Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of El Avenida Palace 4 stars

Gran Via, 605, Eixample, 08007 Barcelona, Spain

#186 of 526 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 4043 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2018

    9.6
    A very enjoyable,peaceful and relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The scaffolding outside our window but it is temporary.

    Everything was perfect beginning with the welcome, helpful staff, lovely breakfasts,comfortable room,large bathroom and finally the location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2018

    8.3
    The location alone is worthy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The WiFi was pretty bad and kept disconnecting all the time. Only two elevators, and often we had to wait for more than a couple of minutes. Though the staff are very nice, communication in English was a bit challenging at times.

    The location is simply amazing! very close to many major areas, especially the Plaça de Catalunya. It is a clean hotel, pretty roomy, with a very comfortable bed. The staff were nice and welcoming overall.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    8.8
    Good ambiance, good sights, good food, good prices. And not all has to be booked in advance.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Twin (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights

    The elevator system is not perfect - one may have to wait a while to take in the beautiful decoration. And I was catapulted into the floor on some occasions because the elevator stopped a few centimeters below the floor level (and I forgot). During our visit (October 2018) the front facade was being renovated. Windows could not be opened while the scaffolding is up (good) but there was then a choice between a cold room with air conditioning on all day (not good) and no aircon but very humid inside (bad). Note that this is not Sagrada Familia. The renovation should not take a life-time.

    Very friendly staff in a stylish hotel with a long history. The location is excellent - a few minutes walk from Catalunya Square with lots of connections per pedes and by metro. Very good breakfast buffet that not just ended but was replenished up to 11am. Seasoned staff at the breakfast were very efficient and approachable. The same for housekeepers - discrete, efficient and patient when we suddenly popped up again. In fact I have rarely encountered continuous genuine smiles from all staff like in this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2018

    7.5
    Great location, classic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lifts in this hotel were a nightmare. One lift was out of action for most of our stay, and the other one therefore completely overloaded at all times. Even with two lifts it was difficult to manage with both passengers and luggage. No laundry service over the festival weekend! The reception staff told us it was available, and then changed their minds. No service for 3 days for a hotel like this is unacceptable. No tea and coffee making facilities in the room. The pool is tiny, and not suitable for swimming. There was also a private party on the roof one evening, and we definitely felt that residents were not welcome to use this space at that time.

    The hotel is in a great location for travelling around the city. Most of the staff were really helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Very luxurious...and the staff were great and very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given an upgrade to the Beatles Suite..the room was spacious and very comfortable.. The hotel was very beautiful! Cannot wait to come back and stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Very impressed with El Avenida Palace Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked for a quiet room which meant we were at the side of the hotel. The room was very dark and we were looking into an office opposite us.

    The location was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful. There was a special offer on breakfast. It was excellent value for €10 each.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2018

    10
    Classy and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor issues. The lift was slow and a bit noisy. The safe in our room didn't work.

    This hotel is very classy and the location is excellent. The metro to Sagrada Famiglia is across the road. Metro station to airport is a 5 to 10 min walk. Only 2 min walk to Plaza Catalonia and Las Ramblas. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay there again. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    THE place to explore Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They’re redoing the front, so no good views now. But once done this place will rank a ten out of ten.

    Location, location, location. Close to all the shopping, restaurants, and Gaudi buildings.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2018

    8.8
    Location is very central, hotel is very well presented and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are very thin, could hear overhead, neighbours and cleaners. Also could feel the metro train rumbling underneath and we were on the 6th floor!!

    Location is very central, hotel is very well presented and staff are very friendly and polite

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    10
    We liked everything about El Avenida Palace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked everything about El Avenida Palace. The staff couldn't do enough to help us & always with a smile. Comfy big bed, room cleaned daily & fresh towels. Delicious breakfast daily offering every hot & cold dish. Late 12noon checkout with use of the hotel rooftop pool, restaurant & bar all day even though late flight out. No complaints here.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    10
    We enjoyed the roof top pool. Beware as the steps into it are extremely slippery. We will go back😀
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Building renovations taking place and building covered with scaffolding so could not appreciate the outside beauty of the hotel. Next visit should be even better.

    Perfect location 2 minutes from top of Las Ramblas and near airport shuttle buses. Fantastic.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    6.3
    It was ok but wouldn’t stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the first floor and the subway was directly below us so every few minutes the room rumbled all day and night. Not very relaxing at all. The elevator broke down and took forever, had to step down a foot with our baggage when the doors opened and weren’t level wth the floo. Wouldn’t go back. Beds were very hard.

    It was pretty

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    7.9
    Overrated -not a bad place per sé, but I wouldn't stay there again -nothing memorable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel in renovation and no, you don't notice this is the small print !! Pillows in room were very uncomfortable and the hotel lacked any form of ambiance. The rooftop bar was badly managed, without a staff presence at times, and no menus were available for snacks. When we got the bill at the end of the evening, we quickly understood why !!

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is perfectly located in Barcelona. Close to absolutely everything. Reception staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are luxurious with a separate bathroom and lounge area. The room has a mini bar fridge but no tea/coffee making facility in the room but there are plenty of restaurants nearby to accommodate this. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    5.0
    Staff where not fairly respectable and welcoming to...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff where not fairly respectable and welcoming to customers, the property is very old it states it has a gym but didn’t have a gym facility inside the building what so ever looks very exquisite in pictures but in reality is very old television doesn’t work etc don’t be fooled with the hotels and accommodations of Barcelona it’s all a scam

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.5
    Ideal base for four nights/three day trip.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    While the public parts of the hotel are very opulent, our room while perfectly comfortable was perhaps smaller than I had hoped/expected and looked out directly onto offices a few metres away, so in effect there was no window. It didn't matter much as we didn't spend long in the room and this is a great base for exploring, but it was a little less than i was expecting.

    Great location, good food in hotel restaurant and nice roof terrace.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    7.1
    Historic hotel lacks customer service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Front desk staff not friendly. We arrived prior to check in time. Font desk manager did not want to give us an available room because we were only staying one night.

    Historic hotel in a great location. Rooftop pool/bar provided a nice view of city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    Very good would recommend it to my friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say I couldn't find fault with anything but I would like to make a suggestion I went for a swim and as soon as I put my foot on the first step I slipped I was lucky I didn't hurt myself, I did report it to reception and suggested that the some kind of mat on every step as the next person could do themselves an injury.

    I liked the decore of the hotel it was beautiful and the staff very friendly , I would like to give a special mention to Manuel in the dining room I found him a very friendly person.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    4.6
    disfunctional facility and dark
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything. for the money that was paid for 4 star hotel. the hotel was very average and poor quality in general.

    The shower screen was not closing and the toilet water kept running all the time. Had to call maintenance person to come and fix for more than a half hour and still couldn't fix it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    10
    All staff were friendly and always helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a pity that there was scaffolding covering the front of the building, so windows had to remain closed. Also only one elevator was operating.

    All staff were friendly and always helpful. A lovely hotel, proud of its heritage.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel in excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunately there was only one lift working most of the time during our 4 day stay, which meant quite a long wait to go up and down, particularly in the morning. We were on the 8th floor so stairs were not really an option. The pool was very small, but it is a city hotel after all. A more relaxed interaction with clients would have been welcome.

    The hotel was in an excellent location for attractions and being in close proximity to the metro. There was also an excellent choice of tapas bars and restaurants within walking distance. The room was very comfortable, with a super large comfy bed! The breakfast was varied and had a very good selection of healthy foods. Staff were helpful - we had a small problem with our room and this was fixed immediately.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    9.6
    The Hotel is absouloutly buetiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had delays booking in for over 1 hour but to be fair a 7000 personboat had just doced and they were booked out

    The Hotel is absouloutly buetiful. Old word charm with most of the character retained from a ygone are. Even the Key you check in and out when you come and go. Would definatly try and stay hers again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    9.2
    Quiet, location was pretty central to most things.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That it was being renovated and they did not say that when I booked.

    Quiet, location was pretty central to most things. Staff was helpful. All areas were clean and well kept.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.3
    All i all , a great stay in Barcelona , but we will not return to this hotel. There are many others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Scaffold around building was a distraction. They are performing reconstruction of facade . This limits the views from rooftop. Pool was very small , more like a large hot tub. Water chemistry was not balanced as it was murky and had a foul smell. It needed chocked with chlorine. Hotel is old and it shows.

    Location was excellent . Good access to public transport. Staff was excellent , always accommodating requests.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    8.8
    Good central hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    One lift (of only two) out of action Bar had only one draught beer and that was out of action

    Breakfast very good Hotel staff very helpful En-suite facilities very good, especially shower

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Fantastic stay, very central to all major attractions in Barcelona, highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite El Avenida Palace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only letdown was the checking in times. The following is constructive criticism, I would ask the management team at the Avenida to seriously look at changing the checking in times. We as a family had to wait 3 hours for our room to be ready even though we requested weeks in advance a check in time for 1:00 pm as we had a baby, literally 30 minutes before arriving at hotel we had arrived from a long flight, unfortunately we didn't get our request not did we get our room until 4:00 pm that day, you all know what that is like with a screaming baby in your arms!!! We stayed here a total of 5 days, then we returned once again one month later on our way back to Dubai. The first time checking in to hotel the only complaint I heard from guests was the checking times and how long they had to wait for their room to be handed over... The second time around we experienced again the same thing, guests complaining about the same issue... checking in times. It's a shame as it takes a very long time to build a good name and brand like Avenida currently has... but very quickly you can lose this name and brand by not changing a simple thing i.e your checking in time and more importantly making guests wait from 12 pm until 4:00 pm to check in to their room... I heard guests complaining at breakfast about it, discussions around the bar and pool about it, so obviously this was an issue for most guests staying here and not just for me and my wife. I hope management will look into this...

    Location was perfect, the hotel itself was amazing, staff were helpful and accommodating to all our family needs and to top it off breakfast was excellent.. I've stayed in many different hotels in Barcelona but The Avenida was by far one of the best.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel for a great city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The quaint lead filled conical steel shaped room key appeared more as a weapon than as a locking device. The bathtub facility though accessible was dangerously slippery. Please provide bath mats.

    Location, style of hotel, friendly staff, dining facilities, roof top view bar.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.2
    Stay away or get robbed
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was horrible, the only window in the room looked out to a wall. There were 2 single beds pushed together and they were so flimsy, they would easily slide away, not for a couple. The rooftop is really small and the pool is a joke, it’s more of a big Jacuzzi. My Friend had left his phone on charging at the front desk of the hotel and it got stolen from behind the front desk - how does that happen unless the hotel staff are hand in glove with the thieves.

    Only the location and that’s it. Location should not be the deciding factor to stay here unfortunately.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    10
    Gorgeous hotel in perfect location
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything!

    The location of the hotel was perfect - a few minutes walk from Las Ramblas. Staff friendly, professional & very helpful. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    4.2
    One visit enough for me.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was supposed to be executive level, we looked out onto a brick wall, dark room, slight musty smell. I thought the staff were a bit aloof but found most Catalans the same (except for the pub OBAMAS next door who were very welcoming) Barcelona is a lovely city but they don't welcome tourists, you are served begrudgingly at cafe's and restaurants. Maybe the people can't cope with tourism like their counterparts in Southern Region.

    Good Location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    7.1
    Hotel with heritage touch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult approach. Had to stop the car on the main road amidst the traffic, no parking arrangement.

    Good location, nice staff, heritage feel, nice room and comfortable bed

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    7.5
    lovely stay helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The scaffolding was not expected but didnt alter our stay. The pool was cold.....very cold.

    The location was exceptional, well connected to the Placa de Catlyuna and the Metro with an excellent tapas bar on the corner 20 mtrs from the hotel.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.3
    It’s ok. Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is freezing. Un-swimable. Was so hot on roof and no relief. Scaffolding made roof top pool ugly check if hotels are having maintenance before you book, to pay so much, to turn up and not have what you expect. Also not enough places to sit. Rooms facing the inside have not enough natural light, feel pretty enclosed.

    I like that they minded your key when you went out for the day. Rooms clean and bathrooms nice. Location pretty central.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Location and staff were fabulous very comfortable and clean...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Location and staff were fabulous very comfortable and clean room great bed. Reception staff helped us hire bikes and also arranged tickets for the sagrada familiar nothing was too much trouble

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    8.8
    Husbands Birthday T.rip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I didn't like that there was no coffee/tea facilities in the room. It would have been nice if some of the tv channels were in English

    Central location, clean hotel with friendly staff. I like when we had a problem in the room it was sorted out straight away. would definitely stay again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    5.4
    Great Location but let down by dark rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    They said they upgraded us to a larger room than we booked but the room was dark (facing into another building), and you could hear all the noise from the hallway. The room itself was not renovated and it was dated and with dark heavy furniture and no privacy at all because of the position. So we were basically living in the dark as we could not open the blinds. The roof top pool and bar were a joke, you wouldn't spend a minute up there.

    The location. The bathroom was spacious and seemed to be recently renovated. The room was large.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    9.6
    Nice old world hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No natural light or views in the room.

    Nice old world hotel. Fantastic location and really friendly and helpful staff. Amazing views from the rooftop bar. Showers were nice also.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    7.9
    Location was really central, room was spacious and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't ready at 14.00 eventhough it was stated like that in the info. Room gets really cold in the evening (and we stayed in august). During the check out staff was misinformed us regarding the metro lines we almost missed our train.

    Location was really central, room was spacious and clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    5.8
    Convenient location but would look around for a different hotel should we every return to Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wall insulation was dreadful, we could hear the next room's conversations!! bathroom activity!!!!! There was no coffee/tea maker in the room. The terrace pool and bar were a huge disappointment - the pool was tiny and dirty. The terrace bar was very basic, only serving cold beverages, a coffer service would have been good. Breakfast was just "ok" pastries dry and not tasty. Scrambled eggs not great, bacon/ham totally overcooked.

    Clean, friendly. Air-conditioning worked well. Expensive for a no frills hotel, but it did have a very good location for getting around the centre of Barcelona.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    I would love to came back one day and stay at this hotel. Breakfast is delicious. Great location .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is not I didn't like

    I really recommend this hotel. Perfect location for catching buses, train and taxi. Food is plenty around the hotel. Staff very friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    We would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and hope to go back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    A little pricey but the location made it worth it.

    Great Breakfast. Best Shower I have ever had in a hotel. Location could not be better! Staff was lovely. Most rooms do not have great views but there is a rooftop pool and small bar and noone should stay in their hotel room in Barcelona! Get out and walk the city. It's spectacular.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Great hotel, fabulous location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool small, but is was on the roof top. 3ft deep and about 20 feet long. Had great water jets on it though.

    The whole building was very clean, tidy. Breakfast had great selection of hot and cold foods,. Breakfast from 07. 00 until 11.00am, fantastic.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    10
    Perfect Family Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives.

    Great location. Amazing connecting family suite. Great rooftop pool and views. Friendly staff. Great value breakfast with reduced price on check in.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Outstanding and superb customer services;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No matter how hard one tries, it’s to find a minimal fault.

    Outstanding and superb customer services; spotless and well kept rooms; fresh, high quality and delightful food display at the restaurant. Efficient; helpful; professional and friendly members of the staff in all areas of the hotel. Without a doubt, I shall stay there on my next visit to Barcelona.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    8.8
    Great location ... very convenient ;)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 2 small elevators. They were very slow especially during the check out time (approx. 11 - 12 noon). Please spare time at least 15 mins just waiting to take your luggages down to the lobby.

    The location is great, very convenient.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.6
    Felt it was a bit high priced was expecting a swimming pool...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Do not advertise a rooftop swimming pool, it is a large Jacuzzi.

    Felt it was a bit high priced was expecting a swimming pool on the rooftop but found it to really only be a large Jacuzzi. Construction was going on at the time, so view was very limited and compensation in price should have be given for this inconvenience. The property did make us aware of the construction at booking but did not compensate for this. Otherwise, I would recommend this property.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.3
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast was not as good as expected. plus we paid for breakfast for 4 persons and we did not have breakfast for two days plus one person never had breakfast at all

    Great location and very convenient. very freindly staff

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.8
    Very nice BIG hotel, you can feel inside like a Queen or King:)
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    everything was ok, and location- is perfect very close to metro.

    room: Sagrada Familia Suite was perfect.... ( expensive but perfect) great breakfast with CAVA and white wine.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Great location, just in the middle of the city, near metro...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking

    Great location, just in the middle of the city, near metro and bus stations. Nice and clean rooms, decorated building. Breakfast is very good!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Loved the handy location and excellent value for money. Great friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Hated the dogs allowed in rooms. One dog barked and howled for 2 afternoons. Asked the staff why we were on the dog floor (level 9) as I am allergic to animals and was very disappointed that the dogs walk around and wee on the carpet and bark in the rooms left by themselves. Dogs in the lifts???? why?

    Great location, excellent size and huge bed. Modern bathroom and all amenities. Great friendly staff. excellent bar and staff. great breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Barcelona is a very vibrant and inspiring city, we would definitely visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The roof top pool was very disappointing, very small, the water was green and there were no loungers to sit on. It was very unappealing and needs a total refurb.

    Staff were very friendly and looked after us very well. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The location was excellent.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Stylish & quality accommodation I would definitely recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite Twin (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little cramped on the rooftop terrace but it is what it is.

    We though this hotel was beautiful & the staff v professional and friendly. Fantastic v impressed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    10
    Thoroughly recommend this hotel on all levels. Location, service and comfort.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To be honest it was an excellent hotel.

    Large rooms with king size bed. Huge bathrooms with everything supplied. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Perfect location. Quiet hotel. We were on the 8th floor. Elevator a little slow.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    Good location , the bathroom had been updated and was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel advertisers that it has a roof top pool and relaxation area- which was one of the main reasons for booking this hotel, however it was more of a jacuzzi as it’s about 5m x 2 m only! The relaxation area has only 5 deck chairs and some plastic seating which gets very hot in the sun. Many people went away disappointed as there was no room!

    Good location , the bathroom had been updated and was very nice rooms a little old fashioned. Renovations were taking place during our stay and this meant that our window was covered and there was very little light and no view.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Great family stay ( connected rooms)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (Two Connecting Rooms)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All great

    We have booked connected rooms for family. It worked perfect with 3 children . Great location for sightseeing and shopping. Parking not far ( 3-5 min) staff will drive your car there . There are some building works on facade, so windows are covered . It looks like owners are investing into business. Hotel team - great and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    The only benefit of booking a room in this hotel is its location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was poor and limited compared with other hotels, there is an unpleasant smell in the corridors of the rooms, because of the old carpet in it, the cabinets of the room is old and its doors do not move easily

    The location of the hotel was perfect and the staff were nice, the breakfast area was spacious, but it was not a main restaurant, it was a meeting room or events converted into a restaurant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    4.6
    It is a fair location and nothing else at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor quality building leaking everywhere when it rained. Extremely rude staff. Their scarf- folding leaked and nearly killed my husband on top of that when we ask for a towel to dry his , staff refused to give it as we were just checked out .Please never pick this property by looking on their pictures .

    It is a fair location and nothing else at all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    2.9
    Feel Cheated..Everything is so bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All from the property. The staff in check in counter is very rude..except Alex who did his best to solve the problem for us. Iam very disappointed and hoped that it will never happened to other customer. I will never returned to this hotel again. And I will never recommended this hotel to other people so they wont be dissapointed like me

    None from the property. Everythings is very outdated. Even the mattress is slanting. When I complained to the management they didnt change the room. All that they did, they put the piece of wood under the mattress😡. When I insisted on cancelled my room , they said is non refundable. Please ....change the mattress of all room. Its been used at least more than 10 years. Its so embarrassed. Even the 2 star hotel.is better then this hotel. The room smell so bad till I told them to use ambi pur to sprayl the room. This hotel room rate is 5 star, but the facilities inside is lower than 2 star hotel. Very very disappointed. Feel being Cheated.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    The location was really fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (Two Connecting Rooms)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Underground was a little noisy as we were staying at the first floor. The whole room was trembling every five minutes but it was manageable.

    The location was really fantastic. In the middle of everything and away from the noise.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    5.4
    Think twice before purchasing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Air conditioning was not utilized in the public areas and the outdoor temperatures were in the 90’s and 100’s. -Air conditioning in the rooms barely cooled. -Rooms were dated and carpet was filthy. -Amenities that we’re promoted didn’t exist in two instances (exercise room and available snacks).

    Location was very good. Staff was polite and attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    9.2
    Huge bed , clean room .
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We came down to breakfast at 10.30 (stops at 11) and not much left and staff didn't want to put anything more out ! Scaffolding outside the hotel which restricted any view from our room , which we were not told about .

    Huge bed , clean room . Pool compact but adequate

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    We’ll come again for sure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were in Barcelona for our wedding.Although we booked a regular room, there was a surprise for us! They arranged the Beatles suit for us and during our stay all the staff was so helpful and friendly.Breakfast was good and the ongoing construction did not brother us at all.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    10
    The staff were extremely helpful and would do anything they...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms need renovation and some are really dark light paint and a freshen up would solve this

    The staff were extremely helpful and would do anything they could for you there was 14 of us so a large group! The roof top pool was amazing also

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    Nothing the hotel could have done about this but we were...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (Two Connecting Rooms)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing the hotel could have done about this but we were staying in Barcelona at the time of a very large taxi strike which was noisy and at times scary for the kids.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.1
    Beautiful building and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (Two Connecting Rooms)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being removed from the roof terrace as it was required for a private party. At no point during our check in or subsequent stay had we been informed that the terrace would be closed on the night of our stay. Very disappointing as we had planned to sit up there and enjoy the evening with a few drinks, we were told we could stay in the bar area of the terrace below but that became extremely busy with people from the private party and was not an enjoyable experience.

    Beautiful building and friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    8.3
    Good location, nice big rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately the room air conditioning was set to 22 degrees and could not be changed. We were there in the middle of a hot summer and the room was freezing - staff told us that if the room was too cold that we had to turn the air conditioning off which left the room stuffy. Also the doors were tricky to open - they used these old style keys which had to be turned a certain way with a flick before you could open a door. We wasted many minutes trying to get into our room each day and going down to reception for help (staff were helpful)!! We also saw quite a few people on our floor struggling with their room key to get into their rooms.

    Good location, nice big rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Great accommodations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent accommodation, great location, clean, comfortable, quality plus it was a great surprise after booking a double room to be upgraded to top floor suite, which was beautiful. Great view, with pool and bar.

    Pool area had a great view over city. Quality furnishings and comfortable beds.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    Great location. Old world elegance. Beautifully maintained.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I mistakenly booked two rooms and was stuck with the charge. My bad.

    The hotel could not be in a better location. Metro across the street, lots of restaurants within a few minutes (or less ) walk. Beautiful part of town.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    5.0
    A bad experiment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (Two Connecting Rooms)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunatly, this hotel does not like 4 stars hotel or even 3 stars. I think it should have 2 stars. l know that it is a classic and old-fashioned hotel but there is a bad smell inside the rooms. The primary tools are not avaliable in the rooms like water heaters, slippers, and quilts. The furnature is bad and there is dust on the curtain and behind the desks and tables. At general the furnature like furnature apartements.

    The staff at night shift is extremely friendly, polite, and helpful. The location is perfect.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    3.8
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (Two Connecting Rooms)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is very dirty and smelly in the bitters and rooms. 2 elevators only to serve all guests. One is always disabled. The rooms are very old. The images on the site are completely contrary to reality. The room key is very old. There is no coffee maker. The worst experience a guest can pass

    Good location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    10
    The location was perfect .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect ...right in the heart of Barcelona. Staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. Clean ,beautiful hotel that I would recommend to anyone staying in Barcelona.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    8.8
    Great location for city break,close to shops, tour buses, you get a feel for Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lack of ordinary coffee /tea at breakfast. Waiting staff slow to serve when you first sit down and refills of coffee difficult to get. There was machine but not much use if you don't like espresso.

    Style of hotel, very beautiful building even though renovations going on outside. Old fashioned in a good way. Reception Staff very professional and helpful. Air conditioning worked fine,didn't need to touch it, pillows and mattress comfy, light duvet available if needed. Enough toiletries for 2 for 4 nights and nice extras like comb, shoehorn, sewing kit.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel generally a bit tired and need of a refurb inside not outside. Swimming pool dangerously slippery without warnings and no response from management about concerns. Interior room views poor but better than facing scaffolding. Bathroom was nice but mouldy in places.

    Great location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    3.8
    First of all there was a facade renovation and all facade...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all there was a facade renovation and all facade was closed with scaffolds and curtains. No information was given before. The worst thing was cleanliness. If clening service in a hotel is terrible no need to talk about other facilities. Terrible hotel, poor breakfast service, terrible cleanliness at heart of Barcelona.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    5.0
    overpriced rooms at a noisy hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room (1-2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very over priced, dark, dingy and very very noisy apartment We asked for a quiet room and didn't get one, very disappointed with the noise and the tiny room for the price we paid

    The location was great!

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse El Avenida Palace traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: