Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Van der Valk Hotel Barcarola 3 stars

Pau Picasso, 1-19, 17220 Sant Feliu de Guixols, Spain

#3 of 24 hotels in Sant Feliu de Guixols

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 330 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 29

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    7.5
    The service is always good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    We see so much in the media about van der Valk hotels being refurbished and this Hotel would be ,in my opinion, a prime target. The food at the restaurant is not very exciting. People are eating there because this is the only restaurant open. What you want is that people come to the restaurant for the quality of the food.

    The service is always good. People are very friendly and will do there utmost best to make you feel happy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    5.4
    Position and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Three main things: - Breakfast (included) not at the level of the 18eur claimed to expence; - Swimming pool: only 4 sunbeds for the swimming pool, no room for it being circled with buildings; - The fact that welcome glasses of wine were 'offered' and then have been charged to us! Btw, we did not drink those.

    Position and service

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    7.9
    Just 2 roads back from lovely beach, so no traffic noise but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    No coffee, tea, milk or body lotion in room when arrived. First 3 came fairly quickly once one complained. This was in junior suite If you are use to Van der Valk hotels in Netherlands it just seems to be missing something We would stay again though

    Just 2 roads back from lovely beach, so no traffic noise but good walkway very close

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    7.5
    Good hotel near to beach
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room wasn't cleaned during our two night stay. Reception suggested that I had displayed a do not disturb sign, but this was for only one hour after lunchtime As the room was on the ground floor and had patio doors, we were unable to open a window at night and the room became a bit stuffy. No air conditioning was available at this time of year.

    We liked the food provided on half board basis. We liked the proximity to the beach and that good walks were in the vicinity. The room was a good size and the area around the hotel was calm.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2016

    7.5
    Good hotel but too far from the highway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When you are travelling for passing by this hotel is too far away from the highway about 25 km but good when you stay for a longer time. It was raining when we were there and then you need an umbrella to walk to the restaurant because this is not in the same building.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2016

    9.2
    We are repeat visitors to the Barcarola.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We are repeat visitors to the Barcarola. It is our preference of choice and we will be going again. The day begins with an excellent breakfast choice and usually ends with a good restaurant meal, waited upon by wonderful staff.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    8.3
    Good to return to a place we knew and had enjoyed out of season.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lighting is still poor in bedroom, only few sunbeds available, limited hours of pool opening, lack of green space (but in a central position), shame upper terrace is not available for sunbathing.

    Friendly staff, home-like ambiance. Useful pool bar and plenty of seating ... meals usually good, but Sat/Sun menu is the same, so difficult especially as happened in this case, we liked none of the choices, but did not wish to eat outside the hotel, as this is one of the few restaurants locally which opens at 7pm in the evening. Well run establishment.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    10
    Fantastic Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location. Very friendly staff. Great facilities

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    10
    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The barman made some super cocktails!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2017

    7.1
    Good hotel, functional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good self serve breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    10
    I wish we had had longer there to enjoy it|
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    I wish we had had longer there to enjoy it|

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2016

    10
    Excellent place for any length of stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Big rooms, nice staff, well located, nice bar and restaurant, well appointed, great value, good cycle storage.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    9.6
    Amazing location and wonderful food
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-if connection

    Breakfast was great. We loved the self-service griddle to cook our eggs!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    6.3
    The staff were pleasant enough to upgrade our room for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not sure if it is an issue with Booking.com or the hotel itself, but the images for the room we reserved were misleading. A Jr. Suite is rather small in all actuality. Definitely not suited for a family of four. Definitely no canopy bed and spacious sitting area either. I would never have paid that rate had I really known what the room was like. After some back and forth, they upgraded us for the same cost. Something tells me this is not the first time it's happened. The hot tub was broken too.

    The staff were pleasant enough to upgrade our room for the same price after a "mix-up" with the booking.

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2016

    10
    Modern, clean, excellent breakfast plenty of choice, with...
    • Family with older children

    Modern, clean, excellent breakfast plenty of choice, with self cook griddle for eggs and bacon. Great helpful and friendly staff. Booked to go back in 2 weeks

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2016

    9.6
    Friendly and multi-lingual staff a boon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Difficult to find initially, cannot see the front of the hotel from the main road and my GPS took us close, but not in sight. Bed was fine, other than the undersheets made me sweat. Poor lighting - impossible to change we were told. Would have been useful to know that our room was in a separate building, though I think most must be now I see the size of the main hotel. Irritations rather than something that would stop us returning, but the poor lights, in particular need addressing by the management.

    Friendly and multi-lingual staff a boon. Restaurant serves evening meals from 7pm - wonderful. Everything was excellent and as expected, except for those items in the didn't likes. We hope to return.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    8.8
    Rooms are spacious with good bathrooms and although there is...
    • Couple

    While cooking your own breakfast is a popular novelty with leisure travellers at Barcarola, for those with time commitments, it can mean having to queue during busy periods and this can make breakfast a bit stressful. Also, the hotel would not provide my family who had to leave early due to travel arrangements, with breakfast of any kind despite a request the day before. This was disappointing, as I have always found Barcarola Hotel staff extremely helpful. Could Barcarola consider offering those who need to depart early with a continental breakfast box or equivalent, if notified the day before?

    Rooms are spacious with good bathrooms and although there is no sea view, the hotel is close to the lovely San Pol beach

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    8.3
    Staff were very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Small pool area(only 4 sun loungers) and too busy and noisy when children around. Unhelpful barman serving at outside bar.(rest of staff were great) Breakfast cooking own eggs/ bacon on hot plate got too busy and hot!(better if a chef was cooking to order) Room was a bit dated and worn but a good size.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Good food. Good location. Welcome drinks. Cleanliness. Toucan bar at beachfront.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    5.8
    Spacious room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor food at dinner. Accommodation in separate building from reception and restaurant and poor security there. No reasonable space to sit around pool with a wall at one side and restaurant tables down the edge of the other side.

    Spacious room.

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2015

    10
    Location, coastal walks.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dinner menu could be more imaginative...WiFi is patchy.

    Location, coastal walks. Improvement in TV channels - now showing BBC World and CNN in addition to Dutch, French, Spanish & Catalan channels

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    9.2
    Excellent throughout
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Terrace needed a clean

    Excellent throughout Secure parking was good-but why not advertise it? If you are travelling by car with valuable cargo security is essential.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2015

    9.2
    The hotel location is excellent, very close to a superb...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    WiFi patchy in the annex. The hotel is aimed at Spanish, Catalan Dutch and French clientèle as reflected in the TV channels on offer. There are no English language channels such as BBC World or CNN. The hotel management could and should rectify this.

    The hotel location is excellent, very close to a superb beach and coastal walks. Good but expensive restaurants on the beach front. Hotel rooms are generous in size and the breakfasts are comprehensive in choice. Nice pool. Friendly staff. Good off street parking too.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    10
    The Breakfast especially
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Coffee making facility in room

    The Breakfast especially The location and staff

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    8.3
    Overall great value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing except the weather.

    Overall great value for money.

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    9.6
    location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No Tea or Coffee in the room

    location

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2016

    10
    Comfortable, clean and modern.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Comfortable, clean and modern. Great value great breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    7.5
    great view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no water pressure during several hours

    great view

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    8.3
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2015

    8.3
    Easy walking distance of beach and choice of restaurants in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Easy walking distance of beach and choice of restaurants in one of the calmer resorts in the area. Good parking. Nice balcony.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 29

Guests also reviewed these properties: