Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Malaga 4 stars

María Zambrano Estación de Ferrocarril, Héroe de Sostoa, 2, Malaga Centro, 29002 Málaga, Spain

#14 of 92 hotels in Málaga

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2775 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    8.3
    Good service and location but definitely too expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    The room needs some maintenance: finishings were quite poor and overall it looked shabby, with many scratches on the walls and mold stains in the walk-in shower. It can be quite annoying that waiting times at the bar are extremely long, minimum 15-20 mins to get a cocktail, sometimes even longer. Once we ordered a sandwich at the bar on the rooftop terrace and it took 1 hour! The rooftop terrace is very nice, however the swimming pool is much smaller than it appears in the pictures. These negative sides are actually minor things and would have much lesser weight if the hotel was not so expensive, so the main issue for us was the poor value for money in comparison to other hotels we stayed at.

    The room was comfortable, very quiet at night and good quality of mattress. We really liked the hotel location, first of all for its proximity to both AVE station and bus station, which makes very easy to plan day trips to Malaga's surroundings (for example, Cordoba is less than 1 hour away by train and Nerja is 1.5 hours away by bus). Having a shopping centre literally on your doorstep is very handy as well. Malaga's Old Town is in walking distance (20 mins from the hotel), however it is not a particularly pleasant stroll because of major road works all along the way; but this was not a major issue for us, also because you have 3 different bus lines which bring you to the Old Town and the stop is literally in front of the hotel, and also a cab is quick and cheap (4-6€ in most cases). All the hotel staff was always very friendly and helpful (not only in the reception, but also at the bar/restaurant and the cleaning people). We really appreciated the flexibility with check-out time and the luggage storage service.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    9.2
    Great staff, amazing breakfast, superb location but room too stuffy to stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    We found despite room being big there wasn't much place to store clothes etc...drawers could have been bigger (just 2 very small ones), tiny bed side table (no drawers) and found the room very stuffy as there was only 1 tiny window which you could only open 1/2 way and the air con really dried the room out and made atmosphere very heavy - an option to open windows would have been good.

    Staff very helpful, breakfast amazing.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2018

    10
    Great hotel in a great area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing comes to mind.

    The location was great with access to good cafes and site seeing. The hotel had a cool/weird vibe that we really liked. Nice layout of the entire lobby area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    10
    Overall a great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I felt the outdoor pool could have been a little cleaner, it is a very small pool but there was alot of people in and out of it all day and alot of hair floating around. Maybe signs for people to have their hair tied back and someone to clean the pool throughout the day.

    Our stay at the Barcelo was excellent. The bed was super comfortable, and was huge. It was worth every penny adding on breakfast because it was brilliant. Worth every penny Local to the center, a short 15 min walk. Would definitely recommend

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.5
    Just fair. A family is better off renting an appartment.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room + Extra Bed
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The led of the emergency light in the room is too bright at night, which was a real inconvenience for some of us. The gym is minuscule and poorly maintained (there was no water one day, the telephone does not work and equipment is faulty) and there is no respect of gym rules with young children coming to "play" in the machines. For a hotel of that size and star ranking, the gym should be better equipped and better managed. Last but not least, a bit pricey for what it offers.

    Staff was friendly and responsive to all our requests (noisy airco fixed, change of room). Pool, although very small, and poolbar are nice places to hang around for a while. Very convenient location for commuters and good facilities in the shopping mall next to the hotel.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel but a walk to most attractions
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is maybe slightly out of the way. around a 30min to the centre of malaga and the beach

    clean, comfortable, lovely staff and the added bonus of a slide from the first floor down into the bar

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    4.6
    I Booked this hotel 2 weeks in advance and asked for 2 close...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I Booked this hotel 2 weeks in advance and asked for 2 close rooms, one of them triple. I also told that we would have check in very late (24.00) and was traveling with my grandmother (80 years old) When I checked-in they gave us 2 rooms very far away each other and above all they were both double! One room was very dirty and with broken walls and door. So, we told the receptionist and he came to add a small and uncomfortable bed in a small double room. We were very tired from the long travel and we had to wait more to go to our room. They charge this bed 72€!!!!! When I complaint with the manager on duty, he looked very snobby to us and charge for the entire rate!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    7.1
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool area way too small for the size of the hotel, there were cups and a kettle in the rooms but for some reason no tea, coffee, etc?

    Nice and clean rooms, good location, late check out

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.2
    Pleasant stay to relax and enjoy Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    25 min walking from downtown, although few steps from the train station

    Excellent breakfast, friendly staff, good fitness center/gym and swimming pool area. Just beside the train station!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn’t stay again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room + Extra Bed
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were 3 adults in my group and the 3rd adult had a camp bed which was hard and very uncomfortable. The room was good for 2 not 3. It was a squash. The price was high and all adults should have a proper bed

    Location was good and the reception staff were excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    4.6
    A four star hotel with a kettle and two mugs but no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A four star hotel with a kettle and two mugs but no complimentary tea or coffee. The room was shabby and badly up kept. The toilet wasn’t properly clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    10
    Fabulous time, fantastic memories
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Familiar Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    NOTHING

    the Barcelo is a wonderful hotel, everything was fab, my granddaughter just loves this hotel and we have stayed there 3 times, the slide and pool are her favourite places to be, also we al love the BLT sandwich which we get every visit, we had a junior suite this time and it was marvellous.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel, lovely helpful staff, shame about some of the facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    very disappointed with the pool area. The pool was tiny & several people placed their towels on the sunbeds early in the morning & only arrived to use them at 1-2pm. In view of the small number of beds, I think the hotel staff should be monitoring this, in addition to the children diving in & out of the pool. I also wished that there was background music to listen to when sitting outside the downstairs bar, it would have created a nicer atmosphere, despite not having a decent view.

    lovely staff, nice hotel, good bedroom. Only ate once & it was lovely food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful, modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Probably my fault for not locating the hotel properly before arrival - details list it as being close to the beach - however, this is not the main beach. It is right next to the train station and is a good 20 minute walk from the old town and probably about a 40 minute walk from the good beaches. The area around the station is not the best, although in the evening we did see a big police and security presence. Although we were a little anxious, we encountered no trouble. Although breakfast was excellent, it did not start until 7.30am, which made our departure for the airport rather tight. I could, of course, have ordered room service and would do so in future.

    Beautiful, modern hotel. Lovely professional, efficient staff, who were only too happy to help us. I speak some Spanish, but their ability to converse in English was excellent. Very clean rooms, with everything you could possibly need available. The pool on the roof was a welcome break at the end of a long hot day. Breakfast was lovely, with a wide selection of hot and cold choices and my request for gluten free bread was catered for with hot, fresh rolls, delivered to my table. There is a slide from the first to the ground floor ( in addition to stairs and lifts!) - this was a massive hit with my 14 year old daughter, along with many other guests!!! The hotel was very easy to find as it is right next to the train station and you can watch the trains through panoramic hotel windows. It was easy to park our hire car in a sheltered spot and on departure, our journey to the airport took only ten minutes, with several petrol stations en route. I would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    Good but not for leasure.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not close to a decent beach. They say 25 min from beath but we are not professional runners. You actually need 40 min walk to the beach. Course there is a bus nearby but after a long day in the beach I rather prefer a short walk to the hotel.

    Bed extra confy

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    7.9
    The rooftop pool area is lovely and the beds are very...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first room we got was a double instead of twin so wen I took the top sheet off to see if we could separate the beds there was a lot of stray hairs on the mattress topper! They moved us to another room however.

    The rooftop pool area is lovely and the beds are very comfortable. Great shower also.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    8.3
    It’s a very nice shoreline with a fantastic Roof Top Pool but there are areas where improvements cou
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast scrabbled eggs poor and cold at 17 Euro not good value for money. No coffee or tea in room very poor by today’s Hotel standards. Tapas very poor not good value for money and your Restaurant was closed in August even though the Hotel was busy. Finally the mini bar was not checked daily so only fresh water once in 3 days

    Roof Top pool area was very good but the bar for drinks etc needs to open earlier to accommodate earlier sun bathers

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    8.8
    A good place to stop-over in Barcelona, especially if travelling by train.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was comfortable, and the breakfast buffet had a very wide range of options. The hotel is located over Barcelona Sants station, so is very convenient, as we were travelling by rail. Points of interest in the city are also easily accessible by foot, metro, or bus.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.6
    Really good for a relaxing overnight stop en route to Malaga airport.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It seemed a bit excessive to be charged 4E to make use of the hospitality tray in the room when other similar hotels provide this free of charge. The air conditioning unit was also somewhat noisy but this could have been due to the excessive hot weather.

    The location of this hotel situated as it is within the train station complex in Malaga is excellent for having easy access to the airport, particularly if you are travelling late at night or early in the morning. Despite the noisy streets outside the room was peaceful, comfortable and relaxing.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Lovely hotel in easy location for train day trips
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel. The room was clean and stylish, the little pastry and free water was a welcome touch, the rooftop pool was lovely (at least when it first opened before the crowds showed up), and the location around the corner from the train station couldn't be beat. Also a nice modern tavern across from the train station.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Only point for improvement were the sometimes loud airconditioning.

    Great staff! They help you with everything all the time. Location above the city's biggest station, not in the centre. But with an uber, taxi or rental bike you are there in 5 minutes. The cocktails on the rooftop terras were excellent, the hygiene was superb and also the facilities were great! I'm booking again in a hotel like this.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.9
    Great location and fair value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the terrace bar (evening) was a bit slow. Understand it is a pool bar during the day but the expectations were different for the evening.

    Fantastic location with direct access to main train station and walking distance to CBD, Waterfront and beach

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Central location, lovely staff, comfy bed and great shower!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room + Extra Bed
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much, hotel was great, only negative is a tiny thing....perhaps a little more shade by the pool area would be good. Only negative thing I can think of!

    Central location, lovely staff, comfy bed and great shower! Cocktails were amazing!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2018

    5.0
    Great location for main train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    over priced, no complimentary water or tea/coffee even though there’s a kettle in the room (with dirty cups) at over €160 per night shocking not value for money by any means, avoid this hotel

    Great location for main train station

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2018

    9.6
    Great value for city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The common parts of the hotel were quite warm ... not sure why they were not air conditioned better. And the beds by the pool were very hard and uncomfortable. Could've done with some cushions!

    Modern and spacious hotel in a great location if you want the convenience of being literally next door to the station. Short walk into the old city. All the staff at the hotel were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was amazing - so much choice. Rooms and beds very comfy and cool. Roof top area was very nice although not huge. We didn't have a problem getting a bed while we were there

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2018

    4.2
    In my visit to spain i have stayed in 5 hotels ,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not clean first impression matter The staff didn’t handle the situation well The corridors are very dark and gloomy The overall experience was not good

    In my visit to spain i have stayed in 5 hotels , unfortunately barcelo is worst one of them , the location is good for anyone traveling by train or bus but it far from centre 15 mins away by bus, could have ignored that fact ,but when you first enter the hotel it looks nice and fun but as soon as we checked in ,the room was not cleaned well and there was dirty foot prints and water in the bathroom we had to wait 30mins until they sent room service to clean as they didn’t want to change the room , of course i was pre charged so I couldn’t change the hotel at this point . And hotel is totally overpriced for the kind of service and value they had to offer

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    8.3
    Overall great stay, the only thing I would say is that the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Overall great stay, the only thing I would say is that the pool is up a few steps in the corner, separate to where the sun loungers are. But for a few days stay it’s perfect. Gorgeous views and the rooftop is so so stunning

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Hotel is right at the main train and bus stations and has a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is right at the main train and bus stations and has a shopping centre included. Perfect if you are arriving snd leaving by bus or train. The centre of town is about a 20 minute walk or you can catch a bus.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Barcelo Malaga, is a very cool modern hotel, it met all our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Barcelo Malaga, is a very cool modern hotel, it met all our expectations, very charming staff, fab roof top pool area, in a better location than we thought. Our rooms were cleaned to perfection every day. We look forward to revisting Barcelo. ❤

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location, rooms and quality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff on reception needs to expand to cater the needs of the business as waiting times were longer than normal to check in.

    Excellent location, rooms and quality.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Absolutley fantastic. The staff, in particular Manuel and Nacho gave us a wonderful welcome !
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one thing is that we had a tea and coffee facility in the room and we had to keep on reminding the staff to give us the bottle of water for our tea.

    Breakfast was exceptional. I have just become a vegan and the choice was superb. They exceeded expectations even more than before, so very impressed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2018

    10
    Great vacation location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Familiar Junior Suite (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pool side meals were delicious. The veal burgers were healthy, lean, and cooked perfectly. The bartenders were very nice and personable and worked quickly.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Lovely hotel! Will return but hope check in speeds up next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room + Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in was very slow and took an hour :-( The pool was murky and not very clean The drinks at the roof top bar were small in plastic bags and weak for 7 euros!

    Great hotel! Slide, decor, room, lovely!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    8.3
    Super helpful staff, nice room but needs a little work as it's clearly wearing out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The room was showing a lot of wear and tear. The shower cubical was or has been leaking so there was a lot of damp. The shower itself was good but the screen handle came off with minimal use. The hairdryer also didn't work periodically. It feels like it needs to be renovated.

    The hotel is ideally suited if you need to get trains, not only that but it's on the site of the local shopping mall so lots of eating locations and clothes shops and a large supermarket. The roof space was good but very small, as is the pool. The service was excellent. The staff were amazing and the room was cleaned very well every day.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2018

    9.6
    Super hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a bit too far from old town.

    Excellent hotel, friendly staff, beautiful pool/bar area. Wonderful breakfast with great choice. Very clean and comfortable room, would highly recommend.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    10
    Loved it. If I come back to visit Malaga I would definitely come back here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Love the room , the bed and baths was amazing. We loved going to the swimming pool and bar after a day at the beach. Amazing location and view on the sea. Staff is lovely and really helpful. I definitely recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2018

    8.8
    - Bed was very big and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    - The swimming pool was very small - There isn't a lot of space on the terrace near the swimming pool

    - Bed was very big and comfortable - Bathroom was good - Breakfast was very good. A lot of choice - Near the train station (basically in the train station) - I got a mini cake with Rose for my birthday

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    9.6
    Great place, good service, great shopping center next door and train station
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It is not located in the center of the city so you must drive or get a taxi to the prettier area of Malaga with most restaurants!

    Bed were a bit hard but comfy. The location is excellent if you like to shop and plan to travel by train to another location in Spain, very modern hotel. Best meat restaurant walking distance (INAKI)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    10
    Very modern. Had a slide from the 1st floor to the ground floor for adults and kids!! Fantastic!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Room was spotless. Breakfast was included and had an excellent choice. Very central- joined to railway station and across the road was the bus station!! Would go back in a heartbeat!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    Location- Location of the hotel is excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lightning inside the room was poor and dull The room was not soundproof. I could hear all the conversations from nearby room and outside.

    Location- Location of the hotel is excellent. It is just attached to Malaga Zambrano train station. So going to Fuerengirola , Torremolinos or Airport was so easy . Check-In & Check-Out were so smooth and fast Room was sparklingly clean with soft bed View was also good Bathroom and Jaccuzi were superb I stayed in Junior Suite and the Hotel gave me one full bottle of Spanish Cava , which was so nice Totally Value for money and highly recommended for any kind of traveler

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    9.6
    Great location and facilities - lovely attentive staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In the swimming pool area not sometimes not enough sun beds. Apart from that lovely roof area well maintained

    Location is great as a base to explore the surrounding area. (Ie, Cordoba, Sevilla..) Facilities are modern.Very clean and nothing too much trouble for very attentive staff. After check out we were allowed to use all the facilities (swimming pool, shower...) which made the last day really nice. Our room had the most comfy bed we have ever slept on.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    9.2
    Brilliant!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location from the attractions is about 15-20 min walk depends what you want to see. But right next to the mall and train station so it makes up for it!

    The staff greats with a smile and very accommodating! The rooftop bar was amazing although at the time of our stay it only opened till 1800 but totally worth it as the pool doesn’t shut till 2000. Definitely will come back again!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    I will use this property again when going to Malaga.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We ordered a club sandwich from room service. It had melted cheese on it! It did not taste good and we ended up only eating the fries and tossing the sandwich out.

    Proximity to the train station (next door) and the airport (3 stops on a train). We absolutely spent no money on taxis. Yet within 20 minutes of walking we were in the center of Constitution Plaza!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2018

    10
    Perfect Hotel for a short city trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a two days stay in this hotel. Clean and modern rooms. Air-condition works well. It was located on one of the last floors what I would recommend, because the back of the hotel is close to the train station, no disturbing noise. Really great breakfast, you will enjoy it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    8.3
    Hotel fitted for business rather than vacation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The hotel is located near the train station. No noise came through the windows, but the area is not wow for Malaga if you are on vacation. I think you can find better places. It is a business oriented hotel, functional, but not very cozy or anything like that. I hated the windows: small, dark, only one small window could be opened, you had to have the air conditioning opened all the time. The curtains were not in a very good shape (cheap material, bronken in some places). Also the wardrobe area is sooo small; it has only space for a few hangers and some small shelves.

    The breakfast was very good, the room is big (the bed is huge), the wifi is ok. The staff was very fiendly, the room is clean. It is a functional hotel, it has everything you need for a short stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    10
    Great hotel for rail connection or airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed at this hotel as I wanted to be close to the airport and the station where I was travelling on from to Ronda. Being a single traveler I didn’t want to factor in costly taxis but still wanted a bit of a luxury hotel. This place was great for a stop gap. Thanks!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel with beautiful location!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    nothing

    Beautiful hotel with beautiful location!!! Its situated directly in the Marya Zambrano railway station (and big Commercial center), but despite this all rooms are quiet and comfortable at night. Its very simple to get directly from your room to trains to Madrid, Sevilla, Cordoba at early morning, big supermarket MERCADONA here, Bus station is 100 m by walk There are many cafe and restaurants at Commercial center, so if you prefer not to get breakfast at hotel - its a good option)) Distance for historical center - 15-20 min by walk, but it was no difficult for us))))))))))) Very friendly and helpful staff Thank you for all, hope return at this hotel next year....))))

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    9.6
    The staff was far more kind that the one in the most...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The swimming pool was so dirty so I couldn’t swim there. There were used wrapping paper for a burger in the water and so many other particles floating.

    The staff was far more kind that the one in the most expensive hotel in Malaga. The rooftop was great to enjoy the sun and drinks. All facilities except the swimming pool were maintained very clean and neat.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    7.9
    Comfortable enough stay in a convenient location for travelling in Spain.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only people in the restaurant and the waiter hovered the while time. He removed the wine from the table and only brought it back when he decided we needed a refill! As a result the restaurant had no atmosphere.

    Very comfortable bed. Room was very quiet.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Fantastic holiday
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is really beautiful with all comforts. The bed is divine, the hairdryer is powerful, the swimmingvpool roof top great. Housekeepers are all kind and polite. I want to say a special thank you to our waitress Helena, she came upstairs to open the bar by the pool and she performed a fantastic customer service. We loved a prosecco which they don't have upstairs so she called room service and ask to bring some upstairs. She was really nice. And also David night receptionist super efficient and professional. Thank you very Mich, we had a great time🤗

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.5
    Good location if you are taking the train, but 25min walk to the city center.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Decoration in the lobby is kitch with pink tiles. Location is only good if you need to take the train but is not very close to the city centre.

    Staff is polite but somewhat cold, Room is large enough with modern feel, it is clean, you have all the basic amenities. Breakfast is very diversified and the breakfast area is nice, with natural light. Very close to the train station, you can practically walk in the hotel from the train station.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    10
    Excellent city hotel with great rooftop pool and sun lounge area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Absolutely nothing to dislike and will return for a longer stay.

    Very modern and comfortable hotel. Great rooftop pool and sun lounge area on 8th floor. Very central and lots of cafes and restaurants in the vicinity.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    6.7
    clean and very convenient for trains.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    sliding bathroom door--wouldn't offer much privacy anyway but ours got jammed. staff fixed it and it immediately jammed again. marks on floor idicate this happens often. also, I put my shoulder bag on a shelf and didn't take into account spotlight above--left room for a few minutes and found bag smouldering! because of location of shelf and light a mistake easily made.

    great location for taking train to Cordoba, seville etc and for getting to airport

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    great place for a stop over if you're using the train in Malaga but a fair step from the old town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only gripes (as in nearly every hotel) I just wish they'd put a couple of robust coat hooks on the wall AND the bathroom was lit like an operating theatre - no chance of any restful ablutions there

    Breakfast was excellent in its variety and quality - fresh honeycomb was a first for me! VERY comfortable bed and well-fitted out bathroom Excellent location as we were in transit from airport to Cordoba by train - couldn't have been easier. Right in the station but really quiet at night. Staff on reception lovely - organised a 'cake' (muffin with a candle!) and a mini cava as it was my birthday and I only mentioned it in passing at check in. Uber-trendy public areas - no comfy chairs but essentially a very good standard business hotel

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable stay with possibilities to go around.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Except for the train and bus station, nothing is realy close to the hotel. But the city centre is reacable by walk and a taxi is not so expensive.

    The location is ideal if you plan to go around with train or bus. At the nearby train station you have a lot of shops including a large food market open until ten pm. The breakfast at the hotel is excelent. The hotel has also a gym, althoug not so very large it is better than at most hotels. The beds are good vith a generous amount of pillows.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    5.4
    Location was perfect, adjacent to the main train, metro and...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had the worst experience ever in this hotel: 1- room and bathroom were smelly 2- shower towel was not clean and had brown stains! 3- laundry service brought back my blouse with same stain! 4- A/C control was not working so they gave us another room for the night till AC was fixed on the.Next day 5- hairdryer was not working so they sent us another one 5- As apology for all the above the management sent to our room an apology message with completely water, orange juice and macaroons. However, the macaroon tray was not clean and had previous sticky things! 6- Not very close to city center. 15-20 minutes walk 7- after all the above and all the complaints we had every night, at check out they told me the manager wants to talk to you. When he came he apologized for our experience and asked us to contact him for our next stay so he makes sure he takes care of our stay!! Yes he was talking about our NEXT STAY!! Like I would ever think of going back to this hotel! I expected a discount or at least as apology I expected that they won’t charge me for the laundry. However, all they could offer was apology!

    Location was perfect, adjacent to the main train, metro and bus station. So it is the perfect stay for people who want to have day trips outside Malaga. -the slide from first floor to the lobby

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    7.9
    Great location for a visit to Malaga
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room + Extra Bed
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room fittings are getting a bit jaded and while it is still a good hotel, it does need to refresh the bedroom furniture and fittings.

    Best breakfast of this trip to Andalucia. Very convenient access to train to the airport, and to general rail and bus connections. Nice restaurant for lunch, though a little slow. Quirky decor.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    7.5
    Overall a very good central hotel but not particularly comfortable. Breakfast good but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Rooms beginning to look a little tired, especially bathrooms Room totally dominated by over-large, not particularly comfortable bed Lack of drawer space Lack of comfortable sitting space for two people, just one very large (worn) chair A/C a little noisy even on slowest setting

    Good central location Modern, somewhat quirky design Smart public areas Friendly professional staff Good breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    10
    Ideal for our needs
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not much wardrobe space if staying for a longer time.

    Only used it for a stop over for the airport but have stayed before as the rooms are very large with good showers.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel right next to the train station, but very quiet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were upgraded to a suite which was fabulous! The biggest bed I have ever seen, double shower, great view etc. Location next to the station was excellent (with no train noise at all) although it was a slightly longer walk to town. Staff were friendly and efficient.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    7.1
    Too expensive for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom is outdated with cleaning issues (mold and superficial maintenance, toilet seat smaller than the toilet bowl). We asked for a double bed, but received 2 twin beds linked each other... Flies in the breakfast room :(

    The location (next to the train station - convenient for us). The room was large.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    3.8
    We arrived quite late and went into sleep right away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived quite late and went into sleep right away. When I woke up in the morning, I saw that the bed sheet had disgusting stains. Not even just stain, some dried brown particles... totally unacceptable. Person who has put those sheets could not have missed it; so he/she must have thought that it is ok! Having a clean room comes before everything else in a hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable,efficient staff and location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No luxurious sitting areas outside.

    The most comfortable bed. Soft, luxurious towels. The location perfect for trains and buses. Comfortable walking distance to the centre.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    10
    We’ll be back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our 2nd stay in this hotel. It’s so conveniently located to all major transport to get around Andalucia. Rooms are modern & comfortable. The staff are really welcoming too. We’ll definitely stay here again next time we’re in Malaga

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    4.2
    With help from staff we
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Complicated shower

    Location very convenient. Staff helpful. Good sized accommodation. Request for a quiet room was met. Plenty of hanging space for clothes and sockets for recharging electronic equipment.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.1
    The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slow at check in and check out time. The main restaurant lacked any real selection in the menu and what was there was small portions and not the greatest quality - have advised people to stay in the hotel but not eat in that restaurant

    The rooms were clean and the staff were friendly and the slide is a novel idea. All in all a funky hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    2.9
    Never ever more
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most terrible “superior” room I ever stayed in. The view of a busy intersection and bus station. You open the window, the outside noise is terrible (buses, taxis all night long), you close the window, it is terribly hot and stuffy. Turn on the a/c and the humming noise is annoying. Room design like a 70’s night club in Vegas. Did not sleep one minute. No money back, no discount offered. Moved to another hotel and lost three nonrefundable nights but at least could sleep ok. Never more.

    Breakfast variety

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.8
    Great hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Great hotel! Nice and quiet. Attention to detail is high. Happened to be visiting on my birthday and came back after sightseeing to see a cake / bottle of bubbles in our room. Lovely gesture.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    9.6
    A good base
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Helpful staff and a comfortable stay. Very convenient for the train station which was perfect for us on our little La Liga trip for games in Malaga and Sevilla

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    9.2
    Deeply satisfying
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Reception staff were polite but kind of slow, however it was not a major inconvenience.

    Design of the hotel was really nice and breakfast was truly an amazing experience. The armchair in the room was also very comfy

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    8.3
    The breakfast was really varied and overall really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We had a bathroom with both a shower and a bathtub. Because of the drainage system, water always remained under the bathroom marble floor tiles, and we had a bad smell of dampness in both the bathroom and the entire room. Also, it didn't help that this bath didn't have a ventilation system. The room was a bit noisy at night.

    The breakfast was really varied and overall really good. The bed was also really comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Quiet room and comfortable beds;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Quiet room and comfortable beds; excellent location if you plan to continue your travels by train. Downtown Malaga is only about 20 minutes away on foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Quiet room and very comfortable beds;
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    N/A

    Quiet room and very comfortable beds; excellent location if you plan to continue your travels by train. Downtown Malaga is only about 20 minutes away on foot.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    8.8
    The Barcelo Malaga is ideally located within the Maria...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Barcelo Malaga is ideally located within the Maria Zambrano train station, only two stops from the terminal at Malaga Airport, and within a ten minute walk from the old city and cathedral. It is a modern (hip?) hotel and the rooms are warm and comfortable. We ate a pleasant evening meal in the hotel restaurant with family who live locally. We (all in our seventies) slid back down the stainless still slipway to reception afterwards. There are also stairs and lifts! There was no need for breakfast with so many cafes nearby to chose from. It was a comfortable and reasonably priced stay and an ideal convenient spot in Malaga.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    8.8
    great room - fantastic breakfast - very friendly staff -...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    people ( neighbours ) with no manners regarding noise inside the hotel parking at the hotel is expensive ( 20€ / day ) but you can easily find a free space in the streets close by ...

    great room - fantastic breakfast - very friendly staff - superb cleaning crew

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Barceló Malaga traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: