Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Aya 4 stars

Carretera Arenal, 60, 07600 Playa de Palma, Spain

#18 of 65 hotels in Playa de Palma

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 236 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff verging on unhelpful. If you don't speak German, you may feel a little awkward as the entire area is 'Little Berlin'. Many stag/ hen parties and groups of young people being drunk and rowdy around the pool.

    Adequate but not exceptional

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is positioned in the middle of a Magaluf type strip with groups singing and drinking, being sick on the promenade at 9 in the morning.., the biggest nightclub only 100m away. The hotel , restaurants and strip caters for prominently German clients who to be fair were very well behaved... just noisy!!....realised why I couldn’t find this hotel in any British brochures. I spoke with a couple of German lads out there and they call it”sunny Germany”... as all the German football teams and lads go on tour in Playa de palma!!!!!.... a shottbusride to the next town is like actually visiting Spain!!!!

    The hotel and staff are perfect, located opposite the beach

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We got one shampoo and body wash for the whole stay. My partner wasn’t well we asked for some water and the staff said: yes no problem and we never got some. Stranger not from the hotel were entering the hotel and that’s didn’t make us feel very safe We paid for an upgrade and got told yes no problem and we got to the room and we had two single beds, my partner and I had to sleep separate. The next day I complain and they said that was cause the upgrade which is fine but I paid for a bed and would have been courtesy to let us know that we would have slept separate.

    I had the suite and the view was just breathtaking. Breakfast has lots of healthy food and I like that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing, it was overall a very pleasant stay. Judging from what I saw the side sea Blick is not comparable to the frontal sea Blick (which I had). if you really want a nice view pick the second!

    The location was just astounding! Caffès and restaurants all over. the beach is just meters away. The main "Party" spots and the usual attractions to German visitors are a small walk away (for example Mega Park or Bier König). the check in experience was very smooth (the staff also spoke German with us), I was lucky to upgrade from a "side sea Blick" to a sea Blick (with charge). the process was done fast and we were able to get our room immediately (around 12pm). the room itself was very clean, the furniture seemed to be very new. the Blick is an absolutely killer! the position of the hotel at Palma gulf allows you to have an endless sea view. the food in the hotel was good. the breakfast was diverse. We had dinner in the hotel almost everyday as well . The deal was very good for residents and the food was tasty and the buffet was diverse. you have to buy the drinks separately though. The pool area was also lovely, specially in the afternoon time where it is a little bit too crowded at the beach. all in all I was very excited to be there and I'm definitely going to be visiting again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is personal choice the pillows were too fluffy.

    Best breakfast ever with a variety of fresh fruit and anything else you can imagine. The rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who just wants to relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Garden View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Even it was quite quiet, I expected to be it even quieter, as advertisement indicated additional sound proofing. It was not a problem at all, but just expectation was maybe bit higher as I could hear people speaking while passing by in the corridor. Again, it was not too big of the problem.

    Very modern and well functioning bathroom, big TV screen, relatively fast WiFi also it was available outside, next to hotel. Room felt really spacious, clean also well functioning air conditioner was a great plus. Location was great as there were markets, bars, restaurants, beach - all within 50 meters I'd say.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few things: - The hotel is in the middle of a German neighborhood. And I don't mean that there are some German restaurants. I mean that the whole district, several blocks in either direction, is "Little Germany". Some people working in customer service in the area don't even speak Spanish / English! In itself it's fine by me as we have nothing against Germans and their beautiful country but we did not expect that at all and were disappointed not to feel like in Spain around there. So if you, like us, enjoy exploring and experiencing local anything like hearing Spanish language, music, trying local food, non-beer related attractions etc - you have to go to Palma city or somewhere else. There is not much to do and see in the area apart from the beach, eating and drinking. - The toilet door in the room should absolutely NOT be made of glass that is only matte half way and has gaps on all sides - terrible idea, no privacy in the toilet at all! - The glass shower cabin in the middle of the room looks awesome (sea view while showering!) but If I came for holidays with my granny it would make for rather awkward showers. - Beds, while comfy, kept sliding away. I cannot possibly comprehend how hotels did not figure out a way to stop beds from sliding away and a person falling into the hole at night. Beats me :) - Why is there no guest information booklet in the room? Like bar opening hours, services, things to do, number for reception etc - the usual stuff you see in every hotel in the world. There is nothing at all. I read in one of the previous reviews that everything in the room is in German. It wasn't the case in our room as there was nothing there at all. - No kettle in the room. - Last thing - hotel staff should not assume that guests cannot speak Spanish. We speak Spanish and the arguments / discussions between breakfast staff were awful to hear. Shame as otherwise staff were extremely nice.

    We stayed in a beautiful, modern room with sea view and balcony. It was on the first floor so there was no need for a lift which suited us. Room was quiet enough and there was not much noise coming from the outside but we visited in mid-April so not too busy (sea view rooms could get noisy in the summer as they're right at the main promenade). We really enjoyed decor of the room and the comfort of the bed as well as nice towels and toiletries. The breakfast was nice too - loads of fruit, yogurts, cheeses, eggs, cereal, cold cuts, juices, nice bread, bacon, beans and more - good enough. Service at breakfast and reception was for the most part excellent. We enjoyed the pool with bar and fantastic bar staff. There is a bus to Palma just outside the door which takes around 30 mins. Taxi to the airport is only 10 mins or so. Cheap car rental place just a few steps away. A few good restaurants and bars around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was just amazing!! We arrived at 1am and dinner was set for us, really thoughtfull... The hotel room shower was amazing,great location,great food and super friendly staff!!!! Would recommend

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The open plan room with the glass walled shower because the drains were foul smelling all the time despite complaining to reception. The air conditioning was not working correctly giving us a very uncomfortable night until we got our own fan. But the WC extraction fan was still turned off between 2300 - 0600!!!! At breakfast I had to ask for something every day. No glasses, no bread rolls, no bacon, no milk, no preserves, hot water not warm enough for tea - those staff responsible did a very poor job keeping on top of things.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning in the room didn't work properly, lack of international tv channels (unless you come from Germany), the double bed that we requested was actually two single beds pushed together, though beds were comfy.

    The sea view was stunning, but would be better to request a higher floor, service during breakfast was great, simple hotel concept and clean rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast we had was so disgusting because we had 3 breads and meats that stayed the all night on the table. I was so disappointed as we had to leave early in the morning for our flight and I almost have eaten nothing. Then we asked for a glass of water and the staff made a big deal because we wanted to drink water (breakfast was included in the room rate!)

    Rooms are renovated and very comfy. The staff arranged that we have breakfast as it was included in the price we paid. The beach is in front of the hotel and it’s really cool.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I check in at 23:30 but the reception just have a man there. but he looks rusty and forget to return the passports to us.

    Sooooo nice beach outside of hotel. people can see the beautiful sea view when they eat breakfast and inside the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed are not super comfort

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location . Clean hotel very nice people. Great place to stay

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small rooms Staff was ok.

    Location was really good

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was spacious and very clean. Modern decor

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom set out.needs changing to a full 1

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Breakfast brilliant plenty of choice and variety

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tea and coffee making facilities in the room would be nice

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room with Side Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet door

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a double bed and got two singles put together

    Friendly helpfum staff, great breakfast and a view of the sea

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The rooms with seaview have a beautiful view over the boulevard, beach, and sea.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee could be much better. BBC on TV would have been nice. Secure WiFi would have been nice.

    Clean friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Great location, super clean and wonderfully friendly staff...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gym is rather small

    good location, good service, good dinner, most of all, good view from my room. Perfect!!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really generally good

    The breakfast was good and the dinning room was lovely and clean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Scores of drunk students. Area very German orientated. Lots of German drinking arenas ..... megapark etc. Paying for safe, should be included. Air con didn't work, glad April and not too hot.

    Value for money and location for beach, which is across the road and to Palma by bus in 20 minutes. Great breakfast choice. Hotel had no stags, hens or large groups of drinkers. Promenade at front door. Friendly staff. Very clean.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Very friendly hotel with good facilities & situated right on the beach. Excellent for beach walks & amazing cycle lane running all the way to Palma.

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room was SMALL, crowd was mainly elderly people, restaurant food was mediocre. Spa is not a spa rather a room with a massage table. In the US, this place would be 2 stars.

    Location, proximity to the beach (WOW), incredible sunsets. Not much to do in the area other than walk along the beach or go to tourist shops along the way.

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Sound proofing between the rooms not good that type of building. But I did have considerate neighbours. No tea making facilities, being English I always travel with tea bags & kettle so no problem.

    Being given a free upgrade from single to double room. Good selection at breakfast. Good wifi you could actually listen to your favourite radio station on the beach outside. Although not disabled myself pleased that those that were had good facilities.

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    one men from dining room was very rude(a spanish one) and hair dry in my room didn't work, i think the room are a little bit older for 4 stars hotel

    very good food, very nice vew for dining room, very good breakfast, good location of hotel near beach

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The reception staff were efficient but not particularly friendly. Not rude but not warm or welcoming

    Spotlessly clean, good range and quality of food. Greatvlocation

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Didn't like being put into low level room when arrived,couldn't see the beach.

    They let us move rooms the next morning no fuss at all. Really helpful staff. Lovely pool.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Although it never bothered us there is a predominantly German influence in almost every hotel and restaurant or bar all along this part of Mallorca. And watch out for the cyclists who seem to do nothing but go up and down the promenade scattering those who dared cross the road.

    The hotel was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was more than adequate. Easy transportation into Palma.

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Wifi not so great, bathroom although huge and clean didn't have an exhaust/circulation fan :(

    Very clean. All staff very friendly and helpful, nice bar on the beach front..

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The bike storage is great but costs. This is implied on the photos as inclusive. No bikes in hotel means you kind of have to pay for the storage. The facility is great but should be inclusive or made clearer ?

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great location in beautifull Island

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I didn't like the food(

    The bed was comfortable

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Family with young children

    The Room And all insight Are very old And the Staff Dont have clean good The rooms

    Near to The beach

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Poor WiFi Internet connection. Really poor, confirmed by other guests.

    Food, scorpion fish, lamb, etc. on the menu

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    There's no kettle in the room for tea.

    I like the breakfast and jacuzzi.

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1 elevator

    Location and buffet

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Excelent seaview! Large balcony, clean, good meal!

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Wonderfull seafront view! Large balcony, nice rooms, beautifull colours, everything new, or like new! Very serious and helpfull employers!

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    wifi connection is weak

    good location, nice staff

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast sausage... German taste....

    Location. Comfortable bed, pool and bar staff comfy sun loungers.. Nice food four star luxury.. Luxury......

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    WI FI AND LOCATION

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi worked poorly in my room.

    Food and wellnes

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49

Browse Hotel Aya traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: