Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balneario Acuña 2 stars

Herreria 2, 36650 Caldas de Reis, Spain

#6 of 11 hotels in Caldas de Reis

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1134 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    10
    The thermal spa was fantastic and the rooms were cool and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation style was a bit dated but the comfort made up for it

    The thermal spa was fantastic and the rooms were cool and quiet perfect for the Camino traveler.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    8.3
    The rooms we stayed in were average but what was wonderful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms we stayed in were average but what was wonderful was the pool. It was raining but that did not stop the guest and especially the Pilgrims walking the Camino to stay in the mineral water natural spring heated pool. It was lovely to relax and also get spa services afterwards. Average rooms, with average dinner but amazing pool!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    3.3
    Nothing to like about this place.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room had the smell of cigarettes and the bathroom smelled of sewage. The smell got worse and worse all night. It was so bad we left at day break. Would NOT recommend staying here. Also, although the bathroom had a drying rack they told us it only worked from 4 AM to 8 AM. It did not work at all.

    Nothing to like about this place. Don’t stay here

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    7.9
    Not so hot
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air-conditioning or fans and one small window made the room uncomfortable during a heat wave. Toilet seat broken. Very narrow shower. Breakfast very limited.

    Reception staff very helpful with perfect English. Location on the river..

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    4.6
    Aside from its location this is definitely not worth the...
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had read reviews how they put foreigners in matchbox sized, austere bungalows. Well, my suspicions were confirmed. The big building is reserved for nationals. Pilgrims- there are other much less expensive places across the river just a block away. I did not use the spa but then I was told that since I made my reservation through Booking.com there was nothing they could do. So Ingot charged an extra 30€. I guess I misunderstood their ad. I would never recommend this place. I would rather walk to the next village than stay here. However, there are plenty of places to stay in Caldas de Reis. Nice town, bad hotel!! I know peregrinos shouldn’t complain, but This was the worst place we stayed on the Camino!

    Aside from its location this is definitely not worth the money.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    7.1
    The thermal pool was a great asset after a day on the...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thermal pool was a great asset after a day on the Camino. Garden room was basic but modern and clean with a comfortable bed. Shower was hot and had great pressure.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    5.8
    Convenient stop on the Camino Portuguese and lovely outdoor thermal pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The spa was a real disappointment - like an old sanatorium - and the inclusive spa experience was basically a large hot tub, not worth the effort and certainly not worth paying for. The room was large but very basic and didn't have a fridge. The bathroom was not the cleanest and could benefit from some refurbishment - as could the entire hotel. Breakfast was equally disappointing. The hotel could be a real gem if it could be brought a bit more up-market.

    Interesting old Spa hotel right on the Camino Portuguese. Beautifully situated on the river - our room had a view of the river below. The highlight was the thermal outdoor swimming pool, very welcome after a days walk.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    5.4
    Ok for no frills but needs some attention to detail
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was not clean. The comforter looked like it was never washed. The room needed a revamp or remodel.

    The hot springs outdoor pool was lovely and probably the only feature that sold us on our stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    4.6
    The rooms assigned to us were outside the main hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms assigned to us were outside the main hotel. We have to walk about 70 yards to get to the hotel room. The hotel looks good in the picture however, the hotel did not look like what was shown in the picture at all.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    A memorable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I paid a bit more to stay in this historic spa-hotel, but maybe I shouldn't complain because it was some experience! Outside the hotel and hot springs, though, I couldn't find much else of interest in Caldas de Reis.

    The property has a history behind it and for me that's a big plus. I loved the old building with modern improvements. My room had a panoramic view of the bridge, river and lake. For the price one can take a dip in the hot spa-pool, and I did! The included breakfast buffet was quite generous.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Great place to reward yourself after Camino stretch
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing

    The massage, the water treatments, the thermal pool. Hotel is situated on river, across from two nice restaurants. Fluffy white bath robes for pool and treatmetnts Easy walking to town center. Staff was very helpful, delivered our bags to room after our early arrival, found a converter for my laptop. Its front door is on the Camino.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    5.0
    Bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast and endownments in the room, humidity everywhere, very expensive vs what the location does offer

    Treatment base looked well, but no access after 20:00 o’ clock, so, being pilgrimms, we couldn’t benefit of these facilities

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    7.1
    Good location, clean and good facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is too late at 8am for those walking the Camino

    Good location, clean and good facilities. Thermal pool a welcome treat at this stage of the camino

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location along the Camino but outdated facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms are not very cosy and do not have a lot of comfort. The beds are small and not comfortable. Overall, the hotel is outdated and compared to other accommodations in the region, you receive less value for money. There was no possibility to have coffee after dinner. We booked the wellness facilities, but most of it was not open. The facilities were also outdated.

    Nice location near the river along the Camino de Compostela. Great body massage.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2018

    6.3
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not till 8am. Half the guests are pilgrims like me. Have to wait. It's not like there's service. It's a buffet. Also the spa wasn't hot. What's the point of a spa which isn't hot?

    Good breakfast. Clean room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    10
    Room quiet and great comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room needed better lighting and very stark

    Room quiet and great comfortable bed. Loved the outdoor pool and the surrounds. Town is very pretty and great location for the Camino

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The floors were not that clean in the room. Towels and robes very worn. The bed was a camp bed style thing which was squeaky and moved a lot when either of us turned over.

    The thermal pool was excellent and the location was good. Decent sized room, good shower. Right on the Camino.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    10
    After raining days walking the Camino, this hotel is a...
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was perfect for the price.

    After raining days walking the Camino, this hotel is a paradise. Hot pool, clean room, friendly staff and huge balcony with river view. Amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    7.1
    A comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is old and dated with no bar. There were no tea/ coffee facilities in the room.

    It was reasonably comfortable There were very good spa treatments and a thermal pool.A comfortable stay

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    8.3
    Check the pool is operational before booking.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booked this hotel to enjoy the thermal pool after a 20 mile day on the Camino. Got there and pool was drained, so check the pool will be functional before booking.

    On the Camino path, has spa facilities.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.1
    Great location. You don’t get the room you expected.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought we were booking into an old building restored beautifully. But they put foreign Camino walkers out the back across the road in a cheap construction accommodation. See photo. We only noticed Spanish people in the rooms in the hotel proper. Room was cold. Heating gets turned off later at night until 6am.

    Great location on the Camino

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    6.3
    I think you can get a better hotel in the same area, the staff is lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    \The room was just about cold. If you want to go for a coffee you have to get out the hotel cross the cold street to get the coffee. They have capsules but you have to pay almost the same price if you were in the "Bar" but without hot milk and self-serving. The beds were no very comfortables. The coffee you can get for breakfast is not as good as it could be in Spain The hotel definitely needs a updated.

    The location is good, and the hotel has parking spaces The room and bathroom was clean, the breakfast was good, but you must be aware to get to the restaurant before all the 3erd age travellers wake up, otherwise you won't find food. The staff is lovely

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    9.6
    Quirky and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The decor was a bit off-putting - it could be gloriously vintage but instead has generic contempo-casual furnishings. Also, this place is a key destination for the Spanish elderly people's travel agency, so don't expect a young and hip clientele. But it is definitely quiet ;)

    Comfortable and charming, although the furniture didn't suit the former grandeur of the buildings. Definitely a quirky place, not for everyone but I really enjoyed the naturally heated pool, walking in the garden along the river and the room, which looked out onto colorful Chestnut trees and a horreo. Breakfast overlooking the Umia river was also nice.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful setting but for a pilgrim passing through, it is not worth the money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We booked the hotel because of the hot springs but when we got there discovered they were only open from 12-8pm (dinner doesn’t even open until 8:30) and the pool was quite chilly. Maybe it had to do with the time of year as we went in October. The other thing is that they have an indoor and outdoor pool but when you get there you find out that the indoor hot springs isn’t included and is quite expensive.

    The hotel was beautiful and set right on the river. Great breakfast. Great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.6
    The mineral pool was incredible after a long walk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They turn off the heat in the rooms at night and it was freezing. They need to provide more blankets if they are turning the heat off. Breakfast was pretty skimpy as well.

    The mineral pool was incredible after a long walk. Rooms were comfortable, clean and well appointed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    8.3
    Bring your swimming costume
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was a bit slow. We were exhausted after a long walk and just wanted to get into our room. We were allocated room 372, which was as far as possible from reception in a separate block across the grounds. We thought we'd already walked far enough! Breakfast was a bit disappointing for such a smart place

    This is a luxury spa hotel on the edge of town. We were walking, so we didn't really take advantage of the pool etc. Our room was large and the bed was comfortable. It was possible to dry our wet things on convenient lines outside our room in the garden.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    8.8
    Great location, right off the camino trail, with a beautiful warm pool to ease aching muscles.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rooms were off to the side, like a separate annex - quite dark, but large enough.

    We loved the warm pool. The person at the front desk was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    6.3
    It was Ok....not great, but OK.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    See above.

    The pool was nice after a long walk on the Camino. The staff were friendly and spoke English. Great little restaurant accross the bridge. The bar lady was run off her feet as she was alone and hence the service was slow. The room was hot, hot, but they brought a fan. The wifi as iffy....the signal was dropped often, but that seems to be the case in most Spanish hotels, sad to say.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    8.3
    Nice stop right on Camino Portugues
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had very last room in annex—a bit too far for tired feet.

    Wonderful breakfast buffet. Lovely view of river from restaurant. Very attentive and friendly service.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    We were walking the Portuguese Camino de Santiago and it was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were walking the Portuguese Camino de Santiago and it was wonderful to stop here and relax in the thermal pool and get a rejuvenating spa treatment at a reasonable cost. It's located right on the Camino. The food was very good. Great experience.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    10
    Take in the hot springs!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a bit noisy on the 1st floor when the pianos are being played late at night, but other than that it was great.

    The hot spring pools were perfect after a long day on the camino. The staff was really friendly (blame Canada!!!) The shower and bathroom were huge and clean. The food at the taverna below was really good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    9.2
    The place is located right on the Camino just before the...
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place is located right on the Camino just before the bridge into town. It's convenient for everything. It has an old world charm but without any stuffiness. It is not chic, but down to earth in a classy way. The staff, especially the night shift guy, was so helpful. He even helped me to change my SIM card and arranged all the details in shipping an extra bag to Santiago for us as we did some shopping but did not want to carry the extra weight in our backpacks. The room by the thermal pools was great, simple, basic, roomy, quiet because away from the road, and easy to access. The water in the large thermal mineral pool was just lukewarm but I imagine that to be lovely soaking for the summer for its curative properties. The little pool is warm enough for me on a nice fall day after a long tiring walk on the Camino. I almost fell asleep soaking in it. There's even a life guard on duty! The included breakfast was ample. It even has hot lactose free milk on the buffet table for me to make ColaCao. Wish I had time to stay one more day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    7.9
    A big hotel with history.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa service was a bit impersonal like any big hotel.

    Great location. The view of the eiver from the window was amazing. The breakfast buffet was very good. Swimming pool fed by hot springs was really soothing after a long day on the camino. The special pilgrim treatment with hot mud on my back and a hot and cold water foot massage was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.5
    Very central, comfortable quiet room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They tried to give us a room outside in the apartments when we arrived, these were not nice. The staff were very helpful with changing our reservation.

    Very central, comfortable quiet room

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    Perfect for a couple of days relaxation but could be uncomfortable if the temperature is high
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was not in the main building but in a single story block some distance away. There was no air conditioning and it got extremely hot in our room.

    Location was good as it is located on the Camino and the breakfast was very good. There was also an outdoor swimming pool on site

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    8.8
    The location is right on the Camino.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    She's showing her age a bit. Also, the restaurant had very limited selection. Breakfast didn't start until very late (too late for pilgrims).

    The location is right on the Camino. The spring-fed pool is lovely and felt great on my tired legs. It's a gracious old hotel, the sort that you would expect to see in an Agatha Christie story. Outside laundry service was very helpful. Staff was terrific.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    7.5
    Good option for a pelgrim on the road.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice big historic hotel with a lot of facilities, spa, sauna, pool etc. All payable extra. The room is a bit dark but has a living room attached with view over the river. The bathroom is renewed with very big shower. Very nice restaurant with good breakfast buffet included. Nice staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    9.6
    Lovely stop on the Camino
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing really.

    lovely spa hotel right on the Camino. Huge well furnished and comfortable room with a lovely bathroom. Great value for money. Great laundry service in at 4pm back at 8pm €7 for 5 kilos. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    10
    It was very nice and comfortable and I would recommend it .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    We liked everything

    The staff were very nice .The bed was great and good pillows. Dressing robes to walk to the pool and the hot spa were great . The snack bar was also good for lunch . Its a nice town with some good restaurants near by.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.2
    Nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a full days' walk, nothing better then a hot pool to relax. Ge Real location and facilities. Recommend and return. Staff could be more friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    9.2
    Lovely affordable accommodation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Aircons or fans in the rooms would have helped. WE were there during a very hot spell and it was difficult to sleep at night.

    Lovely location. The spa was a bonus.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    9.2
    Excellent value for money and with hot spring to soothe aching muscles
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spare pillows and blankets need freshening up Bedroom quite dark

    Thermal water pool Lovely large bath robes The gastrobar attached to the hotel had a lovely ambience, good well priced menu and extremely attentive server who spoke English very well. The black rice is recommended. Receptionist very helpful and spoke excellent English Our bags arrived ahead and were already in our room when we c arrived

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    9.6
    Camino treat
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main hotel building is old and very decorative however we were assigned to a room in the garden area, no problem with the room per se but we would have preferred to know in advance.

    Excellent location right on the Camino. We looked at this accommodation as a treat during our 6 day Camino. As it turned out we didn't use the spa facilities but it looked great. We chilled by the pool and put our feet up! Fab breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2017

    10
    Great hotel..ideal for a Camino rest day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    This property has a heated mineral salt style pool..around 30 degrees plus.. with a bar indoor and outdoor, restaurant and more. Central to town and on the Camino.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice old style hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we were not able to use spa facilities and swimming pool, because everything was already closed when we arrived. In the morning neither, because the pool only opens at 12.00 - right at the check-out hour. So spa and pool are not the option for those who spend only 1 night in the hotel. Also if you want to use spa facilities, you have to book in advance.

    Nice old style hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    7.1
    Large bath hotel right on the camino trail.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was humid and not very modern. Basic interior of room.

    Large bath hotel right on the camino trail. Large swimming pool. Large breakfast selection. Renovated bathroom.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    10
    Fabulous
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot springs were an absolute comfort after a 35km walk along the Camino trail. Staff were so welcoming and helpful. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. The hotel is at the entrance to the town which is a very helpful location if walking the Camino ☺️

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2017

    5.8
    Not for families: poor value for the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    - The price of the 3-bed room was really excesive (Euro 118.05) in comparison with a double room (Euro 65). It was almost the double, only for an extra bed! Same room, same conditions. - The spa services are medicinal, therefore not available for children below 12 yo. It was not mentioned in the description of the hotel. - The breakfast was poor.

    The swimming pool was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    7.9
    Great breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No bar service at pool Bedding of the outside rooms did not feel fresh. The bed cover is not something that would be washed often and I don't know when last it was cleaned. Better to have just a duvet and cover that gets washed often. Long hairs on the floor and bedding...

    Great buffet breakfast, location and enjoyed the warm pools

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    10
    Great value spa hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool bit hot on a hot day, but that's just the local water for you! Breakfast could be served slightly earlier

    Great spa hotel right on the Camino that would be a lot more expensive if it were anywhere else! The pool is amazing! Very big. But it's spa warm, so probably best on an average temperature day. You get robes etc and a fantastic shower and can sunbathe under grapevines

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    8.8
    Picturesque relaxing stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bed was a little firm.

    Clean Comfortable spacious room, with a great view. Great Staff! Could not have been more personable, and helpful. Great location and setting with the Thermal pool and River views.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.5
    Liked the quietness of being in the garden suites.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi was not good in my suite as I was the very last one at the far end of complex. The pilgrim menu was grim and I thought overpriced.

    Liked the quietness of being in the garden suites. The thermal pool was great.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    8.8
    Stay but don't expect to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were told no need to book for dinner, we waited until 8.30pm to be told we could not eat at the restaurant, even though there were lots of people eating there and plenty of empty seats. There was no real explanation for this and the staff member was quite rude, very disappointing.

    The hotel,is in a great location with very large grounds and an amazing thermal pool, loved it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    10
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good location. There was no air conditioner in the room. As it was a very hot day it was hard to sleep. We stayed here while walking the Camino and they supplied us with a nice packed breakfast for our early walk.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    7.1
    Good location right across the river from the center of town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    My room was in a modern annex that just didn't have any charm. But it was a very practical place to dry my laundry.

    Good location right across the river from the center of town. Great taverna in the hotel, serving drinks with a smile throughout the day. Good massage in the hotel's spa. Pool is pretty.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    9.2
    Right on the Camino path with it's own warm mineral spring pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No AC in hot weather. Update the rooms a little.

    The hotel is in 2 parts, the older front building with fine reception, lounge and dining room with a single storey building to the rear by the pool in the garden where I stayed. The room was a little dated but perfectly comfortable. It is quiet and peaceful, with a good bed and linen. I stayed during really hot weather and the room had no AC. My room was really hot. As I was walking the Camino, I left early before breakfast had started. They kindly prepared a lunch pack instead for me - basic but perfectly adequate.. The real attraction was was their warm mineral spring swimming pool with a life guard. Lots of people around this pool. I enjoyed my stay and would be happy to stay there again, but in cooler weather. Good WiFi.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2017

    8.8
    Camino trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't really like that the rooms were chalet type apartments out in the grounds some distance from the hotel. We weren't expecting that type of accomodation. When I book rooms in a hotel I expect to stay in the hotel building. It hadn't said when booking that the rooms were not located in the hotel. We had booked 2 separate rooms so it felt a bit isolated to be outside the building on your own. Also we had to wheel our cases over cobblelock ground for part of the way which was quite difficult after a long Camino walk.

    Location was perfect and hotel easy to find. Very friendly reception when we arrived. Breakfast very nice. Facilities are excellent, spa, swimming pool, relaxation and bar areas. Massages available at discounted rates for guests.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    9.2
    The place is recommended if you are doing "el Camino" you will enjoy a relaxed time here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Keep in mind the property and the majority of the places in the town doesn't have air conditioners inside the room, planned in which month do you prefer to travel. Even though the staff at the spa were very nice and know their work very professionally the place is out dated...... but clean!!!

    While doing "el Camino" it was nice to get some time in the tempered pool after a long walk, also the spa service was available.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 June 2017

    10
    Wonderful thermal spa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We reserved rooms unaware of the "spa" aspect of this hotel; imagine our excitement when we checked in after a grueling day on the Camino Portugues to find out our room rate included a half hour treatment in a private thermal spa! The bungalow rooms out back near the pool were spacious, clean, and comfortable. Al fresco dining in the evening; nice buffet selection for breakfast. Highly recommend!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing Camino stop!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A great stop on the Camino. The pool was delightful after a long day of walking. I mistakenly left our pilgrim credentials at a nearby restaurant and Uxio, from the reception desk, was the kindest person and actually walked to the restaurant to retrieve them for us and put them in our transport luggage. That was the nicest thing ever...a treasure on the Camino that we will never forget! Thank you Uxio!!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    7.1
    Handy location, but keep expectation levels low...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was a bit sad and neglected, very basic and smelly - although clean.

    The location was superb, right on The Camino route and also just a stroll into the main town area, just a few hundred meters. They also have a warm swimming pool and a hotter small pool, smells off, but that's just the minerals in the water, nice for a soak after a long day walking. The ensuite bathrooms had clearly been renovated and were lovely, with HUGH amounts of water pressure. It was also a quiet property, no loud cars, guests, night life etc.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    9.2
    The receptionist was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was a bit of a scrum. Those on the Camino were trying to eat and get away quickly, whilst those on health cures clearly felt that they should take precedence and that "pilgrims" were a nuisance.

    The receptionist was excellent. We were in one of the garden rooms, which are rather dark and gloomy, but are very quiet and restful. Bathrobes were provided and access to the pool was easy. The pool itself was wonderfully warm, from the hot springs, and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2017

    7.5
    Very Pleased and looooooveeeed the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was clean and the staff very helpful. We loved the pool as we were very tired from walking El Camino de Santiago, so it was very rewarding at the end of a long day of walking.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Location was right off the Camino and the facility had a lot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not use credit card because machine was broken; garden rooms were a bit distant from main hotel; thermal pools 'warm' at best.

    Location was right off the Camino and the facility had a lot to offer (pools, tavertina, restaurant, laundry service); breakfast was included.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    8.8
    Great place to stay while walking the Camino Portuguese in Galicia
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Spa Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dessert for dinner was a pre-frozen ice cream cone (good humor type)

    We loved swimming in the thermal springs pool and the Belle Époque feel of the vintage spa hotel. Rooms were spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    10
    Great spa resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nil

    Having walked all day, the spa resort was welcoming. Service was excellent and the facilities ideal. Great restaurant 200 m away. We had an early start the following morning so the staff prepared a packed breakfast/lunch and had coffee ready for us

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.9
    Great Camino Portuguese stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool was a little to cold to use, despite being slightly heated.

    This property is also a spa resort that has a slightly heated outdoor pool, and massage services. The location is directly on the Camino Portuguese rout, and you have to walk past the front door to enter the town. The location on the river is very picturesque. They have rooms in the old building and also motel style rooms at the back of the property which are a bit quieter.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.5
    Nice historical place, but it's not pilgrim friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although it's on the Way of St. James, it's not pilgrim friendly. The SPA services can't be scheduled for the next day; unless you get up at 08:00 on the same day to try to get an appointment for the afternoon, you'll only get a time-slot at the end of the day, long after the check-out...

    It's a nice feeling being in such a historical place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    9.6
    Give yourself a treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    "La piscina termal" - the outside pool with warm sulfuric water is simply awesome! And you don´t have to pay extra for it. It is included once you stay at the hotel. The water smells a little bit like eggs, but not too much and the water is supposed to have great healing powers. There are extra treatments from cheap to pricey if you want to focus on specific areas of your body. The room is very nice, especially the bathroom, great shower. The menu for pilgrims is tasty and excellent value. I stayed an extra night for relaxing and resting my feet. Well worth it!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    8.8
    Spacious modern room with working heating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The walk to the main building would be a problem in the rain. Indifferent breakfast considering the cost of the room. Poor coffee & carton juice.

    Spacious modern room with working heating.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.9
    A good place to stay while walking the Camino.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom furniture not very nice.

    The best shower ever...great after a long day walking! We were given a bungalow room overlooking the garden with the thermal pool. Had a great night's sleep cos it was so quiet. I had a problem with my backpack not arriving and the problem was resolved by the very helpful reception staff. Muchos gracias. 😃

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    6.7
    Breakfast rather plain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast rather plain. Was staying in the extra wing of hotel (the row of rooms along the garden. While the room was big and nice, the WIFI didn't cover it, as it was one of the last rooms in the row. Also between 7-9 am there was a terrible noise just behind the wall, like heavy vacuum cleaning next door or whatever machinery it was. This was the reason I did not stay another night there, though had planned it first. The outside pool is opened only between 12-20. So if you arrive late and do stay only 1 night, you will not have much use of it.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    8.8
    A great hotel with a fabulous pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room was in an outdoor chalet which were a bit dated and tired looking.

    The breakfast was lovely which we ate overlooking the river. The outdoor swimming pool was lovely and warm and all the staff friendly and hospitable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    10
    Quality of food and service fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Quality of food and service fantastic. We booked a day of treatments during our camino stop and it was such a welcome treat. Staff so kind, attentive and professional. Looking forward to returning

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our room looked like it was not finished, wiring was definitely not finished and the outside pool was closed, so looking forward to a dip after a very long day walking the Camino

    Great location and beautifully placed as you walk into the town, it sits just before the bridge, lovely building from the outside, beautiful views from our room which was a good sized room with huge balcony

    Stayed in April 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: