Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Occidental Castellana Norte 4 stars

Avenida Manoteras, 20, Hortaleza, 28050 Madrid, Spain

#169 of 350 hotels in Madrid

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 886 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.2

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Top Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Location was a bit of a walk to subway and train station. If you are planning to visit Madrid city centre you might need to consider the distance, I guess location is an issue depending on what your purpose is. Also during weekend not many amenities around (restaurants and coffee shops closed) so not many options apart from breakfast at hotel.

    Staff was friendly. Room was incredibly clean and with nice design. I overall felt welcomed at all times. My sister´s family was also staying at the same hotel and they dealt with all issues (kids) without any problems. Fresh yummy fruit, juice and newspaper available at all times in the lobby was also a great detail. Great place!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    nice and i like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    breakfast is a little rising than before,now 15 EUR per person,10 EUR is ok

    this is my third time to stay at this hotel,it is good feelings. breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Would highly recommend!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were so lovely and helpful. I had lost a document and they were more than happy to print it out for me. They have fresh homemade lemonade, fruit and sweets in reception every day. The food was lovely, ate there several times and also had room service. Also the beds are very comfy with blackout blinds so you can get a decent nights sleep. Would definitely recommend!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    9.2
    Excellent!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was perfectly situated for my business meetings and it was relatively easy to get there from the airport.Only if you want to go for dinner to the center (as there is not much around there) it takes a good 40 min!

    Very friendly and helpful staff, very clean rooms and a great restaurant!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant stay in lovely bed and room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included in the price of the room, although we left too early to sample it

    Very clean and mostly immaculate room with nice furnishings and great bathroom. Welcome drinks and departing coffee were very welcome

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyed our stay despite having unusually cold & wet weather.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Quite a distance from Madrid City centre. There is a bus stop outside the hotel which runs frequently & takes approximately 45 minutes. The lack of restaurants in walking distance was a disappointment.

    The quality of the room was excellent as was the very comfy bed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    3.8
    Never again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The standard are very low, I always use Barcelo Emperatriz, but I couldn't book this time so I decided to use this one as I was expecting the same standards as the Barcelo Emperatriz but never again!

    The bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    Highly recommended - lovely place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was extremely expensive for what it was.

    Extremely clean and staff were very attentive. They did the best they could with the limited English (bar/cafe staff). Bed was lovely and everything was super!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    Great place to come back!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A bit run-down on some furniture and fittings; they need to be replaced. The sofa in my room was worn-out and the shower faucet conduits were misfit.

    The location was good, close to the metro station and a bus stop at the gate. The staff was very polite and quite helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious. 10 mins drive from the airport. There is a freshness in the room when you enter at the end of each day.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, very proactive!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not that clean. There was hair on the floor and in the bathroom on the first day of my arrival. Also, in the morning, the cleaning ladies are shouting between each other in the corridors, so it is difficult to get some sleep if you have requested not to be disturbed.

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff, very proactive! Very comfortable bed!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    7.1
    Rooms clean, failry spacious, generally OK, restaurant quick...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some of the furniture and the shower quite worn and needed some upkeep.

    Rooms clean, failry spacious, generally OK, restaurant quick and resonably priced. Quiet location.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    5.4
    madrid is a drivers nightmare
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was poor in comparison to other hotels in spain. The hotel was not easy to find from motorway. Shower leaked all over floor

    Bedroom was clean and airy. Pedro on reception was more than helpful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2017

    8.3
    It's a nice hotel little bit far away from the hotel, I would reccomend it anyway.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Last day the guy from the restaurant wouldn't want to let me in, saying the breakfast is not included in the room rate, it was rude. Finally I managed it in the reception.It was their mistake and they even say I am sorry in the final. I recommand to be more oriented to customers, because the satisfied client is a real win for the hotel, this was the only negativ thing otherwise it's a good hotel.

    The breakfast is amazing, maybe a little more vegetables would be fine.The fresh orange juice machine is perfect!Nice restaurant.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2018

    7.1
    Stayed on a late overnight stay before flying out of Madrid airport which is 10 minutes by train
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean and efficient business hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.8
    good overall experience
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed mattress was too soft

    Nice Room, Great Breakfast ( Orange juice was not very cold, but freshly squeezed, the oranges should be cold )

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    9.2
    The staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed.. We asked for a king size bed and got 2 singles.

    The staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    9.2
    Clean hotel, room & linen
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean hotel, room & linen Helpful and friendly staff Good location for business in that area

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    9.2
    - the remaining
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - No coffee machine in the room - only little water out of the shower (6th floor)

    - the remaining

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    10
    nice and i like it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room with Extra Bed (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    N/M

    nice

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    9.6
    Great value would recommend
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean comfortable and nice staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Great hotel for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Service in the bar quite slow

    Enormous beds, high standard of cleanliness and very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    Great Staff at Reception and Breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 12 nights

    Great Staff at Reception and Breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    8.3
    I have already reviewed for my stay from 19 to 22 Jan.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I have already reviewed for my stay from 19 to 22 Jan. Same reviews apply.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    9.6
    Very helpful staff, phantastic large bed and great breakfast
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very helpful staff, phantastic large bed and great breakfast

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.5
    Clean hotel;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean hotel; near the train and bus stations (40 min by train to city center)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    New hotel very confortable and clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not included.

    Very new and clean. Beautful place! Bus in front of the hotel. Metro 1 km ahead.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    7.9
    Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff

    Room

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    7.1
    decent value
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    location is only relevant is you need to be at the nearby offices

    clean new set up basic but comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    10
    Nice place, good service and very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little effort to find Metro and had to change trains once to get to center city. A bit of a ride.

    Meals and drinks in bar area were very good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    9.2
    Worth statong
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Modern close to transportation nice rooms

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    5.0
    price not cheap but the room too small,no slippers,no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    price not cheap but the room too small,no slippers,no anything ,only have towel and bed,that's all ! it's impossible book this hotel again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    9.6
    Clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean. Comfortable. Friendly staff. Breakfast delicious and good variety.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    6.3
    Rude Room service, asked me to come down and get my own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rude Room service, asked me to come down and get my own order.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    9.2
    big room with a comfortable bed. great value for the money
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    big room with comfortable bed

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    8.8
    Thank you - will be back.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant food selection

    Location (near our office) breakfast choice, bar food and staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    5.4
    Νο smoking rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Νο smoking rooms

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    9.2
    Beds were comfortable, including the extra rollaway bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Room was very stuffy, because air conditioning was not working. Fortunately there was a window that opened, but the outside traffic was quite loud.

    Beds were comfortable, including the extra rollaway bed. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet was delicious!

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2016

    7.9
    The staff were friendly and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There isn't much in the surrounding neighbourhood. The decor, although modern felt a little cold. The ac didn't get the room up to the temperature I wanted and kept stopping as if being controlled by a thermostat despite my efforts. There weren't many English TV channels.

    The staff were friendly and polite. The room was very clean and spacious. The bed was large and comfy.Several toiletries were provided which was appreciated. The breakfast was a good spread including some lovely fresh fruit.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    7.9
    The hotel has a pleasant atmosphere, with a nice...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Despite being overloaded with luggages (three big trolleys, 20kg each) I had no support at all by personnel, I took it to my room myself; they didn't move a finger for helping me. Probably in a 4 stars hotel that's the standard!

    The hotel has a pleasant atmosphere, with a nice architectural arrangement (colors selection and room arrangement). The location is not for a tourist visiting the city, but mostly for businness, since in the adjacent area there are lots of companies offices. In my case the location, walking distance from the office, was excellent.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    8.8
    The confort of the bedroom and the bathroom as well.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The proposed menues should be completed with traditional spanish dishes

    The confort of the bedroom and the bathroom as well. The breakfast are good continental and english

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    10
    the location is great, approximately 7-10 minute walk from...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    they do not have a snack machine. If you want to purchase a drink or a snack, you have to purchase from what is provided in the room, very expensive. There are also no restaurants or convenience stores nearby, so if you plan on staying here, be prepared to either bring your own, or purchase from the in-room minibar.

    the location is great, approximately 7-10 minute walk from the train station. It is up and down hill walk though, so towing a large heavy suitcase would be a chore. The room was very clean and modern, large bathroom, very quiet, you can't hear your neighbors. Everything in the room was functional.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff, nice room, good breakfast and the restaurant...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Near nothing. 10 minute walk to the commuter train and then a 15 minute ride to the Porta del Sol. Once you have come back to the hotel after sightseeing, it is tough hike back to the train to go back into the center of the city. I am not sure why the hotel is where it is.

    Friendly staff, nice room, good breakfast and the restaurant served good food as well. Very good value if you can deal with the strange location.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    9.2
    nice area- comfortable room-a little dated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    staff at desk sometimes didn't speak english

    nice area- comfortable room-a little dated

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.5
    Huge bed, modern, comfortable facilities, close to train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No information in the room of the hotel's facilities

    Huge bed, modern, comfortable facilities, close to train station (10 minute walk)

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2016

    6.3
    The bed, the good staff on reception desk
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Dark bedroom, modest breakfast

    The bed, the good staff on reception desk

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    8.8
    In Madrid & Close to airport
    • Solo traveller

    In Madrid & Close to airport

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2015

    6.7
    Speedy reception and departure.
    • Solo traveller

    Speedy reception and departure. Good selection of food and drinks available.

There are also 29 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Guests also reviewed these properties: