Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balneario de Alhama de Granada 3 stars

Carretera del Balneario, 18120 Alhama de Granada, Spain

#7 of 8 hotels in Alhama de Granada

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 253 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    8.4

  • Facilities

    8.1

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Great thermal spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room-Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn't say there were things I didn't like but there are things that are good to know for the overall expectation. The room was a little dated but very comfortable, neat and clean. A lot of older folks go here for the natural springs, you will feel young if your 50 or younger.

    The spa is really nice and the hotel staff are pleasant and very helpful. I went specifically for the thermal spa and it did not disappoint. The Iarge round queen bath was great I could have stayed in there all day

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Unique setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room-Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night

    If you are English with no Spanish then you might struggle to understand the routine and what's going on if you have booked a package like the Romantic Break. The brochure in the room would be really helpful if it was multilingual.

    Unique setting. Very peaceful. Stunning scenery. The waiter service in the restaurant was amazing, never known anything like it. All the staff were very helpful. Absolutely loved the round indoor thermal pool. Just wish I knew a bit of Spanish-it would have helped us a great deal! This break was bought as a gift so wasn't sure what to entirely expect.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.2
    Unfortunately i wasn't aware of the fact that not all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately i wasn't aware of the fact that not all pools are in included in the overnight stay. Nevertheless it was a nice stay. You could go for a nice walk through the mountains here.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    8.8
    Eccentric but brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This was a wonderfully eccentric hotel, populated mainly by people of a certain age enjoying the natural spa facilities. We were unique as a young family, and our two small children attracted lots of attention! Our main reason for being there was the thermal springs. The naturally heated pool was incredible - both in drizzle on our first evening and blue skies and sunshine the next day. We absolutely loved it, as did our five year old and seven month old - at 36 degrees the water was perfect for children, and we felt a little nervous about trying out the free roadside option with them being so young. The room was dated but comfortable, and the food was straightforward but delicious. I would definitely recommend a night here if you want ti immerse yourself in the Alhambra de Granada experience - any more than that might be pushing it though!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    This place has the qualities of a 'health' stay and a retreat if you wish.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds were a little hard......

    This is a traditional Cure- Bath, with good treatments and good staff. The persons in the reception were very helpful ( in Spanish ). Eva, patiently explained the different treatments and showed great kindness. Thank you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    7.1
    Amazing spa, old staff and guests made it average instead of great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room-Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A member of staff rang our door while we were sleeping to check if it was occupied! She could have checked it at the reception instead of waking us up. Also there were lots of old people talking loudly in the corridors so it was hard to sleep in the morning. Staff at the bar/café were quite unpleasant and unhelpful.

    The spa was fantastic!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    8.3
    Wonderful relaxing romantic stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room-Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very relaxing thermal swimming pool, friendly staff, let us stay 4 hours after checkout time, breakfast made us bacon and eggs, all in all a beautiful relaxing experience

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    10
    Relaxed therapy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is an old style hotel but well painted and modernised. Some areas in treatment zones ready for upgrade. Our safe did not work in the room.

    Variety of hydro therapies, warm outdoor pool. Breakfast choices good. Staff were all friendly and helpful. For English speakers the staff at reception spoke enough English, menu in restaurant had English translation. Free wifi in all areas.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    8.8
    Nice "mountain" break.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Finding it was tricky, GPS didn't recognize and few instructions in confirmation. Pool and spas closing early (like 6 or something) and not opening again till 10 was a real downer. We arrived as these were closing, and had several hours of remaining daylight with little to do, and had to stay late in the morning to take in the pool.

    Big room with nice covered porch (with rack for drying suit and wet clothes), very comfortable and clean, with a mountain resort feel and smell - a wonderful respite to the country. Pool was warm, large, and clean. Breakfast was complete, great. Wine and cheese plate for dinner in the room was fabulous. Older clientele enjoying the spa.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    7.1
    A Spa Stay Where you have To Pay To Use It Misleading On your Web site
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We thought the Spa inside was inclusive of the price we had paid .. We expected to pay for the treatments but not the sauna jacuzzi steam room etc with charges of from 12 to 17 euros each

    The outdoor thermal pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    10
    Everything, can not fault it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can not think one thing 😊

    Everything, can not fault it.... one suggestion... more vegetarian meals ...😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    10
    A relaxing break that was just what I needed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendliness of all staff and the facilation of my medication which needs to be refrigerated.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    5.0
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Expected better hotel standards

    Old and worn out

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.3
    Very relaxing place - loved the pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I found it as a hotel in Granada, but it ws 60km away from.

    Very relaxing place - loved the pool

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    9.6
    Pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms need updating

    Pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Liked location, gardens and pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Poor wifi

    Liked location, gardens and pool

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    It was full of old people and stuffy
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It just not my style. An expensive stuffy place

    The rooms were nice, big and well appointed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.3
    La limporza,agradable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    La limporza,agradable.Repetiremos.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    8.8
    38/5000 good hotel in a very nice location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    beautiful surroundings, very friendly staff, rooms clean and comfortable. Highly recommended for a relaxing weekend.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    7.9
    Very enjoyable and therapeutic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A longer season

    Old style Hotel. Staff helpful and facilities what one wants from an original spa

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Spa hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the spa were rude

    The spa was nice and the pool. My room was quite large and good for the price

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room-Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot

    Great facilities

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2016

    6.3
    Funny farm
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The spa , very dated , tacky and exoensive

    Dinner was great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2016

    7.5
    Lovely staff, decent breakfast, big comfy bed, good wifi,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room-Romantic Package
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely staff, decent breakfast, big comfy bed, good wifi, nice pools.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    10
    Very friendly staff who gave that little bit extra.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Softer beds.

    Very friendly staff who gave that little bit extra. Plenty of time in the treatment rooms. Hotel in nice condition. Generous with their food, four course dinner,

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    8.3
    The thermal baths within the hotel are excellent and well...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The general lounge areas in the hotel lacked some ambience/music/warmth.We would definitely return to the hotel but not the public spring areas which were dirty.

    The thermal baths within the hotel are excellent and well worth a visit!

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2015

    9.2
    Complete lack of pressure from friendly and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Complete lack of pressure from friendly and helpful staff. The bathing and treatment facilities are of a very high standard. The varied treatments on offer are carefully explained and a doctor is available for advice on the suitability of treatments if required.

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2015

    9.2
    Loved the location and staff and general facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The pool closes between 2pm and 4:30pm, I think so the pool guard can have a siesta - a bit strange in this day and age even for a hotel off the beaten track.

    Loved the location and staff and general facilities. Also, the spa is brilliant!

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2015

    8.8
    Hot swimming pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Hot swimming pool

There are also 2 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Browse Balneario de Alhama de Granada traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: