Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balcón de los Montes 3 stars

Serranía de Ronda, s/n,. Urbanización El Jaral, 29170 Colmenar, Spain

#3 of 4 hotels in Colmenar

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 179 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 37

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    9.6
    Our room was enormous, very clean and with fab views.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike

    Our room was enormous, very clean and with fab views. Staff were pleasant and efficient. The hotel is situated a short walk from the centre of Colmenar and has plenty of free street parking.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    7.1
    Friendly staff, good food, excellent weather and beautiful countryside.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms have a large wardrobe but there aren't enough coat hangers, also no shelves at reachable height, so most clothes had to be kept in the suitcase on the floor as there's was no trestle to put it on. The first room we stayed in had very comfortable beds, but we had to move to the adjoining room as the toilet was leaking. It had identical facilities but the mattresses were inferior and we ended up putting a blanket underneath the sheets so we couldn't feel the springs. Light sleepers may wish to specify a room away from the road. There is a traffic hump outside the hotel and while the road is not normally busy there is noise in the morning from people travelling to work.

    The staff are very friendly and helpful and hard working. The rooms are pleasant and fairly spacious and some have a small fridge. There is a nice outdoor garden area. The food is good and very reasonably priced. Breakfast is available up until midday.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    8.3
    Great place for R&R!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drive from the airport to the facility is about 30-40 min so the taxi fare is not cheap (50-56€). The reception is not always available but they are very helpful when they are. Limited food selection for vegetarians but there is a grocery store close by.

    The facilities and the location. The area is a quiet small town with lovely views so it was ideal for relaxing and the longer break I needed. The rooms were spacious and clean. The wifi in the rooms works relatively well even for streaming. The restaurant is open most of the day so it's easy to order a meal.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    7.1
    Great restaurant, less inspirational hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air con didn't work & bath in one room wasn't clean. Breakfast not served until 9am

    Friendly (but Spanish only speaking) staff, excellent food in restaurant. Good-sized rooms. Good value

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    4.2
    No sleep in this "hotel"
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is restaurant below the rooms, and every evening/night loud is terrible. Also the walls are thin (even noted:soundproof rooms) any guests unbelievable rude and shout till 1am. After 1am starts cleaning of restaurant so you have "simphony" of moving chairs on ceramic tiles. Owner should decide if this will be hotel or place where local people go out

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    7.1
    acceptable hotel, not 3 star. A pool would be a nice addition. Spectacular scenery.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A pool would have been nice. Pizza and salad not the best we have eaten. Wedding party very noisy, not able to sleep before 2am.

    Area was good for walking the dog. Good and shady areas to sit in the garden. Waitress Marie excellent.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    7.9
    Good location, tidy and very helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head was broken

    Amazing staff who were willing to go out of their way to help with transport for a (minor) medical emergency, even though it was the middle of a very busy evening at the restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    8.3
    Really good value for an authentic Spanish hotel, well located for visiting Andalucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    one of the rooms had a nasty smell but management moved us to another as soon as we mentioned it

    Fantastic value, friendly laid back atmosphere, lively (obviously well liked by the locals), rooms spacious (if a little Spartan), with comfortable beds, hotel well placed for visiting Andalucia. Food was Spanish, good and copious; (substantial) breakfast was included in the price

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    4.6
    Not much effort to have good service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is pretty out of Malaga, but anyway we had car and expected for nice stay, but that was very naive. Instead of normal double beds we got twins moved together, that's ridicules! Also we had early check-out (7 am) and manager notified that they are not able to serve breakfast, we paid for, earlier. So we asked to change our booking to exclude the breakfast and got decline from manager, but he suggested to pack for us "bocadillos" and cold drink. Before we paid he agreed for fresh orange juice and that we will be able to put bocadillos to fridge for the night to pick them up on check-out, but afterwards he said that only bottled juices and fresh in not possible. So I waited for bocadillos to be ready and afterwards was walking after that manager for half an hour to put that bocadillos to fridge. We arrived 11.30 pm and I expected to go to showed and fall asleep fast, but instead I spent around 2 hours in total to arrange all breakfast related stuff I paid for. Very disappointing service!

    Rooms are clean and good looking.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.5
    Confortable
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Su terraza

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful and friendly hotel
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could have done with spare pillows, I am fussy as I like 3 pillows.

    A very friendly feeling hotel, beautiful scenery. Food excellent.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    10
    Fabulous hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fabulous hospitality. A delightful hotel to which we return again and again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful hotel food lacking
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower needed fixing but overall great

    Lovely rooms with a balcony

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Good hotel if you can have a late breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    breakfast starts at 09:00, no chance of getting it earlier

    Wide choice of dinner selections. The Hotel is 'just good', nothing spectacular.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    8.8
    A one night stay so we could visit with friends
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    parking is just in the street.

    Friendly staff, comfortable room with a nice balcony. above a bar with very nice tapas.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly hotel and restaurant staff. Nice big room with terrace. Good food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.6
    The restaurant serve meals from 09.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant serve meals from 09.00 to closing around midnight.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    Everyone is friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everyone is friendly. Colmenar is a beautiful village we will definitely return.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    10
    Fabulous hotel to which we return many times.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fabulous hotel to which we return many times. Excellent hospitality, rooms and splendid cuisine in the restaurant

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    10
    Nice hotel in a nice quiet town - with great staff and low prices.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially when my wife was ill. The room was clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely traditional Spanish hotel in mountan village. Good food and good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing as described.

    Clean comfortable good value for money. Lovely village in mountains. Friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2017

    8.3
    Lovely big rooms settee and table and chairs tea making...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed pillows too soft

    Lovely big rooms settee and table and chairs tea making facilities

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    10
    Excellent base for touring !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent base for touring !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    7.5
    unable eat breakfast as had leave before restaurant open !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    reception closed, bar staff had to attend.

    unable eat breakfast as had leave before restaurant open !. advised require eat early ? but no reaction.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2017

    6.7
    enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    i wish i had been in rooms 11 or12 for a balcony, i will know next time.

    nice and quiet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    7.5
    Pleasant stay visiting family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds a little soft

    Excellent position in village

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    10
    WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Excellent hotel. Just as described. Very good value for money. Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Staff very good

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2016

    10
    The staff were very helpful and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff were very helpful and friendly. The meals at the adjoining restaurant were excellent and reasonably priced. Our room was large, clean and modern with a great balcony.

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    4.6
    Very little enlish spoken so couldnt converse.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very little enlish spoken so couldnt converse. Food ok although portions different for none locals. Very dusty in room .. amenities not replenish. Major fiesta on while there so loud music from 10pm until dawn!!!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2015

    9.2
    Excellent, friendly, helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Mattress was very firm and there was only one long bolster for a double bed. However, our daughter and son-in-law requested extra pillows and they were readily provided.

    Excellent, friendly, helpful staff. Wide choice of food.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    6.7
    Friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Breakfast quite ordinary and no bottled water in room.

    Friendly staff. Restaurant and bar ok but not great.

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2015

    8.3
    nice, big room, very clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nice, big room, very clean

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2015

    7.9
    Good modern hotel with all amenities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Good modern hotel with all amenities. Rather detached service.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    10
    good for late arrivals travelling north
    • Business trip
    • Group

    good for late arrivals travelling north

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    10
    Great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great value for money. Amazing room. Service was good. We would go back.

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2015

    10
    convenient for Malaga and surrounding countryside
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    convenient for Malaga and surrounding countryside

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    9.2
    It is in a nice village near to Malaga and the staff helped...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is in a nice village near to Malaga and the staff helped me with every problem I had.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 37

Guests also reviewed these properties: