Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Castillo Royal Level 4 stars

Avenida Del Castillo, S/N, 35610 Caleta De Fuste, Spain

#11 of 148 hotels in Caleta De Fuste

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 333 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.8

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed and will be telling all my friends, family and very large group of work colleagues
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of Laura who was extremely unhelpful, the fact that we only had a 6 day visit but spent a whole day wasting the first day moving from room to room due to problems with the rooms.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2018

    10
    Very clean and friendly staff who were always happy to help.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall about this hotel was the food wasn’t great. The only time that the food was warm was breakfast time but the other times the food was freezing cold

    Very clean and friendly staff who were always happy to help.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2018

    9.6
    Great stay friendly staff excellent value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was slightly tired with damp patches in bedroom.

    Excellent stay we will return for the third time, pool bar superb with excellent professional staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall enjoyed our short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (3 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Was in room 5029 extremely noisy I would expect the royal level to be more peaceful that’s what I was expecting when I booked. Hotel staff were very good nice hotel in general would return but maybe book away from this room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    9.6
    AMAZING spot in Fuerteventura
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beach is one of the worst: sand imported and of poor quality. You cannot swim in most parts of this beach because of the rocks... but this has nothing to do with the Hotel itself. We really enjoyed staying there, just did not like the beach.

    There are plenty of activities, the staff is the nicest and very friendly and helpful. They were thoughtful and would arrange for other activities outside fuerteventura (Lanzarote tour for example). The food at la ancla is 5*. The overall ambiance was great and we really enjoyed the shows at night. Can't recommand this hotel enough!!! :)

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    10
    The whole 12 days I stayed were perfect. The friendliness and help from the staff made this perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 12 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. For me everything was perfect .the

    I could not fault this hotel! From the staff to the food and everything else inbeteeen. Liked using the train too . Very handy for visiting friends up the mountain. This is not my first stay at the hotel, so I’m aware of it’s excellence and will be back again.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    10
    It was simply amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was simply amazing! Best location in the island. Rooms comfortable, modern and luxurious. Fabulous food and exceptional staff. They made my partner’s birthday an unforgettable! Already booked to go back in a few months!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    7.9
    Overall good experience, however, I do not like their policy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Overall good experience, however, I do not like their policy of cancelling your key card the night before checkout to force you to pay your bill before issuing a new key card. This policy is totally unnecessary as they had my card details on check-in as security. This will put me off staying at the hotel in the future.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    6.7
    I ended up having to go to A&E as I stepped out of the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I ended up having to go to A&E as I stepped out of the hot tub and slipped and broke my toe. I really think there should be mats around the hot tub instead of just all tiles! Also the cleaners only came once but we was sleeping so didn’t have the room cleaned and from day 2 they never returned.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    5.4
    Do you need sea view then try to find it somewhere else.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I've paid for a sea-view.room, which i didn't get even I paid to much, so I got a pool-view with some noisy kids around so 4 nights of my holiday has been wasted because I needed a quite place and the sea view was very important for me due to my sickness. I am still on this beautiful island and got the best sea-view-room and with all-inclusive for the half price. The hotels all inclusive price is TOO high, I don't know why!

    The staff have been extremely kind, serviceminded and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    It’s not often you will get a hotel that would keep all guests happy but this one must go close
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe in room should be in a higher position. Pool was out of action for several days though we could have used alternative ones

    Food was exceptional. Staff very friendly. Hotel was superb with services for a range of ages

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.6
    Second time round - what a let down!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having stayed in September in a room by the private pool area and having an excellent holiday we decided on a return visit. This time we opted to stay in one of the rooms with a sea view. Sorry but you cannot simply put a badge on it and call it Royal Level - it was by far from the Royal Level experience we had received first time round. The cleaning was not up to scratch - maid had broken a glass and had not sweeped it all up .... room service facilities were to be desired - had to ask at reception for milk (maid had not replenished)waited for almost an hour then had to phone reception. Sheets had not been changed! The trip was ruined from check in by reception staff putting through payment via £ instead of € as requested by me resulting in holiday costing £150 extra!!! All in all very disappointing holiday 🙁

    Food and restaurant staff were exceptional! Chefs always on hand to cook eggs any which way and meat always cooked to perfection !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    7.9
    Good but overpriced
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Took us a bit of time to find the royal level reception desk and even more time to find the room. Also had to carry luggage quite a long way and upstairs to room. In a hotel which needs a resort map it would have been good to have staff to show us the way and to assist with bags. Food eating times a bit restrictive with a young family - lunch service started at 1pm and dinner at 6.30pm. It would have been good if this was varied across the restaurants. Night time entertainment started at 9.30pm - too late for us although the noise did carry to our room and continued until 10.45pm

    Stayed half board and was easily able to swap the half board dinner for lunch. We then enjoyed dinner at the a la carte restaurants and snack bars by the waterfront. Lifeguards and staff at the royal level pool area very friendly and helpful. Liked the snacks brought to the sunlounger and some pool toys available for little ones.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    2.9
    Over priced tac
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms in the Royal Level were not succulded. The jacuzzi was dirty I had to clean before it could be used. The shower unit was mouldie. The outside terrace was dirty and all could see in. Don’t be fooled by the nice check in it all goes downhill from there ....

    The restaurant is the only nice place in this tackie resort. Don’t bother with the royal level it is not separate from the mass tack that go on fully inclusive ... very disappointing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.3
    Good value for money.. relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms had bad lighting.. bathrooms not separated from living space.. no double beds.. recommend staying in a room upstairs if possible...

    Friendly.. well laid out..

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful accomodation, location and facilities and I would defintely recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Royal Level restaurant was wonderful with lovely selection of fresh food at all meals. However the layout at breakfast for cooked eggs and hot food was poorly organised and caused queues. It only required people to queue from the side where hot plates were located to get their cooked eggs and then pick up other hot food if required. this would have avoided queues forming in front of the other hot and cold breakfast buffet which caused a real bottleneck. I would have appreciated another warm area to sit in on the very cool evenings as there was only the entertainment theatre which was busy and loud and not everyone wants to attend - we wanted just to sit and chat with a drink. The restaurants and bars were lovely but while they had some patio heaters these were not enough to provide sufficient heat to be comfortable - perhaps if the plastic side panels on gazebos had been used this would have helped.

    great facilities in suite and the location was wonderful.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    10
    Wonderful, relaxing and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The queue for eggs in the morning

    All staff super friendly - John at Royal Level pool was exceptional with all guests and always going above and beyond what was expected of him. Restaurant was amazing with lots of variety and a high quality of food.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Very relaxing with excellent facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Deluxe junior suite was the best room I have ever stayed in as the balcony was huge and looked over the beach. Staff were friendly and the exclusive Royal Level restaurant ‘El Ankla’ was great with a good variety of food looking over the marina.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    Not a place I would go to again. The luxury I thought I paid for was simple standard quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 14 nights

    Check in / check out Was very long-lasting and a nightmare. There was only one person to serve the Royal Level guests. The front desk had only 2-3 people to serve the other many other guests and it took ages. Poor service and lack of English speaking staff in general at the entire resort. The area is a little boring after a week’s stay. Thallasso Spa and Gym are too far away from Royal Level exclusive. However, I missed a small cafe in the area. It’s not possible to use all facilities throughout the resort even though you have purchased Royal Level Exclusive all-inclusive which should be a luxury level. It’s restricted to a small area despite the rest is the same hotel / resort concept. Very disappointing. The supermarket is above all criticism and really poor service. If you want to collect the points you can have for buying there, be sure to do it on one pass point card. I was accused for that those 3 cards I had were not mine, so I did not get the present for my grandchildren. We had to go after two woman were shouting and threatening me. The gift shop opposite the supermarket has only opened a few hours a day. There are only a few restaurants available that covers All Inclusive option and the food is the same everywhere. Lack of varied restaurants with healthy diet lacking. Noray, Sportscafe and La Coleta cafe took ages before serving the customers. The El Castillo buffet restaurant had a wide range of food, but the bufé was very disorganized and difficult to get around due to lack of space and a lot of traffic by guests who were going in and out of the outdoor area. The noise level and acoustics are awful, so find space outside instead. La Ancla restaurant denied us a 6 man table though we were 5 people. Had to sit on a small 4 man table so it was cluttered with room for all of us.

    The beach area is great and with plenty of sun beds. Thallasso Spa and Gym are very nice. Pool area in Royal Level block 4 was ok and JuanFran and lifeguards were very friendly to all guests. A plus to Juan whom could speak very good English. large room with a balcony and sea view. The beds were ok but lack of extra blankets the days it was cold. Daily cleaning was ok. Got a onetime free minibar. The heated children's and adult pool inclusive pool towels were a positive experience. Generally it's a cozy area, but a week is enough. Renting a car would probably be recommendable so you can experience some of the area.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    9.6
    great staff all round and great to chill and relax ( Excellent )
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    as a unwind week away there was nothing to complain about

    Room & Bed very very comfortable and kept very clean every day Food amazing Morning & Evening and Chefs very helpful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.2
    An enjoyable stay with pleasant staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-Fi was intermittent, power in shower could be more powerful but temperature was excellent.

    Spacious, airy, peaceful and sunny apartment. Swift check in process and friendly staff on reception. Free welcoming mini bar on arrival. Buggy ride service for luggage to room (thanks to julio - kind and informative). Good range of foods to suit all. Royal level has a peaceful and intimate feel. Octopus salad was yummy and freshly squeezed juices.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    6.7
    Expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi intermittent, reception too far from accommodation, having to move After one night to get the room I asked for, no pre cooked eggs at breakfast and it was too slow to queue for them. Too few choices for main courses. Beds were made every day but linen wasn't changed. The adult atmosphere was ruined by quite a few whiny toddlers.

    Bed was comfy, pool bar staff were attentive. Plenty of sun loungers.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    9.6
    Very stylish and agreeable accommodation, location and facilities - almost 5 stars!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The room faced north, so no pool view, and no sun on the balcony.

    The food in the Royal Level "Ancla" Restaurant was outstanding, and beautifully presented. The staff were friendly and attentive. Great views of the harbour as well!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.5
    Royal level is very plush but the patio area was right by...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The whole town and bay area is brand new and characterless. I'm now craving a holiday somewhere based around a 600 year old town square somewhere, (if you know what I mean).

    Royal level is very plush but the patio area was right by the main path around the beach so we were very over-looked. No privacy out there really.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    8.3
    Good in parts but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were originally placed in a dark room which got no sun till late in the day; we asked to be moved and were then in much better room; both were Royal Level so the same cost, but the first should not have been given that distinction and would not have been value for money - it was also a good walk from the Royal Level pool area. With regard to food, this was often left to go cold under the so-called hot plates. I also think the dining should be table service in the premium restaurant for the price we were paying for half-board.

    Fabulous chef making the eggs in the morning, excellent service from our room maid. Lovely terrace area outside our room with sun loungers and hot tub.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    9.2
    Enjoed it but perhaps if returning to Fertaventura would stay at Coralejo rather than Calente
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    While the roasted food freshly prepared was pretty good the 'hot plate' food in the dinner buffet wasn't particularly hot. Could do a bit better on that score.

    The location near the harbour and beach and 'private' pool area, and the staff were very good. The buffet on half board was pretty good for both breakfast and dinner.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    5.4
    The sea view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn’t think that Royal level was anything more than it’s name. You have the restaurant just for those on the royal level,which is a nice size, but to put it bluntly,I think the royal level , in my opinion should be child free. If you are paying a high price for your stay and it’s named the royal level , then I think it needs to be more of a relaxing area. There were lots of babies and also there pushchairs in the restaurant, if you pay for what you think is going to be special, you shouldn’t have to have your meals, with babies crying and children walking around the food area,when you want to go out with your partner for your quiet evening meal, needless to say we stopped using the restaurant for evening meals,and ate out in the town ,so although we paid a huge amount of money for half board, we really got bed and breakfast, also when we used the restaurant the first couple of nights the food wasn’t good. However at breakfast Fernando the morning chef worked his station to a high standard, his work area was always immaculate and tidy, and he was fast ,efficient, and food cooked perfectly every time. The staff in the bars are very slow ,they don’t make eye contact for fear of needing to serve someone. I think the rooms we had 2 during our stay , and on close inspection are quite shabby, I dont know how long they were last updated.

    The sea view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.2
    With a better bedroom I would heartily recomment this place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The suite was minimalist in décor, a style which some people like, but a bit harsh for us. The bedroom had a tiny window with light blocked by a tree and the artificial lighting was inadequate. It was dungeon-like and we hated going into it. The bed was great! Our only complaint!

    The environment of The Royal Level was first class and worth the extra money. The staff gave an excellent service and were charming and friendly. Although the main restaurant was a buffet, it was small and intimate and the food was good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    5.0
    Felt like I needed a holiday after staying here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice place but Terrible staff! We found ants in the kitchen area of our room, spoke to the receptionists 3 times but was not interested and nothing got done. Found a dead rat outside our room at balcony, it took nearly 2 hours until it got removed. Staff in the restraunt where abrupt and rude, never experienced staff so poor and unhelpfull! The Management where just as bad, we paid extra for "royal level" but never seemed to be at receptionist at royal and when she was their she was not interested in the customer care, it seems once you have made your payment/checkin, they do not care about your stay. Also had to do quite a few walks to reception morning and nite when our key did not work anymore for our room, was a nitemare. I spoke to management but where not interested. On their broucher they say it all about the customers needs and luxury holiday, absolute joke!

    Good food

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing, I felt pampered.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from my room. You could see the sea but only just on ground floor. Next time I will ask for the first floor.

    The swimming pool was slightly heated which helps in January. Food was excellent , not a huge choice which meant the dishes on offer were good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.3
    Royal level was worth the extra cost
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel food was ok but if you fancied a change you needed to walk into the centre for more of a choice

    Very comfy beds Good quite location on marina front Quarter of an hour walk into the centre ofcaleta

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    7.1
    It’s ok, but food is not fresh
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in the evening in royal level restaurant was not fresh ( only grill that they cook in front of you is possible to eat) In a lunch time I was given a sandwich with bad ( like really bad) salmon. When I told the staff about it I was answered not in a polite form, that salmon is good ans it’s me who doesn’t understand how the food should be. Shame on kitchen and waiters! See view is not see, but mostly parking space with a little bit of the sea

    For this kind of hotel it’s ok, good location and a lot of things to do in the hotel

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Extremely relaxing and peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was nothing to dislike with this resort.

    The whole process from checking in, to the room we stayed in(the mattress was sublime)and the meals we had were excellent. The staff were super friendly and very efficient, the resort was situated in a lovely situation, next to the marina, and to hear the sea crashing into the shore was very calming. Full marks to all the staff involved in helping us enjoy our stay, we left a lot more refreshed than when we arrived, and we would not hesitate to recommend this resort to others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    10
    Fantastic. Beautiful area
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Ground floor room does not have a sea view should not be advertised as having one. If you like a hot tub though you do get one in the ground floor rooms

    Bed was extra comfy. We stayed in the deluxe suite with sea view. beautiful. If you enjoy walking there are lot's of walks along the sea front.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    10
    Loved it all but food disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food let the place down, a good selection but in the premium restaurant it was always cold. Did let reception know about it but nothing done.

    Bed was extremely comfortable

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    10
    The Free upgraded room😃
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Going home😢

    The Free upgraded room😃 This property has extra little peaks, fruit basket and mini bar on arrival, free crazy ⛳️Golf next door. 30% off the local restaurants near the property. Has its own restaurant for breakfast overlooking the🛥🚤⛵️ harbour😎 The pool is private and quiet. It’s fairly warm and the barman comes around with the odd treat🍡 10 mind from the airport🛬

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    10
    Wonderful hotel and facilities with stunning breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Resort full of rented electric scooters going dangerously fast and not always in the designated lanes. Shortage of places for a quiet evening drink.

    Lovely staff, comfy bed, superb breakfasts, glorious ocean views and our own sun loungers! El Faro for a late night drink (rare in the resort).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2017

    10
    A wonderful relaxed holiday, lovely apartment and brilliant staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The entertainment was not great. Too much shouting on the microphones, simply couldn't make out what was being said. The comedy routines were just not funny. As spectacular as it was, an hour of Flamenco was far too much, ended up with a headache. On one occasion some of the entertainment staff sat at the back of the room just behind us and made such a noise it spoilt any chance of enjoying the show. Some of the dancers were very talented, but overall it was by far the worst aspect of our holiday unfortunately.

    The staff were excellent and the apartment was nicely furnished. It was the most relaxing holiday we have ever had, no rush for sunbeds by the pool or for seats at the restaurant. Local facilities were close by and the whole resort was perfect for our needs.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2017

    8.8
    Excellent in general with one or two hiccups.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Training required for certain members of staff regarding there customer service / relations skills. Improvement on the night entertainment.

    Service was good in general,food was good, facilities very good with great views.staff generally accomadating, would deffinatly go back. Hotel is very well situated.👍

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    9.6
    Quality operation where we received several calls to check all OK!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Large scale of hotel - but that's a personal preference not criticism.

    Location at edge of busy town; pool overlooking sea; La Alcona/Alcora resaturant buffet; effective aircon in room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    7.5
    Not a suitable hotel resort for over 55 's . More suitable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food in en Alcala restaurant was so good every evening . Very good and very pleasant staff there .. Very nice apartment which was serviced every day .

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    9.2
    Accessibility to airport, pool area, royal level area,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Royal level half board was advertised as a dinner restaurant (which required men to wear long trousers which would imply a very upmarket afraid) was in fact a buffet of which the standard of food did not match that of the rest of the stay at all (Lukewarm food, raw meat on display to show what was possible to ask the chef for)

    Accessibility to airport, pool area, royal level area, marina restaurants, brilliant staff, surrounding area and views

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    7.1
    Room excellent, bed super comfy , position excellent, hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The buffet breakfast and evening meal could have been much better, with more choices. Having stayed at the Barcelo before, we expected the Royal Level to have been more superior than it was and for this reason did not rate it value for money, as we could have had better meals out for less

    Room excellent, bed super comfy , position excellent, hot tub superb. Swimming pool great. Lovely and quiet location overlooking the sea.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    10
    Fab holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only downfall road works ôutside pool and restaurant but hotel ga e us a gift and discount for next stay so could not of asked for anything g else . Whole place was fabulous .

    Royal level amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    8.8
    Nice stay in the Barceló Castillo Royal Level
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The view from the room was less, we looked at bushes. Next time we will book a room with sea view. There were road works in progress and that made some noise. But that is temporary of course.

    We had a very nice stay in the Barceló Castillo Royal Level. Especially the restaurant was very good: tasty food, al lot of variety, very quiet and a nice view over the sea. Also the room was fine, we had a hot tub and deckchairs on the terrace. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    10
    Can't wait to go back ❤️
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception staff on check out! Well!!! Rude and almost unhelpful. Small male with glasses get to a social skills class, the customer is not the enemy! I was a Royal Level guest & it was such an inconvenience to deal with me, to get a locker & to get a clean towel later in the day etc etc no social skills Reception staff get lessons from the maids & waitresses who go above & beyond to be polite helpful and generally nice!!

    Have stayed before & have recommend to lots of people, from first check in to maids, restaurant staff exceptional! Better than The Sheraton !! And yes I've stayed there as well!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    6.7
    Staff were friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Very remote, couldn't really walk anywhere from the hotel as in the middle of nowhere, but right on the coast so very pretty. Didn't matter to most guests as they were all in wheelchairs or on mobility scooter anyway!

    Staff were friendly and helpful. Great facilities for disabled people, they were everywhere!?&*

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    6.7
    I like the fact the Royal Level restaurant wasn't...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price was too expensive compared to the quality of the room, the restaurant wasn't properly close to the room, I didn't like the fact to walk on the street for reaching the pool, the restaurant and other areas, it looked like belonging to different areas.

    I like the fact the Royal Level restaurant wasn't crowded at any time, so you can enjoy your dinner with a a nice view on the port.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    6.3
    An honest review of the difference in board status at this hotel. Money talks!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at reception were rude and snobby. The all inclusive restaurant was like a workplace canteen and the all inclusive snacks...I wouldn't feed them to my dog!

    We had the interesting experience of staying 2 nights in the week. Once at the royal level (hubbys birthday treat)and one at the basic level(we were skint by end of holiday!) The main thing that we noticed was how different the staff treated us when we were wearing black bands (royal level) to when we were wearing turquoise bands. We were treated very respectfully when on royal level and quite poorly when wearing turquoise. It was a strange experience to be honest. We stayed in a royal level suite on the wed night which had a long room with kitchen, sofa bed and dining tabl as well as a separate shower and separate toilet room. It was a quirky and cool room and very large. As we were on the ground floor we got a hot tub which was private once you put the blind down and honestly a highlight of my holiday. We have an 18 month old so when he went to bed we were able to relax out on the decking area in the hot tub and have a few glasses of bubbles. As it was my hubby's birthday he received a bowl of fruit, and a bottle of cavalry from the hotel which was a nice touch but don't forget to mention this when booking online in order to get a wee treat...wink wink! The restaurant if you are royal level is lovely and over looks the harbour. The waiting staff were fantastic and gave my wee boy lots of attention which he loved. The pool was close by and of good quality and clean and tidy also very close to the beach. We were given towels and told to put them on the floor when we required new ones. Now to tell you about our experience in the self catering basic apartment that we stayed in a few nights later. Firstly, we decided to keep our black bands on that we were given on the wed because we are chancers and thought that we could still use the better facilities. On arrival, both on Wed and sat the staff at reception were slow and down right rude. We were left waiting for 40 mins in the queue both times which is not easy with an impatient 18 month old.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2017

    7.9
    John at the premium pool , did everything to help you enjoy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 11 nights

    The food could be hotter please in the EL Ancla restaurant . I am sure there must be a better way to improve the eating experience . Having said that , all the staff from waiters to chefs are really helpful and friendly .Evening entertainment was not entertaining at all , this was not the fault of the animation team just the high levels of children running around .

    John at the premium pool , did everything to help you enjoy your stay . Location is very nice ,right on the marina. Noray sports bar is good for pre dinner drinks and lunchtime snacks . Good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    8.3
    Nice all inclusive resort but please sort the entertainment and target audience out
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Entertainment at night was entirely based on keeping families with kids happy to the exclusion of anyone else which meant that the only all inclusive bar was out of bounds at night unless you could tolerate watching magic shows and the like with families being dragged on stage. Awful for everyone else.

    Room excellent and all inclusive food good standard

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely suite, great restaurant but twin beds pushed together!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didn't like that we had twin beds pushed together. Not only were they not zip lock beds but they moved apart easily!!

    Restaurant was great, good choice. Lovely deluxe junior suite, loved the terrace with sea views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    7.9
    Okay for a break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Confusing over all inclusive what is and is not as you are always asked for your room number even though we had gold bands. Maids do not restock items used automatically and didnt wash up used cups etc. Very busy at meal times as lots of families with very young kids. Food was not the best ate out most nights

    It was good for a short break with the family. Nice clean tidy hotel with hard working staff.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2017

    10
    Excellent choice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Perhaps they could start some collaboration with tourism agencies in the area, so we could benefit of some trip offers at the reception

    Everything was beyond my expectations, since arrival. I even didn't know I was a premium customer hence my surprise of being checked in with a refreshment drink and walked to my room by the Manager herself. The suite was very spacious, the bed was fantastic. There was a private swimming pool in our area, which was more than perfect. The restaurant was amazing, a wide variety of dishes, great ambiance, impeccable service. All this made my holiday to be the perfect treat.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    9.6
    A Lovely Hotel for Kids and Family
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Premium accommodation was integrated; the Royal Level hotel is really co-mingled with the Barcelo Beach Resort Hotel

    The breakfast and dinner provided to the Premium guests was great. We stayed all inclusive, and the wine included was superb. Likewise at the Al Faro bar premium spirits were included in our package.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    10
    Excellent stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner. I think the hotel should include oriental food as well. But apart from that everything was perfect.

    The hotel room set up and food complimentary given to us

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    9.2
    Worth choosing Royal Level
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a surprisingly lovely hotel. The suite was beyond our expectations! Roomy, very comfortable and easy access to the pool. Very attentive staff, who looked after our needs fantastically. Having a choice of dining locations was a bonus. I recommended Castillo Royal Level to a friend, who has already booked it as a romantic break with his wife. We found it a real treat!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    10
    Beautiful resort. Highly recommended. Staff so helpful and polite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Euh..... can't think of anything!!!

    I was staying at the Premium part. Complimentary fruit basket and mini bar ( cava, water, juice) and chocolate and even more chocolate when evening comes. The buffet restaurant was beautiful. Fresh and always replenished considering I was going for 9pm dinner. Different menu every nights. Breakfast was sooo good. WARM CROISSANT. It does make a difference believe me. Something for everyone. Staff was so polite and attentive. Jose at the pool bar is a gem. I wish I could've stayed longer. I will next time. The hotel contacted me before arrival with plenty notice to inform me that the beach in front of the hotel was under refurbishment. Beautiful hotel and resort. Would recommend strongly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.1
    Spa is quite a walk and the therapist was unresponsive to my...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Spa is quite a walk and the therapist was unresponsive to my request for more pressure. the room was freezing and too much oil was used. one of the worst spa experiences i have had.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    8.3
    Lovely hotel, not so keen on the resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Two single beds pushed together would have preferred a double bed. Caleta de Fuste is a purpose built tourist destination - if you are looking for authentic Spanish food, buildings, ambiance etc this is not the place for you.

    Great room, wonderful terrace, comfy beds. Friendly accommodating staff.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    8.8
    Barcelo club premium was great - excellent for an easy lazy holiday with a young baby
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lunch was served in the wider beach club food hall - quality wasn't nearly as good. Beach owned by the resort was closed which was a shame as with a young baby we wanted more accessibility.

    Croissants were delicious. Freshly squeezed orange and tortilla española were particular favourites. Club premium was excellent - not too crowded and although we were all inclusive it still felt like being in a restaurant as apposed to a food hall!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.1
    GOOD COMPLEX AND GREAT ROOM.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    FIRST ROOM ON GROUND FLOOR HAD LOT OF PEOPLE PASSING CLOSE BY. ALSO ANNOYING CONSTRUCTION WORK ON BEACH OUTSIDE ROOM FOR 12 HOURS A DAY. MOVED TO FIRST FLOOR WHICH WAS MUCH NICER.

    GOOD COMPLEX AND GREAT ROOM. BUFFET FOOD IN ANCLA RESTAURANT VERY GOOD.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    8.8
    Absolutely fantastic place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I think there could have been a little more choice in the premium restaurant. Also the beach next to the hotel wasn't open but that was not the property's fault and there were always plenty of sunbeds round the pool so wasnt really a problem.

    The place was spotless and felt very luxurious and I couldn't recommend it enough. The staff were all so welcoming - it was our 20th wedding anniversary whilst we were out there and the staff set up our table at breakfast with heart chocolates and a bottle of champagne - such a lovely touch.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    The restaurant of the premium
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Unfortunately our room was near to the workings at the beach so we wake up early in the morning by the noice of the trucks

    The restaurant of the premium

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    8.3
    Lovely comfy beds ,great spacious suites ,food in el ancla...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was work being carried out on the beach and the digger was right outside our room from 8 till 6 . The noise level was really high and lots of sand and dust too .We requested both rooms to be moved to the far side but only one room could be moved and not until the following day.

    Lovely comfy beds ,great spacious suites ,food in el ancla restaurant was very good and staff here were lovely . The sea view from the second suite was beautiful. Overall it was so clean and lots of beds around the pool areas. Would def return to this resort.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2017

    9.6
    Warm(ish) January Sun Break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I find it disappointing that you cannot reserve a certain type of room. For example we wanted (and eventually got) a suite with a hot-tub but we were told they were only allocated on arrival. I have never known requests for rooms with such facilities elsewhere not be reserve-able.

    There was a problem with noise from council beachworks one night (all through night). We showed the Premium Receptionist the following morning and we were intermediately offered an alternative suite. I like establishments that have a "can resolve" attitude to problems.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2017

    10
    The premium area swimming pool but sunbeds need some sort of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The suite on ground floor too dark like a cave so we changed to upper floor premium restaurant food needs more choice there was beef burger one night for premium guests not on

    The premium area swimming pool but sunbeds need some sort of cushion

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    7.5
    Barcello club Royale very good!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Junior Suite with Sea View (2 adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    asked for balcony in full sun....in shade after12 noon. room excellent though.

    food excellent. fresh eggs omelettes poached eggs superb. food on hotplates luke warm as were chips, needs to be hot.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    10
    Premium holiday..!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite (3 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee could be improved. Something like take away coffee would be an idea. I would suggest to invest as coffee culture is very strong in the rest of the Europe.

    Location, service and extra touch (chocolates each evening).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2017

    5.4
    Not royal - by a long shot!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Barcelo recently changed the name of this portion of the Puerto Castillo resort to Royal (from Premium). God only knows why. No royals would ever stay in this place. The apartment we had was long and narrow with bizarre yellow and grey stripes on the wallpaper which made the place feel like a corridor. There was a very cheap and nasty black built-in kitchen. The cupboard doors banged off each other. The hood over the hob appeared to be empty. The apartment had very little furniture - no coffee table or comfortable chair, just one sofa. The door handle to the balcony was very dirty. The 'all-inclusive' food in the restaurant across the street was mostly mass produced and quite greasy. A lot of oil was used in the grilling of meat. You had to pay for water to have with your dinner. No coffee machine was available to have a coffee at that time either.

    Swimming pool in the private area is very pleasant.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    10
    Comfort and Convenience and Royal Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was amazing, the selection of food was Top Class. We were spoiled for choice with the selection and quality of the food.The staff were so polite and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    5.0
    Take the good with the bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nappies put in bags out side neighbours door.paid for a sea view was put on ground floor.gave two shirts on Friday to be iorned..got back Tuesday evening day before I was going home.

    Polish staff in resturant beside sports cafe.know their job and food really nice. You need to change menu outside of resturant people can't read or see at night .your loosing a lot of customers as your out side menu is not displayed properly..the girl and guy waitress are an asset to the place..

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Relaxing solo break
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Suite (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed linen felt like silk and it felt like the bed was hugging you so comfy . Every night a lady knocked on the door and gave me a chocolate. Caleta itself is a bit Benidormy but I went to totally relax and be pampered.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    5.8
    OK for a couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The apartment was poorly equipped. The TV did not work. The shelf for the safe box collapsed. The bedroom lights only 1 worked. No hooks for dressing gowns. No waste bin in bedroom. Only 1 luggage rest. No milk on arrival. No safety handle or mat in the shower.

    The view and Ankla buffet restaurant

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    10
    Could not have done more to make us feel special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Just a suggestion that you could make this part an Adult Only part of the resort.

    Could not have asked for more. Booked a premium suite and it was everything and more. From the warm welcome by the premium team we knew we had picked the right place. The suite was lovely with lots of extras that we did not expect, wine ,drinks, water and fruit all included. Wifi, Safe ,pool towels, gowns etc all included. Got a pool and sea view which was not expected. Premium only pool area and restuarant which was a lot quieter than the rest of the resort. All the staff in the restuarant by the marina were superb and the life guard was a star. Everyone we had contact with really went out their way to make you feel special. Many thanks for a great stay.

    Stayed in November 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Barceló Castillo Royal Level traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: