Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Hamilton Menorca Adults Only 4 stars

Paseo de Santa Agueda, 6, 07720 Es Castell, Spain

#2 of 5 hotels in Es Castell

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 552 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    Absolutely beyond fantastic!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is my fourth visit to this exact hotel and every time I’m kore than happy with my trip. The location is great, the breakfast is fab, the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful and have been the same since I first went in 2014 which says a lot about the hotel itself. I could not recommend this place highly enough for a couples break or a girls weekend !!!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    6.3
    Overrated
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff at reception ok, but not as friendly as the cleaning staff and waiters. Two separate beds instead of king size, beds are uncomfortable and by far too hard. The mini bar was out of order and empty, the bathroom door handles fell off and the towel holder was half broken and loose. A 5 € charge for using the room safe is just ridiculous. On top of that one has to lose time walking back to the reception to get a key for the safe.

    Excellent breakfast, nice waiters at breakfast and nice cleaning personell. Very clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    6.7
    Nice Hotel, Odd Policy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived we were told that we had to pay the deposit again and that they would refund the original payment because of data protection. We refused and a manager then explained to us that because of fraud this was the hotel policy and then asked us to sign a disclaimer with our full credit card details printed out. I held off and spoke to booking.com and they confirmed this is not the policy they have set. Each time we spoke to reception (to book taxis) we were asked to sign the printed agreement, on checkout we agreed to sign only if the card details were removed. A very odd policy which left a bad taste.

    The breakfast is very good, with a large selection available

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.9
    Location,buffet breakfast,staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On check in had deposit cancelled for no good reason,refunded at a loss of £8 due card fees,charged full fee which after exchange rates plus3%card charge came to £50..00 more than original booking quote!!!☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️☹️Not amused!! At check in issued with hotel leaflet stating no food or drinks from outside allowed in hotel,if this had been stated in the booking details I would not had stayed at this hotel.part of any holiday is to enjoy a cold glass on ones balcony with a olive or 2 watching the world go by.

    Location,buffet breakfast,staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.6
    Would highly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom configuration

    Good location with parking. Excellent breakfast. Friendly staff. Great rooftop bar. Super terraces of room. Only disadvantage was not having proper ensuite bathroom. Did not like having sink in room, glass screen for shower, and sliding door for loo! Otherwise highly recommended.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    5.8
    Enjoyed my stay but these minor things must be addressed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taking cups away to charge 2 uros for tea bags (pathetic) Body hairs left in shower.Charging 3 uros to clean towels. Running out of cups and cereal bowls and bacon in restaurant. Because of shortage of staff (their workload was far too high) Not being to buy a coffee on roof terrace in evening. Reception very slow and not recognising position in the queue.

    Location very good

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    3.3
    The staff was helpful regarding the several issues...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived to a room which was smelling like cigarettes (in a fully non-smoking hotel), with run-down furniture and a sticky wall on the head of the bed (with other people’s hair sticked to it). To solve the issue they changed us to another room the following day, but the room kept smelling like cigarettes and the wall was also sticky (...). In addition, the rooms are not soundproof and we could hear all that was going on in the bar on the 5th floor from our room in the 4th floor. For a hotel belonging to the chain Barceló we were expecting a higher standard.

    The staff was helpful regarding the several issues encountered with the room.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    6.7
    I am an interior architect, I stay in a lot of boutique hotels and this was very average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The service generally was very average for the price per room. For example, no one in the dining room/restaurant asked us if we wanted anything or showed us around on the first day. At the pool (which is in the shade a lot of the time) no one asked us if we wanted a drink. No one asked if we needed help with bags to our rooms - no one went that extra mile. It was all very average. The décor could do with some bright coloured cushions, artwork & accessories to brighten it up, all very bland.

    The rooftop area was great for sunbathing and chilling as it had a fabulous view over the harbour but service was poor. The breakfast was really good with a large selection to suit everyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    8.8
    Greaty hotel with stupid corporate policies. Charge for things that should be free.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Excellent hotel BUT 1) they cancelled my deposit on arrival, refunded it, then charged for the full stay. This is apparently a brand policy due to fraud, but I had three different explanations depending on which staff member was asked. Because of fees and Euro exchange rate, this could mean folks paying from a UK account could lose money. 2) The web clearly stated 'In room safe' yet despite paying Euro 250 per night for a superior room, they charged Euro6 per night to use the in room safe. Shoddy practise I would not expect from a very cheap hotel. Plus a Euro 30 deposit - I asked why...can you take the safe out and lose it??!! Ridiculous. 3) I ran out of the in-room instant coffee sachets, and they weren't replaced when the room was cleaned, so I popped down to reception to be told - "Oh, its only free for the first day". Seriously? - they probably cost 5 cents each?

    Fantastic staff and facilities. Ultra clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great location, terrific view of the harbour, very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piped Muzak by the pool, including an intrusive drum beat. There is no good reason to play music everywhere. Silence is golden!

    Great location, terrific view of the harbour, very comfortable, very good breakfasts, excellent staff - a good hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    9.2
    Great value for money, great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advertised as a beach club but not at all what we expected in terms of ambience

    Super clean and has all the facilities you need. great location. Close drive to the town centre cuitudella is about a 15 minute drive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    9.6
    Romantic and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough parking space nearby We wanted king size bed but got double bed

    Friendly and helpfull staff Rooftop jacuzzi with beautyfull view Breakfast was faboulous Wi-fi coverage

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    7.9
    Overall a great stay & would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn't like all the extra charges for towels for the pool area (maybe block off money on a credit card instead until they're returned) / safety deposit box - safety shouldn't cost guests extra.. The pool area was tiny & hairdryer was terrible. The overall cost of the hotel seemed quite high but that seems to be just the cost on the island

    Rooftop bar is amazing, absolutely beautiful place to watch sunset, great location if you're not a beach person. Loved that it was adults only. Nicholas the hotel entertainment manager was lovely, friendly & really hard working

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, rooftop lounge/ bar with jacuzzis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poorly equipped gym, kettle in room but only one complimentary coffee for the whole week, after that you have to pay for each additional coffee in your room.

    Excellent location, rooftop lounge/ bar with jacuzzis

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area was very small considering that there are no beaches in the area & the pool bar only had 6 tables. Not enough at lunchtime!

    Friendly staff,good breakfast, room & view excellent. Good position in Es Castell & only a short walk for waterfront dining in Cala Fonts. It’s also possible to walk to Mahon from this hotel in about 30 mins.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    6.7
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay extra for tea & coffee in the room. Having to pay extra for room safe. Having to hire pool towels. Room layout means almost open plan wc and wash basin. Very little privacy in the toilet. Would not recommend or visit again.

    Very clean. Excellent bar and restaurant. Easy access to the harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a sea view room and our view was of the car park with the smallest view of the sea if you stood on the balcony and looked to the far right.

    The cleanliness of the hotel and a very good breakfast. Love the sky bar too. Best feature of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    4.2
    Overall disappointing. Everything from staff to the detail were underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything except the bed. 20euro deposit for beach towel. Long wait for food and even then the order was wrong. No manager on duty of an evening. Had to pour our own welcome drinks. Room wasn't ready and left waiting. Front door locked in the evening and no one at reception to let us in. General lack of staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Great rooftop pool and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived they had not got our requests for late check out and then we had to ask and call back over 3 times to try and get an answer. We also got to our room and it was twin when we had asked for double

    The rooftop pools and location, staff were also very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2018

    8.8
    Everything we wanted from a week in the sun and more, couldn't recommend this hotel more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only criticism would be the aircon in our room was temperamental and the pillows could be better (suffer from a sore neck ;) Charging for safe use is a first i must admit, and more available mineral water for all guests (although we had daily deliveries :))

    Staff made us feel very special with Nitto announcing us VIP's of the day, offering Cava on arrival, a special treat in our room (more bubbles), and also breakfast in bed (/balcony)on our first morning. Buffet breakfast was a smashing success. The hotel wasn't too busy which made us feel more relaxed without rushing to the sunbeds (which i must add were lovely, especially the rooftop sunbeds with accompanying jacuzzis :). Made good use of the Gym which although small and could use more equipment was all we needed. Cocktails were well priced and delicious. Overall a smashing stay! Location next to the small port was beautiful and very nice atmosphere with delicious food to boot. Special mention for sa cala for wonderful service and the pizzeria for the best tortellini i've had!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Perfect spot for a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks on the rooftop are ridiculously expensive. I appreciate it's a higher spec hotel but to pay such an extortionate amount for a local gin is unfair to customers. The silly thing about it is that if they reduced the price you'd spend more money!

    I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It's one of my favourite places. It's perfect for a peaceful adults only holiday. The hotel is immaculate. The harbour of Es Castell is beautiful and the restaurants are amazing. We only stayed b&b as we enjoy eating out but the breakfast was fantastic. The absolute highlight of this hotel is the rooftop where you can laze by a Jacuzzi and watch the world go by. It's not my first visit and it certainly won't be my last.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    7.5
    Stunning rooftop, clean hotel, good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel entertainment on the Saturday night was a little outdated, a bit wedding-band-esque, however it appealed to a guest population of mostly 70 year olds. There was no light in the shower so that was a little dim but not terrible. There didn't seem to be an abundance of shops in the area so don't expect lots of sea-front entertainment, but it was perfect for a one night stay before I went to the beach (Cala Galdana).

    Staff were helpful with directions to local Mahon, the welcome drink while I waited for my room to be ready was wonderful on the roof - which is excellent. Tranquil and not overrun with people, 6 lovely hot tubs and lots of sunbathing space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.5
    A beautiful location with a stunning sea view and a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I felt that although the staff were polite, the level of service and friendliness, and the room amenities did not correspond to the amount charged, and guests obviously pay more because of the location.

    A beautiful location with a stunning sea view and a lovely rooftop area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Catering, cleanliness, roof bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extra fee for daily bottled water, extra fee for in room safety deposit box, scooter rental more expensive than others.

    Catering, cleanliness, roof bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    8.3
    Lovely romantic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    After 12 am room service was closed and we couldn't buy any water for the room, very inconvenient having to go out and find somewhere to buy a bottle of water at that time!

    Great location, amazing breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    8.8
    This was a clean and comfortable hotel with a very decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was a little cold, and so were the rooftop jacuzzis.

    This was a clean and comfortable hotel with a very decent breakfast. I was staying here with a group of friends for a wedding and it was absolutely fine for what we needed. The usual customers seemed a little older, usually post-retirement age, but it was very easy to meet and make friends with other holidaygoers. There are plenty of decent restaurants and bars within 5 minutes' walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    6.7
    Good location, great roof-top terrace, poor service and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service leaves a lot to be desired for. Very poor food quality. Room dirty and smelt of damp. Superior room is small and the bathroom is open in your bedroom hence the damp, bad smell and a mess.

    Great roof-top terrace. Good location in Es Castell.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous location but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Aircon in rooms useless,food a bit hit and miss for quality,you had to pay to use the sauna! Kids play park right next to my balcony

    Fabulous location,large clean modern rooms with amazing views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    8.3
    We have stayed here many times before and have always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Upon our arrival we were given a very tiered room with very shabby furniture and a disabled shower room, once we complained we were moved what worries me is do disabled clients always get a substandard room

    We have stayed here many times before and have always enjoyed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    6.7
    No more than adequate. Breakfasts good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only given 2 teabags and 2 milks for 5 day stay .How mean can you,get? No seaview from our room. Nowadays it seems rather unnecessary to have clean towels everyday. Wasteful!

    Location .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    5.4
    It’s location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet flush didn’t work . However they did mend it but not straight away so we had to use a kettle to flush . There weren’t enough staff on reception so it took along time to check in and out .

    It’s location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The double bed was comfortable but is where 2 separate beds put together which created a gap between them when sleeping.

    The property is clean, great location. Close to a beautiful little bay with some restaurants. We walked from the hotel to Mahon and it was a great walk. The views from the hotel are great, perfect for people who want to enjoy menorca in peace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    8.8
    Excellent short break, recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closed after midnight. Pool bar on the terrace closed at that time. Indor swimming pool has too cold water.

    Big, clean rooms. Excellent breakfast with good variety of food and drink. Excellent terrace with a great view. Kind staff. Recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    8.3
    Overall - Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Without trying to sound like a very old man the bed was to hard which made it difficult to sleep for both myself and my partner. The rooms even with the aircon were to warm considering it was the end of October

    The staff were really nice. The location and the views of the sky bar were amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    4.6
    Looked good but didn't live up to expectations. Can see some complacency has set in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stingy with everything. E.g. Not topping up water in room, making you pay an extra €8 per person to use the sauna and steam room, not cleaning the room properly each day, and not letting us refill our bottles on leave day from the water cooler (can only use if in the gym?!). The breakfast was poor and the fruit we tried on several occasions and different days was gone off. The welcome was non-existent. We were abruptly asked "checking in" after waiting several minutes for the two receptionists to finish with some paperwork. This was at 11pm after our delayed flight. They also decided we had to pay tourist tax (hidden) there and then. We asked if it could wait but it apparently couldn't. Our duvet cover had several stains on it. We crashed on first night and didn't notice until next morning which was upsetting.

    The view from our sea view room. Watching the boats go by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2017

    6.7
    Our visit was for a birthday party. We all had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were not laid out very well, we were on the outside of the building, there was a lot of vehicular noise and because of the tiled floor and glass in the room, everything had huge resonance! This followed through the whole building, bars, restaurant and pool areas.

    The service staff at meal times were excellent, as was housekeeping. Breakfast was varied and good. Overall we found the hotel in a great location and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    9.2
    Loved the hotel and everything about it apart the aircon not working and nothing being done!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air con did not work and therefore the room was very stuffy!

    The location was perfect and the hotel was very clean and a pleasure to be in! Especially the roof top bar and facilities! The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    7.9
    Not up to 4* expectations, noisy dining room. Mean with provisions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of response to comments to the customer service manager and reception. Given the 4* rating and provision of tea making facilities I was disappointed to be denied a further teabag on day 3 because 'it wasn't included' Our cups had been replaced and there was still enough sugar sachets for several weeks - we don't take sugar! Old hotel which has been revamped. See attached photo for a view of our room from the street - very different to the rooms at the front - thankfully the road wasn't noisy.

    Staff in restaurant trying very hard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant enough but some issues need to be looked at by management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom/wardrobe arrangements are what you would expect in a caravan (small).Toiket facilities somewhat exposed--make sure you go to the hotel with someone you know well! .Room pretty much dominated by the bed.Nowhere to put cases. Had to go and get a key for the room safe,and pay a deposit.Same for a pool towel.Memo to management--at an `international`these should be automatic.It results in a lot of unnecessary paperwork which ties up reception.Room balcony is nice but gets no sun at all for whole of the day.Gym is OK but no water and no towels.Two treadmills,two bikes but cross country skier not working. Hotel is a walk and a bus ride from Mahon itself. Odd notices about not bringing food and drink in to `preserve quality`.Come on--we know it`s so you can charge hotel prices for drinks and snacks!

    Good food.Nice view of the harbour from the balcony.Pleasant staff.Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was in an excellent position for Es Castell and Mahon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The piped music in the bar area was unnecessary. We were very disappointed and did not understand why coffee sachets and tea bags were only provided on the day of arrival and were not available after this although a kettle was provided throughout our stay.

    The food both at breakfast and in the evening was excellent. The Events Manager was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    10
    Clean, compfy and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had a cold day it would have been nice if the doors were closed to the top pool to have kept it warm.

    Just generally a beautifully clean hotel in a gorgeous location. Also had a free room upgrade which was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff and a stunning view from the rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't much in the way of shops. I had to go to a pretty grim bar just to buy cigarettes

    The small fishing port round the corner from the hotel was beautiful and had lovely restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    10
    Perfect adult only hotel only 15 minutes from the airport and such a short plane trip. Ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful comfy bed & bedrooms. Fabulous location and views. Wonderfully helpful staff and the fact it was adults only really sealed the deal! Will be back as soon as we can!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    6.7
    The stay was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff are not very helpful and seem annoyed when they are serving food etc. Also some receptionists are not very welcoming and for the hotel price much more is expected. Charging 20€ to "rent" a towel is quite unexpected and unusual for that type of hotels. Additionally having to pay to change the beach towel if it's dirty, is unbelievable. None of the hotels I've stayed at have required this payment. The room service is really slow.

    The hotel had a good infrastructure, the breakfast was really good. The jacuzzi area was nice also Some of the staff members are very helpful at reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2017

    8.3
    Great holiday in Menorca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Even if we arrived at around 3-4 pm the room was not ready yet.

    Breakfast and dinner were very good with a lot of food variation. Rooms were perfectly cleaned every day. I must admit I was impressed that the staff put some cake and prosecco in our room, because of my birthday. Location is great near to the harbor area with a lot of places where to eat and hang out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    6.7
    Roof Terrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very expensive for what it was Had to pay deposits for everything extra inc towels, safe hire Hotel seemed tired in a number of places Pool area was entirely enclosed and felt very built up

    Roof Terrance Good wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We found the score to be thoroughly irreflective of the quality of property. Beyond the pompous new furniture in the lobby, the hotel looked and felt like a rushed undistinguished upgrade of an older structure (the downstairs bathroom fittings and stairway case railings were rusty, the balconies of the rooms needed a do-up). The pool (or to be fair, pools) were tiny compared to number of the guests the hotel could accommodate. Zooming to our room, the segmented bathroom was incredibly inconvenient and poorly finished, with the toilet-washspace separating glass a few cms ajar and providing little privacy from the rest of the room. The multipurpose washing / toiletries / coffee serving board was infested with small ants. Generally, we were not impressed with the cleanliness of the room, sheets etc. Although we provided a credit card as the usual general guarantee, the hotel asked for a separate cash/debit EUR20 deposit/pool towel, which we found slightly strange for the 4 star rating...The free parking in front of the hotel is actually a public parking space and easily fills up (the hotel actually charges EUR12 for their own parking).

    The room itself was quite modernly decorated and well lit. We really appreciated the variety of food and fruit for breakfast. The location of the hotel was nice, with views directly onto the sea and great restaurants in El Castell literally within a minute away. (El Castell itself is however not as lively as some other areas of the island).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    7.9
    Worth a stay, nice for couples and lots of restaurants nearby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were really small, the smallest I have had in a 4* Hotel. Also, the sink was in the room and there was a separate shower cubicle and toilet. As two friends we found that we didn't have much privacy to get changed etc as there wasn't an actual 'bathroom'.

    My friend and I loved the rooftop pool and bar area, view is lovely and it is very relaxing! Also the breakfast was really delicious, I have stayed in several hotels in Menorca and this was the best breakfast I have had! Really close to lots of restaurants. Not near to a beach but we knew this in advance, although we got a cab to the nearest beach, which if I remember correctly was less than 20 Euros! Also we got the bus to a variety of different beaches from Mahon! Overall a nice stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2017

    9.6
    Great for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet in the room was behind a sliding door so not that sound proof. You have to hire pool towels, but the deposit is refundable. You can't get food between 5-7pm so bear in mind if you are leaving before dinner. The pool area is in a courtyard, so the sun is limited there. The rooftop bar/hot tub area is completely exposed so no shade. If you were staying for longer than a few days you might get bored with the food choices, but it's no different to any other large hotel.

    Good solid chain hotel offering holiday style accommodation. 2 smallish pool areas so not over crowded. Modern rooms that are spotlessly clean. Nice food and a very good bar offering, not extortionately priced. Booked an extended checkout so we could hold onto the room until 4 - this cost €30. Lovely views from the rooftop bar, but it can be windy up there. The harbour is a short walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing place for chilled-out holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Jacuzzis were luke warm - it would have been nice to have had different temperatures; Most jacuzzis were not actually bubbly; Coffee in poolside bar is Nespresso (which often isn't hot enough)

    Super relaxing place if you want a chilled-out lazy holiday, swimming, reading, sunbathing. Nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Excellent selection of imaginative gin and tonics. Good food, including excellent club sandwiches. Nice spa area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    9.6
    Best place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The best part of the hotel si the rooftop terrace, where you can sip on your cocktail while in the jaccuzi overlooking the sea. The romos are modern, clean and comfortable. The staff are súper nice and helpful. Amazing breakfast with high quality products.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    9.6
    The view over the port was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view over the port was lovely. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The food was diverse and fresh. The atmosphere around the pool was pleasant. This hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Leaving deposit for towels/safe. Bit understaffed and waiting ages for taxis (not hotels fault)

    Vicinity to good restaurants and nice marina/port area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Penny pinching
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Towel deposit and extra to launder No coffee and tea replacement. Absolutely rediculous when paying just under £300 per night

    Breakfast selection was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    7.1
    Pro and cons, let's have a look.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. Worst of worst, the toilet! The door of toilet is just a glass door. You can basically listen everything what's happening inside of toilet. Please do not go there, if you take care of it. 2. I said the buffet dinner option was alright. But also it doesn't mean that I would go back to Barcelo again. I'd rather pay more for local food and restaurant. Few times they used same food from the other night, like quinoa. I understand that they don't want to throw away the leftovers. But it's very hot summer. Of course, veggies were already gone. Smelled bad, tasted bad. Except leftovers, food were pretty ok. 3. Location! Though the view from the room was really fantastic. Menorca is really small island. So even if you stay in the Mahon, you can enjoy everywhere if you rent a car.(takes one hour to cross the island) But don't stay in Mahon if you plan to go beautiful beaches like the famous are ones around Ciutadella. Because it still takes an hour by car to go those beaches. Around 8:30AM already every parking places were super full. 4. Loud music from the roof top bar until the bar closed. Why do you play such a loud music in this kind of relaxing area? If you are sensitive about noise, I don't recommend the higher floors.

    Pro : 1. fantastic view! It's pretty reasonable price for this wonderful view, if you just care about view! 2. And cleaning staff were really nice, hard workers. We stayed in Barcelo for a week. The room condition after their cleaning was like a new room all the time. 3. Buffet was alright. Since our trip was honeymoon, we didn't really want to do real trip. Just wanted to relax and chill. Buffet dinner included option was good choice for our travel style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    8.8
    Loved the location of the hotel and the sky bar was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were quite rude and sometimes quite unhelpful

    Loved the location of the hotel and the sky bar was incredible! Breakfast was great and had brilliant options Our Room was lovely, and bed was very comfy Even though we didn't have a sea view room still was lovely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    9.6
    5th floor open bar is a must :))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Main bar in hall not Verry good entertainment on the Thursday nite quiz thumbs down on that one no atmosphere in bar so headed of for a walk along the harbour Amazing !!!!!!!!hotel was a good choice we made just for a relaxing couple of days so thank you

    Breakfast soooo much choice was over welling :)) 5th floor top open bar greatttt views jaquzzi amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location clean modern hotel, but hotel needs to make some changes regarding service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to pay €20 for pool towel, and €3 Euro each time for a clean one, no tea and coffee sachets in the room after the first day, when asked for replacement coffee I was told ...no.....service round the pool appalling waiting an hour for 2 coffees twice!! Roof top area, lovely but not once in all the time we were there were our dirty glasses from drinks ordered collected. NO shade/ umberellas on the roof top area, you had to pay €20 for the Balinese beds. Also the food could be cold at times. Staff not very helpful I have stayed in many of the Barcelona hotels and at 4* you would expect all of the above to be included.

    The location was excellent, the hotel was very modern and clean, rooms lovely but a little small, excellent shower, towels and bed linen....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    6.7
    Underwhelming, 3* Hotel but with a great rooftop bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast has a large selection but it poor quality. The hotel is understaffed, therefore long waiting times at reception. They charge extra deposits for everything, such as pool towels. For the price of the hotel, it does not come close to delivering a 5* service. More to do with the Barcelo's trying to cut costs everywhere other than the staff. The staff are good. But there are none around!

    The rooftop bar was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.6
    Barceptional .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Piped pool side music was intermittent which was irritating due a 'buffering' issue with internet connection.

    The facilities were very good and the staff were very accommodating and great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    7.5
    Great location friendly staff BUT NO AIRCONDITIONING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very hot stuffy rooms with NO AIRCONDITIONING !!!!!!??????

    Easy access to other villages and connecting roads.walks to amazing fishing villages close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    10
    Beautiful breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool is very small. No share on outdoor seating at breakfast. No umbrellas on roof top sunbathing terrace

    Beautiful breakfasts. Good quality rooms. Pleasant staff. Fantastic views. Easy access to restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Great breakfast . Didn't stay all inclusive so can't comment on that. Staff very friendly. Only thing is the air con in the room and communal wasn't cool enough

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2017

    7.1
    Great view from the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    So called "design hotels" usually sacrifice comfort for design, and this was no exception. Unisolated bath and WC can hardly be tolerated. If you need a seaside beach, choose something else, unless you don't mind driving every day to Punta Prima (some 10 km away).

    Great view from the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    9.2
    A luxury treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A lot of cost of extras for safe towels etc and Bali beds at 20 Euros a day!

    Extra comfy bed. Sophisticated decor. Great breakfast. Rooftop jacuzzis a must.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    7.9
    Modern, clean hotel with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough staff, they all worked very hard, makes me feel guilty on holiday. There was no concierge, so reception dealt with everything, this often meant waiting patiently as often only 1 receptionist on duty. . No privacy in the bathroom. Did not like having to pay to use the safe in room so did not use it Food fair and expensive. It would have been nice to have the pool an sunbathing area overlooking the sea. Roof area pleasant but only jacuzzis there.

    The staff amazing and very friendly. Very good treatments in Wellness spa. Hotel modern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2017

    10
    So relaxing thank you for a perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Out side dining was so hot shade needs to be addressed.

    Roof top terrace amazing views breathtaking ...room very trendy excellent shower..dinning so much choice..staff wonderful..🌞😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no decent beaches in a walking distance from the hotel - you will need to rent a car. However, you can rent it at the hotel, which is practical. The outdoor pool is not sunny, so we never used it. The restaurant was a little understaffed.

    Clean and comfortable bedrooms. The breakfast and dinners were great. The location is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    The best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mix up with rooms

    Paid for superior room but were not impressed with first room offered. Then moved to larger room but no sea view. Finally after requesting refund were given the room we booked and paid for. This room was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 June 2017

    9.2
    A long weekend in a fabulous luxury boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They could do with stronger aircon in the gym and also when they open the toof bar of an evening should switch to glass rather than plastic. Apart from that... and I am being picky a fabulous stay!

    Fantastic breakfast and really friendly staff. Spa treatments also very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    6.7
    Good value adults only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pools are rather over-rated, situated in shady inner courtyard. Hotel mostly used by package tour companies. No good if you want a beach of any sort.

    Hotel overlooks the water and is situated in urban area. Parking can be a bit difficult. Very pleasant cafe/restaurant area around the harbour to walk to. Breakfast is good quality and variety. If you get a harbour-fronting room the views are great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast and a wonderful view across the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast and a wonderful view across the water. Very interesting to watch all the boats and cruise ships coming and going. A good selection of bars and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is very nice with an amazing bar in the top of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No transport service from the hotel. Very complicate to visit some part of the island. The hotel should propose this kind of service regarding his location.

    The hotel is very nice with an amazing bar in the top of it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds were too firm for our taste Would have liked fresh coffee for breakfast rather than coffee out of a machine

    Breakfast food was excellent Hotel pool and sunbathing facilities were excellent Location perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    10
    Great location for an excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing during our 2 night stay

    Lovely comfortable bed. Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide range of choice. Hotel was clean and quiet and our room had a fantastic sea view!

    Stayed in June 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Barceló Hamilton Menorca Adults Only traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: