Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Azofra 3 stars

Don Juan de Austria, 22-24, 09001 Burgos, Spain

#15 of 40 hotels in Burgos

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 421 hotel reviews

8.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.4

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 45

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.6
    Clean and quiet hotel, just over 2km to the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean, quiet, spacious room with great facilities. About 2km from the old city, but the walk there through a tree-lined park next to the river was wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    9.6
    Suited our purposes admirably.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedroom and bathroom for a wheelchair user relatively small and only one rail on the side of WC. Given the nature of the building the facilities provided were of good quality.

    A very agreeable hotel with a fine dining room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Azofra is great, we have stayed here many times and...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Morning breakfast

    Hotel Azofra is great, we have stayed here many times and will stay again. The restaurant is a bit short of selection for evening meals for British travelers and the breakfast meal has changed from continental to ordering with the waiter ,which at the cost is rather poor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.3
    When the hotel serves a non-buffet breakfast (2 breakfasts...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    When the hotel serves a non-buffet breakfast (2 breakfasts out of 3), it would help if all the items available for breakfast were listed, instead of having to ask the staff whether this or that was available.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    10
    This hotel is an excellent place to stay close to the city center in the very attractive Burgos town
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Practical, clean, just close to the center but we could find a parking by the hotel so everything has been very practical. I classify this place as cost effective.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    9.2
    Comfy big room, but breakfast left a lot to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast arrangements weren’t what I’d expect from a hotel and the restaurant staff who provided it seemed a bit put out when we even asked for breakfast!

    The reception staff were really friendly and helpful. Location was great - just a short drive into the lovely city of Burgos.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    8.3
    Good overnight stop.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening meal well over priced and not very good. Our monkfish was overlooked and had not been trimmed or prepared in any way and served only with a few potato slices for €25. The menu was not very clear and although translated to English did not seem to relate to the Spanish version! A very high quality refurbishment but noise from adjoining rooms was very obvious.

    Clean,comfortable with good facilities. Excellent breKfast some of the best dried ham Inhave tasted. Parking was ok for us out of season but I imagine it could be difficult although there is plenty of wasteland at hand! University buildings very interesting

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    9.6
    Great hotel,stopped here twice and will do so again!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Possibly the breakfast choice and "hotter" milk and coffee in the serving jugs.

    An excellent hotel well worth visiting to use for a base to view the excellent sights in the Burgos area!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    8.3
    What a great hotel, I will certainly stay there again.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing

    What a great hotel, I will certainly stay there again. the staff were very helpful and happy at their work, my wife and I with our small pet dog were looked after, our room was very nice, quiet, very clean with attention to detail. Well done!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    6.7
    Comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was unfriendly perhaps a language problem but a smile goes a long way. We had breakfast included but were told we had not.

    Nice quiet location although 30 minutes from the centre. The room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    8.8
    Hotel full of chracter
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Duvet instead of blankets

    For breakfast you were allowed only one coffee and one croissant, which wasn't noted anywhere. So because we had some tortilla that was offered and toast, and extra coffee, the wanted to charge for each extra item when we left. I pointed out that we hadn't been told that, and they deducted it from the bill. But when lots of things are offered, it should be made clear that they are not included in " breakfast included in the price"

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    6.7
    Nice place, disappointing food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The the location was perfect for the purpose stated, the area lacked restaurants, shops etc. The worst aspect of our stay was the evening meal at the Hotel. We had been lead to believe that the lamb meal was exceptional, the hotel had a reputation for the presentation of this particular meat. It was a huge disappointment, not going into detail, but it was poorly cooked and presented, and also grossly overpriced. Unfortunately it tainted our stay at this hotel.

    The property was very smart and had probably had an upgrade recently. Staff where helpful and the location very good for our purpose, which was getting back to the port at Bilbao.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2017

    9.6
    Great location . Ideal for travellers with pets
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is old style but clean and comfy . Beautiful location . Situated in the university area of Burgos , it is calm quiet and half a minute to a lovely park for dog walking . 4 minutes drive to Burgos centre. Restaurant not Michelin but quite adequate very, kind and helpful staff . Breakfast served in the restaurant or bar , very good .

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    5.8
    Promised a lot but failed miserably!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No dinner available although we were originally told the meal started at 9 pm Breakfast should have started at 7.30 but staff were late. We had to make do with coffee and a slice of toast from the bar. Soundproofing of rooms very poor. Had to endure loud bathroom noises from one side and loud conversations and TV from other side. All after midnight

    Quiet location and ambience of dining

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    8.3
    Good stay in Burgos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Con's: (1) there is only one thing I did not like: after booking and checking-in nobody of the staff informed us that the day after the first marathon of Burgos would have passed by the hotel and that we should have parked somewhere else. If they had told me something, I would have happily avoided a very unpleasant discussion the morning after with a police man...

    Pro's: (1) the staff is very friendly and helpful; (2) the hotel infrastructure is modern; (3) the room was spacious, very clean, comfortable with all amenities; (4) there are a lot of free parking slots around the hotel; (5) apparently the hotel has also a restaurant, where you can eat one of the best "cordero asado" of Burgos (but we went to another place); (6) relatively close to downtown (2 km walking).

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2016

    8.3
    Great Service. Very clean and well maintained.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A bit out of the way so few facilities in the immediate walkable area but fine if you have a car. We stayed on a Sunday which is tough because very little is open on Sunday's in Spain.

    Exactly what it claims to be. GREAT and friendly service. Impeccably clean, well maintained.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    7.9
    A midieval touch in modern facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The aircondition did not work properly and iit was 34 degrees Celsius. But this we found out in the middle of the night! (so we slept under the sheets only....).

    The elevator is all glass ; beautiful. And all the woodwork in the room and hallways and breakfastroom. Very nice. Friendly people at the reception . Good breakfast.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2016

    10
    Excellent hotel/value for money!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I can think of.

    The hotel is excellent value for money. Excellent roomservice and delicious meals served. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room and overall facilities very clean.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.5
    The staff were extremely courteous and helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were extremely courteous and helpful. We hope to stay here again when visiting Burgos

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    10
    Clean and tidy rooms, helpful staff, great location,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and tidy rooms, helpful staff, great location, fantastic restaurant and bar. Open bbq cooking area by the bar, amazing steaks.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    7.1
    One member of staff
    • With a pet
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One member of staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    It had a lift
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It had a lift

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    8.8
    Good value, easy to locate and park, would definitely stay again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing disappointing

    Quiet location. On street parking ok. Very traditional Spanish hotel in university area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    A great place to stay for visiting Burgos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed close to the stairs, it was a litle bit noisy

    The room is comfortable, the breakfast is really good, we loved it

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    9.6
    3rd time we stayed here while travelling back and forth to Portugal. Always very enjoyable!!
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    ??

    Easy access from motorway and easy parking. Great restaurant within hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.1
    Nice central place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    restaurant service was .. no so good.

    Easy to checkin and check out. nice bathrooms and amenities.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    10
    Receptionist was very helpful and friendly and room was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was very helpful and friendly and room was very comfortable

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    9.6
    I was upgraded, which was a super nice surprise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was upgraded, which was a super nice surprise

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    9.6
    Short & sweet
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel was lovely, just outside Burgos. The staff was friendly & the rooms were comfortable. We would stay again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    5.0
    Nice hotel with poor breakfast and bored staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very poor breakfast. Unfriendly staff.

    Free parking on the street

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    A very pleasant stay and a very good location for visiting Burgos.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A quiet and wonderful room. Perfect service, in the hotel, restaurant and bar.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean and comfortable. Not close to the center, but that is what we wanted.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    8.8
    Burgos a hidden treasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms coul use a littel renovation.

    Graet place, nice location, not downtown but near if you enjoy walking through a nice park

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Staff were very pleasant and helpful rooms large and food...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very pleasant and helpful rooms large and food excellent

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2016

    10
    Highly recommended
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super clean, a beautiful walk to the city center, and the friendliest and most helpful staff we've encountered so far!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2016

    7.5
    Easy to park the car and in a quiet area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel reception had a smell which I later found to be the indoor grill for the restaurant within 10 metres of reception. We went by car into Burgos, about 1 mile away and found parking almost impossible to find. We would use a taxi next time

    Easy to park the car and in a quiet area. Hotel and bedrooms were fine, clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    9.2
    The parking.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    The parking. It's difficult to find parking in Burgos so this place is great for that. We put our Spanish Steps Camino groups in the center of Burgos, across from the Cathedral and us guides sleep at Azofra where the food (comedor) is outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    9.2
    pet friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    long way from town centre.

    pet friendly excellent front desk very helpful restaurant served a inexpensive set meal in the evening but started at 9pm next to a large park -ideal for dog walk quiet location

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    6.3
    Quiet location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Parking. Our room 110 suffered a lot of noise from the occupants of room 111 especially late at night. Perhaps the rooms could be better insulated.

    Quiet location. Within walking distance of the charming old town.

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2015

    10
    Spotless, beautiful bathroom, very comfortable bed,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The selection at breakfast was a little lacking, but what we did have was very tasty.

    Spotless, beautiful bathroom, very comfortable bed, excellent value, attentive staff. A proper cot with a good mattress was provided for our 7 month old baby. Restaurant catered very well for coeliacs. The Azofra has a great atmosphere and we will certainly be staying here again.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    10
    Brilliant hotel and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Brilliant hotel and location. Staff were amazing arranging for a meal in my room.

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    7.5
    Breakfast very basic
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast very basic Very difficult to find hotel

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    Easy to go to centre by bus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast is limited.

    Easy to go to centre by bus. No problems reaching hotel and parking. Friendly staf

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    9.2
    Location for Camino and value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast could have been more

    Location for Camino and value for money

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2015

    5.8
    room was ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was no real lobby or resto were you could drink a cup of coffee

    room was ok

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 45

Guests also reviewed these properties: