Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Fontecruz Ávila 4 stars

Carretera Antigua Cebreros, Km 3, 05196 Avila, Spain

#17 of 24 hotels in Avila

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1260 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 50

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    3.8
    Nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were forced to change rooms twice because the rooms were not clean. Hair on the cushions, floor and bathtub and under one of the bathroom glass cups (as seen on the picture). Mold on the bathtub joints. Carpet that looked not to be vacuumed, with mites, mold and stains. The minibar was dirty with spilled drinks. The furniture had sticky cup marks. Air conditioning did not work and we suspect that air filters were not replaced, the air in the room was unbreathable. During the breakfest we noticed cups, tables and tablecloth were dirty and there were flies landing on the food. The images partially reflect the tremendous lack of hygiene. I do not advise adults to stay in the Hotel and especially those with children, rooms are a source of allergies. Friendly service but not very professional, they offered to change rooms but did not make sure the rooms were cleaned, we were not offered compensation or refund. A pity given the good location.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    7.1
    We stayed two nights and visited Avila which we thoroughly enjoyed
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No staff on reception when we arrived and we had to go hunting around for someone as nobody came when we repeatedly rang the bell. Inconvenient pool opening hours.

    Size and comfort of rooms

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    This Hotel has everything going for it. However if it’s to survive it needs some serious management
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole hotel was very tired: The mattress was not good. The dining room was not cleaned for our entire stay. The breakfast was not 4 star. The whole hotel was understaffed. The cleaning of our bedroom was just adequate.

    The location was ideal. The facilities were good. The room was spacious. The reception staff were very helpful. The bar staff were excellent.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    5.8
    Overal good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Interior could do with an update. Furniture is outdated and/or broken, carpet is stained, dirty and loose in some places, windows are dirty. Bathroom was not clean upon arrival, hairs from previous guests everywhere.. Opening times from swimming pool could have been better: from 11-14 and from 16-20h

    Great hotel from the outside. Outdoor area is lovely, the garden is well taken care of. Bed- and bathroom are big, the bed extra comfortable. We didn't hear a thing at night. Breakfast is perfect, with everything you need to start the day. Location also ideal, if you have a car. Free parking in front, Avila town is just a few minutes away. Towels are offered at the poolside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    6.7
    Rooms and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a hotel of this standing, totally unacceptable, to be devoid of any food or room service or bar,in the evenings. Necessitating our having to travel into Avila at our expense to eat. Not what you expect from a serious hotel.

    Rooms and friendly staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    6.7
    Boring breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Boring breakfast, no vegetables at all. At least there were some fruit. It was my second time there and probably never again. I tried the lunch there with my daughter and it was really not worth of any mention. Never again there for lunch or dinner. Quite old and small TV, with lots of noise.

    The rooms are big and quite comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice bedrooms but food, service and decoration of public rooms needs attention
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs modernisation and adequate staffing. Dinner was a big disappointment in terms of food quality, service and atmosphere. Hotel is quite a way out from Avila so you need to order a taxi or drive.

    Lovely size for a bedroom. Clean and spacious. Pool area was lovely but the pool was unheated. Reception area and staff were very pleasant. Drinks were relatively cheap.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2017

    5.8
    We will not be back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived on a Wednesday, expecting to enjoy our stay in a four star hotel, it didn't live up to it's stars: One of the towels in the room had to be replaced due to it being badly soiled by a previous occupant. When used the shower leaked soaking the carpet in the doorway. The evening meal was like something from Fawlty Towers. We were only offered the set menu, the quality and presentation of the food was poor to non-existent. There was only one waiter who didn't appear to be coping well, though we did eventually get some cutlery for the main course. Whoever was in the kitchen pretending to be a chef should have gone back to their normal job.

    The room was a good size, nicely furnished, with patio doors. Breakfast was fine.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    4.2
    Pathetic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The room was a non smoking and we could detect the smell of cigarrates. 2. The lift eas not working 3. Dinner eas served by a waiter that kept in bringing the wrong dishes or dropping everything ( a piece of bread, fork ...) 4. The spa was all booked when we arrived and we had to wsit till the nect day in order to use it. 5. The water at the spa was could, the showers dirty and no water provided at the water tank.

    The room was huge

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    9.2
    Located in the green at a 5 min drive from the historic city...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems to have had its best days and needs a make over. The opera music in the breakfast room could have been turned off.

    Located in the green at a 5 min drive from the historic city center of Avila. Spacious rooms. Value for money.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    7.1
    No sleep
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We booked this hotel, because it was outside in nature and we thought quiet, but they had a wedding going on the hole evening and night, so some facilities were not made difficult and we did not sleep much or at all. The hole night people going up and down just under our window being very loud. Around 6 am we finally went to sleep only to be called on the hotel phone at 7.45 am. Rang 2 times and the hotel, later by our complaints, informed us, that it was not possible? If you, like us, want to use this hotel as a sleepover for further travelling, I would ask you to inform over any weddings etc. going on.

    The facilities were absolutely fine.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Great hotel. Very recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast. I wouldn't recommend it. It's too expensive for what they offer. The products are not fresh enough, and the variety is poor. For less money you can have fresh and delicious breakfast at a local bar.

    The hotel is nicely decorated, the rooms are cleaned and comfortable, the staff is friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    6.7
    Nice and pleasant stay despite the lack of cleanness in the jacuzzi water
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa cleanness was far too poor. There was strange foam floating on the jacuzzi water and the amount of people was horrible. We could enjoy nothing at all the spa session

    Room very spacious and comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    9.2
    Excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV very old and only able to pick up a few channels. Curtains very thin so let in a lot of light from outside lighting which was kept on all night.

    Great room size, enormous bed and excellent value for money. Would use again!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2016

    7.5
    One overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very short on staff The hotel is a bit tired. It's a drive away from Avila which was ok for us as we didn't want to visit but could be a problem

    The hotel suited our needs. The staff were pleasant and hard working The room we had was clean large and comfortable. The drive we took to the hotel is spectacular lots of bends and lovely views but could not be for anyone.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    4.2
    spacious rooms, nice view from the garden
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    pool was closed, not mentionned on the website. beds are too hard. hotel needs renovation, 4km from Avila old town.

    spacious rooms, nice view from the garden

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Entorno agradable y estancia magnifica.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    Entorno agradable y estancia magnifica.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2018

    10
    The location was impressive and the service and food was good together with easy parking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative was a very poor shower.

    The staff were friendly.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money resort with all a traveller could want.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were impressed by the luxury of this resort, quiet location, swimming pool, ease to drive into Ávila. Value for money for sure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    8.3
    Clean, comfortable and quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, comfortable and quiet. Good selection of food for breakfast and very reasonably priced bar.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    Nice cozy room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a little bit lousy from outside

    Nice authentic interior. Great view from the terrace on 3rd floor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Nice bedrooms, poor food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food quality is very very poor for a 4 stars hotel .

    The rooms are big and comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    8.8
    Big older style hotel where they would have conferences and weddings etc. but room was comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious rooms very comfortable

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    5.0
    The Hotel needs a general cleaning at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel needs a general cleaning at all!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    5.4
    We wouldn't stay again it looks nice from the outside!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was not clean and breakfast was very poor

    Fridge in room

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    6.3
    In need of a renovation but with a great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Falta de limpieza, horario limitado de piscina y bar. Falta de personal

    La localización

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2017

    8.3
    Good value accommodation in an excellent, quiet location outside Avila.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant arrangements are at best disorganised.

    Good location and price.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    10
    Perfect place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big rooms, very clean and the stuff was very friendly and helpful. It is the perfect place if you want to relax and it is very quiet.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    10
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are very big and very clean. The staff very helpful and friendly. Strongly recommend this accomodation.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    10
    Nice quiet location away from the town, but within easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice quiet location away from the town, but within easy access by car. Nice spacious rooms and facilities.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    10
    fantastic hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Free Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    spa is good and room is so nice

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.6
    Great location out of town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TV in room - poor channel selection and old screen.

    Staff were very helpful and room was very good.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    5.8
    Bed
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi Smelling

    Bed

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    9.6
    I think it was out of season so pretty quiet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think it was out of season so pretty quiet

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2016

    10
    Great rooms and friendly staff make this is very attractive...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing

    Great rooms and friendly staff make this is very attractive hotel. Having stayed in the centre of Avila and been disappointed by noise and poor rooms I would never stay anywhere else.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    7.5
    This is a great hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    We were put in the old side of the hotel for the first time. It is not nearly as nice as the new side. If you get a choice, ask for the new side.

    This is a great hotel. We enjoy it every time we go to Avila

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    2.9
    The food was really bad, one night we couldn't get any...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was really bad, one night we couldn't get any service. You really need a car if you stay there.i wouldn't stay there again. Not much help.

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2015

    9.2
    The rooms are large and clean, a good experience and I would...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Would have liked one English speaking channel on the TV.

    The rooms are large and clean, a good experience and I would recommend this to other travellers.Friendly staff who went out of their way to help.

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2015

    6.3
    Nice swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel seemed pretty much deserted though there were plenty of people at breakfast the next morning. It took a long time to find someone to fix us a drink at the bar in the evening - not worth the bother of asking for a second which I really wanted. Hard to get the lights turned on so we could read in the bar/ lounge in the evening. Dinner didn't start at the advertised time (8.30 - yes I know it's Spain, but we gave up eventually & drove back to town)

    Nice swimming pool

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2015

    9.6
    Beat of all was value for money and it has a pool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There were no extra pillows.

    Beat of all was value for money and it has a pool and pleasant views. The evening receptionist Katerina was especially pleasant and helpful

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    5.0
    Big room and bathroom, good breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff did not speak any language except Spanish, air condition did not work the first day (we had to make several complaints to get that fixed), water-tap in our bath did also not work properly. We had the feeling that nobody really cared. And above all we were not allowed to use the swimming pool. The pool is open only in summer, i.e. this year from June 15. All in all we would not recommend this hotel.

    Big room and bathroom, good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    4.6
    beds good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Swimming pool from July only - this is not advertised on the website and was the main reason for staying -no apology when discussed at reception. Wifi did not work apart from in the lobby for entire stay despite several attempts to make it work. Water pressure low to none. I would expect spotlessly clean rooms at this price- not the case. Toiletries limited. Only over 16s in spar.

    beds good

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    6.7
    Excellent space
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Quiet but could be seen as a good thing.

    Excellent space

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    10
    The hotel's is fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast was so normal.not so good. And worker in cafeteria not was so polite.

    The hotel's is fantastic..

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2015

    10
    They upgraded for a suite with beautiful view for the same...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They upgraded for a suite with beautiful view for the same money

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    6.3
    The food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The food

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2015

    7.1
    3rd bed in room was really only suitable for a small child.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    3rd bed in room was really only suitable for a small child. My 16 year old son ended up sleeping half the night on the floor!

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2015

    8.3
    A good hotel but a little run down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A good hotel but a little run down...

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    5.4
    quiet location, pleasant staff but need to be more versatile...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    quiet location, pleasant staff but need to be more versatile with languages

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    10
    location, wonderful comfort, receptionist was excellent,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    location, wonderful comfort, receptionist was excellent, parking

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 50

Browse Hotel Fontecruz Ávila traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: