Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Barceló Hamilton Menorca Adults Only This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Paseo de Santa Agueda, 6, 07720 Es Castell, Spain

#2 of 5 hotels in Es Castell

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 553 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.4

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2018

    7.9
    Overall a great stay & would go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Didn't like all the extra charges for towels for the pool area (maybe block off money on a credit card instead until they're returned) / safety deposit box - safety shouldn't cost guests extra.. The pool area was tiny & hairdryer was terrible. The overall cost of the hotel seemed quite high but that seems to be just the cost on the island

    Rooftop bar is amazing, absolutely beautiful place to watch sunset, great location if you're not a beach person. Loved that it was adults only. Nicholas the hotel entertainment manager was lovely, friendly & really hard working

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location, rooftop lounge/ bar with jacuzzis
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Poorly equipped gym, kettle in room but only one complimentary coffee for the whole week, after that you have to pay for each additional coffee in your room.

    Excellent location, rooftop lounge/ bar with jacuzzis

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing stay in lovely surroundings
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pool area was very small considering that there are no beaches in the area & the pool bar only had 6 tables. Not enough at lunchtime!

    Friendly staff,good breakfast, room & view excellent. Good position in Es Castell & only a short walk for waterfront dining in Cala Fonts. It’s also possible to walk to Mahon from this hotel in about 30 mins.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    6.7
    Very clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to pay extra for tea & coffee in the room. Having to pay extra for room safe. Having to hire pool towels. Room layout means almost open plan wc and wash basin. Very little privacy in the toilet. Would not recommend or visit again.

    Very clean. Excellent bar and restaurant. Easy access to the harbour.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 5, 2018

    7.9
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked a sea view room and our view was of the car park with the smallest view of the sea if you stood on the balcony and looked to the far right.

    The cleanliness of the hotel and a very good breakfast. Love the sky bar too. Best feature of the hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2018

    4.2
    Overall disappointing. Everything from staff to the detail were underwhelming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything except the bed. 20euro deposit for beach towel. Long wait for food and even then the order was wrong. No manager on duty of an evening. Had to pour our own welcome drinks. Room wasn't ready and left waiting. Front door locked in the evening and no one at reception to let us in. General lack of staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    7.9
    Great rooftop pool and lovely staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When we arrived they had not got our requests for late check out and then we had to ask and call back over 3 times to try and get an answer. We also got to our room and it was twin when we had asked for double

    The rooftop pools and location, staff were also very nice

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 26, 2018

    8.8
    Everything we wanted from a week in the sun and more, couldn't recommend this hotel more!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only criticism would be the aircon in our room was temperamental and the pillows could be better (suffer from a sore neck ;) Charging for safe use is a first i must admit, and more available mineral water for all guests (although we had daily deliveries :))

    Staff made us feel very special with Nitto announcing us VIP's of the day, offering Cava on arrival, a special treat in our room (more bubbles), and also breakfast in bed (/balcony)on our first morning. Buffet breakfast was a smashing success. The hotel wasn't too busy which made us feel more relaxed without rushing to the sunbeds (which i must add were lovely, especially the rooftop sunbeds with accompanying jacuzzis :). Made good use of the Gym which although small and could use more equipment was all we needed. Cocktails were well priced and delicious. Overall a smashing stay! Location next to the small port was beautiful and very nice atmosphere with delicious food to boot. Special mention for sa cala for wonderful service and the pizzeria for the best tortellini i've had!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 19, 2018

    9.6
    Perfect spot for a relaxing holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The drinks on the rooftop are ridiculously expensive. I appreciate it's a higher spec hotel but to pay such an extortionate amount for a local gin is unfair to customers. The silly thing about it is that if they reduced the price you'd spend more money!

    I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. It's one of my favourite places. It's perfect for a peaceful adults only holiday. The hotel is immaculate. The harbour of Es Castell is beautiful and the restaurants are amazing. We only stayed b&b as we enjoy eating out but the breakfast was fantastic. The absolute highlight of this hotel is the rooftop where you can laze by a Jacuzzi and watch the world go by. It's not my first visit and it certainly won't be my last.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2018

    7.5
    Stunning rooftop, clean hotel, good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel entertainment on the Saturday night was a little outdated, a bit wedding-band-esque, however it appealed to a guest population of mostly 70 year olds. There was no light in the shower so that was a little dim but not terrible. There didn't seem to be an abundance of shops in the area so don't expect lots of sea-front entertainment, but it was perfect for a one night stay before I went to the beach (Cala Galdana).

    Staff were helpful with directions to local Mahon, the welcome drink while I waited for my room to be ready was wonderful on the roof - which is excellent. Tranquil and not overrun with people, 6 lovely hot tubs and lots of sunbathing space.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.5
    A beautiful location with a stunning sea view and a lovely...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I felt that although the staff were polite, the level of service and friendliness, and the room amenities did not correspond to the amount charged, and guests obviously pay more because of the location.

    A beautiful location with a stunning sea view and a lovely rooftop area.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 12, 2018

    7.5
    Catering, cleanliness, roof bar
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extra fee for daily bottled water, extra fee for in room safety deposit box, scooter rental more expensive than others.

    Catering, cleanliness, roof bar

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2018

    8.3
    Lovely romantic break
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After 12 am room service was closed and we couldn't buy any water for the room, very inconvenient having to go out and find somewhere to buy a bottle of water at that time!

    Great location, amazing breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 6, 2018

    8.8
    This was a clean and comfortable hotel with a very decent...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The pool was a little cold, and so were the rooftop jacuzzis.

    This was a clean and comfortable hotel with a very decent breakfast. I was staying here with a group of friends for a wedding and it was absolutely fine for what we needed. The usual customers seemed a little older, usually post-retirement age, but it was very easy to meet and make friends with other holidaygoers. There are plenty of decent restaurants and bars within 5 minutes' walking distance.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2018

    6.7
    Good location, great roof-top terrace, poor service and facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service leaves a lot to be desired for. Very poor food quality. Room dirty and smelt of damp. Superior room is small and the bathroom is open in your bedroom hence the damp, bad smell and a mess.

    Great roof-top terrace. Good location in Es Castell.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    9.2
    Gorgeous location but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Aircon in rooms useless,food a bit hit and miss for quality,you had to pay to use the sauna! Kids play park right next to my balcony

    Fabulous location,large clean modern rooms with amazing views

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 25, 2018

    8.3
    We have stayed here many times before and have always...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Upon our arrival we were given a very tiered room with very shabby furniture and a disabled shower room, once we complained we were moved what worries me is do disabled clients always get a substandard room

    We have stayed here many times before and have always enjoyed

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 22, 2018

    6.7
    No more than adequate. Breakfasts good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Only given 2 teabags and 2 milks for 5 day stay .How mean can you,get? No seaview from our room. Nowadays it seems rather unnecessary to have clean towels everyday. Wasteful!

    Location .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    5.4
    It’s location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet flush didn’t work . However they did mend it but not straight away so we had to use a kettle to flush . There weren’t enough staff on reception so it took along time to check in and out .

    It’s location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 12, 2018

    7.5
    Great hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The double bed was comfortable but is where 2 separate beds put together which created a gap between them when sleeping.

    The property is clean, great location. Close to a beautiful little bay with some restaurants. We walked from the hotel to Mahon and it was a great walk. The views from the hotel are great, perfect for people who want to enjoy menorca in peace.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent short break, recommend.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bar closed after midnight. Pool bar on the terrace closed at that time. Indor swimming pool has too cold water.

    Big, clean rooms. Excellent breakfast with good variety of food and drink. Excellent terrace with a great view. Kind staff. Recommend

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2017

    8.3
    Overall - Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Without trying to sound like a very old man the bed was to hard which made it difficult to sleep for both myself and my partner. The rooms even with the aircon were to warm considering it was the end of October

    The staff were really nice. The location and the views of the sky bar were amazing.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2017

    4.6
    Looked good but didn't live up to expectations. Can see some complacency has set in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stingy with everything. E.g. Not topping up water in room, making you pay an extra €8 per person to use the sauna and steam room, not cleaning the room properly each day, and not letting us refill our bottles on leave day from the water cooler (can only use if in the gym?!). The breakfast was poor and the fruit we tried on several occasions and different days was gone off. The welcome was non-existent. We were abruptly asked "checking in" after waiting several minutes for the two receptionists to finish with some paperwork. This was at 11pm after our delayed flight. They also decided we had to pay tourist tax (hidden) there and then. We asked if it could wait but it apparently couldn't. Our duvet cover had several stains on it. We crashed on first night and didn't notice until next morning which was upsetting.

    The view from our sea view room. Watching the boats go by.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 21, 2017

    6.7
    Our visit was for a birthday party. We all had a great time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The rooms were not laid out very well, we were on the outside of the building, there was a lot of vehicular noise and because of the tiled floor and glass in the room, everything had huge resonance! This followed through the whole building, bars, restaurant and pool areas.

    The service staff at meal times were excellent, as was housekeeping. Breakfast was varied and good. Overall we found the hotel in a great location and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2017

    9.2
    Loved the hotel and everything about it apart the aircon not working and nothing being done!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The air con did not work and therefore the room was very stuffy!

    The location was perfect and the hotel was very clean and a pleasure to be in! Especially the roof top bar and facilities! The breakfast was excellent!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 18, 2017

    7.9
    Not up to 4* expectations, noisy dining room. Mean with provisions!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Lack of response to comments to the customer service manager and reception. Given the 4* rating and provision of tea making facilities I was disappointed to be denied a further teabag on day 3 because 'it wasn't included' Our cups had been replaced and there was still enough sugar sachets for several weeks - we don't take sugar! Old hotel which has been revamped. See attached photo for a view of our room from the street - very different to the rooms at the front - thankfully the road wasn't noisy.

    Staff in restaurant trying very hard

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2017

    6.3
    Pleasant enough but some issues need to be looked at by management.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Bathroom/wardrobe arrangements are what you would expect in a caravan (small).Toiket facilities somewhat exposed--make sure you go to the hotel with someone you know well! .Room pretty much dominated by the bed.Nowhere to put cases. Had to go and get a key for the room safe,and pay a deposit.Same for a pool towel.Memo to management--at an `international`these should be automatic.It results in a lot of unnecessary paperwork which ties up reception.Room balcony is nice but gets no sun at all for whole of the day.Gym is OK but no water and no towels.Two treadmills,two bikes but cross country skier not working. Hotel is a walk and a bus ride from Mahon itself. Odd notices about not bringing food and drink in to `preserve quality`.Come on--we know it`s so you can charge hotel prices for drinks and snacks!

    Good food.Nice view of the harbour from the balcony.Pleasant staff.Clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2017

    7.9
    The hotel was in an excellent position for Es Castell and Mahon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The piped music in the bar area was unnecessary. We were very disappointed and did not understand why coffee sachets and tea bags were only provided on the day of arrival and were not available after this although a kettle was provided throughout our stay.

    The food both at breakfast and in the evening was excellent. The Events Manager was very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 3, 2017

    10
    Clean, compfy and relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had a cold day it would have been nice if the doors were closed to the top pool to have kept it warm.

    Just generally a beautifully clean hotel in a gorgeous location. Also had a free room upgrade which was superb.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel, very friendly staff and a stunning view from the rooftop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There wasn't much in the way of shops. I had to go to a pretty grim bar just to buy cigarettes

    The small fishing port round the corner from the hotel was beautiful and had lovely restaurants

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2017

    10
    Perfect adult only hotel only 15 minutes from the airport and such a short plane trip. Ideal!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful comfy bed & bedrooms. Fabulous location and views. Wonderfully helpful staff and the fact it was adults only really sealed the deal! Will be back as soon as we can!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2017

    6.7
    The stay was okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some staff are not very helpful and seem annoyed when they are serving food etc. Also some receptionists are not very welcoming and for the hotel price much more is expected. Charging 20€ to "rent" a towel is quite unexpected and unusual for that type of hotels. Additionally having to pay to change the beach towel if it's dirty, is unbelievable. None of the hotels I've stayed at have required this payment. The room service is really slow.

    The hotel had a good infrastructure, the breakfast was really good. The jacuzzi area was nice also Some of the staff members are very helpful at reception

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2017

    8.3
    Great holiday in Menorca
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Even if we arrived at around 3-4 pm the room was not ready yet.

    Breakfast and dinner were very good with a lot of food variation. Rooms were perfectly cleaned every day. I must admit I was impressed that the staff put some cake and prosecco in our room, because of my birthday. Location is great near to the harbor area with a lot of places where to eat and hang out.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2017

    6.7
    Roof Terrance
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very expensive for what it was Had to pay deposits for everything extra inc towels, safe hire Hotel seemed tired in a number of places Pool area was entirely enclosed and felt very built up

    Roof Terrance Good wifi

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2017

    6.7
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We found the score to be thoroughly irreflective of the quality of property. Beyond the pompous new furniture in the lobby, the hotel looked and felt like a rushed undistinguished upgrade of an older structure (the downstairs bathroom fittings and stairway case railings were rusty, the balconies of the rooms needed a do-up). The pool (or to be fair, pools) were tiny compared to number of the guests the hotel could accommodate. Zooming to our room, the segmented bathroom was incredibly inconvenient and poorly finished, with the toilet-washspace separating glass a few cms ajar and providing little privacy from the rest of the room. The multipurpose washing / toiletries / coffee serving board was infested with small ants. Generally, we were not impressed with the cleanliness of the room, sheets etc. Although we provided a credit card as the usual general guarantee, the hotel asked for a separate cash/debit EUR20 deposit/pool towel, which we found slightly strange for the 4 star rating...The free parking in front of the hotel is actually a public parking space and easily fills up (the hotel actually charges EUR12 for their own parking).

    The room itself was quite modernly decorated and well lit. We really appreciated the variety of food and fruit for breakfast. The location of the hotel was nice, with views directly onto the sea and great restaurants in El Castell literally within a minute away. (El Castell itself is however not as lively as some other areas of the island).

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    7.9
    Worth a stay, nice for couples and lots of restaurants nearby!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms were really small, the smallest I have had in a 4* Hotel. Also, the sink was in the room and there was a separate shower cubicle and toilet. As two friends we found that we didn't have much privacy to get changed etc as there wasn't an actual 'bathroom'.

    My friend and I loved the rooftop pool and bar area, view is lovely and it is very relaxing! Also the breakfast was really delicious, I have stayed in several hotels in Menorca and this was the best breakfast I have had! Really close to lots of restaurants. Not near to a beach but we knew this in advance, although we got a cab to the nearest beach, which if I remember correctly was less than 20 Euros! Also we got the bus to a variety of different beaches from Mahon! Overall a nice stay!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: August 22, 2017

    9.6
    Great for a short stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilet in the room was behind a sliding door so not that sound proof. You have to hire pool towels, but the deposit is refundable. You can't get food between 5-7pm so bear in mind if you are leaving before dinner. The pool area is in a courtyard, so the sun is limited there. The rooftop bar/hot tub area is completely exposed so no shade. If you were staying for longer than a few days you might get bored with the food choices, but it's no different to any other large hotel.

    Good solid chain hotel offering holiday style accommodation. 2 smallish pool areas so not over crowded. Modern rooms that are spotlessly clean. Nice food and a very good bar offering, not extortionately priced. Booked an extended checkout so we could hold onto the room until 4 - this cost €30. Lovely views from the rooftop bar, but it can be windy up there. The harbour is a short walk away.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2017

    8.3
    Relaxing place for chilled-out holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Jacuzzis were luke warm - it would have been nice to have had different temperatures; Most jacuzzis were not actually bubbly; Coffee in poolside bar is Nespresso (which often isn't hot enough)

    Super relaxing place if you want a chilled-out lazy holiday, swimming, reading, sunbathing. Nice restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Excellent selection of imaginative gin and tonics. Good food, including excellent club sandwiches. Nice spa area.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2017

    9.6
    Best place to relax
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The best part of the hotel si the rooftop terrace, where you can sip on your cocktail while in the jaccuzi overlooking the sea. The romos are modern, clean and comfortable. The staff are súper nice and helpful. Amazing breakfast with high quality products.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2017

    9.6
    The view over the port was lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The view over the port was lovely. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The food was diverse and fresh. The atmosphere around the pool was pleasant. This hotel is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2017

    7.5
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Leaving deposit for towels/safe. Bit understaffed and waiting ages for taxis (not hotels fault)

    Vicinity to good restaurants and nice marina/port area

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.1
    Penny pinching
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Towel deposit and extra to launder No coffee and tea replacement. Absolutely rediculous when paying just under £300 per night

    Breakfast selection was excellent

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 7, 2017

    7.1
    Pro and cons, let's have a look.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    1. Worst of worst, the toilet! The door of toilet is just a glass door. You can basically listen everything what's happening inside of toilet. Please do not go there, if you take care of it. 2. I said the buffet dinner option was alright. But also it doesn't mean that I would go back to Barcelo again. I'd rather pay more for local food and restaurant. Few times they used same food from the other night, like quinoa. I understand that they don't want to throw away the leftovers. But it's very hot summer. Of course, veggies were already gone. Smelled bad, tasted bad. Except leftovers, food were pretty ok. 3. Location! Though the view from the room was really fantastic. Menorca is really small island. So even if you stay in the Mahon, you can enjoy everywhere if you rent a car.(takes one hour to cross the island) But don't stay in Mahon if you plan to go beautiful beaches like the famous are ones around Ciutadella. Because it still takes an hour by car to go those beaches. Around 8:30AM already every parking places were super full. 4. Loud music from the roof top bar until the bar closed. Why do you play such a loud music in this kind of relaxing area? If you are sensitive about noise, I don't recommend the higher floors.

    Pro : 1. fantastic view! It's pretty reasonable price for this wonderful view, if you just care about view! 2. And cleaning staff were really nice, hard workers. We stayed in Barcelo for a week. The room condition after their cleaning was like a new room all the time. 3. Buffet was alright. Since our trip was honeymoon, we didn't really want to do real trip. Just wanted to relax and chill. Buffet dinner included option was good choice for our travel style.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    8.8
    Loved the location of the hotel and the sky bar was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff were quite rude and sometimes quite unhelpful

    Loved the location of the hotel and the sky bar was incredible! Breakfast was great and had brilliant options Our Room was lovely, and bed was very comfy Even though we didn't have a sea view room still was lovely!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    9.6
    5th floor open bar is a must :))
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Main bar in hall not Verry good entertainment on the Thursday nite quiz thumbs down on that one no atmosphere in bar so headed of for a walk along the harbour Amazing !!!!!!!!hotel was a good choice we made just for a relaxing couple of days so thank you

    Breakfast soooo much choice was over welling :)) 5th floor top open bar greatttt views jaquzzi amazing

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2017

    7.9
    Excellent location clean modern hotel, but hotel needs to make some changes regarding service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Having to pay €20 for pool towel, and €3 Euro each time for a clean one, no tea and coffee sachets in the room after the first day, when asked for replacement coffee I was told ...no.....service round the pool appalling waiting an hour for 2 coffees twice!! Roof top area, lovely but not once in all the time we were there were our dirty glasses from drinks ordered collected. NO shade/ umberellas on the roof top area, you had to pay €20 for the Balinese beds. Also the food could be cold at times. Staff not very helpful I have stayed in many of the Barcelona hotels and at 4* you would expect all of the above to be included.

    The location was excellent, the hotel was very modern and clean, rooms lovely but a little small, excellent shower, towels and bed linen....

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 10, 2017

    6.7
    Underwhelming, 3* Hotel but with a great rooftop bar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast has a large selection but it poor quality. The hotel is understaffed, therefore long waiting times at reception. They charge extra deposits for everything, such as pool towels. For the price of the hotel, it does not come close to delivering a 5* service. More to do with the Barcelo's trying to cut costs everywhere other than the staff. The staff are good. But there are none around!

    The rooftop bar was great.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 9, 2017

    9.6
    Barceptional .....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Piped pool side music was intermittent which was irritating due a 'buffering' issue with internet connection.

    The facilities were very good and the staff were very accommodating and great value for money.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    7.5
    Great location friendly staff BUT NO AIRCONDITIONING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very hot stuffy rooms with NO AIRCONDITIONING !!!!!!??????

    Easy access to other villages and connecting roads.walks to amazing fishing villages close by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2017

    10
    Beautiful breakfasts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Swimming pool is very small. No share on outdoor seating at breakfast. No umbrellas on roof top sunbathing terrace

    Beautiful breakfasts. Good quality rooms. Pleasant staff. Fantastic views. Easy access to restaurants

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2017

    8.3
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location. Great breakfast . Didn't stay all inclusive so can't comment on that. Staff very friendly. Only thing is the air con in the room and communal wasn't cool enough

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2017

    7.1
    Great view from the lobby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    So called "design hotels" usually sacrifice comfort for design, and this was no exception. Unisolated bath and WC can hardly be tolerated. If you need a seaside beach, choose something else, unless you don't mind driving every day to Punta Prima (some 10 km away).

    Great view from the lobby.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    9.2
    A luxury treat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A lot of cost of extras for safe towels etc and Bali beds at 20 Euros a day!

    Extra comfy bed. Sophisticated decor. Great breakfast. Rooftop jacuzzis a must.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    7.9
    Modern, clean hotel with friendly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Not enough staff, they all worked very hard, makes me feel guilty on holiday. There was no concierge, so reception dealt with everything, this often meant waiting patiently as often only 1 receptionist on duty. . No privacy in the bathroom. Did not like having to pay to use the safe in room so did not use it Food fair and expensive. It would have been nice to have the pool an sunbathing area overlooking the sea. Roof area pleasant but only jacuzzis there.

    The staff amazing and very friendly. Very good treatments in Wellness spa. Hotel modern.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 28, 2017

    10
    So relaxing thank you for a perfect holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Out side dining was so hot shade needs to be addressed.

    Roof top terrace amazing views breathtaking ...room very trendy excellent shower..dinning so much choice..staff wonderful..🌞😀

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 22, 2017

    7.9
    Clean and comfortable bedrooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no decent beaches in a walking distance from the hotel - you will need to rent a car. However, you can rent it at the hotel, which is practical. The outdoor pool is not sunny, so we never used it. The restaurant was a little understaffed.

    Clean and comfortable bedrooms. The breakfast and dinners were great. The location is beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.2
    The best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The mix up with rooms

    Paid for superior room but were not impressed with first room offered. Then moved to larger room but no sea view. Finally after requesting refund were given the room we booked and paid for. This room was lovely.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2017

    9.2
    A long weekend in a fabulous luxury boutique hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    They could do with stronger aircon in the gym and also when they open the toof bar of an evening should switch to glass rather than plastic. Apart from that... and I am being picky a fabulous stay!

    Fantastic breakfast and really friendly staff. Spa treatments also very good.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 18, 2017

    6.7
    Good value adults only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pools are rather over-rated, situated in shady inner courtyard. Hotel mostly used by package tour companies. No good if you want a beach of any sort.

    Hotel overlooks the water and is situated in urban area. Parking can be a bit difficult. Very pleasant cafe/restaurant area around the harbour to walk to. Breakfast is good quality and variety. If you get a harbour-fronting room the views are great.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: June 16, 2017

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast and a wonderful view across the water.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Excellent breakfast and a wonderful view across the water. Very interesting to watch all the boats and cruise ships coming and going. A good selection of bars and restaurants near by.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 14, 2017

    7.9
    The hotel is very nice with an amazing bar in the top of it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No transport service from the hotel. Very complicate to visit some part of the island. The hotel should propose this kind of service regarding his location.

    The hotel is very nice with an amazing bar in the top of it.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location and facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Beds were too firm for our taste Would have liked fresh coffee for breakfast rather than coffee out of a machine

    Breakfast food was excellent Hotel pool and sunbathing facilities were excellent Location perfect

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 11, 2017

    10
    Great location for an excellent hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing during our 2 night stay

    Lovely comfortable bed. Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide range of choice. Hotel was clean and quiet and our room had a fantastic sea view!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 5, 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable stay in a lovely area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Paying €40 deposit for pool towels was pretty ridiculous.

    The buffet breakfast was great, fresh omlettes, churros etc! The rooftop bar was great too, very comfortable, delicious sandwiches & great cocktails.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 1, 2017

    5.0
    Nice hotel, awful guest experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    you have to pay for every extra wishes (like safe: 5 Euro per day)! The staff is friendly but can't really help if you need something, they didn't even let me print my flight ticket in the hotel even if i asked twice (said "its not possible"????)! I ate dinner at the hotel just once and was in bed for the next two days vomiting and other stuff....staff could't bring me any medicine and i still had to pay for the dinner!..This last 2 day ruined my holiday! Don't expect any kind of (free) extra in this hotel!!!!!

    The hotel is nice located even if you have to take the car if you wanna go the nice beaches! It s clean and modern! "Breakfast lady" is super nice and makes good pancakes!!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    8.8
    Beautiful setting .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive to park if staying longer than the two nights we stayed . Not advised in advance that car park was not located near hotel and the parking in front of hotel is free .

    Beautiful setting .lovely hotel

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2017

    9.6
    Great place to stay if you want a quiet hotel and location with great views from the roof terrace.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Although there were six hot tubs on the roof terrace, the majority was not working properly as they were not hot, leaving only a few hot tubs for people to use. The food was good, could have been better. I thought the food was never hot or fresh enough.

    The hotel was not far from the airport and the location was beautiful and peaceful. It was a great place to stay if you want to chill and relax.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2017

    8.3
    Our expectations were surpassed and we will strongly recommend this hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bedroom layout had one problem. After showering my wife might stand at the sink, brushing her teeth etc. If I left the room at this time, my wife would be exposed through the opened doorway!

    Staff were excellent. Enjoyed the bedroom layout apart from one issue--see below. The location was excellent. Took bus to Mahon but next visits we walked including twice by the cliff top path. Views over the estuary are excellent. Also enjoyed our evening trips to the local restaurants. Could not fault good in the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2017

    10
    Perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Unfortunatly the roof bar was not open as early in the season so a little disappointed.

    Excellent location, friendly staff, have been to hotel 3 times never had any concerns with staff politeness, everyone said hello and appeared very friendly, had a great massage in the wellness area, husband used the gymn, great hotel can't wait to return.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2017

    9.6
    Very good location and staff, could do better with the small stuff
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Little things - don't expect to pay 5 euros a day for the safe. Don't mind leaving refundable deposit for towels, but 5 euros to change was a bit much.

    Room was comfy although air con could be better

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    6.7
    Good location and great views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was running reduced facilities such as no aircon and no service on roof area. Made it very uncomfortable and inconvenient. So short sighted as there were maybe 30-40 people on the roof in near 30 degree heat unable to buy drinks or order drinks to be delivered.

    Good location and great views

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: May 16, 2017

    9.6
    Hamilton Hotelm Es Castell.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Only 2 tea bags and 2 sachets of coffee in the room and if you wanted more you had to pay for them! Why provide a kettle and no tea bags?!!!

    Excellent choice of buffet breakfast and the staff were so friendly. Great area with plenty of shops , bars and restaurants on the door step.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2016

    10
    Chic, romantic, lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff were wonderful - esp the front desk staffs and the bar tenders. We spent part of our honeymoon at this hotel and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay extra special - champagne and strawberries and a the wonderful romantic setting. Also the views from the waterfront rooms is amazing.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2016

    7.9
    The hotel was clean and tidy but a bit clinical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There were a number of fairly minor things that could be improved that all added up to a feeling of the hotel being rather "clinical". Coffee was only supplied on the first day in the room despite having a kettle. No hot drinks are available on the 5th floor (fair enough in the middle of summer) necessitating a journey to the poolside bar on the ground floor. The barman who was not busy never came round asking anybody if they wanted anything. The staff were not unpleasant but just lacked a certain warmth.

    The hotel was very clean and breakfasts were of good quality. The view from the rooftop was stunning.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2016

    7.9
    Very handy location for Cales Fonts and good base for the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Double or Twin Room (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I preferred the hotel before it's modernisation. The decor is now very clinical and minimalist.

    Very handy location for Cales Fonts and good base for the island.

    Stayed in October 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Barceló Hamilton Menorca Adults Only Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: