pilgrims in Pontevedra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was what we expected. It was Spartan. Lacking hominess. Maybe there could have been a chair to sit in.

    It was well located. We could get to everything quite quickly. Have to say the staff was excellent. For example we had to do laundry. We didn't have detergent. My wife went back to the front desk to ask where she might buy some and the woman took her down the street to show my wife where the supermarket was. The breakfast was pretty good for 5 euros. We liked the shutters on the windows in the room to block out the night lights and the bathroom was very clean.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Best place to stay in Pontevedra
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Welcoming staff, huge room & bathroom, very clean,shower gels, late checkout(12pm). Restaurant and bar next door. 500m from station and town. Tons of bars and restaurants. Supermarket about 150m away.Lifts.Modern area. Would have stayed longer, Would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    8.3
    Our stay in Pontevedra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner began at 9pm - would prefer an earlier time.

    Check in was handled very well. The check in desk was keen to help. Our room was clean, comfortable and a good size. The shower water was hot and everything was clean.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    9.6
    As good as it gets.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast especially well regarded. Small, openly posted charge (€3.50) gets you full hotel breakfast choices. Eggs, the lot. Well done. Staff friendly and knowledgable. Cleanliness standards very high indeed. Pricing reasonable. Ideal Camino location. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    8.3
    Receptionist particularly friendly and helpful, and spoke...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had twin beds, which we requested, but they were rather hard The bar staff weren't that friendly, seemed hassled and understaffed, particularly in the morning there was only one bartender who prepared and served breakfast if you weren't having the buffet breakfast, as well as making coffee etc for passing customers

    Receptionist particularly friendly and helpful, and spoke some English Amazing value for money Very clean Seemed very new Ten minute walk into the old town Extra pillows in the wardrobe Hairdryer available on request Lots of hot water in the shower

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Good location for arrival on Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely welcoming after a leg of the Camino! We arrived early and we're able to check in, which was great. The receptionist gave us some good tips about dining options.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Well located 5 minutes walk from train station and about 10...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only some tv channels worked (really minor point as I only put it on for 10 minutes!)

    Well located 5 minutes walk from train station and about 10 minutes from the old town. Plenty of bars and restaurants in vicinity as well. Rooms and bathroom clean and modern. Restaurant and bar in hotel convenient although I did not try any food nor breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    5.4
    functional one night reststop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room was dark and dusty. It served its purpose for one night but I wouldn't there for more than one night. Bar and restaurant not great

    Location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    10
    On the Way to Santiago by bike
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Visiting La Peregrina and Holy Mass at the Franciscans with a gorgeous walk to the old part of town. Outstanding italian restaurant managed by a Venezuelan exile with GREAT conversation and delicious Lambrusco.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Good quality but not luxurious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really.

    Good quality but not luxurious. Just off the Camino trail. Less than 10 minute walk into a buzzy town center. My room was quiet, clean with a good bed and linen, fine bathroom with shower. Good value for money. I recommend the Avenida.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    10
    Top
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spacious rooms, comfortable beds. Bar downstairs. Friendly and helpful staff. After a long day of walking and being in Spain, I didn´t wanna wait until 21:00 for dinner and so I appreciated the Dominoes Pizza across the street for a Pizza and unlimited soft drinks to restore my energy for the next day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2017

    10
    I was on a camino, so the hotel location wasn't far from...
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was on a camino, so the hotel location wasn't far from the trail. Everyone was nice, helpful and professional; I spoke very little Spanish and yet they made me feel welcome and assisted me when needed.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    9.2
    Top class hotel at a great price.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want your backpack sent to your next destination ring the bag company yourself or ask a staff member to phone them.....it won't be sent on otherwise (even if you leave the envelope with payment with your bag).

    Great value hotel just a few minutes walk to the old town. We had a lovely big room on the 6th floor overlooking the town. The bathroom had a very welcome bath (lovely after a long walk in bad weather!). Very nice bar/restaurant. Reception staff very welcoming.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    8.3
    Would stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    That said, the breakfast was pretty average.

    For a one star hotel, I thought it was pretty well equipped. No faults. The location is closer to the bus and train stations than the historic centre, but it's not really far to walk from either. I hadn't booked a breakfast but reception arranged for it to be added to my bill, and they just charged for what I actually ordered. Would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    8.8
    More like a three-start hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was quite noisy very early in the morning. Doors to not close quietly. They have to be forced and slammed shut, so the noise is clearly heard and echoes throughout hotel.

    Nice large room for price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    8.8
    best budget hotel - nothing wrong with it
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    WiFi connection was a little bit unstable. One time, I was out of internet access for a quite long time.

    This wallet friendly hotel is located in between the railway station and historic center. Spacious/clean room and comfortable bed. I got surprised at seeing an extra large, but simple, bathroom. With some decorations, it will be much nicer. Since my room on the 2nd floor was facing to the street, my concern was traffic noises, but once windows were closed tightly, nothing bothered me. One guy at the reception spoke English and gave me some info on the old town with a map.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Super good and nice!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Super good and nice! A/c, TV, wonderful bed, very cozy place and nice decoration, very fast check in, a bar next door with friendly people. Wonderful place. I was happy to stay there. Thank you for your work!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    8.8
    Nice large room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not like the long single pillow.

    Nice large room. Helpful staff. Good location and only a short stroll to the old town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. I have stayed here before, so that tells you how much I love this place. Would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the area.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    9.6
    Good value for money not far from the center of Pontevedra
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We got a big room on the 7th floor with view over Pontevedra. Very friendly welcome. Good location when you are walking the Camino de Compostela.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for the Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect for the Camino. Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    8.3
    Simple, clean, practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Simple, clean, practical

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Being pilgrims on the way to Santiago de Compostela and being hit by storm “Ana” we were just glad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit outdated

    The view from the 8th floor

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    7.1
    The staff were very helpful and kind.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was not very comfortable. It was pretty cold as well.

    The staff were very helpful and kind. They even spoke English!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.8
    Good pleasant friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location by sea

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    10
    Lovely airy hotel centrally located
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hugh comfy bedroom

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    7.9
    Location was great for camino
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfectly fine hotel in good location for camino. Good onsite bar.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice and affordable place to stay in Pontevedra
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular

    Nice and affordable place to stay in Pontevedra

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    9.2
    Nice terrace
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was modern and with a very beautiful terrace.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast quoted at €3.75 per person but we were charged €5.00 per person

    Location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice low budget hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A short walk to the city centre

    Price - nice, clean, low budget hotel. Big, with many apartments. With elevator

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.9
    Room was very comfortable and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very comfortable and clean. Easy access to restaurants,bars and shopping.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    9.6
    Good place to stop on the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable modern room. Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    8.8
    Camino Portoghese sulla strada per Santiago
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff efficiente

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    7.9
    Modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine.

    Modern hotel.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.6
    Modern
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Modern

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    9.6
    We walked the Camino. This was a great little hotel. Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Clean, comfortable family hotel. Very friendly and accommodating. Easy walk to the old city. Great bakery next door.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Appropriate star rating. No complaints
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Friendly staff. Good but basic, appropriate star rating.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    5.8
    Poor staff
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    As we left the receptionist claimed that we had not paid and we had paid cash the day before - very embarassing.

    OK location

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Services desayuno empieza demasiado tarde

    Habitation may espaciosa e insonorizada

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    9.2
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives

    Comfortable rooms, good aircon, bath in rooms.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location, great value, clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent location, great value, clean

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Nice hotel, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was ok

    Perfect hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    9.6
    Beautiful modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful modern hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    10
    Good hotel and perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    7.5
    Good stopover on the camino
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi could have been stronger. A place to do laundry would make the place perfect

    Comfortable and big room. Courteous and helpful reception

    Stayed in March 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    9.2
    Hotel conveniently situated right on the Camino Português,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Hotel conveniently situated right on the Camino Português, only a short walk away from the historical centre. Room comfortable, large and with very good Wifi. Next door you find a small local bar to start or end your visit to the lovely old town. Staff very efficient, being incredibly friendly and helpful. Excellent recommendation for restaurants, you should not miss in Pontevedra.

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    10
    Receptionist spoke English and was helpful, easy, short walk...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I paid 5,5 euro for the "buffet" which I don't think was worth it.

    Receptionist spoke English and was helpful, easy, short walk into the historical center, very clean and comfortable, fast wifi from my room, right on the Camino Portugues.

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2015

    9.6
    This was a real find.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Restaurant didn't open until 9pm but that seems to be pretty much the norm in Spain & Portugal.

    This was a real find. The staff were very friendly and accommodating AND they could speak English! Check in was simple and I was shown where to securely park my motorcycle. The hotel is situated a short walk (max 10 mins) from the old town. There is also a bar associated with the hotel used a lot by the locals and therefore very reasonably priced. The room was accessible by a lift, large, comfortable (though not luxurious), and clean. Wifi was available in the room too. I really liked it! I didn't eat there as the restaurant didn't open until 9pm but I found a pasta place about 5mins walk away. Didn't stay for breakfast, but it looked a little basic.

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2015

    9.6
    Staff were very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staff were very helpful. Room was fabulous with air con. Ver large. Didn't eat there because you are spoilt for choice in Pontevedra. Wish I had stayed 2 days here.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    8.8
    Central position, on Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi faded. Bit dear.

    Central position, on Camino. Nice room. Good shower. Helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    10
    Very friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very friendly, helpful staff. Excellent advice on where to eat. Bike friendly.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    10
    Value for money and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Value for money and facilities

There are also 25 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 54

Guests also reviewed these properties: