Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa 4 stars

Urbanización Costa Ballena. Avenida Reina Sofía, s/n, 11520 Costa Ballena, Spain

#4 of 9 hotels in Costa Ballena

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 755 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 34

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rennovation of hotel rooms could be of a better quality.

    Rooms have been recently renovated, which is great, although the rennovation could be of a better quality.The TV in the room was huge. Breakfast buffet was excellent, great variety of food. Wifi works perfectly. Housekeeping was doing a good job. Personnel of the hotel was very friendly, which made a really good impression. The garden around the hotel is beautiful. We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food quality was extremely bad, everything was too greasy to dry, plus the breakfast was always the same. So maybe choosing a better produce for food would be a great start. Toilet door in the room was extremely weird didn't provide any privacy feeling. Additionally there is literally nothing to do. Golf requests license which is understandable othen that that there is no other activities available. Furthermore, on the Booking.com we reserved superb room, but when we arrived it was just a normal room, it didn't even have a tea pot we had to ask for it.

    The stuff was extremely friendly and tried to help in any situation which was very nice. Rooms were clean and tidy. Pool was good and the view was really one should see

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The cleaning lady sprayed bug spray in the hall which wafted into the breakfast area.

    Beautiful, clean, great breakfast and super-comfy bed. The shower head was very nice. I liked that there was no carpet in the room and the fridge had room for me to put my own water inside. One of the best breakfasts I've ever had at a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not sure if the A/C was turned off or not but room would not get cold. Had to open up balcony door at night, which was fine except people were smoking everywhere so it could come into the room. Wish there was a bit more of a variety at dinner buffet. Also in the morning, juice/coffee were included to drink, but in the evening there was nothing to drink, so you had to buy whatever you wanted. The drinks were not outrageously expensive just found it weird since you could have juice with your breakfast included.

    Staff were very friendly. Breakfast had a lot of options, never left hungry. The beach is a short walk maybe 8 minutes from the hotel. It was too cold to swim but the pools and pool area looked nice and clean. Room was larger than expected. Had a lovely balcony view of golf course and pool.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only disappointment was that pools were cold, just to have one heated would have been wonderful for an out of season stay.

    Staff were excellent especially Pedro Morera and Isabela Rodriguez. Comfiest hotel bed I have ever slept in and a full size bath for Northern Europeans. Buffet extremely good and varied.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking is not free. You have to pay 10 Euros/day as everywhere in Spain. The coast (plage) is situated at 10 mnts. to walk from the hotel. It was difficult to walk Under the sun with the children. There was noting in the plage (umbrella, shadow, chezlong etc.). so it was very "natural".

    It was very clean. Extras not expansive. The staff is pretty and helpfull. Simply it was a family hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I live in Italy and the Italians have to learn from this place. Truly professional,clean, and great for kids. The games for kids, adults, food. We travel a lot and this was easily one of the best!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Booking requests weren't considered, I requested a double bed both online and in a personal message and the receptionist gave me a twin room. The coffee at the breakfast was too strong and not good at all. The spa area wasn't free of charge. The flowers of the trees in the parking area fell down right on the car and they were sticky and hard to take them off from the car and the shoes.

    The room was very nice, modern and well decorated. The balcony with the golf view was a plus. The bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was good, a large variety of fruit and yoghurts. The swimming pool area was nice with a lovely view and music. The beach is 10 min far away

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other guests were loud at times (kids and Americans), the staff was not as friendly in the restaurant and rude at times (except at the bar, very friendly)

    Great pool, good location, nice breakfast, big comfy bed

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    information on the website was incorrect. the hotel needs to state whether it is in season or not. the spa was not open until after 4pm the pools were not open at all despite it being over 25 degrees and there was no free shuttle bus. also I believe for the money that you pay for the luxury hotel they should provide free transport to and from the airport. Taxis were ridiculously expensive and you could only get a 4 seater taxi which meant I had to get two at double the cost

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Costa Ballena in May was almost empty with almost all restaurants and bars closed, location was very close to Jerez as we came for the Moto GP

    Very good hotel, very friendly reps and very good food. View was beautiful, our stay was amazing. Hotel is quite close to the sea though you cannot see it from the rooms (10 min walking distance). 2 nice pools, SPA facilities and a golf field. Beautiful sunsets to watch from the beach

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A 4 star hotel which is becoming old and already needing some interventions in certain areas.

    Overall conditions were good and excellent offering at breakfast. Great for family and golf players

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym was rubbish opening times same as spa only one treadmill, would benefit gym being open earlier in morning! Lack of information when asked staff. Only found out that the hotel had a games room on the last night no information anywhere in hotel or room regarding this.

    The room was big! Bed very comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room had a view to the golf course, which was great, but just under our balcony we had the children's pool and it was very noisy during the day -we couldn't have a siesta!

    This hotel is located just opposite a golf course and a short walk away from an amazing beach. Staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast was fantastic. The room was huge and lovely decorated. Facilities are great though we didn't make use of the spa. We will come back!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It seems to be a popular spot for US service personnel to take a break ( when they're stationed locally in Rota), but they were mostly very well behaved.

    Very comfortable bed. Gym good & spa very nice. Breakfast choice very good.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food at buffet cold

    Easy to find

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Triple Room with Terrace (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about

    Everything

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Park is nice,tasty air,silent atmosphere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extras in the room could have been better: minibar, bath robe, complimentary water, etc.

    The breakfast was yum!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great

    Rooms are quite big, as well as the beds. The spa is awesome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    More choices of food or restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Evening buffet meal really bad, not worth the money

    Very clean, welcoming staff, excellent spa

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice location, swimming pool, spa, golf and beach not far away. Good place for relax.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    There was nothing not to like it was fantastic

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred a king instead of 2 twin beds pushed together

    Excellent variety of high quality food for dinner and breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from my room over looking the pool, golf course and ocean.

    This was an amazing resort to stay at for a relaxing vacation.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were very slow.

    Spacious rooms, lovely pool, beautiful beach and food not bad.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Triple Room with Terrace(3 Adults)
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was only warm or cold.

    Helpful staff

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The food was fairly average and the poor barman (Manuel who was lovely) was over run and had no help (that was in April when the hotel wasn't full). The design of the hotel means you rarely walk through reception so you do lose some of the feeling of belonging you get when you say good morning and chat with the staff regularly. 10 Euro's a day for parking is ridiculous as everyone parks on the street for free. It does scream of a hotel that's selling their rooms too cheap and they need to make some money elsewhere. Deposits required for Beach towels was a bit of a shock too.

    If you like peace and quiet the beach is amazing, we walked for miles and only saw a few people (it was April so it may get busier). The rooms were comfortable but not luxurious. The food was acceptable but not special. Overall this hotel doesn't scream at you to return but it is a great base for a cheap break away if you want to explore a beautiful part of the world. We visited the sister hotel in Jerez and it was much nicer but this hotel is perfectly acceptable. We should say that the hotel worked well for us and we had a great holiday exploring the restaurants and sights.

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The well looked after garden could not make up for the boaring environment and countryside...the area of Marbella is much more interesting. The beach was not on walking distance (for us). The hotel is very far from the airport, road indications terrible, even with a navigation system it was difficult to find your way! Did not like the silly policy of "no take-away" for lunch or so. So much is probably thrown away ?! Even our small prepared sandwiches were taken off us in a very childish way. It is difficult to understand for us adults, however I expect that they have had bad experiences with big groups of younger people taking away big amounts for pick- nick purposes!

    The excellent golf academy facilities and organization there. I enjoyed the Spa with all its possibilities. No complaints about the room (including bath!) and a good bed.Lovely balconies on the afternoon sun side! Very spacy lay-out, not on top of a next door flat or building with a beautiful view on the golf course. Nice variety on food and meals, drinks were not too expensive, wines were a good choice for the price payed.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Way too many kids running around unsupervised yelling and screaming. No peace and quiet to be found; not even in your room.

    The place was clean and the food was very good.

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    none

    we enjoyed our stay at Barceló Costa Ballena, the staff were very friendly and the hotel offered great facilities. it was not overcrowded and it had that is needed: fast complimentary broadband, great food, great rooms with the views of the sea, clean pools, kids playground. Our stay was extremely pleasant and we will be definitely back again.

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bed was just two smaller beds pushed together. Also, I would have liked it if the air conditioning controls were a little easier to operate.

    The staff, food and room were all outstanding.

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Buffet meal battle, quality of the food. I will avoid such large 'factory' hotels in the future.

    Location, Room.

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 34

Guests also reviewed these properties: