Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Barceló Ourense 4 stars

Curros Enríquez nº1, 32003 Ourense, Spain

#12 of 25 hotels in Ourense

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 737 hotel reviews

7.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.1

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 27

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    9.6
    We enjoyed our stay in Ourense and would stay at this hotel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a fan of the partly open plan bathroom in the bedroom but a minor issue overall.

    Antonio and Christine at reception were extremely helpful. The rooms were spacious with very comfortable beds. The hotel is in a very central location for restaurants and shopping. We also enjoyed our trip to the Thermal Spring Spas which are a feature of Ourense. They are over an hours walk from the hotel. If you take a taxi make sure to organise your return trip before you go as we discovered a spanish phone number was needed to book a taxi. Fortunately reception at the San Martin came to our rescue.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    5.0
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waking up with the noise of hammers breaking down a wall on the room above ours. When we checked in, no one informed us the hotel was under reconstruction. Also did not get any apologies when we complained at the front desk

    The location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    5.8
    We liked the most the bed, it was very comfortable.
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not a 4 stars service. The hotel "is being renovated" but our room was a mess! The light in the wardrobe didn't work and the heating neither. The radio didn't turn off and the terrace door could be open from the outside. The hall smells of sweat all day.

    We liked the most the bed, it was very comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.0
    I liked having a room with a view of the streets decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I liked having a room with a view of the streets decorated with Christmas lights. (I had asked for a room with a view) The location was perfect for our needs. The room and bathroom were very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    9.6
    Ourense a real Spanish city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Communication problems as very few locals speak English.

    The rooms were fantastic. Very large , comfortable and very plush. It had lovely decor and the hotel was spotless.Great views of the town and very central.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    3.8
    Try to avoid this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Try to avoid this hotel. It´s really dirty, dusty and the staff is grumpy. No idea why it´s a 4 star. Booking charged 135 for "the last room", the normal price being 50! We complained and in the end payed only 50, but still not a recommended place.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2016

    6.3
    A good 3-star hotel when you get good price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was too hot as the AC is more of a ventilation. No kettle in the room, fixtures quite old and or broken - window would not stay open, bidet plug impossible to open, very slow Wi-Fi, dusty floor of wardrobe and window frames.

    Got a nice price for 4 star hotel. Easy parking for bicycles.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    6.5
    Ok, but it was under construction
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Under construction, things were broken, room layout, price went up by 200 eu on 2nd day

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    8.3
    No food in the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking was closed due to renovation.

    No food in the hotel. Looks like renovation is going on.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.2
    perfect location, spacious rooms, nice new decor
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    in renovations, rooms unfinished, poor breakfast

    perfect location, spacious rooms, nice new decor

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.2
    Good hotel in a nice location
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good hotel in a good location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    5.8
    Spoilt my trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no mention the hotel was under renovations! Was noisy and there wasn't even a breakfast room!

    Location.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    10
    Great time and a wonderful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing bad at all.

    Excellent location. Beautiful room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    7.5
    Nice and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel furnishing is a bit old, it is in need of a good renovation

    The situation of the hotel was pretty good and the staff was really kind.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    7.9
    Good location but beware price reflects refurbishment works
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is a little tired and is currently being refurbished. Access to car park poor and full of building materials.

    Location and price

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    7.5
    Great location, good room, in renovation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fixing the ho

    Location

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    6.7
    Unfriendly reception staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very unfriendly reception. Not one smile!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    10
    Excelente
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excelente

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2015

    10
    Last in this town in 1985.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Last in this town in 1985. This hotel was the finishing line and chosen stop over for a leg of the vuelta cyclista de Espana. I'm sure today's Sky team would be equally pleased with it's old charm!

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2015

    8.3
    The daytime front desk staff were excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is said to be available in every room. Not true - we had to go downstairs and sit near the front desk for wifi. Wifi is dreadful. Few power points easily available for e device users. Sure, under the desk, near the skirting board, we found one plug and another low down on the wall in a corner near the window.

    The daytime front desk staff were excellent. Could not have been more helpful or pleasant, especially as I repeatedly asked for them to fix the wifi. Staff +++++ Wifi ------

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2016

    9.2
    comfortable and located in the city centre
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Breakfast not inspiring. No restuarant

    comfortable and located in the city centre

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    7.5
    Need new TVs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Need new TVs

  • Reviewed: 11 October 2015

    10
    Wonderful Reception Staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    noisy tv from room next to ours

    Wonderful Reception Staff

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2015

    9.6
    great value for money you have to pay for parking as it is...
    • Solo traveller

    great value for money you have to pay for parking as it is the centre.of town.would stay again

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    9.2
    Habitaciones muy amplias y muy limpias.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    En la decoración se nota que es un poco antiguo

    Habitaciones muy amplias y muy limpias. Muy buen precio y un gran desayuno

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    7.1
    Good location, close to the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Shower didn't work right Only one elevator goes to the 9th floor

    Good location, close to the center Quiet Balcony

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2015

    10
    Excelant staff very clean, fantastic location,
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Excelant staff very clean, fantastic location,

There are also 6 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 27

Guests also reviewed these properties: