Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Balneario de Cestona 3 stars

Paseo de San Juan, 30, 20740 Zestoa, Spain

#4 of 4 hotels in Zestoa

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 502 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.2

  • Location

    7.9

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 18

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    A memorable visit to this lovely property
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location and very clean room. Enjoyed the excellant spa which was offered in price. Lovely safe walks around property and surrounding area. Good value for money.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    5.0
    a old renovated hoel
    • Solo traveller
    • Termal Offer in Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very unclear sign that this is a hotel, Tomtom could not find it either. This picture of hotel on the site is a little misleading, The spa swimming pool etc is only allowed one hour per person in groups of 15-20 people. Not mentioned by Booking.com No airco or minibar in the room

    It's was clean maybe the food was good very old style Staff very freindly and helpfull.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    6.7
    The helpful and pleasant attitude of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This is a very particular place. IF you wanted to go for a traditional 1950's/Pseudo-Victorian spa holiday then it'd be great. IF you wanted to be close to the famous caves - it'd be great. IF on the other hand you wanted comfort and luxury and proximity to fun don't go there. We shouldn't have booked. the hotel did nothing wrong.

    The helpful and pleasant attitude of the staff. Very nice people who did their best to make our stay a comfortable and happy one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    7.1
    Interesting hotel sith
    • Couple
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dated feel although historically very interesting. Meals were ok but expensive. Overall it was expensive for an overnight stop.

    Lovely location, particularly if we had stayed for more than one night as there appeared to be some lovely walks and spa treatments. Room was adequate, clean and bed comfortable. Plenty of parking and reasonable access to major routes.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2017

    6.7
    This hotel was built at the turn of the 1900's and it...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to wait for over an hour for our room to be ready. Our booking included an hour thermal bath treatment, but on Sundays the spa closes at 2 pm. We were offered a treatment at 10 am the next day but as we wanted to be on the road to continue our journey south we had to decline the treatment. We had dinner at the hotel which, at 25€ each we considered to be overpriced for the food delivered. However, we do have to mention the waitress who rushed around trying to keep everyone happy, and was still smiling!

    This hotel was built at the turn of the 1900's and it would have been a grand place to stay then. The proportions of the restaurants, lounge, reception and hallways are impressive. The location is about 5km from the motorway so handy for an overnight stop.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2017

    5.4
    The architecture
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel clearly had not been invested in for a long time. Overpriced for the standard of room. Spa experience only allowed for an hour and was very limited

    The architecture

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    5.4
    It's a very specific place - average age of visitors are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a very specific place - average age of visitors are probably 70 or so. Place looks very grandiose and creepy at the same time. Enormous cafeteria with may be 8 meters high ceiling. The whole place looked Soviet somehow.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.8
    Big room with balcony;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spa is closed Saturday mornings and Sunday afternoon; breakfast should use the wonderful local dairy products instead of industrial cheese and yoghurt; decor needs freshing up a bit.

    Big room with balcony; old world spa atmosphere; the steak.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    6.7
    Great countryside locatrion but a lttle too pricey for the overall quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bar is so poor. The terrace as well. Feels like you are in a retirementhouse.There is really a lack of maintenance. It needs a facelift at that side.

    It is an old style hotel with charm. It really gives you the feeling to be amidst the Basque green hills.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    7.5
    Very relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old

    The stuff and the spa

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel smelt mouldy, the beds were really uncomfortble and hurt my back. The building was in a bad state of repair.

    Nice surroundings

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    9.6
    I asked for a quiet room and receive a good and quiet one,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Termal Offer in Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for a quiet room and receive a good and quiet one, better than the one on my first stay. Personnal at the spa really nice. Thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    Very Nice and quiet place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Termal Offer in Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very Nice and quiet place. Very good breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Calm and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Termal Offer in Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not notify that pregnant woman cannot do anything of the spa. Not for pregnant women.

    Clean and spacious room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2015

    6.3
    A trip back in time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rather stuffy staid atmosphere and as it is mainly used for medical treatments and drinking of the spa waters, some of the refinements of an hotel were slightly overlooked, eg a pot of tea or a drink of coffee on arrival was not possible. No service available til 6pm. Food very traditional country Spanish, highly spiced etc. no concessions to other tastes. Most of the guests knew each other and we're obviously staying on group tours. Staff very helpful and pleasant

    A trip back in time. We visited 25 years ago and it was as it had been in the 1920's very interesting. On our return it had been updated, although not expensively or overly modern, but still retained its quirkiness.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    3.8
    It was the only place available during easter time for a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The pool or sauna cannot be used without additional cost. Very old place nmaybe my grand-ma would like. Rooms were partly dirty and bed was old. Breakfast was not worth more than 5 Euros.

    It was the only place available during easter time for a reasonable price Good parking possibility

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    10
    The historic spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The historic spa. Its closeness to an authentic Basque inland village

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2015

    7.5
    Large room, nice staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Large room, nice staff! It is dated but that also makes it interesting in so many ways (the grand halls...)

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 18

Guests also reviewed these properties: