Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of OCA Rocallaura 4 stars

Afores, s/n, 25269 Vallbona de les Monges, Spain

#1 of 2 hotels in Vallbona de les Monges

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1005 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.7

  • Location

    7.5

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    7.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 41

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    9.2
    The room was huge,comfy bed, modern bathroom with not only...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi did not reach our room.

    The room was huge,comfy bed, modern bathroom with not only plenty of towels but including bathrobes. The staff was friendly & helpfull

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    Shame guests parking is not allowed in hotel's huge secure courtyard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You are not allowed to park in hotel's massive shady courtyard & instead have to park outside on a hot dirt road. The hotel does not have covers for any of its duvets!!! The first time I stayed I discovered the problem when it got cold late at night & thought the cleaners had made a mistake. This visit, I checked the duvet early & was told they are used with only a sheet underneath & the bed's dust cover on top. This is very unhygenic as the sheet invariably slips off leaving the duvet touching people's bums- or worse - the mind boggles! Yuk, as I bet they're not washed after each guest? Dinner was not great & poor value

    Location & great swimming pool

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    7.9
    Convenient location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge complex - much bigger than expected in rural location. No help offered to carry luggage to room ( a long way then up lift & long corridors). Bar not open uuntill 7.30 pm, restaurant open normal Spanish hiurs = from 8.30 pm

    Swimming pool & remote location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    9.2
    Top class accommodation for very good value .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very little English spoken ,but that's our pruoblem. I'm not a European ,but I cannot understand how anyone in the hotel industry does not have any idea of the English language. I've learnt way more Spanish in a month than some here have learnt in their life. Amazes me !!!!! Some rooms have small eye level only windows which make the room feel claustrophobic. We upgraded to a suite, to get a better outlook.

    Beautiful building , loveingky restored to a very high standard. Lots of areas to relax and enjoy the hotels many spaces.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    Reasonable stopover somewhat off the beaten track
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a particularly welcoming vibe. Room was not configured as the double that we had requested. No a la crate dining, set menu only. I agree with one of the other reviewers - the hotel felt like it was built on the cheap.

    Big room with an updated bathroom. Workmanship and maintenance were lacking. We got a great rate because it was a Sunday night.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2016

    8.8
    Relaxed and enjoyable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room with Termal Circuit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trouble with key card waited over hour then had to move room , new room had no view balcony and spare bed in the way

    Very relaxed hotel in middle of nowhere nice restaurant

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    Nice place and surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice place and surroundings. The hot baths are a bit overrated: it is just a pool, some bubbles, and the water in jacuzzi is not as hot as I would expect. Very good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    7.5
    The spa is fabulous
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Hotel and decoration very disapointing Breakfast so so. No yoghurt.Not enough of good fruit

    The spa is fabulous Treatments great and staff spa aso very good Surroundings very nice to walk.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    10
    Cannot Fault anything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything was up to our expectations. We was travelling back from France, and Prior to this hotel, the other two we stayed at was very poor. But this one excelled. The area is beautiful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    7.5
    Nice hotel, but not for tourists
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room with Termal Circuit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff don't speak any English. I know I'm in Spain, but usually at a hotel at least someone speaks English. No one spoke English in this hotel. Catalan and Spanish are the only languages here. No Internet. Yes they have an internet connection, but it is impossible to get any actual internet. I could only get one page (google.com) throughout the whole time I was there, and I tried the connection all over the hotel. No phone connection. It may just be my network, but I had ZERO phone connection the entire time I was there. So no calls or mobile internet. It's a little remote, which is good for cycling, and getting away, but the nearest proper town with shops is Montblanc about 20km away Walls are pretty thin. I could here the noisy neighbours all night

    Nice spa, gym, restaurant and facilitates were good. In general I found it to be good value for money

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    7.5
    Very good value for the money
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not exactly a dislike, but it was a little difficult to find it as the navigation sent us through the bushes on a very tight road

    Breakfast was very good, lots of foods to choose from. The alkaline water is a must.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2018

    7.5
    WiFi
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking views

    WiFi Bed

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Location and people very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was perfect

    Location and people very friendly

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    8.3
    bar chiuso al mattino
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bar chiuso al mattino

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    More choice of bread for breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More choice of bread for breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    7.5
    AGRADABLE
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No tenir vistes a la muntanya.

    La tranquilitat del local.Comoditat en general

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    6.7
    You had to pay extra to enter the spa pool!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You had to pay extra to enter the spa pool!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    7.9
    Nice place to stay - a little too remote
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Dinner was too late for us Wine/Bar available upon arrival

    Staff charged cell phones on her computer since we didn't have an adaptor Views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    6.3
    It is ok not more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was poor. Room that we got was not cleaned. We had to change rooms. Afterwards it was ok.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    The price.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff doesn't speak English. Also the menu wasn't available in English.

    The price. It was a sale-price.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    7.5
    Hotel good but sadly dinner destroyed our romantic night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    freezing floor inside the room poor and expensive dinner buffet

    location free indoor swimming pool nice rooms

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    8.8
    Relaxing, had a great nights sleep.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maintenance of car parking area.

    Manager was very nice. Lovely rural location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    7.9
    Almohada horrible y le falta un repaso de limpieza para...
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room with Termal Circuit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almohada horrible y le falta un repaso de limpieza para estar impecable.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    10
    Excellent
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything about this hotel from the staff to the location . But unfortunately i don't know about the Breakfast as i had to leave early.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    8.3
    Excellent off peak deals!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Special Offer - Double or Twin Room with Termal Circuit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing really negative to criticize

    Breakfast Quiet location comfortable beds value for money

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    9.6
    Enjoy everyday of your life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night

    one of the best hotel!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2016

    8.3
    Desconectar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa

    Relax

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2015

    7.9
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor wifi. Limited service hours. Some staff was friendly but not all of them.

    Beautiful location. Nice beds. Decent value for money. Free private parking.

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2015

    10
    We were travelling by motorbike and the staff couldn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were travelling by motorbike and the staff couldn't have been more attentive as to our needs. The hotel itself was stunning with every comfort catered for

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2015

    8.8
    Comfortable and relaxing.
    • Couple

    There was poor internet service sometimes and we needed to do some work. We wanted to work in a relaxing environment. Also, some of the spa facilities neede a little updating/fixing.

    Comfortable and relaxing. The staff was very nice and the food was good.

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2015

    9.2
    Beautiful surroundings excellent facilities and breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A little remote and there is really nothing to do in the nearby villages and surrounding areas

    Beautiful surroundings excellent facilities and breakfast was superb. A true break away from it all. The spa is absolutely fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    6.7
    There is NO internet connection in the rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There is NO internet connection in the rooms. Just a very bad connection in the hall. The restaurant is very expensive for the quality and no other option in the village close by. breakfast good, but again very expensive for the quality and with no other option.

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2015

    7.1
    Nice secluded spot for nature lovers and cyclists.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were travelling from Balbao to Barcelona and needed to spend one night on the road. All the ads made the hotel look lovely, but didn't indicate it was many miles off the main highway. Getting there was made even more difficult when the address we put in our GPS had us half a mile away in a small village.

    Nice secluded spot for nature lovers and cyclists. A good place to take your girl friend when you leave your wife at home.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    9.6
    This hotel offered excellent value for money with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I wouldn't call it luxurious so manage your expectations.

    This hotel offered excellent value for money with comfortable beds, a modern bathroom and a nice pool that was the perfect temperature. There are many walks to take in the beautiful surrounding countryside.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    8.3
    Clean and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi was not as good as it could be

    Clean and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2015

    6.3
    Clean and comfortable room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only one indoor swimming pool, super expensive food

    Clean and comfortable room

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2015

    9.6
    Everything was great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was great

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2015

    10
    the staff is amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the staff is amazing

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2015

    9.6
    The spa facilities were excellent, everything clean, views...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The spa facilities were excellent, everything clean, views were great, dinner was good and healthy, and the wine was good. Wifi was working fine.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    8.8
    spa circuit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    evening meal monotonous and expensive.

    spa circuit. location.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    9.2
    Immediate help of the staff any moment you need it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Immediate help of the staff any moment you need it

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 41

Browse OCA Rocallaura traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: