Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Ayre Hotel Gran Vía 4 stars

Gran Vía de les Corts Catalanes 322, Sants-Montjuïc, 08004 Barcelona, Spain

#102 of 516 hotels in Barcelona

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 5549 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    5.0
    Full of bugs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first couples of days it was fine and clean but then the last two days i get bit in all mt arms and legs and back with itchy small red spots and so as my husband we first thought its mosquitoes from our night out but there was none and then we find at the bed a bug walking around and we that was the reason, when we told the reception they were like oh we are sorry to hear that and thats it! Anyway never again.

    Location was good

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    The location was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It felt more budget than expected. No frills, nothing exceptional. It was like a travel lodge but there were no tea or coffee making facilities.

    The location was good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.8
    Overall excellent, although drinks from bar were a bit slow ie gin & tonic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The request for a taxi for 6 people with luggage confused the Consierge, I ordered taxi for an hours time to find it hadn’t happened, the response was stand out in Road and flag one down, he did sort it in end but very odd as no problem getting car from airport or port so clearly there are cabs

    Very convenient and better than expected

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed our stay there,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The pillars were too hard.

    The bed was very comfortable, the staff were very helpful, the location was ideal, close to Hop On and Off busses and great restaurants over the road the rooms were immaculate and not too small.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable stay and friendly staff. Good Breakfast !!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The size of the room was small. It felt more like a business hotel. But facilities were clean. So, not too much to complain.

    Location wise it was good. Near to supermarket, bus stop and metro stop and all kind of restaurants. Plus it was very near to musical fountain. Secondly, the room was clean. Wifi was good. Staff was friendly. They also gave me early checkin. Breakfast was also really good.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    Will always go back there
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Perfect. Just at the drop point of the airport bus. Metro station is 1 minute walk away. 24hr super market is right next to it. It was clean. Comfortable and perfect. Ac couldve been better but wasn't a problem at all evem though July is hot in BCN Staff is VERY NICE and FRIENDLY ! Especially the reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location. Friendly staff and fab facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location, easy to find and close to the stadium. Very friendly staff. Clean, great facilities. Comfy bed, nice room, lovely big bathroom. Very much enjoyed me stay

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    8.3
    metro location close!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were horrible. Switched to using the decorative pillows (with other pillow cases)

    metro location close! Room service was excellent as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    Ideal location for a getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -The noise of maintenance work at 09:00 a.m. (it was only one day but could be nice to know in advance to plan the day with early wake up) -Birthday amenities on behalf of the Management would be a nice touch -sleepers, bathrobes and dental kit would make a difference

    Ideal location, very close to metro, to airbus, to the city sightseeings. Delicious breakfast, great value for money. Very helpful and pleasant staff in all departments. Overall very nice basic hotel for a comfortable stay, not chic or glamorous, but you get all you need in the room for a comfortable stay.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2018

    9.6
    The room was spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was supposed to be 2pm. We had a walk around for an hour and a half only to be told at 3.30pm that it still wasn't ready and if we waited a few more minutes it would then be ready!

    The room was spacious, very clean and extremely comfortable

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Great value, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room we had overlooked center of hotel, didn't have a view of the city at all. The parking lot was also rather tight, it took me and my friends a while to get into and out of the lot. It's a bit far from the beach, if that's what you're visiting for.

    Location was amazing. Right next to a ton of sights and delicious restaurants. Hotel had good air conditioning and great breakfast buffet. I cannot recommend restaurants behind the mall (from the perspective of the hotel) highly enough. The paella and tapas were on point. If you're attending an event at Fira Barcelona- it's perfect since you're right around the corner as well. Stunning views of the art museum nearby as well.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location!! Airbus station just 2 minutes from the hotel. Metro only one block away. Room very spacious. Responsible cleaning lady and quiet, won’t wake you up in early morning with loud vacuum cleaner. Wonderful reception ladies, courteous and extremely helpful. They gave me available room when I arrived st 10am, that helped a great deal for jet-lag. Breakfast have various good choices though a bit pricey. Will definitely come back.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel with excellent staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room card malfunction for opening the door i have to go down twice from 8th floor to the reception but the staff responded kindly

    Good location close to everything good room facilities excellent staff and they do manage to check as in as early as 9am thanks to the kind lady with eyeglasses at the reception

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was exciting one!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Air condition was aimed directly to beds and when you power on, you feel air flow significantly

    Breakfast was exciting one! You can start anytime and still everything is available. Free capa was nice bonus :-) Windows are strong enough to make room quiet for whole day, no matter what traffic is outside.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    One of the best hotels I've stayed in for a long while.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the best hotels I've stayed in for a long while. Location, staff, room size and comfort, beds, cleanliness, everything was fantastic. Hardly a sound during the night, blinds which make the room completely dark, really help give you a good nights sleep and let me not forget to mention, a perfect working air-conditioning. Bus from the airport stops 50 mtrs away. Would definitely recommend !!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    Nice pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    room temp was not good as their air conditioning was not working well.

    in the heart of the town. very nice attached sea area. bed and bath facilities were good. lots of restaurants near by

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    The hotel was super clean and the room service was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is a little far from Ramla street and the beach. But completely accessible by bus and metro. We wanted to have a double bed and a bath in our room, however, you have to choose between the two since the rooms don’t have them both.

    The hotel was super clean and the room service was great. Only 2 min walk to bus and metro station. 5 min walk to the amazing fountain show which is one of Barcelona’s must see. We tried the breakfast twice and it was great. Variety of choices and you could order warm dishes from the menu which was included in the buffet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    9.6
    Right in the heart of taskim square!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had some smell in the evening.

    The staff and hotel is amazing. You won't regret your stay. The staff always went out of their way to help out. Book the bigger rooms if their avalaible. Definitely will go back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.8
    the location is perfect, very convenient for people come...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I lived in the 1st floor room nearby the street part, and the window can not be opened.

    the location is perfect, very convenient for people come from or go to airplane (direct line), and the room size is big for my prediction.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    10
    A quiet refuge in vibrant Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's reallyugly from the outside - a big black cube amid the extreme heat and glorious architecture of Barcelona

    It was so QUIET while on a busy street. The double glazing ensured that, the aircon kept it cool, the decor was simple, uncluttered and minimalist and the electric blinds ensured good sleep.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    7.9
    Staffs (Alex and another gentleman colleague) were very...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staffs (Alex and another gentleman colleague) were very helpful and understanding. I could not stay longer then i planned and booked..after expalining my sitiuations, the staff went beyond and did an exception for me.. appreciated it very much and thank you

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to mention

    Although it is 4 stars hotel but has many features of 5 stars hotels, furnitures are new, bed is comfortable and toilet is beautiful and has good space. Breakfast was perfect and staff are lovely.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    9.0
    A very good place in BCN
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was in the bath. From a safety point of view I prefer a wet floor type shower with no steps to negotiate

    Very helpful reception staff......good sized room and bathroom

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    9.6
    Great location in one of our favorite places! Tapas! Very close to the Metro and easy transport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good--would consider staying here again in Barcelona.

    We had a junior suite which was very comfortable and spacious. Great bed. Staff was very attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2018

    10
    Top location, great facilities and the best mojitos I have had :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    wifi connection a bit slow

    Top location , great facilities, very friendly staff - what else could you wish for. Bonus - their food is really good and very reasonable priced. You have to try their mojitos - never thought I will have the best ones in a hotel bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.6
    great hotel to visit barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I have no objections

    The location of the hotel is great. Air bus stops near the hotel, hop on hop of buses and subway are nearby so there is no need to worry about transportation. The hotel is comfortable with good quality staff, the room is clean and the breakfast is great. The room was quiet, the bathroom clean and tidy.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.3
    This hotel offers three very important factors which can be...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel has limited facilities and not many common areas. Although it's located in a very nice and lively area with plenty of attractions nearby it takes around 12 minutes by taxi to reach the center of Barcelona.

    This hotel offers three very important factors which can be considered luxurious for many guests. 1. Very comfortable beds, 2. Excellent sound proof since the windows have double glazing 3. Roll down shades which blocks the sun.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    8.8
    Really pleasant stay near the city centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was a bit small

    Clean hotel well run with very curious staff. Located just off Pl Espanya, this hotel is ideally sited for seeing all the sites and getting around the city. Ross was a little on the small side but that's all I have as a negative. The staff make this place

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.1
    quite ok hotel but great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    - Very weak and interruptive internet - Card keys not working (sometimes you have to try 10 times to open the door) - No vegetables at breakfast

    - Big room - Good location (nearby bus/metro station as well as 24h supermarkets) - Breakfast until 11 (so you don't need to wake up early)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Stunning hotel with great location and amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My room was facing the housekeeping storage room and houskeeping staff was a bit noisy early morning.

    Great hotel with the best breakfast I have ever experienced! The staff is very helpful, they could arrange me early check in (upon available room) after 6 am flight and helped with every question about the city. The breakfast is amazing, and location is great; very safe, near the metro/sightseeing bus/airport shuttle on Placa Espana. I will come back here and bring my whole family! :)

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.3
    Centrally located.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Centrally located. A few minutes walk to the Metro making it really accessible to famous tourist spots in Barcelona. Rooms are clean and bathroom is big.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    3.8
    Not much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible location on a main road in a business area with no charming restaurants close by no where to easily unpack ... inferior restaurant recommended by hotel staff. Staff inattentive.

    Not much

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    10
    Excellent! Warm and friendly staff makes going back to the hotel like you were going home.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly and helpful staff made this trip to Barcelona a wonderful experience. Always greeted with a smile. The room was clean and comfortable with full amenities. Highly recommend and will tell anyone who is visiting Barcelona to stay at this hotel. Many thanks.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Great location, Hop on hop off nearby as well as reasonably...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great location, Hop on hop off nearby as well as reasonably priced restaurants. Fantastic leisure area in the hotel to relax after a tiring day visiting the city. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice hotel and location. Hotel management seemed insensitive and cheap about a common need.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are a couple and had two suitcases. Room had only one luggage stand. I asked for a second portable stand. Hotel said that they did not have any. We travel extensively. First time I can remember a hotel not providing a second stand upon request. We are in our 70s. Hard for us to use suitcase while it was laying on floor. Employees said that many guests request a second stand.

    Good location and fine hotel. Great breakfast. Near Espana and restaurants on top of bull-fight ring.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    6.7
    I requested for slippers and they said they have charges 4...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I requested for slippers and they said they have charges 4 euros each, this is the first time i heard that hotels especially rated 4 star charging for slippers, the hallway going to our room in 3rd floor smells like urine

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed our stay. The only big problem were pillows.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    - this was the biggest problem...the pillows in the room were too high and very uncomfortable...It was really hard for me and my boy friend to sleep with those pillows. I would love to come back if they can change or have another option. The beds were ok. Also the blanket was a bit too thick for this season. -dust...I saw dust on the shelves in the closet and a bit on the table and the chair but everything else was clean. Maybe they forgot to wipe? (I stayed on 8th floor) The following are small things. I am writing this because I like this hotel. - no tea pots at breakfast I'm a tea drinker. I have to go get the tea like 5 times... - I don't know how you call it but the thing you can put milk for your tea/coffee wasn't there. I like to put milk in my tea. I used a cup instead and it got a bit messy. - breakfast is so good but I wish the bread was more tasty. We had better bread outside.

    -All the stuff at breakfast was VERY kind and friendly. I've never seen such kind stuff before. Thank you very much! -the location -the breakfast -the shower

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    The staff were attentive and friendly, and check-in was fast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were attentive and friendly, and check-in was fast. There are plenty of good tapas bars within a few minutes' walk, and it's right next to the metro, airport bus, and hop-on tour buses. The view from the top floor is fabulous to wake up to!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    Good hotel, a little far from the center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Windows in my room were facing busy main road, so couldn't open them, though sound insulation was good, so the room remain quiet. WiFi was not working in my room, needed to get down to the lobby to use it. A little far from the center, around 20 min ride to Placa Catalunya/Gothic Quarter.

    Friendly staff Large, modern and clean room Good breakfast, and nice restaurant. Close to public transport (metro and bus). Close to airport shuttle (Aerobus). 24/7 grocery store near the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Next time I am in Barcelona , I hope you have a vacancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can’t think of any.

    The bed was one of the best, very clean.the best compliment I can give a hotel bed is. If I do not hesitate to lay my body on it...like one would do at home. The AYRE hotel did just that for me. I did not even reach for my own personal silk sheets! The breakfast buffet was also great, to rate an 11 you would have had a chef on hand frying eggs for me. Thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    It was memorable & totally enjoyed it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are not a big buffet fan, especially for breakfast & eggs were only served in the ,ain dining room-buffet style.

    The rooms were great! The windows had shutters that block out the light. The bed was very comfortable. All sorts of hygiene items(comb, tissues, bathing items) were stocked in the bathroom. We had a really nice big shower. They had a choice of a café style restaurant or a sit down restaurant w/ a breakfast buffet, which was not included. We enjoyed the café a lot. In the evening, after sightseeing all of us w/meet there to discuss our day & have a bite to eat. We also found the location of the hotel was great! It was located near quite a few things to see, within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay there immensely.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    A good alternative from staying at central Barcelona.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing I can think of.

    Close walk to metro station and train to Montserrat. Close to Magic Fountain. First stop convenience from airport to hotel by Aerobus. Great breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel, fabulous breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel was great - perfect location just next to metro Espanya (easy access to the airport, Camp Nou and the Old Town), the breakfast was top of the world (fabulous breakfast buffet with hot food like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, some fine ham, chorizo, cheese selection, pastries, fresh fruit, they even have cava - Spanish champagne). We arrived late at night and they didn't have a room with double bed as they were fully booked, but the receptionist said we could move the next day (we stayed 3 nights). We finally didn't move as the room was great (308) and we just pushed to beds together.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.5
    Pretty good location with convenient transportation… close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty good location with convenient transportation… close to the metropolitan station, go to the airport within only 30mins by shuttle bus…what's more, the breakfast is wonderful!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.8
    Amazing breakfast!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for a double bed during booking but was given two twin beds instead. Also, when it came to payment, since I made a booking from the UK, with the price online £333. When it came to paying at the hotel, due to conversion from euros to pounds, lost 30£.

    Amazing breakfast!Great variety and absolutely delicious.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location close to metro and all bus routes
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Checking in staff failed to understand I couldn't hear what he was saying because his colleagues where having their own extremely loud conversation to the side of him.

    Large modern hotel close to train station and on the airport bus route 30 transfer. Close to some very nice parks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    5.4
    An airport style hotel with minimum facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No coffee machines in room / blocked sink in bathroom / TV remote not working / wifi in room very temperamental / lighting in room temperamental / reception staff totally emotionless / hotel located 30 mins walk away from old town and 40 mins walk from port / bar closed at 11:00pm

    The property was clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.7
    Clean functional hotel but lacks atmosphere
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was not included so was very disappointed that there were no coffee/Tea machine in the rooms nor a coffee machine in reception.

    A very clean hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice, modern and comfy hotel with good location and great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We don't really enjoy sharing a single blanket on a double bed :)

    Very good location, nice modern hotel, excellent breakfast, very helpful and pleasant staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.9
    Location was very good, public transport was available...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom door didn't close properly

    Location was very good, public transport was available easily. The staff was helpful and the rooms very clean. We had a good stay!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.1
    Nice experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The bath product were not fully replaced every day. After the free bottles of water they didn't replaced them, because it didn't work like a mini bar. The room was small and had a weird positioned support pillar (almost in the middle).

    Breakfast was very tasty and diversified. The staff was helpful. Free 4 bottles of water Close to the metro and magic fountain. Clean room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    8.8
    Short but sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location, actually just on the corner of the Magic Fountain of Montjuïc. Staff were super friendly and efficient. I even found an excellent restaurant just round the corner called L'Amfora. All in all a short but very sweet stay.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.6
    A great all round 4* hotel in Barcelona
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booking.com website appears to indicate a bath in every room. Not so. We had to exchange room on day 2 of 4 night stay to achieve this despite it being a "must have due to health condition" on the reservation. Will contact hotels direct in future to request rather than just through the website. Apart from this inconvenience, we had an excellent stay and would highly recommend this hotel.

    Excellent hotel next to Placa Espania. 2 minute walk to the airport bus. Excellent breakfast for quality and variety. Room was good size with everything you need including free water for first night. Staff friendly and helpful. Plenty of restaurants in the area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.1
    The close distance to Metro sort of made up for the disappointment I had of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No tea-making facilities / kettle in room. Complimentary bottled water were only provided on the first night of stay. This does not make sense or provide any incentive for guests to stay for long. If you are not too fussy about this, can cross the main road and get 1.5litres bottled water at the supermercat (24h convenience shop) for less than 1.5euros.

    The front desk staff was extremely helpful during our check-in and also when we checked out. He risked his life and went above and beyond to help us get a taxi to the airport, in the rain! Hotel is located near Espanya metro station, straight line to Passeig De Gracia.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Good choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The sliding bathroom door wasn’t closing properly so they were like two inches that you could see through which was not ok for privacy.

    Very good breakfast, comfortable room and bed. Very good location next to the Plaza Espania and the Mall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    10
    Very nice double bad room with the good view on the street (but still very quiet!)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    -

    Very good breakfasts; comfortable beds; very close to the metro and Aerobus (running from/ to airport). Very helpful stuff. Room cleaning service very good! All requests/ notes that I have sent by Booking.com were considered by the hotel stuff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    6.3
    You will get more for your money somewhere else!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was too small and had a beam that too up valuable space. The bathroom door did not shut. The breakfast was too expensive. The price was too high for these accommodations.

    Location. Close to metro, super markets, and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    9.6
    Great value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view from the room wasn't so good but generally it's ok

    Great location, great breakfast, nice staff. I'm sure I will come back in the future

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.5
    How small things spoil the overall impression ...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I forgot one piece for a suitcase - it stayed in the wardrobe. Although it's useless without a special suitcase, the receptionist did not find it in the room just hours later, and the cleaner did not report that she found part ... Can you trust such staff?

    Location is great for visiting the fair and for other connections. The breakfast is varied and rich.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Ideal, especially if you want somewhere a little quieter than Las Ramblas area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing.

    Beds were comfy, bedroom good size. Breakfast was excellent. Position was ideal for our needs, near a metro, plus plenty of local buses, and the Aero bus which services the airport in Barcelona. This was our second stay, and would use the Hotel again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Would stay again, suckling pig was a standout!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fairly much self-serve with luggage (too small to have a dedicated porter). Seating is more for design than comfort.

    Excellent clean very modern hotel with a very good restaurant, great breakfast and great dinner. Staff are very helpful and courteous. Convenient for cruise terminals. Comfortable bed.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    A good four star hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size is a bit tiny.

    Great location right next to Plaza de España with metro station, bus station and airport express station all around. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.8
    Ideally located close to metro lines which led to La Rambla,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was construction noise outside the hotel at a chemist attached to the property. We were woken up quite early by the noise, once we brought this to the attention of the staff on reception they apologised (not their fault, they can’t control the noise of construction work outside) and moved us to a higher level suite.

    Ideally located close to metro lines which led to La Rambla, The Gothic Quarter, the airport etc. Food was lovely, room service was very fast. The room was clean (junior suite) and the staff where very helpful. 24 supermarket beside the hotel which was also great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    8.3
    Would stay again for location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been nice if there was a coffee maker or kettle in the room, and a full length mirror. We also kept hearing a clicking sound at night (appeared to be related to the light) which was bothersome when trying to sleep.

    The location was the best part about this property. It’s right by the beautiful Plaza España and near a Metro station which made it easy for us to get around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    Good for the price and location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast food selection, and better facilities

    The best sleep I've ever gotten in a hotel - great sound- and light -proof rooms, helpful staff and excellent location. Nothing special about the facilitaties, everything is standard. Other than that, good hotel and I would stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    7.1
    Budget place, just need to take the metro
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was not so good. The location is not within walking distance of center of the city, plaza catalunya. But it was near to the MNAC and a shopping center.

    The price was reasonable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    8.8
    Conveniently located hotel with excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - Corner room which was initially offered to us was too small. Switched to a normal rectangle room which was much better. - Doors to the bathroom do not fully close (1cm gap remains). - Soundproofing from the loud street noise is great (of course with closed double windows). However, soundproofing between rooms is average so we could clearly hear people who arrived in the neighbouring room after midnight. However, this was not a problem. - You can have complete darkness in your room by using automatic roll hanging inside a double window. That is why the hotel has a simple transparent curtains rather than "blackout" curtains.

    - Very good breakfast with variety of food but, strangely, no fresh vegetables... However, we greatly appreciated Nespreso machine and cava for breakfast. - Convenient location close to aerobus stop. Hotel is located just steps from the FIRST stop of aerobus after it leaves the airport. This means that you travel between airport and hotel with no stops for around 25 min which is great! - photo: view from floor 7 (of total 8 floors).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    7.9
    Smooth stay in great location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would have been more hygienic if the blanket was covered in a pouch

    Excellent location close to metro and aerobus station, also close to shopping centre. Easy access to main attractions. Spacious room and bathroom, quiet, clean, good wifi.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect location, close to tourist attractions and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location, close to tourist attractions and restaurants. Great breakfast buffet selection for everyone. Staff was friendly and helpful. Bus tour pick up location and metro station are very close. Free bottles of water in the fridge.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay, super central and accessible by public transportation
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just the size of the room but for a 3 day stay it was not a big issue.

    This hotel was super central to buses, trains/subways, tourist attractions, restaurants. My room was small but very comfortable. Breakfast was great with a wide selection. Staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend it!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.7
    Great for 1 night for the concert we were attending.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mini bar wasn’t cold, so couldn’t keep drinks cool and air-con wasn’t very effective, so I imagine travelling in the peak of summer would be uncomfortable. No robes or slippers in the room as advertised, which for us women when prepping for a night out is essential!

    Location- close to the arena where we were watching a concert. 15 minutes walk to the Barcelona Sants station, metro around the corner, and lots of restaurants and bars nearby- this was all reflected in the price.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Comfortable bed, great food, superb location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were friendly from check in to check out. Room service, food and breakfast was top quality! Close to bus tour pick up location and metro station. Would highly recommend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    5.4
    I booked with a written request - a quiet room.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked with a written request - a quiet room. I requested that upon arrival also. I got a noisy room facing the street and could not rest. I had to go through a sleepless night to get a quiet room the next day.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.5
    Okay without thrills
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Any good hotel has complementary water in the hotel room, this hotel did not which I do not think is good. Also when I turned off the main light the plugs also stopped working leaving phones and such uncharged, very odd!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.2
    Well worth the stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It would be great if they had complimentary coffee and tea in the room.

    The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was clean. The breakfast had a large variety. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Ayre Hotel Gran Vía traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: